728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Miner49r
from Haines, OR

Good quality light

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered two of these bulbs for my boys bed reading lights. While they are not Made in USA, I'm still satisfied with the bulb's light and overall quality.
These are MUCH safer than an incandescent light for reading.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
sykcir
from Putnam Valley NY

Great product, great value

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend. I get no buzzing or RF interference as others have reported. The light has a good color, not too white, not too yellow. I have there in a 4" recesssed light housing. Using it it with a Luron maestro MIR-600THW-WH and the bulbs dim nicely.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
peopleperson
from Glendale, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Crazy Good

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 1 today and tried it out. Was back later on and bought 3 more. 9 watts thats a 40 watt equivalent. But in my opinion I don't mind them in place of a 60, they are pretty bright in most fixtures. If you want to save some money on your electric bill these will pay for themselves fast.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
RkDave
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great - just what my desk lamp needed

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the dimmable LED bulb because I'm tired of changing light bulbs. This LED bulb puts out the right amount of light, stays cool, and won't need replacing for a long long time. The fact that it reduces my power bill is a bonus.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
TomasS
from Scottsdale Az.,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GP19 8 Watt (40W) Bright White (3000K) LED Light

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This IS the best deal I have found on LED bulbs. I have a small bathrm with a 3 light fixture; I only use one of these bulbs right now & I get plenty of light. The other two are in but partially unscrewed until I need more light. These to me are the BEST deal out there.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
rokfam
from Glen Rock, NJ

EcoSmart Led A19

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bulb works great. You don't have to wait for it to be bright. Hopefully the price will come down and make it affordable to do the whole house with them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Anonymous
from Ft Myers Fl.

I WOULD GIVE THIS BULB 100 STAR RATING!

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We changed overhead hanging fixtuers at our church and went from 3 to 5 bulbs which made it brighter, but it also raised the heat. we'll be using seventy of these and the decrease in wattage used for all will light all fourteen fixtures for the energy of two "old style". They stay Cool so that will also save Cost on using the a/c plus less maintentence on both bulbs and A/C.
They "dim" well with various types of dimmers. Color of the" light" is still "warm" and not the cold flouresent type of ligt.
I have been looking for a dimmable bulb so we can change the mood at the church, but it was such a major load it was unmanagable for a reasonable price.
it's versital, bright, and dimmable, perfect!
It only uses 9 watts............WOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
BeholdersEye

Nice First LED Light

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you never bought a LED light, start with this one, for the price and brightness. Yes, there are still expensive but are coming down in price. I had this model A19 for a month now, Depot does keep them in store.
It is a nice warm color light, the lower heat sink does get hot, not as hot like 60 watt incandescent. Best use it upside-down, in a ceiling fixture, for better cooling. It is being used in my bedroom to replace my 13 watt GE fluorescent which is brighter and cooler. It is really the hottest one of all the led bulbs I currently own, considering it is only 9 watts. (Is it really more efficient than fluorescence?)
If I could run this light directly on 24 v dc, and not 120 v ac, wonder if it would run cooler, thus more efficient?
Do not buy a led light if the company does not state the Lumen value of it on the package. Also keep the package and receipt, just in case, for the warranty.
I am going to try the five 1.5 watt led models in my living room chandelier. At $10 a pop. Already have one in it and it works and looks well for 1.5 watts. Would live to run it on low volt DC, though. Oh well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
BoCoMo
from Boone County, Missouri

True (Almost) 40W Replacement

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is easily the best LED bulb I have ever used. As others have mentioned, it's a bit directional so it wouldn't work as well in a floor lamp as it would in a ceiling fan or recessed fixture pointing down. Since much of the light is targeted in that one direction, it actually seems as bright as a 60W directly in front of it. Overall a great light. I'll be purchasing many more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Ruhock

This LED Light is Very Bright & Cool

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got three of these LEDs for my ceiling fan and they work great.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Nekapooka
from Emelle, AL

Lowered Light Bill!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thus far, the light bulbs are holding up GREAT! Neither one has blown out like the other reviews say, but we have a warranty just in case. My mom recently gotten the light bill, & it decreased by almost $120! Before the LED light bulbs, we had 40 kW light bulbs & replaced all the light bulbs w/these! I recommend these bulbs to any1!
-7points
8out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
darts
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great desk Lamp bulb, low heat output

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great replacement bulb, my old bulb was a 15 watt cfl bulb. If was to hot, so I bought this bulb. Its a nice bright white light in my small desk lamp. Its still has some heat, but you won't burn your fingers if you touch the bulb when its on. Its a great price at about $10.00
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
HilaryMichele
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bulbs!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had purchased some bulb shaped LED light bulbs for our ceiling fan lighting in the bedrooms but didn't really understand Lumens and so we didn't know that they were a bit too dim for lighting a whole room. We got these to replace them (and are moving the other LED lights to other fixtures) and we LOVE them - very nice, bright, natural looking light. Going to go and get some more at this great price of less than $10 each - can't find another 40W equivalent out there at that price!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
AndyInArizona
from Phoenix Arizona

Very good Dimmable and good color output

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My TV room has 6 recessed lights and I purchased 6 of these and one Phillips to compare. The price of the EcoSmart at $9 is better than $18-22 Phillips and performed just as well. You must use a incandescent type dimmer switch not the traditional ones in order for the dimming to work properly. These bulbs come with a 5 year warranty too.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Tyron
from Redmond, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best LED light for the money

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I can't believe that the price on these have come down so far. I've purchased more expensive LED lightbulbs on the web that don't put out the amount of light that these do. These are great in a downlight configuration. In a standard lamp, I would recommend the Eco-Smart omni-directional 13 watt bulbs. The color of the light is perfect, it's slightly warm, not too warm or artificially yellow like the Phillips LED bulbs.
I've now replaced all the lights in my house with LED bulbs, mostly Eco-Smart bulbs. The power savings is great and you can't beat the price. I only hope they last as long as they claim. So far (2 months), no problems.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Spendless
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Though these are a bit pricey I was surprised by the light output, it's actually useable :) output was as much if not more than the bulb it replaced. Looks enough like a regular bulb it can be used where it is exposed like a table lamp.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Ralph1
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LED's have come of age!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is rated as a 40w replacement, but I find it more comparable to a 60W it works well in an overhead fixture facing down, has a rather focused light. It might not work as well in a lamp or situation requiring more diffused light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Matt
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to beat for the price

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up 3 of these to install over my breakfast table in a chandelier about 6 months ago so I feel like I can definitely give a pretty accurate review. In addition, I bought a slide dimmer to use so I could control the brightness (and energy usage) and they have been flawless. The lights are bright enough for my needs (matching the 40w incandescents from what I can see) and they dim very smoothly with no strobing or flicker. If I were going to replace any other bulbs in my house at this point, these would probably be my first choice in terms of value and performance.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
HenryH
from Bellevue, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LED Bargain

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The order was easy to complete and the order arrived promptly at Home Depot. Pick up at the store was also easy and the products were well packaged in orginal packaging - attractively laid out. I have only started to use the LED bulbs but the brightness is excellent for the 9W consumption and 450 lumens and close to bright white. Excellent price provides a good value and only time will prove life hours.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Samuelsealawyer
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product will save any one alot of money every month!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I start using the led in May 2012 and my bill was $230.00 for April JEA Bill. My new JEA Bill for May was $68.00 with the air condition unit. But when I started using the air condition unit it was $88.00 for June Bill. I have 10 outside Led lights and 14 inside Led lights. My bill have been cut by two - third.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>