728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 141 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
risandy

LED bulb burned out

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought an A19 LED bulb by Ecosmart, and it burned out in about a month. Perhaps there's a reason it's so much cheaper than the Sylvania equivalent.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 142 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
LEDfan
from Boise, ID

Excellent LED Lights

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for LED bulbs for a number of years, and until I tried these, I was not happy with any of them because of their color variation, low output, and cost. Finally Home Depot has found a product worthy of a home "improvement" store. They are still a bit expensive, and aren't quite ready to be used all over my house, but they are perfect for some applications. We have a 2 story entry way with a 9 bulb lamp hanging from the ceiling. The incandescent bulbs burn out quite quickly (within a month or two), and it is a real pain to get the ladder out and climb up there to change the bulbs. I am so happy that now with these LED bulbs I may never have to go up there again, and they use a lot less power than the 40W incandescents. We are using these bulbs where ever there is a light that is difficult to replace (a lot of places in our house), or where the slightly colder color doesn't bother us. We don't use them for the vanity lights in the washroom, reading lights, or the stair lights in the entry way because we prefer a warmer color, but when warmer LEDs become available, we will probably change them too.
Very happy customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 143 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
MihirN
from Toledo, OH

Excellent substitute

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are an excellent substitute for dimming incandescents, very, very close to the light warmth. They come on instantly, just as fast as incandescents, and they actually are brighter than the 40 watt bulbs (i put them both in the same fan to see) they stay cool, so i would imagine my A/C runs easier, my electric bill did come down, but i don't know that i'd attribute the entire difference to these bulbs.
If they were sold cheaper in bulk, or maybe somehow could be closer to about ten bucks each, they'd be the best things ever. These are a GREAT investment for lights that are on often too, as they will save tons of money and reduce heat generation..i would suggest and recommend this to anyone who's planning on staying in their home for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 144 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
KRinOR
from Ashland, OR

Made me a believer in LED. Dimming has caveats.

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these based on the great reviews here, and have been really impressed and plan to buy more. First, the $20 price is almost half of similar LED bulbs, and most aren't dimmable at any price.
I don't like the light color from any CFLs I've tried, so I expected to have to just "get used to" the light color if I wanted to save money on lighting with LEDs. The light color at 3000K from the EcoSmart was a brighter white than my incandescents, but I actually found it nicer in a side-side comparison with them. It's whiter, but not harsh like flourescent, and colors are truer under this light. Also, it is definitely brighter than the estimated 40 watt equivalent, although some of this may be perceptual because of the whiter color. It's not quite as bright as a 60 watt. I'd call it a 50.
It turns on instantly to full brightness and normally makes zero noise.
Keep in mind despite the bulb shape, LEDs are still very directional. So in a table lamp for instance, about twice as much light goes up to the ceiling than down to the table. So they are fantastic for downlights, but terrible for something like a single-bulb ceiling fixture where the bulb is horizontal.
Although it dims and dims down as low as you could want, just being on a dimmer switch produces a slight buzzing noise from the bulb even at 100% brightness. You can't hear it from 5+ feet away, but this happened on two different brands of dimmer.
Build quality is impressive. It's heavy and solid and feels unbreakable though I wasn't about to test that theory. The bulb produces hardly any heat at all on the globe, and the heatsink at the back is merely warm even after hours of use. You'll save on cooling bills with these for sure.
If this bulb lasts its claimed 50,000 hours, running 8 hours a day at $0.09 cents per KWH, the Total Cost of Ownership/per year of this bulb will be $2.56 per year versus $4.16 per year for a 13 watt CFL that lasts 9,000 hours. And of course some carbon, mercury and cooling savings too.
As others have mentioned, the extensive plastic packaging feels a little wrong for this product. It's a lot of waste.
Overall, these things have made the hot wires in glass we've been using for 100 years look like antiques.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 145 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Charlesm1950
from Austin, TX

Great ecobulb! Very NOT ECO Packaging

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this bulb to replace an incandescent bulb in a high ceiling above our whirlpool tub. It's down right scary what you have to do to reach the location and remove the waterproof cover, so I wanted a bulb that would last a lifetime.
I'm also a geek and wanted an excuse to try a LED bulb. This does the job nicely. The color temperature is not as warm as an incandescent and while the dimmer can dim downward to a low level it will eventually go off. Raising the dimmer slowly the lamp comes on at a higher level, about 40% up the dimmer's range.
I would have given it a higher rating but the packaging is ridiculously wasteful. The bulb is in a contour fitting plastic case suspended inside a larger plastic box with cardboard fillers at the top and bottom. Showy, but wasteful and using a lot of petroleum based plastic. I like the product and will use more of these in my home in the future, so I hope Ecosmart will "smarten up" with less wasteful packaging.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 146 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
burg
from greeley co

