728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template

Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template

The Liberty Cabinet and Drawer Pull Installation Template makes cabinet pulls easy to install in 3 quick steps. It provides various center-to-center measurements up to 4 in. to help you easily mark and drill correctly placed mounting holes. It comes with a 3/16 in. drill bit.
Overall rating:
3.804 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product34 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(22)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product34 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
Review 1 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template

Good tool

PostedJune 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Did a ok job A little modifying to the tool helped out a lot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

install cabinet handles easily

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I could not have installed my cabinet handles without this tool. You just place your handles over the holes to align and then use the square to place it on the cabinet straight and your handles are perfect every time. Best purchase. I saved lots of money doing this myself. By the way ladies, if I can do it so can you.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Hoosick Falls, NY 12090, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must Have Template for Cabinet Hardware

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Liberty Cabinet and Drawer Pull Installation Templates are made of translucent plastic with measurement impressions embossed on it. A simple tool that makes it easy to measure for placement of kitchen/bathroom hardware. It saved time and aggravation in preventing mistakes that could have happened if each piece had to be measured.
Measure the width of the drawer panel, divide in half, place the template over the center mark, decide from the many options you have for the size of the pull or knob you're installing, to your desired height. The door template works under the same principle as the drawer template, with numerous choices of placement for your hardware.
Included with the templates is a 3/16th“ basic drill bit, more than adequate for the amount of drilling needed. Well worth the price!
Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none come to mind
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product - Great Value

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this kit to install knobs on a refinished bathroom vanity. Worked like charm. No guesswork involved. I would like to address the reviewer who stated that the templates would wear out after drilling through them so many times. The instructions state to simply mark the spot on to door/drawer with a pencil, remove the template and drill your hole. Nowhere does it state to drill through the templates. Used as instructed, these templates should last several years.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only one height option for handles

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is definitely an easy to use template, and may work great for drawers. However, I purchased the set to install handles on both drawers and cabinets. For each spacing option, there is only one height option at which to mount the handles (as other reviewers have mentioned). The height at which the handles can be mounted did not achieve the look I was going for, so I returned the item and will search for, or create my own template.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from New York City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very helpful, but...

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wasn't always able to get this tool to work, depending upon the way the cabinet door is constructed. Only one choice of placement for the 3-3/4 in. center-to-center installation required.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: only one location for 3-3/4 in. center-to-center.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Yuba City, CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female

Didn't fit my cabinet doors

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Such a great idea if only it would of lined up with my cabinets. I gave it a 4 star because it's a great product just didn't work for me but I'm sure it will line up with the average cabinets. So I wasted $10 or so but that also brings me to the point of the price. I don't think it's a bad deal for what you get for your money.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Chicago
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

with some short comings

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cabinet knobs was perfect, but the drawer pulls was lacking a 2 1/2 in template.
I had to add a 2 1/2 in to the template in order to use it.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very helpful, but flimsy and missing holes

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This TYPE of tool is a must-have when installing knobs/pulls. Biggest PRO = great price for a combo pack. Works with 3, 3 1/2, and 4 in. pulls. The cabinet door "L" piece is sturdy and precise. Several short-comings, however. I installed pulls vertically on my doors but the provided 3 in. hole position put the pulls WAY too close to the bottom/top edge of door. I had to measure and drill my own pilot hole! The drawer template is the worst: plastic is flimsy and warped with a shallow overhang lip so it is hard to sit flush on top of drawer face when measuring.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, value (combo-pack)
Cons: Not Durable, flimsy/warped
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template

Great for knobs, not so good for pulls

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this for a number of knobs and it works great for that. If the hole you want isn't there simply drill a new hole in the template and you are good to go. This simple little piece of plastic has saved me hours.
I haven't found this useful for for pulls (2 holes) since the pulls I have use metric spacing instead of standard and there are only 2 sets of metric holes on the drawer template. I'm not sure if I'll new able to drill new holes or not since the positions I need (2.5" & 3.5" from top) may end up too close to existing holes. This is more a problem with the pulls I have (metric spacing) rather than the template and I may still be able to make it work by drilling my own holes slightly below or above the 2.5" & 3.5" marks.
The door template is more of a problem since it doesn't work for pulls at all. It is just too short to accommodate the second hole. I wish the company would offer a door template that is twice as long. I'm now searching for such a thing since I really don't want to make my own. I need to do pulls for 48 doors so I prefer to use something like this as opposed to something that I've jerry-rigged which may not last.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, great for knobs
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Waste of TIME!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this kit to install my new liberty handles with ease. It turns out the handles that I had purchased do not fit this template for the doors at all. The template for the drawers has 1 96x50MM set of holes, which would mount my handles about 2" above the center of the drawer. This product will work for a very finite amount of customers, so make sure you are one of them before purchasing.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Chattanooga, TN

