728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! Great Value!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was surprised to see what appears to be the same bulb for double the price ($19.97, maybe they are dimmable?) on the site! I have now replaced over the past 5 months, approximately 40 to 50 incandescent and CFL bulbs inside and outside my home with these bulbs. In nearly every case they are much brighter than the supposed equivalent. I have them in lamps, recessed lighting, outdoor fixtures, and they work beautifully. These are NOT dimmable but if that is not an issue, they are the best value I have been able to find and work just as well and provide the same, if not more light than the $50 flood/reflector LEDs which I have also tried. Converting to LED is initially a little expensive, but the savings over the years will be tremendous! I've waited about five years for an affordable bulb and this one is really good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent dimmable bulb without FM radio interference

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been looking for a good quality LED replacement bulb for my family room ceiling fan. After reading the reviews, I've seen claims that the bulb is not dimmable and that there should be caution about radio interference. I purchased a few for some outdoor fixtures I have, but just had to see how they worked indoors. I replaced one bulb on my ceiling fan fixture and found that it is, in fact, dimmable. It flickers as it is being dimmed, but once you reach the desired level, it remains at that setting WITHOUT flickering. I put a clear FM radio station on my receiver in the same room and checked reception with the light off then on; there was no interference. I changed all 4 lights in the fixture and rechecked; still no interference. The 3000 K light color is VERY bright and allows for easy reading. The light is fairly focussed in one direction (downward) but the color of my family room allows scatter that lights up the entire room fairly well. I believe that these bulbs are a very good value. I have only had them for 2 weeks, so I really can't comment on their durability, but if durability is as good as everything else, then I'm sure they'll last as long as advertised on the package.
Pros: Great Dimming, Very Bright, no fm radio interference
Cons: light is unidirectional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

These bulbs are awesome!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
They were a little expensive at $10 a bulb but, I needed something that wouldn't get hot for my boys' desk lights. My 8 year old tried to test the theory by sticking his finger all the way to the base of the bulb. It does get hot there, but the whole glass part stayed cool to the touch even after hours of continuous use. I hope the estimate of 46 years of life holds true, that would make them quite a bargain at $10 each then!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Easy Installation, stays cool\gives off no heat, life span
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Glen Rock, NJ

EcoSmart Led A19

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The bulb works great. You don't have to wait for it to be bright. Hopefully the price will come down and make it affordable to do the whole house with them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

LED bulb

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one of these a couple of days ago and I'm going back today to get more. I love the quality and think this is the future of lighting. You won't be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Virginia

Brilliant and Clear

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was amazed at the clear bright light that was also "warm" in color. It is a great light and I'm pleased to not have to replace them until I retire - 20 years from now. Very sturdy and substancial feeling as well - not that that makes any real difference.
One final note - the packaging was very attractive and easy to open but it seemed excessive for an item that is so "green".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from So. Florida

very reasonable priced LED bulb

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Save energy and enjoy a refreshing light that dims. Ideal for ceiling fan lights and most fixtures. The bulb even resembles standard incandescent bulbs. Sends light in all directions and dims well. I used them in bathroom high hats and hallways as well as 4 ceiling fan lights. These are going to last me over 10 years with a payback of just over 2 years in electrical savings. A great buy. Thanks Home Depot. Way to go (green).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Dodge City, KS

excellent product

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have several of these, and I think they are great. I started with one on my porch light since LED's don't emit UV and bugs aren't attracted to them like they are to incandescent or CFL's. Then I bought several more for inside the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from greeley co

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
nice bright white light gives off no heat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Ashland, OR

Made me a believer in LED. Dimming has caveats.

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 3 of these based on the great reviews here, and have been really impressed and plan to buy more. First, the $20 price is almost half of similar LED bulbs, and most aren't dimmable at any price.
I don't like the light color from any CFLs I've tried, so I expected to have to just "get used to" the light color if I wanted to save money on lighting with LEDs. The light color at 3000K from the EcoSmart was a brighter white than my incandescents, but I actually found it nicer in a side-side comparison with them. It's whiter, but not harsh like flourescent, and colors are truer under this light. Also, it is definitely brighter than the estimated 40 watt equivalent, although some of this may be perceptual because of the whiter color. It's not quite as bright as a 60 watt. I'd call it a 50.
It turns on instantly to full brightness and normally makes zero noise.
Keep in mind despite the bulb shape, LEDs are still very directional. So in a table lamp for instance, about twice as much light goes up to the ceiling than down to the table. So they are fantastic for downlights, but terrible for something like a single-bulb ceiling fixture where the bulb is horizontal.
Although it dims and dims down as low as you could want, just being on a dimmer switch produces a slight buzzing noise from the bulb even at 100% brightness. You can't hear it from 5+ feet away, but this happened on two different brands of dimmer.
Build quality is impressive. It's heavy and solid and feels unbreakable though I wasn't about to test that theory. The bulb produces hardly any heat at all on the globe, and the heatsink at the back is merely warm even after hours of use. You'll save on cooling bills with these for sure.
If this bulb lasts its claimed 50,000 hours, running 8 hours a day at $0.09 cents per KWH, the Total Cost of Ownership/per year of this bulb will be $2.56 per year versus $4.16 per year for a 13 watt CFL that lasts 9,000 hours. And of course some carbon, mercury and cooling savings too.
As others have mentioned, the extensive plastic packaging feels a little wrong for this product. It's a lot of waste.
Overall, these things have made the hot wires in glass we've been using for 100 years look like antiques.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Toledo, OH

