728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fluorescent Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast

120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast

Use GE LFL Multi-Volt ProLine Electronic Multi-volt Instant Start Ballast for quality performance. High performance electronic ballast for all general fluorescent applications. Instant start electronic ballast for long lamp starting cycles and low initial cost.
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Review 1 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
burnedtwice
from Oak Ridge
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WARNING!! DO NOT WIRE ELECTRONIC BALLAST WITH A MAGNETIC TYPE OFF THE SAME AC

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had two 8' fixtures in my garage. One fixture went out, replaced the magnetic ballast with a 74475 electronic ballast. The first one lasted about one evening and stopped working. I replaced it with another and it lasted 2 hours. I called GE service line and told them my problem and the first thing they asked was "did I have another magnetic ballast wired to the same AC source" and of course I did and he said "that's the problem". The electrical noise caused by the magnetic ballast goes down the ac line to the other ballast and burns it up. So much for electronics. All PN junctions are subject to frying with high voltage noise. So lessons learned are, if you replace one replace all that are wired to the same AC source.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Dean

Duuh it is a ballast

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works fine small and light weight. Who cares about Appearance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
jstone
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and works perfect

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace the ballast in a single lamp 8ft fixture. The previous ballast replacement was done by someone else and he used the wrong type (he used a 4 lamp that wasn't even designed for a F96 T12 lamp).
Replacing the ballast was simple - I just followed the wiring diagram. I capped off one of the blue wires since I only have 1 lamp.
Now the lamp is brighter than before and I'm very happy.
I wish the price was cheaper, but I guess that's what you get when they phase items out.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Nebulous
from Houston

Gotta agree, wish I had installed these sooner.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I should have done this a long time ago, but the recent frigid temperatures finally got me in gear.
It's an easy install, but read the wiring photos/diagrams closely, it's not wire for wire identical to the magnetic ballasts that come off, but simple nonetheless.
It's colder than Hades outside but these come on instantly, using my existing F96T12 lamps/bulbs.
Thanks to all the other posters for the tips, much appreciated.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
rosetejas

Used to replace old leaky ballasts

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are easy to install and the instructions are clear. Used on 8' dual ballast units. Needed to patch ins extra wire on one ballast on each unit but no big deal. Very light compared to the old type. Satisfied with product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
DIYHank

Works well and came with clear instructions.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced an old magnetic ballast with this one in my garage. It is nice to have the lights turn on quickly and not flicker until the ballast warms up in cold temps. However, the old magnetic ballast lasted over 23 years. Time will tell if the newer electronic ballast will last as long so I can only guess that quality is at least good.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Fast / Speed, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Rayz
from Oley, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy installation

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was an easy installation with great results. Wiring instructions are clear and right on the ballast. Probably the quickest installation I've ever done.
Everything fired up on que and is running great.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Brian
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Ballast that hooks lights in parallel

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Electronic ballast hooks up easily and in doing so connects both lights in parallel. This is an advantage because only the bad light stops working and can be replaced. The transformer based ballast I had were hooked in series and both lights would go out if one failed. This ballast lights the old lamps I had, which I thought were both bad. The higher voltage ionizes the gas in the bulb and they both light easily even when the garage is cold. Best money I spent in a long time. I rewired both of my 8ft. light assemblies.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
Cons: none
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
KruzMSU
from Lansing, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to understand instructions, installed in about 20 minutes. Works like a charm.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Nice Design, Good Instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
lraney
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

A great replacement for old magnetic ballast

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The old, noisy ballast in my kitchen overheated and failed. I found this replacement ballast at Home Depot. It included clear instructions on how to wire it two my old fixture. After completing and double checking the wiring I turned on the switch. Fluorescent lights come on faster that with the magnetic ballast and are very quiet. – this is an excellent product.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Grips
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked, but it was beat up

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this as a replacement part for a ballast that blew in one of my shop lights. Ordered it online and received it a week or so later. The box was beat up and after opening it, I noticed that the mounting brackets were bent up pretty bad on both sides. It should've been packaged better to prevent this. I was able to bend the brackets back in order to mount it and it worked, so I kept it. I'm giving this 4 stars because the unit held up pretty well considering the damage it took during shipping. I guess that's a testament to it's quality.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Laskesrider
from Lakes region of New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a very noisy lamp in an office/shop area. It had the old magnetic ballast in it. I swapped that ballast for this new electronic one. Now my light is super quiet and starts right up even on a chilly morning. So nice. The one drawback is the wiring diagram did not work on my light. I did not have a jumper wire between the two holders like it showed in the wiring diagram. I had to pigtail the wire that went to the two holders in order to get both lamps to work. But after that it was all good.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Functional, Well Made, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Maintenancecrew
from Fullerton, CA, USA

Compact design....dual voltage very helpfull

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Replacement for an old and heavy ballast....dual voltage excellent feature....Durability we'll see...
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: connecting wires a little too short....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Arthur
from Franklin Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation, good value.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice replacement PCB free ballast...it's smaller than the original PCB filled ballast which was a mess leaking fluid and it's about half the weight of the original.
Pros: Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120-277 Volt 2-or 1-Lamp T12 8 ft. Electronic Ballast
Anonymous
from Tahuya, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy upgrade to older 8' two-bulb fixtures.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These new ballasts along with the upgraded bulbs really brightened up my shop. easy to follow instructions and only takes about 15 minutes per fixture to do the change-over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.