728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mosaic Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile

Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile

M. S. International Arctic Ice Brick 1 in. x 2 in. Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Wall Tile. It features a high-gloss crystallized glass finish to provide a personalized unique look in your home. These tiles accentuate any installation with various design options.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
Review 1 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile

Backsplash

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used in the kitchen as a backsplash. Turned out GREAT! Didn't experience any issues with ripples or color variations.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Newark DE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Considering the cost, would expect better quality control by manufactuer

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brought 6 boxes of these tiles ( at $100 bucks a box) and began installing. Used the thin set especially made for glass and highly recommend it; the bonding was strong and it still gave you time to work the tiles.
The problem was in the quality of the tiles. Some of then 12X12's were off color. They were tinged slightly brown. This is clearly a failure at the manufacturer to conduct good quality control. Considering the price, it's unforgiveable.
Advise that if you buy these, conduct aggressive inspection before you put them on the wall.
If I had it to do over again, I probably would go with these.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor quality with regard to color consistency
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful, but Inspect the tile carefully before purchase !

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once installed the tile is really sweet, but as I stated in the subject inspect them carefully. Once installed I closely examined them and noticed that many of the tiles had a "ripple" effect on one edge of each of the small tile pieces. Come to find out there is what appears to be a white plastic coating on the back of the glass which causes the appearance flaw. Unfortuantely I did not notice it until after the tile was installed. Not a biggie, most people probably wouldn't notice it, but thought it was worth mentioning.
Additionally, be extra careful when installing that the small tiles are flat, or level. If you apply uneven pressure when installing the 12 section of tile it will show in your finished project. Perhaps use a small piece of plywood or similar to apply pressure to the entire 12" square tile uniformly.
If you take your time to inspect and install these tiles the end result is breath-taking.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Key West

Good product but beware the inexperienced installer!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Home Depot provided a good product at a reasonable price and delivered it promptly. We, however, dropped the ball and assumed our installer knew what he was doing as he had installed ceramic tile previously and did a good job. He totally botched this job - I can only think because he is not used to glass and/or mosaic tiles - so buy this product - just get a good reference on your tile guy and make sure he has installed this product before!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Fenton, MO

Great tile! Be observant!

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love this tile on my bathroom walls and in my shower! Glad I read an earlier review about watching for tile to be similar in color. About every 5th sheet, tile was slightly different color, and only noticeable from a distance, but very obvious. I had tile setters remove those sheets immediately and glad I did! Home Depot took this tile back and gave me credit. I used it with 1/4 round chrome Schlueter strip (also only in stock at Home Depot) as an edging and it's sleek. Be observant as some tiles are crooked on the mesh and just need to be popped off and readjusted. Always watch the color in all kinds of light to be sure tile color is consistent. I paired this tile with an accent back wall in my shower of Key Largo decorative glass tile, and love the results! Great product for the price!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor quality

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed 30 pieces of that tile. At the first Home Depot store I went through all sheets they had and I could find 21 which were good. Besides difference in color - some sheets are more blueish some more greenish - they have tiny bubbles, chips, waves or were glued to the mesh in a wavy way. I needed tiles for the next day so I went to the second Home Depot - the same story. In the end I was able to find 28 sheets which looked good. At home when I unpacked them I immediately eliminated next 6 with the flows I haven't noticed through the plastic foil. All together out of 28 "good" I brought home only 4 were very good. All other had some small flows (mainly bubbles) but my installer was able to cut individual small bad tiles and replace them with good ones from a different, extra sheet. Nightmare! The another annoying thing was the way they pack them. Some are on the white piece of cardboard and some on the brown. Tile sheets stick to the brown cardboard and when you peel them out you peel pieces of brown cardboard glued to the back. I spent a lot of time scabbing that brown paper as I was afraid it would be visible after installation. But that is not the end of poor quality: there is a lot of some small black debris glued to the back of tiles, visible writing (numbers) in the middle of the back of the sheet, under the mesh (!), or small pieces of paper with numbers also in the middle of the tiles' back under the mesh - so I had to cut mesh and scrub them out. My installer did fantastic job but to cover the area of approximately 20' x 17" took him (experienced professional) 11 hours of non stop work only to put tiles on the wall - thanks to the incredibly bad quality of the tiles.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean
Cons: poor quality, dirty backs, ununiform color
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product is beautiful

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was simple and the product even got here earlier than I anticipated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent choice for kitchen backsplash

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Tile was easy to install and looks great on backsplash.Beautiful color.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful tile for kitchen backsplash

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tile was fairly easy to install and looks beautiful. Really elevates the look of our kitchen.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful tiles, easy to install

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had none of the quality issues mentioned by other reviewers. The tiles are very easy to install and are absolutely beautiful. They look fantastic in my kitchen, my only regret is that I did not install these sooner!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Arctic Ice 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent in every way

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tile is used in the bathroom as an accent and it is just beautiful.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.