728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Commercial Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

The Lithonia Lighting Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture is ideal for use in workshops, utility rooms and garages. This ceiling light also has a "lift-and-shift" white acrylic diffuser for tool-free lamp replacement. Designed and manufactured to compliment a workshop’s popular diamond platestorage cabinets.
Overall rating:
3.515 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product36 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(17)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product36 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Review 1 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
sfd618
from Belleville, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lights

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these (late Dec 2013) for a workshop I built in my basement. I also have 3 of the matching 1240DP wall lights (Home Depot Internet # 100542208).
These ceiling lights use T8 bulbs. The matching 1240DP wall lights uses T12 bulbs.
The difference between the ceiling fixtures with the T8 bulbs and the wall fixtures with the T12 bulbs is striking. I used Philips 4’ T12 40-Watt (Store SKU # 152173) bulbs in the wall fixtures and Philips 4’ T8 32-Watt (Store SKU # 971061) bulbs in the ceiling fixtures.
The T8 ceiling lights turn on instantly with no flicker. The T12 wall lights take a second to come on and they will flicker for a few more seconds until the fully light. The T8 and T12 bulbs both have the same color temperature (3500K), but the T8 bulbs (2660 lumens) are noticeably brighter than the T12 (2550 lumens).
If you are looking for fluorescent lights, look for ones with the T8 bulbs. They seem to work better than the T12 bulbs and you’ll only end up replacing the ballasts in a T12 fixture in a few years when you need to replace the bulbs. The T12 bulbs will no longer be manufactured after 7/14/14.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
NorPol
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to secure fluorescent light tubes

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While installing this shop light in my garage the plastic clips holding the light tubes bent away and made it very difficult to install and secure the light tubes. If it hadn't been for the fact that the fixture was relatively inexpensive and the fact that I had already attached the light fixture to the chains in my garage ceiling right before store closing time, I would have returned this product to Home Depot for a better quality shop light.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
AirMojo
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best work shop lights that I could find !

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped online and went to local stores to find an overhead florescent tube work shop light. I really wanted to actually see the light before I bought it. I wanted it to be 4 foot, and to have a cord with a 3 pronged plug--initially wanted 8 foot, but I could only find 5 foot cords locally.
I have two workbenches; one against the basement wall with a pegboard above it; the other is a walk-around bench with a mechanic's vice on one corner, and a woodworker's vice on the opposite diagonal corner.
I initially bought one of these lights to see if one was enough, but decided to buy another, and install one light over each bench for the best lighting. I was amazed at the amount of light I now have available!
The 5 foot cords worked out fine. Previously I only had an overhead single light-bulb above the woodworkers bench that I had a high wattage florescent light installed. This fixture also has a female 3-pronged outlet, and I have a power-bar mounted overhead on the above floor joist plugged into that.
I added a 3-to-1 plug adapter so that I could plug one of the new lights into it, along with the power-bar. The other light is plugged into the power-bar that I also use for my magnifying light, dremel tool, and other power tools.
The "diamond plate" cover appears to be aluminum--it's not plastic, as I can grip it at one of the corners and bend it if I wanted to. The shiny aluminum cover really helps to reflect the light that really contributes to the improved lighting.
I also like the robust feel of the pull-chain switch that turns the light on and off. It feels very well made, and hopefully will last a long time !
I'm very happy with these lights, and they make working on and seeing my projects so much better !
I uploaded a photo of my new lights above my workbenches.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Fran

LIghtweight, does what it should

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this for a plant that gets some natural light but needs more. Also bought the bulbs appropriate for green plants. Remains to be seen how it helps the plant but I like product. LIghtweight, I didn't want something that had to be hung from the ceiling, this has a power cord so I can plug it into the wall. So met all my requirements.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Dave
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Looking Light for the Man Cave

