728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit

18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit

The Tsunami Seal Garage Door Threshold Seal mounts to your garage floor creating the perfect seal between your door and your garage floor. The Garage Door Threshold Seal creates a tight seal for your garage door which will keep leaves, dirt, water and snow from being blown under the garage door by the wind. Also, if you have a sloped driveway or an uneven garage floor and water is seeping under your garage door, the Door Seal adds a 1/2 tall barrier to the garage floor. The Door Seal will also help keep out unwanted insects and snakes. By creating a better seal, your garage will stay warmer during the winter and cooler during the summer, helping to keep your energy cost down. The Door Seal works great with all types of garage doors including roll up doors, hinged wood doors and walk through doors. The one piece strip is permanently secured to the garage floor with the included Liquid Nails Polyurethane Adhesive. Each kit includes the one piece Threshold Seal, two cartridges of Liquid Nails Ultra DutyTM Poly Adhesive, a metal caulking gun and color installation instructions. Comes with a Lifetime Warranty.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
Review 1 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great, easy to install, caulking gun is useless, kind of expensive

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had water coming under my garage door during storms and my door seal was still in good condition. This totally solved my problem no more water and I've had at least two good storms since installation. For the price I wish they would have included a quality caulking gun not something that appears to have cost $0.25 to make. I'm not joking it's really bad. I really hope this holds up for years the seal is high quality so I think it will.
Pros: Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: cost, bad caulk gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Connecticut, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, haven't had any heavy rain since , but looks like it will do it's job.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Westwood, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and really works to seal out water and drafts

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is well made and easy to install. The installation for both nine foot garage doors took less than an hour. We have had heavy rains since the installation and the garage has stayed bone-dry.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tsunami threshold was great, the caulking gun was not!

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I found the Tsunami threshold to be of high quality and attractive but when I went to install it using the supplied caulking gun, the trigger part of the caulking gun bent beyond repair and had to be trashed. Good thing I had my own caulking gun! And it was 80 degrees and the supplied construction adhesive had the spout cut large and the inside seal had been punctured numerous times. The caulking gun is garbage. Make sure you have your own caulking gun if you plan to order this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Kennesaw, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the kit was good, and provided everthing needed

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The only bad part was the seal gun, it bent during the installation, had to go buy another one
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Maryland, USA

good threshold, hard to apply with caulk gun

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The kit comes with 2 tubes of Liquid Nails. The first went down relatively easily the second was impossible to get out of the tube; it arrived dented and would not fit into the caulk gun. The threshold itself will be good, if the seal holds up with only one tube of Liquid Nails. Also, the caulk gun is hard to work.
It wuld be better to sell only the threshold, and let the buyer purchase the seal and caulk gun separately.
Pros: Functional
Cons: caulk was dented
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Central Massachusetts

Two-way thinking

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I think the quality and installation kit are great, and have no doubt it will perform exactly as intended. Fortunately, I had a talk with my neighbor before I installed it. Keeping the snow and wind-driven rain out was my intention, but what I didn't consider is that it will also keep water in. When we pull a wet lawn mower, or a snow-caked snowblower into the garage, where will the water drain to? Garages are slopped for drainage, but if this barrier is in place, the water can't leave the garage when the door is open. I don't want it pooling and running over to the garage sides. With this consideration, we need to stick with the barriers that attache to the garage door, as cutting drainage slots in this product will defeat the purpose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Southern California

So Far, So Good!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed this today to remedy a roofline that drops a waterfall right in front of my garage. The installation process was simple and easy for this girl who likes do-it-yourself projects. It was easy to trim in a custom way to fit around the concrete foundations on the side. I ordered a longer one than the garage door itself so it would go all the way to the side walls. It's going to rain this week, so I'll update on how it blocks the water then!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good threshold

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a couple thresholds for the garage to help keep mice out and snow. This one from Home Depot was actually $60 cheeper than the other one and it came with the caulking gun and liquid nails. It was also easier to work with and had a better seal than the other threshold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seal works great, cheap caulking gun broke before end of job!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Seal works great, cheap caulking gun and old liquid nail made the job very difficult to finish. Tried to heat up the material in the tube in direct sunlight without success. The gun could only last three or four pumps before it broke. They need to upgrade to a better gun and rotate the stock on the adhesive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 ft. Gray Garage Door Threshold Kit
from Satellite Beach, FL

Easy to install and works as expected

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was easy to install. Came equipped with all the material needed, except for a cutting tool and chalk to mark the lines. Simple instructions to follow. Installed quickly after floor prep and seems to work great so far. No complaints at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.