728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Portland, Oregon

Better than CFLs

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this bulb to use in the lamp over my computer desk. It gives a brighter light then the CFL I was using, even though it is only rated 40 watts vs. the 60 watt rating of what it replaced. In addition, the light seems more natural to my eyes. I will definitely purchase more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Scottsdale Az.,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GP19 8 Watt (40W) Bright White (3000K) LED Light

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This IS the best deal I have found on LED bulbs. I have a small bathrm with a 3 light fixture; I only use one of these bulbs right now & I get plenty of light. The other two are in but partially unscrewed until I need more light. These to me are the BEST deal out there.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Haines, OR

Good quality light

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered two of these bulbs for my boys bed reading lights. While they are not Made in USA, I'm still satisfied with the bulb's light and overall quality.
These are MUCH safer than an incandescent light for reading.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Virginia

Brilliant and Clear

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was amazed at the clear bright light that was also "warm" in color. It is a great light and I'm pleased to not have to replace them until I retire - 20 years from now. Very sturdy and substancial feeling as well - not that that makes any real difference.
One final note - the packaging was very attractive and easy to open but it seemed excessive for an item that is so "green".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works with all my dimmers

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried the copper recessed led lights and they did not work with the dimmers I already had in my house.
I bought the led dimmers and the cooper led still did not work.
This bulb works,dims,with no buzzing.Works well with all my recessed lighting.I kept all my original dimmers and they dim down to about 10%.26 blubs no problem,no buzz.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

EcoSmart LED A19

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased one of these EcoSmart LED A19, because my garage door light was a CF kept burning out and was very slow to come up to full brightness.
The EcoSmart LED A19 is working great and goes on to full brightness.
If the price comes down a bit more I will buy more for arounfd the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value and Brightness

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In years past I had purchased several LED's bulbs only to be dissapointed but the EcoSmart LED is certainly the exception and a cut above.
I compared the EcoSmart LED bulb to an identical 40 W incandescent lamp in the same room and the EcoSmart was actually slightly brighter. It's sort of a blend of the cool white with the warm standard; however, leaning to the cool white.
I would highly recommend the EcoSmart LED to replace not only your incandescent bulbs but your CFL's as well.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Brookhaven, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This model - Excellent light and excellent price ($9.95)

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light color is perfect. Light brightness appears to be nicely omni-directional, You really have to look at it carefully to see it is not a regular filament light bulb when it is installed.
Bought my first one a year ago and have purchased several since then. Comparable bulbs are twice to three times this price. Have them installed in a desk lamp, track lights, ceiling fixtures and a bedside lamp.
Very happy with this LED lamp and I own at least 6 other brands and sizes of LED lamp until I settled on this one.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming
Cons: heavier than an a conventional light bulb.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Eagan/St. Paul MN

Finally an LED bulb we can use!

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Outstanding! This bulb alone made me buy stock in Home Depot! An affordable, real LED that fits in a normal lamp or light above our kitchen sink. Pleasant to work under. Since it's an LED it doesn't attract insects like the old incandescent or CFL's did; it doesn't fade the pictures and paintings as no UV light production. 50,000 hour average life! Last bulb we will need over sink till the kids graduate. CAN NOT WAIT till the 60Watt equivalent comes out and that will be the last kind of bulb I'll need to buy. Our office is planning to replace all our current CFL's with the 60Watt equivalent, that will be another 50 bulbs soon to buy.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Banner Elk, NC

Love this bulb

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've purchased 6 of these and love the light output color and bulb styling. Some other bulbs use silver and I simply prefer the white and more globe shaped bulb. The light output is virtually the same color as the typical 60w bulbs used and no one can tell the difference. I especially like these for our condo's outdoor lighting fixtures because they emit out and downward and help reduce the upward light pollution, so the stars are more visible.
These use to be a far better value when they were priced under $10 each, so I'll be waiting for a sale before purchasing additional bulbs.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

This LED Light is Very Bright & Cool

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got three of these LEDs for my ceiling fan and they work great.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great desk Lamp bulb, low heat output

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great replacement bulb, my old bulb was a 15 watt cfl bulb. If was to hot, so I bought this bulb. Its a nice bright white light in my small desk lamp. Its still has some heat, but you won't burn your fingers if you touch the bulb when its on. Its a great price at about $10.00
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Moorpark, CA

Great LED Bulb

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using LED bulbs for about a year now. Most I have purchased in the past have been over $30.00 it was great to find 1 under $20.00 that worked this well. I have tested others at Home Depot that cost more, this one beats the others with more light output and a nice warm color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Great light, well made

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These bulbs are great, good light color, cool and efficient. Made in the USA.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While these bulbs are a bit pricey, wow are they worth it. Such a dramatic change in my kitchen lighting. Highly recommend and will recommend to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Phoenix Arizona

Very good Dimmable and good color output

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My TV room has 6 recessed lights and I purchased 6 of these and one Phillips to compare. The price of the EcoSmart at $9 is better than $18-22 Phillips and performed just as well. You must use a incandescent type dimmer switch not the traditional ones in order for the dimming to work properly. These bulbs come with a 5 year warranty too.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding Bulb

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started out buying just a few bulbs to try . I put the bulb on a watt meter and discovered they were using 6 watts and even one with 5 watts consistently with the same performance. wow ! I had a couple of bulbs from a nearby competitor rated to use 7.5 but all consistently using 15 watts - I like to get what Im paying for .Needless to say when I replaced my 13-25 watt florescent bulbs in our house (25 + ) our power bill went down over $100 that next month .It is really great how they come on fully brights .I have yet no duds in all that I have bought . totally sold
Pros: Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

great led bulb for the money

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
mine have been working fine. I have 5 of them now. to the people that have had theirs die, do you have a surge protector? I seriously doubt the LED itself it blowing. these LED bulbs have a transformer built into them (thats why their so heavy), most likely that is going bad. I use APC surge/battery backup units for ALL my electronics. I cant guarantee it will fix your issue, but it cant hurt at all.
anyway, I think these bulbs have a good bit of light. their not super bright, but not dim either. if you look at other bulbs cost/performance wise, these are great. let me know if you find better
-4points
9out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New lighting capability beyond just bulb replacement

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used a number of these to replace incandescent lights, with varying success because the two are not equivalent.
The real value to me came when I needed lighting for a medicine cabinet I'd just completed. I was able to use a line of four of these set into an oak strip matching the cabinets. ALL the light comes out the front! The back is open for cooling, but unlighted. The bulb is cool and able to operate safely in contact with the wood. I've never seen lighting before that so definitely didn't have stray light wasted where it wasn't wanted.
A whole new era in lighting design is enabled and it fits my needs much better than anything with chrome light strips (incandescent or LED) or fluorescent (either CFL or tube) that is available on the market.
And it is dimmable which would have been required anyway for incandescent. That works well because it has more than ample brightness.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bulb and great price

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bright enough to replace a 60 watt incandescent and a great price, to boot. Can't beat this bulb!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>