728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Washington State

LED A19 40 Watt

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed this in the light fixture over my kitchen table. Comes on instantaneously which is very convenient when compared the lag time required for the CFL bulb. The light is warm and spreads well. I heard these are more efficient then CFL bulbs because they convert nearly all of their input energy to light energy (whereas in CFL bulbs some of the energy goes to heat energy). It's been on for over an hour and this LED bulb is at room temperature to touch -- zippo heat!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kasilof, AK

Outstanding

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At first I bought 1 bulb thinking that it wouldn't be very bright, and it only cost 18 bucks, so that would be a lesson learned. I took it home and put it in the hallway ceiling light. It was as bright, but a softer light than the CFL that i replaced. I went back that day and bought 3 more. Every payday, I bought 3 and now I only have 3 more bulbs to replace and my whole house is LED, my electric bill so far is down 62 dollars a month. would I recommend this to my family and friends? YES
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Haines, OR

Good quality light

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered two of these bulbs for my boys bed reading lights. While they are not Made in USA, I'm still satisfied with the bulb's light and overall quality.
These are MUCH safer than an incandescent light for reading.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect in my application

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The bulb lights instantly to full brightness. The 3000K color is a nice neutral - not a harsh white or off-color warm. In this type of bulb most of the light comes out the top. It looks great in my kitchen chandelier with downlights. It may leave shadows in a fixture with a lamp shade. It provides a full range of dimming with an LED/CFL dimmer.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best at downlighting

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This lamp focuses downward, which belies its "normal" light bulb shape. As such, it is less useful for omnidirectional applications such as in general illumination lamps. But it excels in downlighting applications, such as a porch light, a ceiling light, or a reading lamp, where you want the light on the ground. I measured twice the downward illumination from this light vs. an 11 watt CFL in an A-19 package.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8 Months Old

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought one 1/04/12 and I use about 8 hours a day and it is still going. I use it as a desk lamp and it is plenty bright. After it was brought to my attention through the reviews yes it causes RFI on an AM radio. I will try in a garage door opener soon. I believe energy saving lights should be used more than 3 hours a day as they recommend for better savings.
Pros: Easy Installation, looks like 40 watts to me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Boston, MA

Time for millions to ditch the mercury!

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Color, coverage, dimming function, and of course price are the reasons I believe this LED A-19 replacement is the best yet. I've been watching this market for last couple years and they've come a long way with this little bulb.
The journey is far from over, but this is a very important step towards making the dirty CFL obsolete.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

An added benefit I hadn't considered

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the first LED substitute type bulb I've used, as I've been holding off for the price to get under $10. It did, so I bought one to experiment with. Boy did I feel stupid though, when I'm struggling to get it out of the packaging and dropped it about 4 feet onto a concrete floor. Although it appears to be plastic of some sort, the globe part shattered about like an incandescent bulb does. BUT. There was no mercury spill like a CCF would give you, AND it still works like a champ, without the globe. There are exposed wires, and obviously I would heartily not recommend this as a normal course of action, but it's good to know just how rugged they are. Without the globe it is even more directional, but in the gooseneck lamp I have it in, that's all the better. To me the light does not look yellow/brown at all, it seems very naturally white, and I find it excellent for reading.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works with all my dimmers

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried the copper recessed led lights and they did not work with the dimmers I already had in my house.
I bought the led dimmers and the cooper led still did not work.
This bulb works,dims,with no buzzing.Works well with all my recessed lighting.I kept all my original dimmers and they dim down to about 10%.26 blubs no problem,no buzz.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Menifee, CA, USATzS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used seven of these in the new can lights in the kitchen. Perfect choice as they provide great lighting and can be dimmed when needed. Recommended by H. D. employee and he was absolutely right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! Great Value!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was surprised to see what appears to be the same bulb for double the price ($19.97, maybe they are dimmable?) on the site! I have now replaced over the past 5 months, approximately 40 to 50 incandescent and CFL bulbs inside and outside my home with these bulbs. In nearly every case they are much brighter than the supposed equivalent. I have them in lamps, recessed lighting, outdoor fixtures, and they work beautifully. These are NOT dimmable but if that is not an issue, they are the best value I have been able to find and work just as well and provide the same, if not more light than the $50 flood/reflector LEDs which I have also tried. Converting to LED is initially a little expensive, but the savings over the years will be tremendous! I've waited about five years for an affordable bulb and this one is really good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

These bulbs are awesome!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
They were a little expensive at $10 a bulb but, I needed something that wouldn't get hot for my boys' desk lights. My 8 year old tried to test the theory by sticking his finger all the way to the base of the bulb. It does get hot there, but the whole glass part stayed cool to the touch even after hours of continuous use. I hope the estimate of 46 years of life holds true, that would make them quite a bargain at $10 each then!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Easy Installation, stays cool\gives off no heat, life span
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Virginia

Brilliant and Clear

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was amazed at the clear bright light that was also "warm" in color. It is a great light and I'm pleased to not have to replace them until I retire - 20 years from now. Very sturdy and substancial feeling as well - not that that makes any real difference.
One final note - the packaging was very attractive and easy to open but it seemed excessive for an item that is so "green".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Toledo, OH

Excellent substitute

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are an excellent substitute for dimming incandescents, very, very close to the light warmth. They come on instantly, just as fast as incandescents, and they actually are brighter than the 40 watt bulbs (i put them both in the same fan to see) they stay cool, so i would imagine my A/C runs easier, my electric bill did come down, but i don't know that i'd attribute the entire difference to these bulbs.
If they were sold cheaper in bulk, or maybe somehow could be closer to about ten bucks each, they'd be the best things ever. These are a GREAT investment for lights that are on often too, as they will save tons of money and reduce heat generation..i would suggest and recommend this to anyone who's planning on staying in their home for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kasilof, AK

Great Bulb Great Light

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are a little more pricey then the cfl bulbs, but according to the box, last for 46 years, so we bought 3 or 4 every payday, now all of my bulbs in the the house are LED and our electric bill came down about 80 bucks. next year, the price will probably be around 5 bucks a pop due to their popularity.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to beat for the price

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up 3 of these to install over my breakfast table in a chandelier about 6 months ago so I feel like I can definitely give a pretty accurate review. In addition, I bought a slide dimmer to use so I could control the brightness (and energy usage) and they have been flawless. The lights are bright enough for my needs (matching the 40w incandescents from what I can see) and they dim very smoothly with no strobing or flicker. If I were going to replace any other bulbs in my house at this point, these would probably be my first choice in terms of value and performance.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great evolutionary step in LED Lighting

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I took a leap and am happy to report that my first week with these LED bulbs is going well. They are truly instant on and make no appreciable noise when dimmed. They provide a nice ambient slightly more blu-ish tint than the CFLs which I am replacing. They could be brighter. They could be cheaper. All in good time, my friends. Let's enjoy the fruits of technologically laboring engineers who are helping us all consume less natural resources.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding Bulb

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started out buying just a few bulbs to try . I put the bulb on a watt meter and discovered they were using 6 watts and even one with 5 watts consistently with the same performance. wow ! I had a couple of bulbs from a nearby competitor rated to use 7.5 but all consistently using 15 watts - I like to get what Im paying for .Needless to say when I replaced my 13-25 watt florescent bulbs in our house (25 + ) our power bill went down over $100 that next month .It is really great how they come on fully brights .I have yet no duds in all that I have bought . totally sold
Pros: Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While these bulbs are a bit pricey, wow are they worth it. Such a dramatic change in my kitchen lighting. Highly recommend and will recommend to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Good product at a great price!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very satisfied with this product because of it's energy savings and long useful life.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>