728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

The Gibraltar Industries Jumbo Post-Mount Heavy-Duty Mailbox is made from galvanized steel with a ribbed body for strength. This mailbox has an extra-large capacity to hold mail and small parcels for extended periods of time. It can be opened with its steel latch. The mailbox has an aluminum flag to notify postal workers of outgoing mail.
Overall rating:
4.492 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product59 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(18)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product59 of 63reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
Review 1 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time will tell

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted a large rural mailbox and this one fit the bill. I couldn't find one in white so I ordered this one in gray and painted it white and painted the flag blue. I have no idea how long it will last but I'm hoping the extra layers of paint will keep it from rusting. I ordered it online and it arrived promptly at my nearest Home Depot store.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This mailbox rocks!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent an awful lot of time online looking at every mailbox made, I called mfg.'s and asked questions. This is best mailbox out there unless you need to have a locking mailbox. It holds that large Amazon package that you just don't feel like going to post office to pick up when you get home from work. My final thoughts: wax it every 6 months with automotive wax, and if you live on a road where snowplows pound it with huge amounts of snow(don't even talk to me if you live in California or Florida) then take the time to build a simple protective shield of boards on two posts or even a hinged a-frame to go over it, and it will stay like new for a long long time.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Ozark Mountains, Arkansas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the size we have been needing

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband gets a lot of medicine in the mail and the post office has a time delivering it. This much larger mailbox makes it easier on us as well as the mailman. Plenty of room for boxes of all sizes. Saves us having to go that 14 miles to the post office to get those meds!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Birmingham AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great rural mailbox

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extra large capacity, color gray very unique. Assembled without difficulty & well made. Neighbors are intrigued since can't buy locally; tell them "Home Depot." Would definitely purchase again if needed.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Klamath Falls, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great value for the price

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
made very well looked nice and setup to be very easy to install.
enjoyed having it delivered to store, it was on time and postage free.
will use this service again and again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

Overall happy with the size, unhappy with the quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed a mailbox that would accommodate shipping out multiple large packages at once. The size of this box fit my needs perfectly however the quality is severely lacking. Out of the box the front doesn't stay shut and directions prompt you to bend the miniscule catch on the backside of the door in order for it to even somewhat stay shut. However, the metal the box is constructed from is way too thin for the size & height so even once mounted it's very unstable feeling & wobbles around which causes the door to come loose and fall open.
The second day it was up, the door flopped back open as the mail lady was pulling away and it hit against the side of her vehicle and torqued the whole box slightly out of whack... after bending the catch further it's still a 50/50 chance most days whether it stays closed or not. My husband is going to attach a magnetic catch on the door & inside the top of the box in an attempt to keep it securely closed.
It's a great size & matches my gray house nicely but it's just not sturdy at all...
Pros: Easy to Install, nice size, nicely painted
Cons: Not Durable, Not Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Mason
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

jumbo maibox

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was happy with the size, just wish it came in white. Had to paint it white to fit my need.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

As Advertised And Delivered On Date Promised.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent quality and arrived in good shape on date promised.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great Size

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extra large box perfect for rural areas to hold larger boxes. Just what we needed to replace our 30 year old original! Not quite as sturdy, but does the job at a good price. Expect to get several years of use.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Jumbo Mail Box.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent size. seems sturdy. arrived in excellent condition. was easy to install on mail box post.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

well made but larger than expected

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
product was at the counter ready to pick up after ordering on line
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from The Heart of Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Buy

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sturdy, well built, larger size is great for accepting small packages. Fully assembled ready to mount, with EZ mounting on an 11 ½ inch base plate with four mounting holes. I’m very happy with this mailbox.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

Huge box; small flag.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Much bigger than I expected. Great for small packages: DVDs, books, etc. But the flag is smaller than the flag on my old regular sized box. I'd like one that I can see across my yard, as this box is on the outside of my gate. Also, for the price the metal could be thicker. I dented it in a couple places while drilling to install my house number on the side.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Waynesboro, TN

Jumbo Post Mount Heavy Duty Mailbox

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent quality mailbox.
Excellent price, plus free shipping
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

Very nice large mailbox

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very large mailbox. It can hold much larger packages then our old mailbox.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox

Nice color and good construction

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good price , and Home Depot got it to me in about three days. Can't beat that!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from arizona

Sound Mailbox

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the few that comes in a light color, and yet is the jumbo or oversized version. Living in the desert Arizona, a light colored mial box is wise for the times when mail gets left in the box for the afternoon.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Royal,Arkansas

Good Quality

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price! Free shipping and delivered on exact day I was told it would be. Thanks Home Depo. Will shop more often with Co. due to good quality and free shipping!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Florida

Jumbo mailbox

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Biggest mailbox I've seen....good quality - all metal. Accommodates good sized packages.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Jumbo Heavy-Duty Post-Mount Mailbox
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Ok

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Mailbox is bigger than I thought. Perhaps I wasn't realizing how big the extra large mailboxes are. Nice finish and the flag a little bigger than pictured. My issue is the door is loose.The door flops open and doesn't "catch" as well as it should. This is a problem. The first day, my mail blew all over the street. I may return the box. :(
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: door too loose-flops open-poor fit
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>