728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Trays & Liners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wood Graining Kit

Wood Graining Kit

This is a great tool with a simple technique anyone can use to simulate natural wood grain. This tool will work on any surface to create various wood patterns including cathedral oak, pine, cedar, etc. Complete instruction booklet included
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Wood Graining Kit
Review 1 for Wood Graining Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit worked exactly as described. I wanted the walls to appear to be real wood. I have shown photos to people and they are convinced we have real wood on our walls and cannot believe it is only paint. The walls were basecoated and then dried for 24 hours. I then mixed a gallon of Behr glaze, from Home Depot, with a quart of paint. I worked on one section at a time by applying the paint/glaze mix, then using the wood graining tools to get the look i wanted. It was very easy to use the tool to achieve the look.This is a great product for such a low cost.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wood Graining Kit
from Seymour, TN

4" Wood Graining Tool

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I orginally bought a 3" wood grainer but I just happen to see this kit with a 4" wood grainer which I know it probably would do the job a little faster because of its width. I was helping my friend sand, prime and repaint her kitchen cabinets which were 35 years old and adding another color to enhance the look of faux wood graining on them, made them look like she just purchased new ones.
For a first time user I had fun doing it but for my friend didn't quite get the hang of it. Practice on a cardboard before trying it on your profect to get the look your looking for.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wood Graining Kit
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for Price

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is not branded as a Linzer but as an Allway. Othen than that, the tools worked well for me. I wood grained a steel entry door to home with it. I did not find the stiffness of the rubber to be a problem, however I did have issues with trying to keep it clean, the grooves could have been deeper to hold more paint as you use it. After about 5 foot of use it started to "spit" paint out of the grooves, which wasn't a bad thing. I think it actually improved the look of the grain to more closely resemble a true imperfect piece of wood. Paint was applied thinly but still seemed to have an issue with build up. After using a chip brush to fade it in, door looked phenomenal.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Clean, No Instructions, grooves not deep enough
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wood Graining Kit
from PA

This product was a real bargain.

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased another wood graining rocker a while back and it wasn't nearly as good as this one. This allows for more control especially when working in a vertical position. The small rocker is great for use in small areas such as window frames.
I was disappointed that the full instruction book was not included.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wood Graining Kit
from Castle rock Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to recreate the wood grain on the vertical parts of a doorway using a light brown base and then mixing the dark brown with 1/2 craft glaze. The effect was great and I used the other tools to create the total effect. It works best on a flat surface but I was very satisfied with my results.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wood Graining Kit
from Colorado

Wood graining kit

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. This item was selected for a painting project.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wood Graining Kit
from California, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great, great price, happy to find. A little hard to get used to, but with a little practice got the hang of it. Very professional results.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wood Graining Kit
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great set!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this faux wood grain set! The 3 different tools allow you to create an authentic wood look in no no time. This was a great deal, even w/paying shipping, it was cheaper than buying 1 tool separately. was so easy to use, my children even did it! My husband thought i bought the sheet i practiced on. He was super impressed with how good if looked. Love it!!!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wood Graining Kit
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
product works as descibed, It was a good value for the muliple tools that came together.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wood Graining Kit
from GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad News!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item received was either long out of date, and/or had been stored in deplorable conditions. A wood graining tool must be made of SOFT rubber; otherwise it is no more effective than, e.g., a plastic scraper. The rubber on the item I received was hard as a rock. The tool is totally unuseable. Do not waste your money on this item!
Cons: rubber apparently hardens quickly
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wood Graining Kit
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Rubber

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This suppose to be rubber, but it was solid like a rock, thankfully, homedepot returns are so easy
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wood Graining Kit
from granbury tx

you get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
found this item to be what you pay for. rockers are too hard and grooves are too small and close together. squeege is more pliable but still too stiff. returned to store for refund
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.