728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great desk Lamp bulb, low heat output

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great replacement bulb, my old bulb was a 15 watt cfl bulb. If was to hot, so I bought this bulb. Its a nice bright white light in my small desk lamp. Its still has some heat, but you won't burn your fingers if you touch the bulb when its on. Its a great price at about $10.00
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

An added benefit I hadn't considered

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the first LED substitute type bulb I've used, as I've been holding off for the price to get under $10. It did, so I bought one to experiment with. Boy did I feel stupid though, when I'm struggling to get it out of the packaging and dropped it about 4 feet onto a concrete floor. Although it appears to be plastic of some sort, the globe part shattered about like an incandescent bulb does. BUT. There was no mercury spill like a CCF would give you, AND it still works like a champ, without the globe. There are exposed wires, and obviously I would heartily not recommend this as a normal course of action, but it's good to know just how rugged they are. Without the globe it is even more directional, but in the gooseneck lamp I have it in, that's all the better. To me the light does not look yellow/brown at all, it seems very naturally white, and I find it excellent for reading.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

great led bulb for the money

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
mine have been working fine. I have 5 of them now. to the people that have had theirs die, do you have a surge protector? I seriously doubt the LED itself it blowing. these LED bulbs have a transformer built into them (thats why their so heavy), most likely that is going bad. I use APC surge/battery backup units for ALL my electronics. I cant guarantee it will fix your issue, but it cant hurt at all.
anyway, I think these bulbs have a good bit of light. their not super bright, but not dim either. if you look at other bulbs cost/performance wise, these are great. let me know if you find better
-4points
9out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LED's have come of age!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is rated as a 40w replacement, but I find it more comparable to a 60W it works well in an overhead fixture facing down, has a rather focused light. It might not work as well in a lamp or situation requiring more diffused light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Putnam Valley NY

Great product, great value

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend. I get no buzzing or RF interference as others have reported. The light has a good color, not too white, not too yellow. I have there in a 4" recesssed light housing. Using it it with a Luron maestro MIR-600THW-WH and the bulbs dim nicely.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Fitchburg, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Geat Bulb!

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this light as I have never tried LED bulbs. I replaced a 12 watt Compact Fl in my night reading lamp. One thing I noticed right away is the instant bright. CF lamps come on right away, but take several minutes to reach full intensity. This lamp is full bright, nice warm color. No flickers, and great power savings.
I will be investing in more of these, and other LED lamps!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Glendale, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Crazy Good

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 1 today and tried it out. Was back later on and bought 3 more. 9 watts thats a 40 watt equivalent. But in my opinion I don't mind them in place of a 60, they are pretty bright in most fixtures. If you want to save some money on your electric bill these will pay for themselves fast.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bulbs!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had purchased some bulb shaped LED light bulbs for our ceiling fan lighting in the bedrooms but didn't really understand Lumens and so we didn't know that they were a bit too dim for lighting a whole room. We got these to replace them (and are moving the other LED lights to other fixtures) and we LOVE them - very nice, bright, natural looking light. Going to go and get some more at this great price of less than $10 each - can't find another 40W equivalent out there at that price!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Los Gatos, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good. Four bulbs working in a track light...nice

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The price was better than most 40 watt bulbs I've seen. It meet my financial threshold of a little more than a 1 year payback at 4 hours per day and the $0.33 tier at PG&E. Most CFOs will drool over a 1 year payback. If you're in the high cost tier and the usage is high then consider these bulbs for the cost savings. The light is a little brighter than ordinary 40W bulbs and the color of the light is warm enough. Do the math.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Banner Elk, NC

Love this bulb

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've purchased 6 of these and love the light output color and bulb styling. Some other bulbs use silver and I simply prefer the white and more globe shaped bulb. The light output is virtually the same color as the typical 60w bulbs used and no one can tell the difference. I especially like these for our condo's outdoor lighting fixtures because they emit out and downward and help reduce the upward light pollution, so the stars are more visible.
These use to be a far better value when they were priced under $10 each, so I'll be waiting for a sale before purchasing additional bulbs.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works with all my dimmers

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried the copper recessed led lights and they did not work with the dimmers I already had in my house.
I bought the led dimmers and the cooper led still did not work.
This bulb works,dims,with no buzzing.Works well with all my recessed lighting.I kept all my original dimmers and they dim down to about 10%.26 blubs no problem,no buzz.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love them

PostedJune 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought 12 of these to replace the CLF's in my bathrooms. They run SO much cooler than the CFL's and the packaging says they will last 45.7 years. So far so good and no mercury like the CFL's.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

good product

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for the money...check stores for availability..some store had 30 others had none.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bulb and great price

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bright enough to replace a 60 watt incandescent and a great price, to boot. Can't beat this bulb!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Redmond, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best LED light for the money

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I can't believe that the price on these have come down so far. I've purchased more expensive LED lightbulbs on the web that don't put out the amount of light that these do. These are great in a downlight configuration. In a standard lamp, I would recommend the Eco-Smart omni-directional 13 watt bulbs. The color of the light is perfect, it's slightly warm, not too warm or artificially yellow like the Phillips LED bulbs.
I've now replaced all the lights in my house with LED bulbs, mostly Eco-Smart bulbs. The power savings is great and you can't beat the price. I only hope they last as long as they claim. So far (2 months), no problems.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Menifee, CA, USATzS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used seven of these in the new can lights in the kitchen. Perfect choice as they provide great lighting and can be dimmed when needed. Recommended by H. D. employee and he was absolutely right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value and Brightness

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In years past I had purchased several LED's bulbs only to be dissapointed but the EcoSmart LED is certainly the exception and a cut above.
I compared the EcoSmart LED bulb to an identical 40 W incandescent lamp in the same room and the EcoSmart was actually slightly brighter. It's sort of a blend of the cool white with the warm standard; however, leaning to the cool white.
I would highly recommend the EcoSmart LED to replace not only your incandescent bulbs but your CFL's as well.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New lighting capability beyond just bulb replacement

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used a number of these to replace incandescent lights, with varying success because the two are not equivalent.
The real value to me came when I needed lighting for a medicine cabinet I'd just completed. I was able to use a line of four of these set into an oak strip matching the cabinets. ALL the light comes out the front! The back is open for cooling, but unlighted. The bulb is cool and able to operate safely in contact with the wood. I've never seen lighting before that so definitely didn't have stray light wasted where it wasn't wanted.
A whole new era in lighting design is enabled and it fits my needs much better than anything with chrome light strips (incandescent or LED) or fluorescent (either CFL or tube) that is available on the market.
And it is dimmable which would have been required anyway for incandescent. That works well because it has more than ample brightness.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really great price for an LED

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is great for its price. And the color is so bright for an LED bulb.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from ashford, ct
Age Range:25 to 34

Bright!

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Doesn't take forever to warm up (for those of us who live in a cold house). The light is very bright. I can't wait to see my electric bill next month...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>