728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Make sitting outdoors safe and enjoyable again with the PIC Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack). Add 1 cup of fruit juice and 1 - 2 small pieces of raw meat, fish or moist cat food to each trap to attract and kill yellow jackets and wasps without using harmful chemicals or poisons. The traps are environmentally safe and can be reused.
Overall rating:
3.529 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
Review 1 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from San Carlos

Unfortunately, it's a great BEE catcher

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for this product but I've managed to catch far more bees than wasps or yellow jackets.
Knowing the benefits that bees bring us and that their population is on the decline, the last product I want to use is a bee catcher.
I've experimented with placement in different locations and using different food and juices to attract only wasps and yellow jackets, but the bees keep coming.
This product may work well in areas that are mostly infested by yellow jackets and wasps, but if you have bees, I would recommend using other traps that have attractants that are targeted for yellow jackets and wasps.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Disappointing

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed the instructions on package and even called customer service for Pic; still have not caught a single yellowjacket. Nest is very active in a holly bush by my barn; cannot use spray because it is harmful to evergreens. Was hoping the trap would eliminate the yellow jackets, but in a weeks' time, it has not trapped one insect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
Cons: does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Houston, Txt area

These wasp / yellow jacket traps actually WORK

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried a number of different wasp traps with no success. Baited with Humingbird sugar water, I was pleasantly surprised to see this trap filling with mud daubers. I have tried the currently available ( green ) traps and they didn't catch anything but gnats. Then I found I could order these online.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: they weather in a couple of years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Traps

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have tried most of the other traps on the market over the years and none of them worked at all for us.
We have unsucessfully battled large numbers of aggressive Red Wasps for several years around our house & garden. I saw these online and after researching them decided to give them a try. I am so glad I did. They have helped so much. Yesterday alone I emptied over 2 dozen red wasps out of the traps. We are using 6 of them & baiting them with concord grape juice & a small piece of dog food in each. If you have a problem with wasps, I highly recommend these.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Best trap on the market

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had one like this a couple of years ago until I forgot to put it up. A coyote drug it off. I got these yesterday and set out 4 today. With in 3 hours I have caught close to 100 yellow jackets.
I just use 1 spoon of canned cat food. Works great!!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used these yellowjacket traps for years -- work very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Longview, TX

This is the BEST trap ever

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have one of these and it works so well we just bought a pack of 6. It is easy to fill, empty and refill. Washes easy and is sturdy. We will be putting on on the side of the house and two near the patio and holding extras to put where needed. We are over run by yellow jackets and they really love the trap..Course they can't get out and that makes me happy. It also traps red wasps. I am thrilled to find something that works so well.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Yorktown Heights, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product - One I can use next year!!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so very happy I purchased this product. It was so easy to use and I caught so many wasps. This is the first time I have been able to truly relax on my deck. Wasps seem to love me so it was important that the numbers of them were kept to a minimum. THIS PRODUCT WORKS - I used beer and the wasps loved it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, wonderful results easy to use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Tomahawk, WI 54487, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I have tried other wasp/hornet traps and they never worked. Trust me we paid far more for them as well. This is a simple design and works like a chap, I'd recommend this to anyone that has trouble with these pests. We had so many wasps that they were chasing the humming birds from their feeder, but this fixed our problem.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great yellow jacket traps

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used these traps in the past and have found them to be very effective in trapping yellow jackets always as well other insects occasionally.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Fairfield, CT

Maybe I have the "wrong" wasps??

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not an entomologist, so I don't know much about what the difference is between different stinging insects; They are all wasps to me. "Mine" are mostly black, fat, furry with some yellow markings. They seem to be boring holes in the soffits of my shed, so they are some wood-boring kind.
I've bought these traps. They arrived very promptly.
I've prepared the mix to the "t", cat food and all.
The suggested mix did not attract them at all.
I tried honey, maple syrup, sugar water, coke -- all to no avail. They were not the least bit interested in any of my baits!
I returned them to the nearest Home Depot without a problem
Buying/returning experience was painless.
Seems like they work for other people too.
Based on that, I am really reluctant to rate them low, but they did not work for me.
Your mileage may vary :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Branson, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

as advertised

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Catches wasps IF you follow the instructions.
The cord provided sun rots quickly and the unit will drop and shatter into nonreparable pieces.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from Lake Livingston, United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product does not work. I wasted my money, i believed the words on the package. I set out 3 traps and not one worked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work!! I put up all six and for two weeks they caught nothing. I still can not use my swimming pool because of the wasps.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

This is by far the best trapper I have purchased.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I buy the traps to attract yellowjackets away from my humming bird feeders. They work much better than the disposable and other traps I've tried.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)

worked great

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
will use again next year before our company big outdoor family fun fest
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yellow Jacket and Wasp Traps (6-Pack)
from New Mexico

Worst Designed Hornet Trap Ever!!!

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fact: The hornets that do enter & go in this trap can & will escape easily without being trapped after all.
I ordered this 6 pack of these hornet traps from Home Depot about one week ago hoping that they would really actually work & be effective for my property that is currently overwhelmed by angry, nasty meat eating hornets. I caught & trapped 14 hornets the first day. The very next day, I checked the trap again & some or most of the hornets were not still in the trap & had easily escaped from the trap.
I decided to change it out & setup it up again. This time around, I decided to plug up the four bottom holes on the hornet trap using ear plugs to try to keep any hornets that I might still catch from escaping so easily the next time around. Therefore, the hornets still had two holes to go in near the top of the trap. I set the trap up again where they were very thick & caught around 10 to 12. The next morning I went out to check the results, there were only 7 hornets still trapped. That means that most of them still escaped even though I plugged up the four lower holes on the bottom of the trap to try in prevent them from escaping again.
These nasty hornets are probably just laughing their heads off right now at this worthless designed hornet trap. They are just too smart to get completely trapped in it & not come out. These hornets are smarter than we all think they are. This kind of hornet trap just does not quite cut it for its purpose. {:-(
I am so fed up with the poor design of these hornet traps & the fact that the hornets can enter it for the bait & then fly right back out without being completely trapped. For that reason I am going to donate the last 4 remaining traps that I did not open or use to a Donation Station in my city for someone else to have & use.
-10points
3out of 16found this review helpful.