728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

The Lithonia Lighting Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture is ideal for use in workshops, utility rooms and garages. This ceiling light also has a "lift-and-shift" white acrylic diffuser for tool-free lamp replacement. Designed and manufactured to compliment a workshop’s popular diamond plate storage cabinets.
Overall rating:
3.507 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product43 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(21)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product43 of 68reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Review 1 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Honolulu
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect work bench light

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this light from Home Depot for almost double what you would pay for a basic ballast. But it compliments the look of my work bench perfectly so it was definitely worth the extra money paid. The metal is pretty thin but it doesn't bother me. A heavier gauge would be good but it is what it is. The light works perfectly. No delay on start up. Very smooth on/off clicking action. Good looking. I mounted it by opening it up and screwing it into the underside of my workbench shelf so it's mounted solid up there. No dangling from those chains that come with the set. It also throws the perfect amount of light with the soft white T8 bulbs. Love the light and the purchase. Well worth it for me.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Belleville, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lights

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these (late Dec 2013) for a workshop I built in my basement. I also have 3 of the matching 1240DP wall lights (Home Depot Internet # 100542208).
These ceiling lights use T8 bulbs. The matching 1240DP wall lights uses T12 bulbs.
The difference between the ceiling fixtures with the T8 bulbs and the wall fixtures with the T12 bulbs is striking. I used Philips 4’ T12 40-Watt (Store SKU # 152173) bulbs in the wall fixtures and Philips 4’ T8 32-Watt (Store SKU # 971061) bulbs in the ceiling fixtures.
The T8 ceiling lights turn on instantly with no flicker. The T12 wall lights take a second to come on and they will flicker for a few more seconds until the fully light. The T8 and T12 bulbs both have the same color temperature (3500K), but the T8 bulbs (2660 lumens) are noticeably brighter than the T12 (2550 lumens).
If you are looking for fluorescent lights, look for ones with the T8 bulbs. They seem to work better than the T12 bulbs and you’ll only end up replacing the ballasts in a T12 fixture in a few years when you need to replace the bulbs. The T12 bulbs will no longer be manufactured after 7/14/14.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best work shop lights that I could find !

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped online and went to local stores to find an overhead florescent tube work shop light. I really wanted to actually see the light before I bought it. I wanted it to be 4 foot, and to have a cord with a 3 pronged plug--initially wanted 8 foot, but I could only find 5 foot cords locally.
I have two workbenches; one against the basement wall with a pegboard above it; the other is a walk-around bench with a mechanic's vice on one corner, and a woodworker's vice on the opposite diagonal corner.
I initially bought one of these lights to see if one was enough, but decided to buy another, and install one light over each bench for the best lighting. I was amazed at the amount of light I now have available!
The 5 foot cords worked out fine. Previously I only had an overhead single light-bulb above the woodworkers bench that I had a high wattage florescent light installed. This fixture also has a female 3-pronged outlet, and I have a power-bar mounted overhead on the above floor joist plugged into that.
I added a 3-to-1 plug adapter so that I could plug one of the new lights into it, along with the power-bar. The other light is plugged into the power-bar that I also use for my magnifying light, dremel tool, and other power tools.
The "diamond plate" cover appears to be aluminum--it's not plastic, as I can grip it at one of the corners and bend it if I wanted to. The shiny aluminum cover really helps to reflect the light that really contributes to the improved lighting.
I also like the robust feel of the pull-chain switch that turns the light on and off. It feels very well made, and hopefully will last a long time !
I'm very happy with these lights, and they make working on and seeing my projects so much better !
I uploaded a photo of my new lights above my workbenches.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

great lights

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the lights in my 40x20 shop for over 6 yrs. there is 8 lights . its day light at night. so I don't know how any one could say bad things about the lights.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Chicago Illinois
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice..just what I was looking for

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product-easy to install. Ut was used to replace older ones and very convient
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to secure fluorescent light tubes

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While installing this shop light in my garage the plastic clips holding the light tubes bent away and made it very difficult to install and secure the light tubes. If it hadn't been for the fact that the fixture was relatively inexpensive and the fact that I had already attached the light fixture to the chains in my garage ceiling right before store closing time, I would have returned this product to Home Depot for a better quality shop light.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Bradenton Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great lights

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are great. They look good, they are extremely bright, and they run cooler than any florescent I've ever owned. I like them so well I bought five of them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

Solid Choice

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this fixture to use above my garage work bench. It doesn't come with hardware to attach to the ceiling but that easily remedied with a couple of eye screws and s hooks. The 5' fixture cord is a little long for my situation as I intended to retro fit a receptacle box near the fixture in the ceiling. The polished aluminum diamond plate finish is very appealing and reflection adds light.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very bright light, excellent value.

