728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Washington State

LED A19 40 Watt

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed this in the light fixture over my kitchen table. Comes on instantaneously which is very convenient when compared the lag time required for the CFL bulb. The light is warm and spreads well. I heard these are more efficient then CFL bulbs because they convert nearly all of their input energy to light energy (whereas in CFL bulbs some of the energy goes to heat energy). It's been on for over an hour and this LED bulb is at room temperature to touch -- zippo heat!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Beaver Falls, PA

Great Bulb, Good Light output, Reasonable price

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Turns on, gives ample light compared to previous 55 watt halogen lights; works well with a dimmer; NO NOISE.
I use them in ceileing recessed lighting with plain old slide dimmers.
OK, they are a bit expensive but NOT for a dimmable LED bulb.
I am going to slowly buy quite a few more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

LED bulb

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one of these a couple of days ago and I'm going back today to get more. I love the quality and think this is the future of lighting. You won't be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Dallas, TX

Tomorrow is Here

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am delighted with my LED bulbs. I ordered 2. One is for my front porch. The other is for living room lamp with a timer. The two should cost me about $5 a year in electricity and not produce any heat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Boise, ID

Excellent LED Lights

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been looking for LED bulbs for a number of years, and until I tried these, I was not happy with any of them because of their color variation, low output, and cost. Finally Home Depot has found a product worthy of a home "improvement" store. They are still a bit expensive, and aren't quite ready to be used all over my house, but they are perfect for some applications. We have a 2 story entry way with a 9 bulb lamp hanging from the ceiling. The incandescent bulbs burn out quite quickly (within a month or two), and it is a real pain to get the ladder out and climb up there to change the bulbs. I am so happy that now with these LED bulbs I may never have to go up there again, and they use a lot less power than the 40W incandescents. We are using these bulbs where ever there is a light that is difficult to replace (a lot of places in our house), or where the slightly colder color doesn't bother us. We don't use them for the vanity lights in the washroom, reading lights, or the stair lights in the entry way because we prefer a warmer color, but when warmer LEDs become available, we will probably change them too.
Very happy customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

EcoSmart LED A19

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased one of these EcoSmart LED A19, because my garage door light was a CF kept burning out and was very slow to come up to full brightness.
The EcoSmart LED A19 is working great and goes on to full brightness.
If the price comes down a bit more I will buy more for arounfd the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Washington, DC

Nice little bulb

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this bulb for its long life and price. It costs less than the competition and uses very little energy - which is what we all should be doing. It's perfect for my small desk lamp in an auxiliary bedroom.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

This LED Light is Very Bright & Cool

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got three of these LEDs for my ceiling fan and they work great.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kasilof, AK

Outstanding

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At first I bought 1 bulb thinking that it wouldn't be very bright, and it only cost 18 bucks, so that would be a lesson learned. I took it home and put it in the hallway ceiling light. It was as bright, but a softer light than the CFL that i replaced. I went back that day and bought 3 more. Every payday, I bought 3 and now I only have 3 more bulbs to replace and my whole house is LED, my electric bill so far is down 62 dollars a month. would I recommend this to my family and friends? YES
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Moorpark, CA

Great LED Bulb

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using LED bulbs for about a year now. Most I have purchased in the past have been over $30.00 it was great to find 1 under $20.00 that worked this well. I have tested others at Home Depot that cost more, this one beats the others with more light output and a nice warm color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Haines, OR

Good quality light

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered two of these bulbs for my boys bed reading lights. While they are not Made in USA, I'm still satisfied with the bulb's light and overall quality.
These are MUCH safer than an incandescent light for reading.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Great light, well made

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These bulbs are great, good light color, cool and efficient. Made in the USA.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Banner Elk, NC

Love this bulb

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've purchased 6 of these and love the light output color and bulb styling. Some other bulbs use silver and I simply prefer the white and more globe shaped bulb. The light output is virtually the same color as the typical 60w bulbs used and no one can tell the difference. I especially like these for our condo's outdoor lighting fixtures because they emit out and downward and help reduce the upward light pollution, so the stars are more visible.
These use to be a far better value when they were priced under $10 each, so I'll be waiting for a sale before purchasing additional bulbs.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LED's have come of age!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is rated as a 40w replacement, but I find it more comparable to a 60W it works well in an overhead fixture facing down, has a rather focused light. It might not work as well in a lamp or situation requiring more diffused light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New lighting capability beyond just bulb replacement

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used a number of these to replace incandescent lights, with varying success because the two are not equivalent.
The real value to me came when I needed lighting for a medicine cabinet I'd just completed. I was able to use a line of four of these set into an oak strip matching the cabinets. ALL the light comes out the front! The back is open for cooling, but unlighted. The bulb is cool and able to operate safely in contact with the wood. I've never seen lighting before that so definitely didn't have stray light wasted where it wasn't wanted.
A whole new era in lighting design is enabled and it fits my needs much better than anything with chrome light strips (incandescent or LED) or fluorescent (either CFL or tube) that is available on the market.
And it is dimmable which would have been required anyway for incandescent. That works well because it has more than ample brightness.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

These bulbs are awesome!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
They were a little expensive at $10 a bulb but, I needed something that wouldn't get hot for my boys' desk lights. My 8 year old tried to test the theory by sticking his finger all the way to the base of the bulb. It does get hot there, but the whole glass part stayed cool to the touch even after hours of continuous use. I hope the estimate of 46 years of life holds true, that would make them quite a bargain at $10 each then!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Easy Installation, stays cool\gives off no heat, life span
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Glendale, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Crazy Good

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 1 today and tried it out. Was back later on and bought 3 more. 9 watts thats a 40 watt equivalent. But in my opinion I don't mind them in place of a 60, they are pretty bright in most fixtures. If you want to save some money on your electric bill these will pay for themselves fast.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bulbs!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had purchased some bulb shaped LED light bulbs for our ceiling fan lighting in the bedrooms but didn't really understand Lumens and so we didn't know that they were a bit too dim for lighting a whole room. We got these to replace them (and are moving the other LED lights to other fixtures) and we LOVE them - very nice, bright, natural looking light. Going to go and get some more at this great price of less than $10 each - can't find another 40W equivalent out there at that price!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Redmond, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best LED light for the money

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I can't believe that the price on these have come down so far. I've purchased more expensive LED lightbulbs on the web that don't put out the amount of light that these do. These are great in a downlight configuration. In a standard lamp, I would recommend the Eco-Smart omni-directional 13 watt bulbs. The color of the light is perfect, it's slightly warm, not too warm or artificially yellow like the Phillips LED bulbs.
I've now replaced all the lights in my house with LED bulbs, mostly Eco-Smart bulbs. The power savings is great and you can't beat the price. I only hope they last as long as they claim. So far (2 months), no problems.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Melvindale, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

best and brightest led bulbs on the market

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
these bulbs have by far the best light output on the market. use these bulbs for enclosed ceiling fixtures. for scones use the new $13 or $17 bulb from ecosmart as they will illuminate the entire scone much better. just switched over my entire house and it was a very great decision. try for yourself and you will be pleased
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>