728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Make sitting outdoors safe and enjoyable again with the PIC Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack). Add 1 cup of fruit juice and 1 - 2 small pieces of raw meat, fish or moist cat food to each trap to attract and kill yellow jackets and wasps without using harmful chemicals or poisons. The traps are environmentally safe and can be reused.
Overall rating:
3.682 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product13 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product13 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
Review 1 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Brandon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best I have used. Extremely effective

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually purchased these exact traps from another retailer and am posting this only beause I happened upon these reviews.
I live in Manitoba and wasp season is heavy upon us now. I put two of these traps out 3 days ago, following the instructions, although I am sure I could get away with normal nectar in there too. It likely depends on what else is in the area as an attractant. Anyway, I put one near 3 hummingbird feeders they were hanging around and then another by our pool in the backyard. The following evening I had to bring them both in and clean them out since the carnage within them rendered them ineffective for anything but simply trapping the wasps (and hornets too). A homemade trap with a 2 liter pop bottle also works but no where near as well as this gem. Once they are in the trap, getting out would be very difficult. I suspect I will be cleaning them again this evening.
I am definitely purchasing more when I cross-border this weekend.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Did not work

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used all 6 and used different ingredients in each, including recipe from box. Refilled each one time. Did not catch 1 wasp or yellow jacket even though they were flying around them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from pearisburg va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bee trap

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to use WORKS GREAT have caught yellow jackets wasps hornets and those little bumble bees
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Best trap on the market

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had one like this a couple of years ago until I forgot to put it up. A coyote drug it off. I got these yesterday and set out 4 today. With in 3 hours I have caught close to 100 yellow jackets.
I just use 1 spoon of canned cat food. Works great!!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Traps

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have tried most of the other traps on the market over the years and none of them worked at all for us.
We have unsucessfully battled large numbers of aggressive Red Wasps for several years around our house & garden. I saw these online and after researching them decided to give them a try. I am so glad I did. They have helped so much. Yesterday alone I emptied over 2 dozen red wasps out of the traps. We are using 6 of them & baiting them with concord grape juice & a small piece of dog food in each. If you have a problem with wasps, I highly recommend these.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best wasp/fly trap on the market

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have a problem with wasps, bees, flies, this product is for you. We lie along a creek and are plagued by horse flies, wasps, and just plain flies. I fill the trap with apple juice, just a little in the bottom, and the flies and wasps go right in. Then I empty it out in the pond and the fish have a feast. This is the best wasp/fly trap I have every found. And since I can see thru it, I know when to empty and put in new liquid.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Longview, TX

This is the BEST trap ever

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have one of these and it works so well we just bought a pack of 6. It is easy to fill, empty and refill. Washes easy and is sturdy. We will be putting on on the side of the house and two near the patio and holding extras to put where needed. We are over run by yellow jackets and they really love the trap..Course they can't get out and that makes me happy. It also traps red wasps. I am thrilled to find something that works so well.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Auburn, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yellow Jacket Trap

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The nice thing about these traps is that you don't have to buy the $5 bait, you mix your own at a fraction of the cost! I haven't had a chance to use them yet but I see no reason why they won't work. I'll update this review if there is a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from San Carlos

Unfortunately, it's a great BEE catcher

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for this product but I've managed to catch far more bees than wasps or yellow jackets.
Knowing the benefits that bees bring us and that their population is on the decline, the last product I want to use is a bee catcher.
I've experimented with placement in different locations and using different food and juices to attract only wasps and yellow jackets, but the bees keep coming.
This product may work well in areas that are mostly infested by yellow jackets and wasps, but if you have bees, I would recommend using other traps that have attractants that are targeted for yellow jackets and wasps.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Houston, Txt area

These wasp / yellow jacket traps actually WORK

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried a number of different wasp traps with no success. Baited with Humingbird sugar water, I was pleasantly surprised to see this trap filling with mud daubers. I have tried the currently available ( green ) traps and they didn't catch anything but gnats. Then I found I could order these online.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: they weather in a couple of years
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Tomahawk, WI 54487, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I have tried other wasp/hornet traps and they never worked. Trust me we paid far more for them as well. This is a simple design and works like a chap, I'd recommend this to anyone that has trouble with these pests. We had so many wasps that they were chasing the humming birds from their feeder, but this fixed our problem.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Yorktown Heights, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product - One I can use next year!!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am so very happy I purchased this product. It was so easy to use and I caught so many wasps. This is the first time I have been able to truly relax on my deck. Wasps seem to love me so it was important that the numbers of them were kept to a minimum. THIS PRODUCT WORKS - I used beer and the wasps loved it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, wonderful results easy to use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Disappointing

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed the instructions on package and even called customer service for Pic; still have not caught a single yellowjacket. Nest is very active in a holly bush by my barn; cannot use spray because it is harmful to evergreens. Was hoping the trap would eliminate the yellow jackets, but in a weeks' time, it has not trapped one insect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
Cons: does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great yellow jacket traps

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used these traps in the past and have found them to be very effective in trapping yellow jackets always as well other insects occasionally.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have used these yellowjacket traps for years -- work very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Branson, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

as advertised

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Catches wasps IF you follow the instructions.
The cord provided sun rots quickly and the unit will drop and shatter into nonreparable pieces.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

This is by far the best trapper I have purchased.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I buy the traps to attract yellowjackets away from my humming bird feeders. They work much better than the disposable and other traps I've tried.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Fairfield, CT

Maybe I have the "wrong" wasps??

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not an entomologist, so I don't know much about what the difference is between different stinging insects; They are all wasps to me. "Mine" are mostly black, fat, furry with some yellow markings. They seem to be boring holes in the soffits of my shed, so they are some wood-boring kind.
I've bought these traps. They arrived very promptly.
I've prepared the mix to the "t", cat food and all.
The suggested mix did not attract them at all.
I tried honey, maple syrup, sugar water, coke -- all to no avail. They were not the least bit interested in any of my baits!
I returned them to the nearest Home Depot without a problem
Buying/returning experience was painless.
Seems like they work for other people too.
Based on that, I am really reluctant to rate them low, but they did not work for me.
Your mileage may vary :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Lake Livingston, United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product does not work. I wasted my money, i believed the words on the package. I set out 3 traps and not one worked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work!! I put up all six and for two weeks they caught nothing. I still can not use my swimming pool because of the wasps.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>