728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Faucet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle

Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle

The Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle is compatible with most outdoor faucets. Its metal construction resists rust and corrosion. It features a universal design compatible with most outdoor faucets.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product5 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product5 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle
Review 1 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle
from Wayne, Mi
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit like a glove!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace the big plastic knobs in my shower. Sounds silly I know. But the old one was a16 pt round shaft. This fit right over the stem with the adapter and was the perfect fit!
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle
from Sterling, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked like a champ

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a hose bib that was over twenty years old with a broken handle. As it was the old style with a round splined shaft I could not find a replacement. The universal handle fit great and is made a lot sturdier than the original.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle
from Johnstown,Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great --Better than the standard red faucet handles

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this at my local Home Depot to replace the old standard red outdoor faucet handle. We bought the home in 1986 and that handle was there when we bought it. It was only used a few times each summer but it finally disintegrated from rust after approximately 30 years. (the home was built in 1982 and we replaced the handle in 2012.)
This Universal handle is so much better than what was there before. We no longer have any leakage at the faucet handle area with this new handle. Previously we always lost a good deal of water at the handle area when the faucet was on. The handle is slightly larger than the standard outdoor red handles you see on outdoor faucets and it is much better constructed. It feels sturdy and rugged and we have no leaks from it at all.Easy to install took only 5 minutes mostly to get the tools we needed. Definitely recommend it !!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle
from Opelousas, Louisiana

Screw diameter too large for standard faucets

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this handle because they didn't have the standard little cheap red handle that comes with most outdoor faucets. I have to return it because it comes with two different screws with different threads and about 1" long to accommodate the adapter. Both screws are too large in diameter to fit the standard water faucet that was installed at my house in the 80's and I can't use the screw I took off because it is not long enough for the adapter. Guess I will have to go to a real plumbing store to get a $0.50 handle that fits.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle

NOT universal

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needed to replace my handle so I bought the "universal" handle. Two of them to be exact. Got home and the handle didn't fit because of the coupling that's inside the spigot. There was absolutely no way for it to fit with the "adapter" piece included. Had to return them both.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle
from Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked after modification

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace the cheap plastic handle I had bought to replace the original handle on my Mansfield/Prier frost free faucet.The cheap plastic handle that is made to replace the original didn't even last a years time.I bought this one and found the stem to large of a diameter to go into the plastic packing nut and reach the square valve stem so I ground it down on a 1" belt sander until it would slide into the valve.The Mansfield/Prier uses a 1" 1/4"-20 hex head bolt which in turn meant I had to drill the stem out to 1/4" size plus use a longer bolt.Worked great after modification.
Pros: made of metal
Cons: none so far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle

Does not fit

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Adapter and handle does no fit on standard outside faucet. Screws are too long or too short and are not correct diameter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Outdoor Faucet Handle

This faucet handle was better than any other available

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This faucet handle was very good as it adjusts to more than one type of faucet and is strong and sturdy. It also looks very nice in the garden. I was happy to have found it as any others i had seen were not adequate.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.