728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shop Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light

Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light

The Lithonia Lighting Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light Fixture is ideal for use in workshops, utility rooms and garages. This ceiling light also has a "lift-and-shift" white acrylic diffuser for tool-free lamp replacement. Designed and manufactured to compliment a workshop’s popular diamond plate storage cabinets.
Overall rating:
3.413 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product52 of 83reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(25)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product52 of 83reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
Review 1 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Honolulu
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect work bench light

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased this light from Home Depot for almost double what you would pay for a basic ballast. But it compliments the look of my work bench perfectly so it was definitely worth the extra money paid. The metal is pretty thin but it doesn't bother me. A heavier gauge would be good but it is what it is. The light works perfectly. No delay on start up. Very smooth on/off clicking action. Good looking. I mounted it by opening it up and screwing it into the underside of my workbench shelf so it's mounted solid up there. No dangling from those chains that come with the set. It also throws the perfect amount of light with the soft white T8 bulbs. Love the light and the purchase. Well worth it for me.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Killeen, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm Buying 3 More

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought three of these over 2 years ago: 1 to mount in my work bench (see photo) and 2 for garage lighting. I have had no problems with these lights or with bulbs burning out. They have worked perfectly.
They were easy to install and did not require me to fix them as I installed them as some have reported. Maybe I'm just blessed. But I also read the instructions before beginning the installation and didn't manhandle the lights as I worked with them. I have hit the hanging lights with 2 x 4s a couple of times and with the cab of my truck once (it was hanging too low) and they still work fine.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: they are plastic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best work shop lights that I could find !

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I shopped online and went to local stores to find an overhead florescent tube work shop light. I really wanted to actually see the light before I bought it. I wanted it to be 4 foot, and to have a cord with a 3 pronged plug--initially wanted 8 foot, but I could only find 5 foot cords locally.
I have two workbenches; one against the basement wall with a pegboard above it; the other is a walk-around bench with a mechanic's vice on one corner, and a woodworker's vice on the opposite diagonal corner.
I initially bought one of these lights to see if one was enough, but decided to buy another, and install one light over each bench for the best lighting. I was amazed at the amount of light I now have available!
The 5 foot cords worked out fine. Previously I only had an overhead single light-bulb above the woodworkers bench that I had a high wattage florescent light installed. This fixture also has a female 3-pronged outlet, and I have a power-bar mounted overhead on the above floor joist plugged into that.
I added a 3-to-1 plug adapter so that I could plug one of the new lights into it, along with the power-bar. The other light is plugged into the power-bar that I also use for my magnifying light, dremel tool, and other power tools.
The "diamond plate" cover appears to be aluminum--it's not plastic, as I can grip it at one of the corners and bend it if I wanted to. The shiny aluminum cover really helps to reflect the light that really contributes to the improved lighting.
I also like the robust feel of the pull-chain switch that turns the light on and off. It feels very well made, and hopefully will last a long time !
I'm very happy with these lights, and they make working on and seeing my projects so much better !
I uploaded a photo of my new lights above my workbenches.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Belleville, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lights

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these (late Dec 2013) for a workshop I built in my basement. I also have 3 of the matching 1240DP wall lights (Home Depot Internet # 100542208).
These ceiling lights use T8 bulbs. The matching 1240DP wall lights uses T12 bulbs.
The difference between the ceiling fixtures with the T8 bulbs and the wall fixtures with the T12 bulbs is striking. I used Philips 4’ T12 40-Watt (Store SKU # 152173) bulbs in the wall fixtures and Philips 4’ T8 32-Watt (Store SKU # 971061) bulbs in the ceiling fixtures.
The T8 ceiling lights turn on instantly with no flicker. The T12 wall lights take a second to come on and they will flicker for a few more seconds until the fully light. The T8 and T12 bulbs both have the same color temperature (3500K), but the T8 bulbs (2660 lumens) are noticeably brighter than the T12 (2550 lumens).
If you are looking for fluorescent lights, look for ones with the T8 bulbs. They seem to work better than the T12 bulbs and you’ll only end up replacing the ballasts in a T12 fixture in a few years when you need to replace the bulbs. The T12 bulbs will no longer be manufactured after 7/14/14.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Arkansas

Pretty good.

