728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

***All Black Friday and Cyber Monday orders will ship by Dec 16th*** The Lifetime 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow can help lighten your loads and make material transport easy. Its durable plastic tub is made in the USA from 100% post-consumer recycled material and features a tapered front to help you dump loads of up to 550 lb. with less effort. With its extra-wide wheel base and low center of gravity, this wheelbarrow has excellent stability and distributes up to 85% of the weight onto the wheels to lighten your load.
Overall rating:
4.306 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
Review 1 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sturdy and holds a lot

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Two-wheeled cart allows me to load 4 bags of mulch and haul it all over my yard. My traditional wheelbarrow was wobbly and hard to push with that kind of load. This new one is very stable even on rough terrain, and is easier to push up hills. It holds a lot, and I like the flat bottom where I can set potted plants and they don't tip. It dumps well and seems very durable. It took 2 people to line up the holes for assembly, but instructions were clear and easy to follow. My only complaint is that I can't stand it on end for storage...it takes up a lot more room in my garage than my old one.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, stable
Cons: bulky to store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

durable

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the wheel barrow is very sturdy and looks like it will last longer than most, but you have to keep in mind that with two wheels you have more traction., thus more arm power is needed.The pro is, you don't have to steady it.
Also, when you go to dump out the contents, it will not completely dump out, due to the front bar. You have to go around a scrape out the remaining contents.
Even when you turn it all the way over, the contents still want to stay in the bucket, due to the design.
But all and all, I am staisfied with it, if it lasts longet than most.
Guess it is just your preference.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Hamburg, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice large capacity hauler.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great assembly, quality parts ...aside from rubber handle grips which slide off easily and are damaged after one use.They need improvement for sure.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: handle grips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value while on sale

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Cart is very easy to use and well constructed. Price was worth while due to $30 off sale price. Assembly is average difficulty made easier with two people to assist. Is much more stable than traditional wheel barrow. The steel tube assy. that cart rests on during non use or dumping forward is very smart as this protects the plastic from contacting the ground and overstressing the tub.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Outside San Antonio, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A VERY good wheelbarrow

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had several wheelbarrows over 25 years and I Iike this one the BEST. Easy to handle, sits lower to the ground, doesn't tip over like the ones that sit higher and only have one wheel.
OMG how aggravating are the ones that are always tipping over and dumping your load!!!
I ordered one and will order a second so I can get rid of my other less user friendly wheelbarrows.
These are easy to handle had have a decent capacity.
Get one; you'll LOVE it.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

I absolutely HATE this wheelbarrow

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, I bought this wheelbarrow based on the excellent reviews. Yes, the tub is durable, but no more durable than any other plastic tub. It really lacks functionality. The way it is balanced makes it very difficult to push over to empty. Worse, is the metal bar across the front bottom of the tub, which makes it impossible to completely empty the tub. I finally replaced it with a 'normal' style wheelbarrow that is just as durable, but is much much more usable. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!
Pros: Durable
Cons: unable to completely empty tub, difficult to tip, expensive!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Ware, MA

Best wheelbarrow out there!

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wheelbarrow is awesome. They designed it for ease of movement and you can basically push it with very little effort, even when it is full. Great for the elderly and anyone one with physical disabilities that may have a problem with a regular wheelbarow. This is the second one I bought and I would never get another type of wheelbarow.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

Wheelbarrow is great once you get it together.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This wheelbarrow is great, but you got to work for it. Poor quality control resulted in the holes in the tub being drilled in the wrong place. Because of this we ended up having to drill new holes and purchase larger washers to obscure the holes that were drilled incorrectly. If this happens to you too, be sure to call Home Depot and tell them you shouldn't be paying full price for what is ultimately a second quality item. With that said, if you are OK with a project and want a more stable wheelbarrow then the traditional ones with a single wheel, then this is the one for you.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Central Maine

Lifetime 6.5 cuft deluxe wheel

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought four wheelbarrows for the septage receiving station during freezing weather to move screenings. Excellent weight disbribution, 85% over ball bearing wheels to 15% on the steel frame handle bars for operator safety. The pour shape bucket allows easy and accurate dumping. The 6.5 cuft. bucket prevents over filling as the larger less expensive ones. Completely satisfied with these strong durable wheelbarrows.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Central Ohio