Warped

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took the products out of the package to inspect. After a couple of days of being out of the package, the templates started to warp and twist. There is no way for this item to be consistently accurate now. I recommend using this item immediately after opening the package. I guess it would qualify for one time use and then disposable.
I give the drill bit good reviews, it will drill a hole. If you want your cabinet pulls to be accurate and intend to reuse this product, good luck!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Beat this for Less than 10 bucks, however.....

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
....we didn't read the fine print, and just assumed this would work with our 5" pulls...incorrect assumption, so this is a little unfortunate. We'll at least be able to align all the bottom holes, then what I may do is tape on a piece of cardboard or some other relatively rigid flat material to extend the template.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Forney
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Template won't accommodate 5" pulls

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Will not accommodate Liberty P01026 drawer pull/handle. Drawer pull posts are 5" apart. There are no two-holes on template to accomodate posts that are 5" apart. This product has a marking of 5" but it certainly isn't for this particular use. Again, I will have to make my own template. It's a great product for 3" or less.
Cons: one size does not fit all
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Plainfield, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flimsy and not for all pulls

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Jigs and templates are a must for installing your own pulls and knobs but this set may not work for you if you've already bought the pulls you want. Pay special attention to the size of pull this works with. I had already bought the pulls I wanted and neither one of these templates worked. I ended up making my own out of a piece of lexan. These templates are thin and bendy, not at all what you want for drilling precision holes in your cabinets. You only get one chance to drill them in the right place...
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work on all pull sizes, flimsy
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from United States

Use with caution

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is not a substitute for experience. I needed holes in places they didn't exist. After the fact I thought. "It's plastic! why didn't I just punch my OWN hole." I have some holes to patch........
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from WI

Adequate; can be modified to do the job

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Arrived quickly by mail. The Liberty templates are not green, but a smokey clear plastic. There are numerous pre-drilled holes for lining up markings which may work for plain non-beveled cabinets and drawers; they don't help in paneled facings. Able to make them work by drilling holes to allow for beveled edges and still center on the flat facing. Corner template is 5 7/8" in length so for handles if you desire a hole 3" from the edge followed by a second 3" hole, it won't do. A template at least 7" long would have been helpful. Best part is the firm edging so once these are modified according to your needs, they will give consistent results. Comes with a drill bit which is useful.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could be good BUT...

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept of this thing is great. However, I can only see it working for small cabinets and/or if all your cabinets and drawers are exactly the same size. For example, using it to template drawer pull and knob holes for an entire kitchen of cabinets, I was only able to use it for half... the rest I had to still measure out by hand. This could be solved by simply making the thing a little wider. It was inexpensive, but still a waste of money.
Cons: doesn't work on varying size cabinets
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cabinet install tool great asset

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product made the installation of cabinet hardware a breeze. Saved a lot of time by deleting repetetative measuring and each location was accurate and eached matched the next one. Wish I had purchased this sooner for other projects.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabinet and Drawer Installation Template
from Goodrich texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helpful but not the cat's meow

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The drill bit was too large for all (three types) of cabinet pull knobs and bin pulls. If you want a loose fit and the knob to be able to flop around then OK. I preferred a tight fit and used my own 5/32 bit and yes, you must then "drill" in the screw, but a nice fit. So...the bit was not needed. The flat template worked great. I use duct tape over the cabinet to mark my hole and drill right through the duct tape. Much easier keeping in place. MY complaint is the edge template. With a slight bit of pressure on it, it easily "gives" and you end up with the mark not in the same spot. Furthermore, that edge template is not calibrated the same for both sides. One side was 1/16 of an inch shorter. So when you mark one cabinet door and reverse the template to mark the other cabinet door, the mark is off. It took me a while to discover it is because the plastic for the edge is 1/16 thinner on the template on one side. So, to ensure it was a true match, I used a level between my two doors to mark it where it should have been had the template been calibrated equally on both sides. Still, I would recommend the template over any paper, cardboard or wood template I would make. It saved time and is worth the price. Just check two door side by side to ensure they are level before drilling.
Pros: Durable, time saver
Cons: not calibrated equally on both sides, drill bit too large
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>