728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent dimmable bulb without FM radio interference

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a good quality LED replacement bulb for my family room ceiling fan. After reading the reviews, I've seen claims that the bulb is not dimmable and that there should be caution about radio interference. I purchased a few for some outdoor fixtures I have, but just had to see how they worked indoors. I replaced one bulb on my ceiling fan fixture and found that it is, in fact, dimmable. It flickers as it is being dimmed, but once you reach the desired level, it remains at that setting WITHOUT flickering. I put a clear FM radio station on my receiver in the same room and checked reception with the light off then on; there was no interference. I changed all 4 lights in the fixture and rechecked; still no interference. The 3000 K light color is VERY bright and allows for easy reading. The light is fairly focussed in one direction (downward) but the color of my family room allows scatter that lights up the entire room fairly well. I believe that these bulbs are a very good value. I have only had them for 2 weeks, so I really can't comment on their durability, but if durability is as good as everything else, then I'm sure they'll last as long as advertised on the package.
Pros: Great Dimming, Very Bright, no fm radio interference
Cons: light is unidirectional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

These bulbs are awesome!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
They were a little expensive at $10 a bulb but, I needed something that wouldn't get hot for my boys' desk lights. My 8 year old tried to test the theory by sticking his finger all the way to the base of the bulb. It does get hot there, but the whole glass part stayed cool to the touch even after hours of continuous use. I hope the estimate of 46 years of life holds true, that would make them quite a bargain at $10 each then!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Easy Installation, stays cool\gives off no heat, life span
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Virginia

Brilliant and Clear

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was amazed at the clear bright light that was also "warm" in color. It is a great light and I'm pleased to not have to replace them until I retire - 20 years from now. Very sturdy and substancial feeling as well - not that that makes any real difference.
One final note - the packaging was very attractive and easy to open but it seemed excessive for an item that is so "green".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Ashland, OR

Made me a believer in LED. Dimming has caveats.

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these based on the great reviews here, and have been really impressed and plan to buy more. First, the $20 price is almost half of similar LED bulbs, and most aren't dimmable at any price.
I don't like the light color from any CFLs I've tried, so I expected to have to just "get used to" the light color if I wanted to save money on lighting with LEDs. The light color at 3000K from the EcoSmart was a brighter white than my incandescents, but I actually found it nicer in a side-side comparison with them. It's whiter, but not harsh like flourescent, and colors are truer under this light. Also, it is definitely brighter than the estimated 40 watt equivalent, although some of this may be perceptual because of the whiter color. It's not quite as bright as a 60 watt. I'd call it a 50.
It turns on instantly to full brightness and normally makes zero noise.
Keep in mind despite the bulb shape, LEDs are still very directional. So in a table lamp for instance, about twice as much light goes up to the ceiling than down to the table. So they are fantastic for downlights, but terrible for something like a single-bulb ceiling fixture where the bulb is horizontal.
Although it dims and dims down as low as you could want, just being on a dimmer switch produces a slight buzzing noise from the bulb even at 100% brightness. You can't hear it from 5+ feet away, but this happened on two different brands of dimmer.
Build quality is impressive. It's heavy and solid and feels unbreakable though I wasn't about to test that theory. The bulb produces hardly any heat at all on the globe, and the heatsink at the back is merely warm even after hours of use. You'll save on cooling bills with these for sure.
If this bulb lasts its claimed 50,000 hours, running 8 hours a day at $0.09 cents per KWH, the Total Cost of Ownership/per year of this bulb will be $2.56 per year versus $4.16 per year for a 13 watt CFL that lasts 9,000 hours. And of course some carbon, mercury and cooling savings too.
As others have mentioned, the extensive plastic packaging feels a little wrong for this product. It's a lot of waste.
Overall, these things have made the hot wires in glass we've been using for 100 years look like antiques.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Toledo, OH

Excellent substitute

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are an excellent substitute for dimming incandescents, very, very close to the light warmth. They come on instantly, just as fast as incandescents, and they actually are brighter than the 40 watt bulbs (i put them both in the same fan to see) they stay cool, so i would imagine my A/C runs easier, my electric bill did come down, but i don't know that i'd attribute the entire difference to these bulbs.
If they were sold cheaper in bulk, or maybe somehow could be closer to about ten bucks each, they'd be the best things ever. These are a GREAT investment for lights that are on often too, as they will save tons of money and reduce heat generation..i would suggest and recommend this to anyone who's planning on staying in their home for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Boise, ID

Excellent LED Lights

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for LED bulbs for a number of years, and until I tried these, I was not happy with any of them because of their color variation, low output, and cost. Finally Home Depot has found a product worthy of a home "improvement" store. They are still a bit expensive, and aren't quite ready to be used all over my house, but they are perfect for some applications. We have a 2 story entry way with a 9 bulb lamp hanging from the ceiling. The incandescent bulbs burn out quite quickly (within a month or two), and it is a real pain to get the ladder out and climb up there to change the bulbs. I am so happy that now with these LED bulbs I may never have to go up there again, and they use a lot less power than the 40W incandescents. We are using these bulbs where ever there is a light that is difficult to replace (a lot of places in our house), or where the slightly colder color doesn't bother us. We don't use them for the vanity lights in the washroom, reading lights, or the stair lights in the entry way because we prefer a warmer color, but when warmer LEDs become available, we will probably change them too.
Very happy customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Ft Myers Fl.

