728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow

***All Black Friday and Cyber Monday orders will ship by Dec 16th*** The Lifetime 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow can help lighten your loads and make material transport easy. Its durable plastic tub is made in the USA from 100% post-consumer recycled material and features a tapered front to help you dump loads of up to 550 lb. with less effort. With its extra-wide wheel base and low center of gravity, this wheelbarrow has excellent stability and distributes up to 85% of the weight onto the wheels to lighten your load.
Overall rating:
4.342 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product32 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(7)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product32 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
Review 1 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
RickyT
from Outside San Antonio, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A VERY good wheelbarrow

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had several wheelbarrows over 25 years and I Iike this one the BEST. Easy to handle, sits lower to the ground, doesn't tip over like the ones that sit higher and only have one wheel.
OMG how aggravating are the ones that are always tipping over and dumping your load!!!
I ordered one and will order a second so I can get rid of my other less user friendly wheelbarrows.
These are easy to handle had have a decent capacity.
Get one; you'll LOVE it.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
lynn

durable

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the wheel barrow is very sturdy and looks like it will last longer than most, but you have to keep in mind that with two wheels you have more traction., thus more arm power is needed.The pro is, you don't have to steady it.
Also, when you go to dump out the contents, it will not completely dump out, due to the front bar. You have to go around a scrape out the remaining contents.
Even when you turn it all the way over, the contents still want to stay in the bucket, due to the design.
But all and all, I am staisfied with it, if it lasts longet than most.
Guess it is just your preference.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
kissnrain

I absolutely HATE this wheelbarrow

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, I bought this wheelbarrow based on the excellent reviews. Yes, the tub is durable, but no more durable than any other plastic tub. It really lacks functionality. The way it is balanced makes it very difficult to push over to empty. Worse, is the metal bar across the front bottom of the tub, which makes it impossible to completely empty the tub. I finally replaced it with a 'normal' style wheelbarrow that is just as durable, but is much much more usable. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!
Pros: Durable
Cons: unable to completely empty tub, difficult to tip, expensive!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
LittleSprout341
from Hamden, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Has held up like a charm, cannot say enough about

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this wheelbarrow over a year ago and it underwent a tough summer of hauling mulch, crushed stone, and other yard debris. The wheelbarrow material makes it very light and even my 65 year old Mom does not have a problem moving it. Assembling the wheelbarrow can be very frustrating and it does take a long time. Make sure both people are strong for assembling, but once assembled it is completely worth it. I wish Home Depot would carry it already assembled or offer to assemble. I am thinking of purchasing a 2nd one to supplement.
It is still going strong as it enters its second summer.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: takes a lot of patience to assemble, assembly is challenging
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
Judi
from Ware, MA

Best wheelbarrow out there!

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wheelbarrow is awesome. They designed it for ease of movement and you can basically push it with very little effort, even when it is full. Great for the elderly and anyone one with physical disabilities that may have a problem with a regular wheelbarow. This is the second one I bought and I would never get another type of wheelbarow.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
Kennebec
from Central Maine

Lifetime 6.5 cuft deluxe wheel

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought four wheelbarrows for the septage receiving station during freezing weather to move screenings. Excellent weight disbribution, 85% over ball bearing wheels to 15% on the steel frame handle bars for operator safety. The pour shape bucket allows easy and accurate dumping. The 6.5 cuft. bucket prevents over filling as the larger less expensive ones. Completely satisfied with these strong durable wheelbarrows.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
fkll
from Central Ohio

Very good wheelbarrow

PostedMay 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife needed a heavy duty 2 wheel barrow for her gardening. It rolls easily over the sloping terrain of our yard. It rolls easily under load but a bit harder than our other barrow when empty. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that its harder to dump completely than other barrows. It has a unique feature that it will stand on its nose for raking out or levering a big rock in. We've hauled rocks, rough fill, firewood, compost and heavy clay soil. It handled all loads with ease.
Assembly took some planning to align the holes of multiple parts to slide the bolts through. I was able to assemble it by myself.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
TFarm
from North Alabama