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall quality is decent, but at that price, its still a good buy. Bought 6 of them for my shop. One came damaged. Not HD's fault though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Bethel, Maine

These lights are the best

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased five of these lights six years ago and have never had any trouble at all. Haven't even had to replace the tubes. I've used them in cold weather with no flickering. I am going to buy more of these as I am renovating my shop and I'm going to put one in my unheated garage.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Macomb, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shop light

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light was easy to install. Switch is instant on-off. Works well and provides a much improved brightness level. Using this one in a garage.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light

Stopped working after 5 months

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One side stopped working within months then completely stopped working at all. Don't waste any money on these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very bright light, excellent value.

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had one for nearly two years, resting on the glass top of a 125 gallon aquarium. Often the light is on for 14 hours a day, and it has always worked perfectly - I am surprised by the negative comments and the failed lights, perhaps a bad batch at the manufacturer? As an artist, I find this light is perfect for the studio. The reflectors are molded to partially cup the lights, and this bounces much more light downward compared to lights with flat, non contoured reflectors. The polished aluminum look (actually appears to be some kind of coating) also bounces more light than a white reflector. I love mine.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light

Perfect for a garage

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I mounted 8 of these in a 3 car garage.
I swapped the existing 1 bulb incandescent exposed fixtures with a fixture that had a grounded plug and then plugged these shop lights into the outlets. This lets me turn the shop lights on and off with the light switch!!
At night 4 of these unit turn the garage into brighter than daylight.
Fantastic for working in the garage/workshop.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cheap lighting at a price

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While these lights look great, they are made of extremely thin metal. The fixtures are pretty flexible; easily bendable by hand. Not only that, but the edges are quite sharp. I suspect that they stamp them out without cleaning up the edges. As the old adage goes, "You get what you pay for."
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: cheap construction
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Kansas City

Great lights

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these.lights they work great they look great my only beef is i wish it had an outlet to plug one light to the other. All in all a great light.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light

Poor Quality Control

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been redoing the wiring/lighting in my garage. I only need 4 of these fixtures but have purchased a total of 8 so far because 4 of them where bad right from the box. I'd highly recommend testing the fixture before mounting it. As others have stated already, they are cheap and flimsy and literally twist under their own weight. I wouldn't recommend this product based on my above experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Gladwin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best light system we have ever had, and has lowered our bill.

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We installed 4 of these and used your LED bulbs, they were easy to install and the bulbs have lowered our bill. They produce much brighter lite and easy on the eyes. We have purchased these at Home depot in West Branch because the help and information they give is very helpful and are knowledgeable. We apprieciate the military discount also for my dissabled veteran husband.
Thank you vicky smith
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light

Do Not Buy, Will Fail within a year

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
They worked pretty good for the first few months but each began to fail less than a year later. One of the units would switch off after 7 minutes and I would need to turn off the light assembly for about 30 seconds and switch it back on to get another 7 minutes worth of light. The others would only partially light the flourecent lights or one side would fail completely. Good Luck people
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Failed after two months in temperature controlled shop.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these fixtures for my shop along with high quality florescent tubes about two months ago. would not light up after switching on. After troubleshooting switch, replacing tubes, I found tube holders not fastened / loose in frame. One loose tube socket had been making intermittant contact probably causing the starter to fail. My checks found the starter unit had failed.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor construction.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Detroit, MI

Poor ballasts, eats through bulbs, unreliable

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought four of these for my garage in 2012. After three years, one has died completed and the other three seem to burn through a box of bulbs every year. In Michigan's cold weather, they often fail to light. Which ones choose to light sometimes changes each time you flick the switch. I wish I bought a different set.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: poor quality, weak ballast, burns through bulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to secure fluorescent light tubes

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While installing this shop light in my garage the plastic clips holding the light tubes bent away and made it very difficult to install and secure the light tubes. If it hadn't been for the fact that the fixture was relatively inexpensive and the fact that I had already attached the light fixture to the chains in my garage ceiling right before store closing time, I would have returned this product to Home Depot for a better quality shop light.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light

great lights

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had the lights in my 40x20 shop for over 6 yrs. there is 8 lights . its day light at night. so I don't know how any one could say bad things about the lights.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Diamond Plate 2-Light Chrome Ceiling Fluorescent Shop Light
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

avoid this product

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
biggest waste of my time. this is one of the most poorly made products I have ever purchased. cheap material that lasted all of 5 minutes. this is the second Lithonia fluorescent fixture I have bought and will be the last. the other light did last about 6 weeks though.
Cons: cheap material cheap construction
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>