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
nice bright white light gives off no heat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 147 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Mike123456
from Lakeside, CA

Ecosmart LED A19 Bulb

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have replaced almost every light in our house. This light is the best I have found at 429 Lumens verses the others at around 125 to 200 Lumens, plus they are DIMMABLE! That was what I was waiting for, and at only $19.97 each.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 148 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
cbuzzsaw
from Denver, CO

ECOSMART BULB

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros - Good light Color in Office setting, Dimmable in most fan/Light combo fixtures without need to replace switch like most CFLs, No hum
Cons - Light is directected forward (as you would expect from an LED) so any glass buttercup decorative fixtures have a harsh dark/light line unlike a standard incadescent bulb (asthetics only) which light up the entire fixture.
We'll see how long they last to make them worth the cost...
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 149 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
leeleses
from Willow Grove, PA

Very good for certain applications.

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First of all, If I understand the website correctly, it says this is only available online. That is NOT correct, because I just brought one of these at the Willow Grove, PA 19090 Home Depot today for $19.97 + tax.
I was looking for a way to save even more energy than compact fluorescent bulbs do. When I got it home and tried it, initially I was disappointed because I was hopeing it would be brighter. I would say it is about as bright as a 40 watt incandescent bulb. At first I was thinking about taking it back.
Then I tried plugging the lamp into a Leviton plug in X-10 dimmer module I have. It's a small device that you plug the lamp cord into, and then the module plugs into the wall outlet. I decided to try this because it said online and on the package that this bulb is "dimmable." To my surprise, it dims BEAUTIFULLY, with a smooth range of light levels from 40 watt incandescent brightness to very dim, but still bright enough to work better than a night light in my living room. I also read online that the more you dim a light with a solid state dimmer like this Leviton module and other modern dimmers, the more energy you save. It says online if you dim a light 50% you save about 40% of the electricity.
I've been trying for several years to find a bulb that would replace the energy hog incandescent bulbs but still be dimmable. This bulb is also 100% cooler than an incandescent bulb, which makes it easier to keep the house cool and is a LOT safer. I have a lot of Leviton dimmers in my house, both plug in and built in at wall switches. But the dimmers don't work with fluorescent bulbs!
Bottom line is, this LED bulb has a very good color frequency of about 3000k, and runs very cool, lasts a long time, and saves a LOT of energy.
The bad parts they need to work on is the light is not bright enough for when you need a room brightly lit, and the light output is way too directional. Most of the light projects out the top of the bulb, not out at all angles.
Hopefully, with some kind of reflectors or adding more LED's per bulb, they will solve these two issues. I was wondering if the LED itself is not drawing the 9 watts it draws, maybe the current draw is a function of the circuitry the converts the 110AC to low voltage DC and regulates the voltage. In other words, maybe adding a few more LED's to this thing would not increase the load much more than the 9 watts it's drawing now. Or maybe they could make a bulb that switches to conventional incandescent for full brightness and back to LED at lower light levels like they were doing with LED flashlights a few years ago. Eventually, the LED's in the flashlights got so much better they were able to just use LED's the flashlights without an additional Halogen bulb.
Anyway, this is worth trying if you need lower levels of light and dimming. If the price comes down I could afford to try more of them too!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 150 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
ChristopherG
from Brooklyn, NY

Great LED Bulb

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a contractor focused on "green building," I find this to be a great product, especially for the price, when considering how expensive LED bulbs have been until now. Output perception is higher than the advertised 40-watt replacement, and is comparable to a 50-watt incandescent, and not much lower than a 60-watt. The tone is not as warm as some CFLs I've seen that were 2700k-2750k, but it is warm enough at 3000k. I plan to use these with Lutron Diva dimmers that are advertised as being compatible. If these bulbs dim as advertised, they're a definite home-run. A dimmable 60-watt equivalent is said to be coming out in the next few months. If you need more output, you might want to wait for that one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 151 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
yournicknametaknbyanother
from Dodge City, KS

excellent product

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several of these, and I think they are great. I started with one on my porch light since LED's don't emit UV and bugs aren't attracted to them like they are to incandescent or CFL's. Then I bought several more for inside the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 152 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
bindslind
from Boston, MA

Time for millions to ditch the mercury!