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put seven of these in my workshop. Every guy who sees them comments on how nice they look. The pull chain is super easy to grasp and the switch pulls with a commanding solid click. They are not as heavy a gauge steel as used 20 years ago, but standard these days. One reason I went with these slightly more expensive shop lights was that the reflector is also chrome and really does reflect. I got brighter light this way. I'm very pleased with them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
bulbchanger
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Short-lived Bulbs

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two. The metal was so flimsy that it was hard to install the fixtures. After installing them, I was quite happy with the lights for a period of time. In 18 months though, the bulbs have burned out three times even though the lights are on only a couple hours a day. The bulbs are a name brand with a nine-year estimated life. Evidently, something is wrong with the design that overtaxes the bulbs. I plan to replace the fixtures in the next few weeks.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, bulbs burn out quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Tommy
from Austin Area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put up over my new workbench. Bench is 20 ft long so used two lights. They supply sufficient light over the bench. Don't forget to get the daylight bright lights.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: lights were not easy to get in sockets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Cindy
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very bright light, excellent value.

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one for nearly two years, resting on the glass top of a 125 gallon aquarium. Often the light is on for 14 hours a day, and it has always worked perfectly - I am surprised by the negative comments and the failed lights, perhaps a bad batch at the manufacturer? As an artist, I find this light is perfect for the studio. The reflectors are molded to partially cup the lights, and this bounces much more light downward compared to lights with flat, non contoured reflectors. The polished aluminum look (actually appears to be some kind of coating) also bounces more light than a white reflector. I love mine.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Tonka824
from Collier Township, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product delivers everything you would expect.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First installed 2 units in the laundry, liked the appearance and brightness so much I purchased 2 more for the furnace room and because they were so easy to install I purchased the latest for above my work-bench in the garage. Great product and great value.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Andy
from Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice shop lights

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Employee showed me what lights I needed, they are great shop lights
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
skeetbug

good stuff

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
5th one ive bought, work great in shop or garage. there are better, as well as worse... great price for an above average light
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: still a lil on flimsy side
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
RainyDays
from Vancouver, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Big Disappointment

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased several diamond plate fluorescent shop lights, because they are very attractive. Unfortunately, their performance isn't so attractive. The fluorescent tubes keep burning out, or flickering, and burn out within 2 months. One tube burns out, and after we replace it, the tube on the opposite side burns out. We're wearing our ladder out changing fluorescent tubes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not made well
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Blaze62
from Bethel, Maine

These lights are the best

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased five of these lights six years ago and have never had any trouble at all. Haven't even had to replace the tubes. I've used them in cold weather with no flickering. I am going to buy more of these as I am renovating my shop and I'm going to put one in my unheated garage.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
cpk946
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Light looks good but made of cheap material. Difficult to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
sasquach

Very cheap in construction but you get what you pay for!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
poorly designed light sockets are flimsey making it hard to get bulbs lined up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
jswin1

great fixture

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was the perfect light fixture to install above my ping pong table. no complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
MattyR

Perfect for a garage

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I mounted 8 of these in a 3 car garage.
I swapped the existing 1 bulb incandescent exposed fixtures with a fixture that had a grounded plug and then plugged these shop lights into the outlets. This lets me turn the shop lights on and off with the light switch!!
At night 4 of these unit turn the garage into brighter than daylight.
Fantastic for working in the garage/workshop.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Ranger6

Does the job. T8 bulbs are a great improvement over T10s.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These are not made like they use to be, but this is about the only kind available. It is inexpensive and once it is up the flimsiness is not an issue. The T8 bulbs it uses are great- quick start up, no hum, and no flicker in the cold basement.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Stylish, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Nutwic
from Gansevoort, NY 12831, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pull chain flourescent light

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We ordered online and item was waiting for us. It was an easy purchase. The lights are basic but we were looking for pull chains for the area we needed it. Lights are up and functioning and we are happy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Trekker
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Look, Easy to Install

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had one like this for 10 years, but the ballast failed. The new light works great and installed in
Ess than 30 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>