Excellent Wheelbarrow

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this because it was basically an extra large garden cart/wheelbarrow. The design of having the load's weight centered over the two wheels makes hauling dirt or whatever much easier than any standard wheelbarrow I've ever used. Dumping is easier with the front brace and there is a rear brace that functions as a stand to hold the wheelbarrow level. Plus the tub is made out of some sort of heavy duty recycled plastic, so it won't rust like my old ones. Assembly did take a little longer than what I anticipated due to keeping the holes in the frame lined up with the holes in the tub but everything worked out. You do have to inflate the tires, they are not solid. I did not have to re-drill or modify anything and all the parts were in the original box as expected. These cost more than some other models but (to me) are well worth the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
LM711

Wheelbarrow is great once you get it together.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This wheelbarrow is great, but you got to work for it. Poor quality control resulted in the holes in the tub being drilled in the wrong place. Because of this we ended up having to drill new holes and purchase larger washers to obscure the holes that were drilled incorrectly. If this happens to you too, be sure to call Home Depot and tell them you shouldn't be paying full price for what is ultimately a second quality item. With that said, if you are OK with a project and want a more stable wheelbarrow then the traditional ones with a single wheel, then this is the one for you.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
ZaEvies
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Sturdy, large, and high quality wheelbarrow

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wheelbarrow was easy to assemble and I like the huge capacity plastic tub...no more rust.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
SmilingEdagain
from Murphy, NC foothills of the Smokies

Buy it while on sale!!!

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Feel I owe it to Home Depot to redo my review. This is a great value at the sale price. It makes most any job easier and safer (very little chance of tipping). Sturdy and well designed--will last a long time--and the load is balanced so you can go up a pretty steep grade without a lot of muscle. Reasonably light weight. Wheels even has sealed ball bearings. Just take assembly one step at a time--you can do it by yourself but two more hands would be nice. BUY IT!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
thejonm
from Ankeny, IA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't be buying another wheelbarrow for at least 10 years time

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to cut a little bit of plastic away from the front two holes with a sharp knife but it looks really sturdy which is why I bought it! (See note in Customer Service section though!)
Much better than any of the other wheelbarrows out there.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: little fiddly on installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
BayouPaul
from Baton Rouge, LA

Solid construction, large capacity, and stable

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wheelbarrow is precisely as advertised. Its tub has a large capacity and has easily handled loads of cut tree rounds, concrete blocks, and other bulky and heavy loads. In use, the wheelbarrow is stable, thanks to its two wheels, and resists toppling over. I would recommend this product to anyone in need of a large-capacity garden cart/wheelbarrow.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
bob64
from oxford, mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

seems pretty well balanced and easy to manuever

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price was great but took over 10 days to ship due to on back order. went together easy with a socket and big screw driver. I pushed my 80 pound daughter around in it with ease.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
Laborer

Easy to use; well balanced.

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recommend at least 2 for assembly. Bolts need to be held on the inside of the wheelbarrow and tightened on the outside. Well designed barrow. Weight is over the wheels so operator isn't lifting as much.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
Katt
from Poulsbo

Love It!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
More people should buy these. They're great if a person has back problems because they do most of the lifting. I can weed and pull it along with one hand. It holds so much yard waste. I love the handles; easy on the hands. Well worth the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
seasonedengineer

Much easier on the hands and shoulders

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
People complain that it doesn;t work so well in soft conditions.
It is simply a trade-off, moving the wheels rearward takes more weight off your arms, thus putting more weight on the wheels, even though there are two of them.
The trade-off was worth it for me, with my carpal-tunnel syndrome.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
nh78scout
from New Hampshire

Nice wheelbarrow

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was a little tricky to assemble, but not bad. Axle is very heavy duty, as are the bearings. Rolls easily, and carries plenty of loam or mulch. It is somewhat small for leaf clean-up or carrying a lot of light items. Overall, great purchase
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
goodguystillsingle

Great Wheelbarrow...bummer tires!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Cons: tires go flat if they encounter sticker bush pieces... which kinda makes the entire deal worthless if you're planning to use it outdoors in areas with bushes!
Aside from that, it's the best wheelbarrow I've ever used (perspective: use to do landscaping). Curious to see how the 'lifetime' warranty works to get new tires!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong
Cons: bad tires go flat!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.5 cu. ft. Plastic Wheelbarrow
RustyWheelbarrow

Rusted in two weeks

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We bought this wheelbarrow to help muck out some water on our property that had been accumulating sediment. Assembly was reasonably easy and straightforward. Quality seemed to be pretty good at first, but after two weeks of use the entire frame is rusting!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>