728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

LED bulb

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these a couple of days ago and I'm going back today to get more. I love the quality and think this is the future of lighting. You won't be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Though these are a bit pricey I was surprised by the light output, it's actually useable :) output was as much if not more than the bulb it replaced. Looks enough like a regular bulb it can be used where it is exposed like a table lamp.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works with all my dimmers

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried the copper recessed led lights and they did not work with the dimmers I already had in my house.
I bought the led dimmers and the cooper led still did not work.
This bulb works,dims,with no buzzing.Works well with all my recessed lighting.I kept all my original dimmers and they dim down to about 10%.26 blubs no problem,no buzz.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Glen Rock, NJ

EcoSmart Led A19

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bulb works great. You don't have to wait for it to be bright. Hopefully the price will come down and make it affordable to do the whole house with them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Milpitas CA

Dimmable and will help with Title 24

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered these bulbs because I wanted to pass inspection without having to get the florescent bulbs. I also heard that my company might be in this bulb and my design might be in the chip that is in the bulb (it's not). This bulb dims white, not yellow, like incandescent. It's brighter than a 40 watt bulb. I've only used one of the bulbs so far since the remodel is not complete. But the bulb works, so far, with my Lutron IR dimmer with 3 other incandescent bulbs. I'm happy with the bulb. My only complaint, not fault of the bulb, CARRY THE BULB IN STORES!!!!! so I don't have to pay shipping.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Toledo, OH

Excellent substitute

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are an excellent substitute for dimming incandescents, very, very close to the light warmth. They come on instantly, just as fast as incandescents, and they actually are brighter than the 40 watt bulbs (i put them both in the same fan to see) they stay cool, so i would imagine my A/C runs easier, my electric bill did come down, but i don't know that i'd attribute the entire difference to these bulbs.
If they were sold cheaper in bulk, or maybe somehow could be closer to about ten bucks each, they'd be the best things ever. These are a GREAT investment for lights that are on often too, as they will save tons of money and reduce heat generation..i would suggest and recommend this to anyone who's planning on staying in their home for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Quincy, MA

Great Value!

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At under $20 per bulb, LED lighting has now become affordable. I have used these bulbs in ceiling fans in 3 rooms now, replacing both incandescents and CFLs. These bulbs dim nicely with a standard dimmer (Although they retain their color through the dimming range, unlike incandescents which grow increasingly orange as they dim down). The color is a bit cool (3000K, as opposed to 2700K for a typical incandescent bulb), but they seem bright for a 40 watt equivalent. I have two more rooms to go, and will eventually replace the ceiling fan bulbs in every room in the house with these!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Dallas, TX

Tomorrow is Here

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am delighted with my LED bulbs. I ordered 2. One is for my front porch. The other is for living room lamp with a timer. The two should cost me about $5 a year in electricity and not produce any heat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LED's have come of age!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is rated as a 40w replacement, but I find it more comparable to a 60W it works well in an overhead fixture facing down, has a rather focused light. It might not work as well in a lamp or situation requiring more diffused light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Los Angeles, CA

Fantastic lamp at a FANTASTIC price!

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BUY THIS LAMP... You will not be sorry. I just can't say enough good things about this EcoSmart lamp. It's actually brighter than they claim! (Looks more like 60 watts to me.) These EcoSmart lamps are the only brand that work on a dimmer. The actually DIM without flickering problems. The color is good. And unlike compact florescent they contain no mercury. Also unlike compact florescent... They LAST as long as they claim. I can't tell you how many "7 year" CF lamps I have had to replace after 1 year. LED's are reliable and they light up instantly to full brightness. (Even in cold weather.) And the best thing about this lamp is it's CHEAP for an LED. It might cost 3X more than a CF lamp... But it will last 20-30 years! (Real years! Not phony CF years.)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best at downlighting

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lamp focuses downward, which belies its "normal" light bulb shape. As such, it is less useful for omnidirectional applications such as in general illumination lamps. But it excels in downlighting applications, such as a porch light, a ceiling light, or a reading lamp, where you want the light on the ground. I measured twice the downward illumination from this light vs. an 11 watt CFL in an A-19 package.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Alameda, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, same a regular bulb but no heat

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased one of these as a test for a new bulb - works perfect in fixture, cannot tell the difference. instant on and great color and coverage. Only difference i that the fixture throws out a LOT less heat
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bulb and great price

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bright enough to replace a 60 watt incandescent and a great price, to boot. Can't beat this bulb!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! Great Value!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was surprised to see what appears to be the same bulb for double the price ($19.97, maybe they are dimmable?) on the site! I have now replaced over the past 5 months, approximately 40 to 50 incandescent and CFL bulbs inside and outside my home with these bulbs. In nearly every case they are much brighter than the supposed equivalent. I have them in lamps, recessed lighting, outdoor fixtures, and they work beautifully. These are NOT dimmable but if that is not an issue, they are the best value I have been able to find and work just as well and provide the same, if not more light than the $50 flood/reflector LEDs which I have also tried. Converting to LED is initially a little expensive, but the savings over the years will be tremendous! I've waited about five years for an affordable bulb and this one is really good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While these bulbs are a bit pricey, wow are they worth it. Such a dramatic change in my kitchen lighting. Highly recommend and will recommend to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New lighting capability beyond just bulb replacement

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used a number of these to replace incandescent lights, with varying success because the two are not equivalent.
The real value to me came when I needed lighting for a medicine cabinet I'd just completed. I was able to use a line of four of these set into an oak strip matching the cabinets. ALL the light comes out the front! The back is open for cooling, but unlighted. The bulb is cool and able to operate safely in contact with the wood. I've never seen lighting before that so definitely didn't have stray light wasted where it wasn't wanted.
A whole new era in lighting design is enabled and it fits my needs much better than anything with chrome light strips (incandescent or LED) or fluorescent (either CFL or tube) that is available on the market.
And it is dimmable which would have been required anyway for incandescent. That works well because it has more than ample brightness.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Great light, well made

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are great, good light color, cool and efficient. Made in the USA.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Putnam Valley NY

Great product, great value

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend. I get no buzzing or RF interference as others have reported. The light has a good color, not too white, not too yellow. I have there in a 4" recesssed light housing. Using it it with a Luron maestro MIR-600THW-WH and the bulbs dim nicely.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really great price for an LED

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is great for its price. And the color is so bright for an LED bulb.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great desk Lamp bulb, low heat output

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great replacement bulb, my old bulb was a 15 watt cfl bulb. If was to hot, so I bought this bulb. Its a nice bright white light in my small desk lamp. Its still has some heat, but you won't burn your fingers if you touch the bulb when its on. Its a great price at about $10.00
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>