728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Rubberized Coatings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plasti Dip

Plasti Dip

Plasti Dip is a multi-purpose, synthetic-rubber coating that protects items from moisture, acids, abrasion, corrosion, skidding and slipping. The coating insulates against electric shock, vibration and heat, deadens sound, remains flexible in extreme weather and provides a safe, comfortable grip.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for Plasti Dip
Review 1 for Plasti Dip
Gender:Male

Tip to keep unused product from hardening

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There's an old painter's trick that can be used with this product. After you've dipped a few tools and you are ready to set it on the shelf for a while, secure the lid (tape it on if you have to) and turn the can upside down. This seals out the air and keeps it from hardening. This works with paint cans as well
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+57points
57out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plasti Dip
from Washington state
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful product

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product on the soles of my hand knitted felted slippers. I use one coat, then let it dry overnight then put on another coat. The felted slippers can be laundered but I wash them by hand. It wears like iron.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plasti Dip
from Canyon Lake, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fixed my ice chest!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an old stainless steel ice chest with a plastic liner on my pontoon boat that had cracks in the bottom. After months of searching for ways to fix it, I came across a review of people that used Plasti Cote on their cars. I figured, i will give it a try. It worked outstanding. Looks great and is very durable.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plasti Dip
from Springfield, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT.....BUT

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started using "Plasti Dip" several years ago. Wonderful product..
>>RELIABILITY - Recommend 2 initial coats (dips) then it has lasted for 7+ years in my case
>>EASE OF USE - Dip it / brush it on. Either way, simple to apply and very strong / lasting
>> PRICE - Excellent value for good quantity of product
BUT..........
>>I found that can after can, once opened, would gel / harden even after being "sealed" with the supplied plastic snap on lid. Tried first applying kitchen cling wrap to can, then the lid. Did no good. After several weeks, signs of solidifying were evident.
OTHER THAN THAT, NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL.
Makes tool handles easier to grip / more comfortable in the hands / etc. etc.
No complaints whatsoever 9except as above)
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plasti Dip
from RI

fantastic grip!

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this to re-grip some pliers, as well as the ends of 1.5" ropes. The pliers are easy to use and have no vibration through them. The ropes...well the ends will never fray and they are EASY to grip onto. I HIGHLY recommend this for all your grip needs. Very easy to dip objects into, or use a foam brush to brush it on.
+52points
56out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plasti Dip
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can coat almost anything when done right

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a few cans of this to coat my new white Granturismo. I had seen a few people use it on their white cars and I really liked the frosted matte look you get. I used 3 gallons of 50/50 mix Plastidip and thinner with a spray gun. 5 coats later I was really pleased with the outcome. The bugs come off easily and it protects the front and hood from rock chips on the highway.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plasti Dip
from Baton Rouge, La
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FTI, Beware

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this a while back to coat some tools. If you buy this you should use as much as you can, over a month the product you don't use will solidify to a stiff consistence. What you don't use will be wasted. It's a good product as long as you use all of it.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: will not stay liquid over time so use all of it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plasti Dip
from Fairfax, VA

Super product

PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on old art paint brushes where the paint was coming off. (Tied rubber bands around the ferrels, then dipped and hung.) ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL product. Can't say enough about it. Saved my brushes!
+18points
32out of 46found this review helpful.