Excellent substitute

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are an excellent substitute for dimming incandescents, very, very close to the light warmth. They come on instantly, just as fast as incandescents, and they actually are brighter than the 40 watt bulbs (i put them both in the same fan to see) they stay cool, so i would imagine my A/C runs easier, my electric bill did come down, but i don't know that i'd attribute the entire difference to these bulbs.
If they were sold cheaper in bulk, or maybe somehow could be closer to about ten bucks each, they'd be the best things ever. These are a GREAT investment for lights that are on often too, as they will save tons of money and reduce heat generation..i would suggest and recommend this to anyone who's planning on staying in their home for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Boise, ID

Excellent LED Lights

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been looking for LED bulbs for a number of years, and until I tried these, I was not happy with any of them because of their color variation, low output, and cost. Finally Home Depot has found a product worthy of a home "improvement" store. They are still a bit expensive, and aren't quite ready to be used all over my house, but they are perfect for some applications. We have a 2 story entry way with a 9 bulb lamp hanging from the ceiling. The incandescent bulbs burn out quite quickly (within a month or two), and it is a real pain to get the ladder out and climb up there to change the bulbs. I am so happy that now with these LED bulbs I may never have to go up there again, and they use a lot less power than the 40W incandescents. We are using these bulbs where ever there is a light that is difficult to replace (a lot of places in our house), or where the slightly colder color doesn't bother us. We don't use them for the vanity lights in the washroom, reading lights, or the stair lights in the entry way because we prefer a warmer color, but when warmer LEDs become available, we will probably change them too.
Very happy customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Eagan/St. Paul MN

Finally an LED bulb we can use!

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Outstanding! This bulb alone made me buy stock in Home Depot! An affordable, real LED that fits in a normal lamp or light above our kitchen sink. Pleasant to work under. Since it's an LED it doesn't attract insects like the old incandescent or CFL's did; it doesn't fade the pictures and paintings as no UV light production. 50,000 hour average life! Last bulb we will need over sink till the kids graduate. CAN NOT WAIT till the 60Watt equivalent comes out and that will be the last kind of bulb I'll need to buy. Our office is planning to replace all our current CFL's with the 60Watt equivalent, that will be another 50 bulbs soon to buy.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Ft Myers Fl.

I WOULD GIVE THIS BULB 100 STAR RATING!

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We changed overhead hanging fixtuers at our church and went from 3 to 5 bulbs which made it brighter, but it also raised the heat. we'll be using seventy of these and the decrease in wattage used for all will light all fourteen fixtures for the energy of two "old style". They stay Cool so that will also save Cost on using the a/c plus less maintentence on both bulbs and A/C.
They "dim" well with various types of dimmers. Color of the" light" is still "warm" and not the cold flouresent type of ligt.
I have been looking for a dimmable bulb so we can change the mood at the church, but it was such a major load it was unmanagable for a reasonable price.
it's versital, bright, and dimmable, perfect!
It only uses 9 watts............WOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Boone County, Missouri

True (Almost) 40W Replacement

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is easily the best LED bulb I have ever used. As others have mentioned, it's a bit directional so it wouldn't work as well in a floor lamp as it would in a ceiling fan or recessed fixture pointing down. Since much of the light is targeted in that one direction, it actually seems as bright as a 60W directly in front of it. Overall a great light. I'll be purchasing many more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Washington State

LED A19 40 Watt

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed this in the light fixture over my kitchen table. Comes on instantaneously which is very convenient when compared the lag time required for the CFL bulb. The light is warm and spreads well. I heard these are more efficient then CFL bulbs because they convert nearly all of their input energy to light energy (whereas in CFL bulbs some of the energy goes to heat energy). It's been on for over an hour and this LED bulb is at room temperature to touch -- zippo heat!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kasilof, AK

Outstanding

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At first I bought 1 bulb thinking that it wouldn't be very bright, and it only cost 18 bucks, so that would be a lesson learned. I took it home and put it in the hallway ceiling light. It was as bright, but a softer light than the CFL that i replaced. I went back that day and bought 3 more. Every payday, I bought 3 and now I only have 3 more bulbs to replace and my whole house is LED, my electric bill so far is down 62 dollars a month. would I recommend this to my family and friends? YES
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Moorpark, CA

Great LED Bulb

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using LED bulbs for about a year now. Most I have purchased in the past have been over $30.00 it was great to find 1 under $20.00 that worked this well. I have tested others at Home Depot that cost more, this one beats the others with more light output and a nice warm color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kasilof, AK

Great Bulb Great Light

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are a little more pricey then the cfl bulbs, but according to the box, last for 46 years, so we bought 3 or 4 every payday, now all of my bulbs in the the house are LED and our electric bill came down about 80 bucks. next year, the price will probably be around 5 bucks a pop due to their popularity.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

This LED Light is Very Bright & Cool

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got three of these LEDs for my ceiling fan and they work great.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>