728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

The Westinghouse Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch is a 4-wire unit switch that provides control over your ceiling fan's rotation speed. The switch is easy to install and UL Recognized Component certified.
Overall rating:
2.3 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product4 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(0)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product4 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch
Review 1 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

Doesn't work in Home Depot's "Littleton"

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This switch has the same "1", "2", "3", "L" terminals as on the existing three-speed switch (whose plastic had broken), so I matched the wire colors to the terminals. The result: one speed (On and Off).
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

Capacitor problem, not a switch

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I've noticed the common problem that people are replacing the fan switch only to find that it runs on one speed. I have a Hampton Bay fan. In my case at least, it's not that the problem with fan switch, it's the capacitor. The fan speed is regulated by the capacitor not the switch. You can feel when the switch is broken. You have to replace the capacitor. Call the 877 warranty number. You can order the part for $15 including shipping. This will solve issue.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch
from eastern oregon

not universal

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
there are more than one internal sitching patterns marketed in same form factor.
There should be but isn't a clear designation as to which pattern you are replacing, nor on the package.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

After trying four different switches from a number of stores this one worked!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was able to fix my old fan with a four wire switch after researching and trying a number of different switches. The switch I used was from Home Depot and was a Westinghouse Part Number 77020.
Home Depot had this switch and number 77021 on the same peg but the 77021 would not work. That switch along with the ones from other stores and an electrical supply store just made the fan motor hum and not spin.
The wiring for my fan was:
L = Orange (fan direction switch)
1 = Purple (black capacitor box)
2 = Yellow (black capacitor box)
3 = Black (Hot)
After wasting half a day running to a number of stores I hope that this helps someone out.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

A PROBLEM WITH THIS SWITCH WITH A HUNTER FAN

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I took a picture of the existing switch wiring and installed the replacement switch (Westinghouse) exactly the same way. I now only have 2 speeds - high and low (no medium). I'm not happy...
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

Garbage, at least mine was

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two problems with this switch. First, either quality control or even poor design, it has no "off" position, at least mine didnt. Completely baffled, I opened the unit to find that the copper contact wrapped around the barrel that was supposed to be in the "off" position came too far up the barrel and touched the "line" contact.
Secondly, as someone mentioned, you really need to know the switching combination that your existing fan needs. This unit, if it were working correctly, has four positions and four wires. The terminals are marked L-1-2-3. The four positions give contact as follows:
A.) Open
B.) L-2-3
C.) L-1-3
D.) L-1-2
This did not work for my fan (Harbor Breeze), essentially giving me high speed twice, skipping medium.
Bottom line, even if the thing works as it is supposed to, gotta know your fan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch
from Wappingers Falls NY

Fairly easy to install

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I made sure I got the four wire switch since mine was four wire. Mine was soft wire. The switch was not prewired. It required hard wire pressed into switch. I first install hard wires into the switch and then I used wire nuts to connect the hard wires to the soft wire in the fan. Total time to install was about 30 minutes. Buy the switch and make sure you have small wire nuts. Also, four colored hard (14 - 16 gauge) wire - two to four inches of each color is all that is needed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch

It works!

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Well I bought this at my local Home Depot for a replacement in a Hampton Bay fan. I installed this wire for wire, and it wouldn't turn off. After trying three different wiring configurations, it finally was able to turn off the fan. It was basically the inverse of what it was originally. So yes it does work, but it's not the "plug n play" description that's written on the back of the box. I'm guessing different brands will have different results. Install time from start to finish, with having to flip the breaker for each time it was rewired, was about 15 to 20 minutes. But for the price, I can't complain.
Pros: Functional
Cons: not quite universal
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch
from Cleveland, Ga.

Hunter Fans

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This does NOT work on Hunter Ceiling Fans.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Replacement Single-Capacitor 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product