728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

The Poulan Featherlite Plus (P1500) trimmer is designed with comfort and durability featuring a quiet 25cc engine and Quick Snap10 second spool replacement. The lightweight design, adjustable D-shaped handle, and clear gas tank are a few user-friendly features this trimmer offers. Ideal for the homeowner looking to get the job done with comfort and ease.
Overall rating:
3.286 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product28 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product28 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania

Great Whacker!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this online and received it promptly. I had just bought a new house and being a young first time home buyer needed a lawn mower, weed whacker, chainsaw etc. I bought this weed whacker, he yard machine 21" 158cc B&S lawn mower, and the 14" gas powered homelite chainsaw. The weed whacker works perfectly and starts right up on command. It's not as truly lightweight as it says, and the box shows an old woman lifting it up single handed over her head, I highly doubt that, but that doesn't take away from it's overall cutting power and precise start up. The string feed works perfectly and there is almost no work required other than mixing gas to get started. I'd definitely say it's a great buy for the cost!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Northern California

Poulan Weed Eater

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Almost assembled - need to put guard on.
Hard to start the first time it was run.
A little hard to start each time after it has cooled - of course, I'm a woman over 60 so that could be me.
Runs great - even cuts the ground cover that needs pruning.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Light and easynto use

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Didn't run right at first but after running it for a while it works great. Doesn't tire my arm like my old one did.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from California

Nice trimmer/edger

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble out of the box, and it started right up after adding fuel. It comes with a small, 3.2 oz bottle of 2 cycle oil, so all you need is a gallon of gas to mix it with and off you go. Powers through weeds like nobody's business, and did a fantastic job with edging my lawn that had overgrown the sidewalk due to not having an edger for two months. Comes with a decent amount of string, but I would recommend getting another one soon, as it will go fast if you have a lot of work to do upfront as I did.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Phenix City, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice for the price

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never used this trimmer with the original string head, I replaced that with plastic blades, but overall the trimmer is a worthwhile purchase. Not difficult to start, relatively strong, and worth the $ spent.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Rockford, IL

Whacks Weeds Well!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After years of using manual equipment and a rechargeable weed wacker I finally made the big boy jump to this gas powered Poulan. Very impressed with the product thus far. Easy start and LOTS of power. I would certainly recommend. I still hate yard work but at least it goes faster now.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Jasper, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the trimmer because it was made by Husqvarna, a very good company. However, the "bump" feature did not work so I had to turn off the edger, remove the head and try to rethread the line. Because there are 2 seperate lines it almost requires 4 hands. I used the edger about 30 minutes during that time I had to extend the line 4 times. After the 4th time the edger would not start. It was extremely hard to pull. Something was not right witht the pull cord. However, Home Depot was extremely nice about returning the edger. I did have a copy my original order which made return easy. No, I would not recommend this edger.
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Rochester N.H.

Good FOR THE PRICE

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A good experience with the purchase of this Weed Wacker. The shipping was not to exepctation as the box was all stove to heck. Took box back to Home Depot and manager opened it , everything seem to be in the box, so keep it. Starts good and does a good job.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from MO

This product is ok

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Poulan grass trimmer is light and easy to handle but tends to cut out and die as well as goes thru line quickly. The quick snap is very touchy in tall grass. Removing head to replace line is not fast or easy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

GOOD !!!!!!

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i think this works well but when putting line its a little hard..but very good weed eater.....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from east hartford

Liked the light weight design

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was new to the weekwacker idea, when I got divorced and now feel confident that I can do just as good a job or better then my ex-husband. This one is light wight and easy enough for anyone to use. I'm very happy!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Michigan

Works great

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product for my husband as a father's day gift (romantic, right?) but he actually loves it. He's only had it for about a week, but it started right up, no problem and cuts great with a lot of power. I wasn't sure what to expect since our price range was a little on the low side, but so far, I feel it was a great choice.
+3points
12out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the one you're looking for!

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For a middle of the road grass trimmer, this does the job. After comparing many, this one is the best choice for the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Taos, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

save your money not a reliable poduct

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
save your money and buy a blade trimer not a string one! String gets stuck all the time, very little triming gets done
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Love it!

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product! alot better then the three i broke that was electric.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
Cons: none that i can tell so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Hard to start

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had it for awhile now and have not been able to complete my yard. It's hard to start, if we get it started at all it doesn't stay on long enough to complete the yard. I to let if cool off for awhile before we are able to get going again.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from aberdeen wa

I hate it

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This trimmer is very hard to work with and most of the time we cannot get it started.
I will be returning it to the store and picking out something different.
sorry...j. gartner
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Lebanon, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value for the money

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have'nt used it other than starting it up when i purchased it, ( winter time! ) Seems to run fine, for the price, it is a good deal. I purchased this for my father for christmas, he has a small yard, & this will be fine for that!
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waist your money

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered on line because the price was good. I had never owned a Pulan before. I had a hard time keeping it running. I mixed it with new gas and the oil it came with. It kept dying on me when I would use it for trimming and edging. I had to keep taking the trimmer head apart to pull the line out. It took me twice as long to complete my yard with all of the problems with it.
The off switch is located in a bad spot. It is where the enging rest against your body. Not a good design.
I took it back to the nearest store and bought a better trimmer.
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Cycle 25 cc Curved Shaft String Gas Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would not recommend this product

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used product for half an hour. It continually shut off and would not automatically advance the line. It is a lot heavier than the description suggests. The picture of the old lady using it seems inaccurate or she must be really strong. I would not recommend this product. My electric Black and Decker worked fine for 5 years prior to purchasing this unit.
Cons: Too Heavy, shuts off, line feed does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>