Very good wheelbarrow

PostedMay 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife needed a heavy duty 2 wheel barrow for her gardening. It rolls easily over the sloping terrain of our yard. It rolls easily under load but a bit harder than our other barrow when empty. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that its harder to dump completely than other barrows. It has a unique feature that it will stand on its nose for raking out or levering a big rock in. We've hauled rocks, rough fill, firewood, compost and heavy clay soil. It handled all loads with ease.
Assembly took some planning to align the holes of multiple parts to slide the bolts through. I was able to assemble it by myself.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Western NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sufficient For Need

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This wheelbarrow does perform as stated as far as weigh distribution, however as I read in the reviews before I bought mine you do have a bear of a time getting the last bit out material (dirt, gravel, etc.) as it doesn't want to dump the last bit. I thought I'd just be able to physically lift it and dump it and that's what you have to do. Even turning on the side, it doesn't always dump all the contents. STILL it serves a purpose. It does seem overpriced though.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality
Cons: doesn't dump completely
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Hamden, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Has held up like a charm, cannot say enough about

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this wheelbarrow over a year ago and it underwent a tough summer of hauling mulch, crushed stone, and other yard debris. The wheelbarrow material makes it very light and even my 65 year old Mom does not have a problem moving it. Assembling the wheelbarrow can be very frustrating and it does take a long time. Make sure both people are strong for assembling, but once assembled it is completely worth it. I wish Home Depot would carry it already assembled or offer to assemble. I am thinking of purchasing a 2nd one to supplement.
It is still going strong as it enters its second summer.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: takes a lot of patience to assemble, assembly is challenging
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from North Alabama

Excellent Wheelbarrow

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this because it was basically an extra large garden cart/wheelbarrow. The design of having the load's weight centered over the two wheels makes hauling dirt or whatever much easier than any standard wheelbarrow I've ever used. Dumping is easier with the front brace and there is a rear brace that functions as a stand to hold the wheelbarrow level. Plus the tub is made out of some sort of heavy duty recycled plastic, so it won't rust like my old ones. Assembly did take a little longer than what I anticipated due to keeping the holes in the frame lined up with the holes in the tub but everything worked out. You do have to inflate the tires, they are not solid. I did not have to re-drill or modify anything and all the parts were in the original box as expected. These cost more than some other models but (to me) are well worth the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although assembly is a little difficult for one person, this product is a great yard/garden cart. Highly recommended for it's stability & ease of use. Price was a little high compared to traditional wheelbarrows, but worth it for my purposes.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Sturdy, large, and high quality wheelbarrow

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wheelbarrow was easy to assemble and I like the huge capacity plastic tub...no more rust.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Barnstable County, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is very stable and handles large loads great.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wheelbarrow handles easily, won't tip over and the wife loves using it also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Boston suburbs
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wheelbarrow has every feature I wanted: two wheels, plastic tub, metal structure, covered handles, front roll bar. It's very well made and performs like a champ. It requires two persons for assembly as the instructions say (which I didn't believe), but that's quickly finished. As for remnants of contents staying in tub after tipping, just tip farther.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

Great product idea, unacceptable quality

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great product. Full load of wet clay is easy to move. Lot of product for the money. But the plastic molded body has holes drilled in the wrong place. I had to turn 2 of the holes into slots using a drill and round file. Others have noted this issue. Since I am handy it was no issue for me. But I would not expect this of everyone.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, new take on an old tool
Cons: known quality defect ignored by mfg. and seller
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Murphy, NC foothills of the Smokies

Buy it while on sale!!!

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Feel I owe it to Home Depot to redo my review. This is a great value at the sale price. It makes most any job easier and safer (very little chance of tipping). Sturdy and well designed--will last a long time--and the load is balanced so you can go up a pretty steep grade without a lot of muscle. Reasonably light weight. Wheels even has sealed ball bearings. Just take assembly one step at a time--you can do it by yourself but two more hands would be nice. BUY IT!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
from Baton Rouge, LA

Solid construction, large capacity, and stable

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wheelbarrow is precisely as advertised. Its tub has a large capacity and has easily handled loads of cut tree rounds, concrete blocks, and other bulky and heavy loads. In use, the wheelbarrow is stable, thanks to its two wheels, and resists toppling over. I would recommend this product to anyone in need of a large-capacity garden cart/wheelbarrow.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>