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Color, coverage, dimming function, and of course price are the reasons I believe this LED A-19 replacement is the best yet. I've been watching this market for last couple years and they've come a long way with this little bulb.
The journey is far from over, but this is a very important step towards making the dirty CFL obsolete.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 153 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
mes6545
from So. Florida

very reasonable priced LED bulb

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Save energy and enjoy a refreshing light that dims. Ideal for ceiling fan lights and most fixtures. The bulb even resembles standard incandescent bulbs. Sends light in all directions and dims well. I used them in bathroom high hats and hallways as well as 4 ceiling fan lights. These are going to last me over 10 years with a payback of just over 2 years in electrical savings. A great buy. Thanks Home Depot. Way to go (green).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 154 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
ChrisInNJ
from NJ

Surprisingly good

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have all CFL's in my house except for one fixture that I hesitated replacing because we switch that light on and off many times a day. I have heard that on-off-on-off decreases the life expectancy of fluorescent bulbs. When I saw this bulb at HD and read the reviews, I had to try it - even for $20 a bulb. I'm very happy with my decision.
The specs of the bulb are impressive. It is one of the highest lumens per watt per dollar LED bulb available right now. The color is a bit whiter than the CFL and incandescent that I had, which in my opinion makes this light seem even brighter than the lumens would suggest. I replaced a 60 watt incandescent with this 9 watt LED and don't miss whatever actual lumens I may have lost.
The light isn't really directional but it does come out of the top half of the bulb more than the bottom half. This may or may not be a problem depending on your usage. I have one bulb in a ceiling fixture pointing down - works great. I have my other bulb in a wall sconce pointing up - works pretty well because it still gives off its own light and reflects light off of the wall/ceiling. Not sure how these bulbs would work in an end table lamp where the bulb points up but you want the light flowing down.
Yes it is a little expensive, but actual usuable replacement LED bulbs like this one are still quite new to the market. As I said before this is still the cheapest (and in my opinion best) option for what it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 155 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
jeepaddict
from East Rochester, NY

The Future of Lighting

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one of these just on a whim, mostly to satisfy my gadget addiction. I was amazed at the high-quality color from the bulb, much like that of an ordinary incandescent. I have it in a down-facing reading lamp, and I tend to agree with the other reviewer who said that the 40 watt rating seems a bit conservative, as it is plenty bright in a down-facing application. On the other hand, it gets only 4 stars for a couple of reasons. The packaging is FAR too excessive for what is marketed as an eco-friendly product. Secondly, it is just a tad overpriced, though I'm sure as more become available, the price will indeed decline. Overall, I recommend it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 156 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Kesh
from Oregon

Mixed review

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These appear to be great bulbs with an interesting effect that they are somewhat directional. The CFs all around the house are much more omnidirectional than this LED bulb. I will play with them and find an optimal location, but beware of this caveat.
I placed a pair in my kitchen and as a result of the directionality the kitchen is not as bright as with equivalent wattage CF bulbs. Slightly whiter output than the CFs.
I would like to see a color closer to incandescent than closer to white.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 157 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
IMRon
from Falols Church, VA

9 watt LED

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This bulb is not anymore efficient than a 9 watt (40 watt equivalent) CFD, but has no mercury disposal problems. If does only have 78% of the light output of the equivalent 9 watt CFD. Why buy it? Is rated 50,000 hours verse 10,000 for CFD
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 158 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
miserfromva
from Virginia

Brilliant and Clear

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was amazed at the clear bright light that was also "warm" in color. It is a great light and I'm pleased to not have to replace them until I retire - 20 years from now. Very sturdy and substancial feeling as well - not that that makes any real difference.
One final note - the packaging was very attractive and easy to open but it seemed excessive for an item that is so "green".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 159 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
otis362

LED bulb

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these a couple of days ago and I'm going back today to get more. I love the quality and think this is the future of lighting. You won't be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
AlexB2311
from Indian Trail, NC

LED Bulb

PostedMay 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought an ecosmart led bulb a few weeks ago at the store and I have to say that I really like it. I put the light bulb that I bought into my bedroom lamp, and light that it puts out is pretty good. Another nice aspect is that this bulb is cheaper then many other led bulbs out there and the lumen output is better as well. For $20 dollars, I think that everyone should give it a try and its a great way to "go green" and save on energy around the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 5 6 7 8 9 >>