I WOULD GIVE THIS BULB 100 STAR RATING!

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We changed overhead hanging fixtuers at our church and went from 3 to 5 bulbs which made it brighter, but it also raised the heat. we'll be using seventy of these and the decrease in wattage used for all will light all fourteen fixtures for the energy of two "old style". They stay Cool so that will also save Cost on using the a/c plus less maintentence on both bulbs and A/C.
They "dim" well with various types of dimmers. Color of the" light" is still "warm" and not the cold flouresent type of ligt.
I have been looking for a dimmable bulb so we can change the mood at the church, but it was such a major load it was unmanagable for a reasonable price.
it's versital, bright, and dimmable, perfect!
It only uses 9 watts............WOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Boone County, Missouri

True (Almost) 40W Replacement

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is easily the best LED bulb I have ever used. As others have mentioned, it's a bit directional so it wouldn't work as well in a floor lamp as it would in a ceiling fan or recessed fixture pointing down. Since much of the light is targeted in that one direction, it actually seems as bright as a 60W directly in front of it. Overall a great light. I'll be purchasing many more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kasilof, AK

Great Bulb Great Light

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are a little more pricey then the cfl bulbs, but according to the box, last for 46 years, so we bought 3 or 4 every payday, now all of my bulbs in the the house are LED and our electric bill came down about 80 bucks. next year, the price will probably be around 5 bucks a pop due to their popularity.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Great light, well made

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are great, good light color, cool and efficient. Made in the USA.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Putnam Valley NY

Great product, great value

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend. I get no buzzing or RF interference as others have reported. The light has a good color, not too white, not too yellow. I have there in a 4" recesssed light housing. Using it it with a Luron maestro MIR-600THW-WH and the bulbs dim nicely.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect in my application

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bulb lights instantly to full brightness. The 3000K color is a nice neutral - not a harsh white or off-color warm. In this type of bulb most of the light comes out the top. It looks great in my kitchen chandelier with downlights. It may leave shadows in a fixture with a lamp shade. It provides a full range of dimming with an LED/CFL dimmer.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best at downlighting

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lamp focuses downward, which belies its "normal" light bulb shape. As such, it is less useful for omnidirectional applications such as in general illumination lamps. But it excels in downlighting applications, such as a porch light, a ceiling light, or a reading lamp, where you want the light on the ground. I measured twice the downward illumination from this light vs. an 11 watt CFL in an A-19 package.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product will save any one alot of money every month!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I start using the led in May 2012 and my bill was $230.00 for April JEA Bill. My new JEA Bill for May was $68.00 with the air condition unit. But when I started using the air condition unit it was $88.00 for June Bill. I have 10 outside Led lights and 14 inside Led lights. My bill have been cut by two - third.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love them

PostedJune 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought 12 of these to replace the CLF's in my bathrooms. They run SO much cooler than the CFL's and the packaging says they will last 45.7 years. So far so good and no mercury like the CFL's.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Good product at a great price!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with this product because of it's energy savings and long useful life.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Great bulbs

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced a number of bulbs in bathroom vanity fixtures, table lamps, enclosed ceiling lamps, etc. and these work great everywhere. The light is brighter than a normal 40W bulb, whiter than incadescent but not harsh - closer to daylight. They dim very well too. I have bought about 20 bulbs and not had any failures so far at 6 months. Highly recommend.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Alameda, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, same a regular bulb but no heat

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased one of these as a test for a new bulb - works perfect in fixture, cannot tell the difference. instant on and great color and coverage. Only difference i that the fixture throws out a LOT less heat
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Los Angeles, CA

Fantastic lamp at a FANTASTIC price!

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BUY THIS LAMP... You will not be sorry. I just can't say enough good things about this EcoSmart lamp. It's actually brighter than they claim! (Looks more like 60 watts to me.) These EcoSmart lamps are the only brand that work on a dimmer. The actually DIM without flickering problems. The color is good. And unlike compact florescent they contain no mercury. Also unlike compact florescent... They LAST as long as they claim. I can't tell you how many "7 year" CF lamps I have had to replace after 1 year. LED's are reliable and they light up instantly to full brightness. (Even in cold weather.) And the best thing about this lamp is it's CHEAP for an LED. It might cost 3X more than a CF lamp... But it will last 20-30 years! (Real years! Not phony CF years.)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Quincy, MA

Great Value!

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At under $20 per bulb, LED lighting has now become affordable. I have used these bulbs in ceiling fans in 3 rooms now, replacing both incandescents and CFLs. These bulbs dim nicely with a standard dimmer (Although they retain their color through the dimming range, unlike incandescents which grow increasingly orange as they dim down). The color is a bit cool (3000K, as opposed to 2700K for a typical incandescent bulb), but they seem bright for a 40 watt equivalent. I have two more rooms to go, and will eventually replace the ceiling fan bulbs in every room in the house with these!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>