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one for nearly two years, resting on the glass top of a 125 gallon aquarium. Often the light is on for 14 hours a day, and it has always worked perfectly - I am surprised by the negative comments and the failed lights, perhaps a bad batch at the manufacturer? As an artist, I find this light is perfect for the studio. The reflectors are molded to partially cup the lights, and this bounces much more light downward compared to lights with flat, non contoured reflectors. The polished aluminum look (actually appears to be some kind of coating) also bounces more light than a white reflector. I love mine.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Bethel, Maine

These lights are the best

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased five of these lights six years ago and have never had any trouble at all. Haven't even had to replace the tubes. I've used them in cold weather with no flickering. I am going to buy more of these as I am renovating my shop and I'm going to put one in my unheated garage.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

Not a Good Buy For The Money

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is by far the flimsiest fixture I have ever seen. Do not waste your money. It appears to be a nice fixture at a glance, but it will probably end up in the garbage within a year. Fixture is not made of diamond plate, but rather thin gauge metal stamped to look like diamond plate. I cannot believe HD has this item on their shelf. MADE IN CHINA.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: flimsy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

Perfect for a garage

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I mounted 8 of these in a 3 car garage.
I swapped the existing 1 bulb incandescent exposed fixtures with a fixture that had a grounded plug and then plugged these shop lights into the outlets. This lets me turn the shop lights on and off with the light switch!!
At night 4 of these unit turn the garage into brighter than daylight.
Fantastic for working in the garage/workshop.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Covington, Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love these lights!!!

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know how anyone could have something negative to say about these lights. Amazing.
I have a 24x30 garage with 15 foot ceilings so lighting was a big concern for me. My electrician and I went to H-D and I saw these. We bought 6 of them and he said we could add more if I felt I needed them.
Let me tell you, these things are mounted 3 on each side down the length of the garage and they light it up like Christmas. (To think I originally thought I would need TEN. LOL)
I am very happy with them. They have been installed for about 6 months now and I am very satisfied.
My eletrician wired them all into the main switch so I don't use the individual switches. Just one switch and I have all the lights on at once. I recommend doing that if you have a need for more than one or two.
Great lights!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Taunton MA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks can be deceiving

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received this light as a Christmas gift. Have probably used it a total of 30 hrs. tops. Turned it on yesterday and nothing happened. I checked the outlet out and its fine. After reading some of these other reviews its sounds like these lights are hit or miss. I won't be buying another one. My previous shoplight lasted 14 years. It wasn't as nice looking but looks don't count if your in the dark.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

Do Not Buy, Will Fail within a year

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
They worked pretty good for the first few months but each began to fail less than a year later. One of the units would switch off after 7 minutes and I would need to turn off the light assembly for about 30 seconds and switch it back on to get another 7 minutes worth of light. The others would only partially light the flourecent lights or one side would fail completely. Good Luck people
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Collier Township, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product delivers everything you would expect.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First installed 2 units in the laundry, liked the appearance and brightness so much I purchased 2 more for the furnace room and because they were so easy to install I purchased the latest for above my work-bench in the garage. Great product and great value.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gives off great light

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product. easy to install, if your just going to plug in. if your going to hardwire, a little more work involved. gives off a lot of light.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture

Terrible Lights

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These lights don't work nearly as good as they look. The light will go out after being on for a few minutes, even when I replace the bulbs with brand new ones it'll work for a few minutes then go out again. I don't know why Home Depot sells these, but I plan on returning all 10 of mine ASAP...I'm spending more time trying to fix them and in the dark!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
from Kansas City

Great lights

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these.lights they work great they look great my only beef is i wish it had an outlet to plug one light to the other. All in all a great light.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Failed after two months in temperature controlled shop.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these fixtures for my shop along with high quality florescent tubes about two months ago. would not light up after switching on. After troubleshooting switch, replacing tubes, I found tube holders not fastened / loose in frame. One loose tube socket had been making intermittant contact probably causing the starter to fail. My checks found the starter unit had failed.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor construction.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>