728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Designed for maximum storage potential, Handy Home Products Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. wood storage shed features an additional 48 sq. ft. of overhead storage space. The light brown wood siding allows you to customize your shed with paint and shingles to match your home (not included). This wide gable-style building also features two over-door transom windows and generous 7 ft. high sidewalls for extra headroom. The lockable door latch will help you feel safe and secure with your stored belongings.
Overall rating:
4.078 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product52 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(23)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product52 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 73 Answers
Customer reviews for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
DRAZ
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Hands Down the Best Shed for the Price

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an existing 10x14 concrete slab and spent many weeks looking at many wood sheds that would fit on the slab. I eventually settled on the Majestic based on the price and features such as the loft, shelves, workbench and windows. It was also very helpful to be able to walk through the demo model in the parking lot of Home Depot. Based on advice in several reviews posted here, I opted to buy 2x4x12's for the top and bottom plate of the side walls to avoid using two pieces of lumber which I saw as the only weakness in this kit. Since I placed the shed on a slab, I did not use the included floor kit except for two of the treated 2x4x8's. I also purchased treated 2x4x12's for the frame we bolted down to the slab. Simple upgrades like these only made a great shed even better. I also reinforced the loft and workbench with the extra lumber I had as a result of replacing the side wall top and bottom plate. My friend and I both have construction experience and it took us about two full days to build the shed and roof it with shingles to match my house. As many have stated, follow the directions closely and it is a pretty simple build. I spent around $450 extra on paint, caulk, shingles, nails and an additional window. This is a bargain in my opinion as a similarly sized Tuff Shed would easily be double the cost and not include the great features. My only gripe with this kit is that they provide batten strips to cover the seams and nails on both sides, but none for the back side or the perimeter of the base. I bought some extra material and added trim to these locations. I did have some concerns about the 2x3's placed 24 on center before I built the shed, but once together it is plenty strong and very sturdy. I am extremely satisfied with the end result and highly recommend this kit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Albert
from Cedar Hills, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

The Shed Looks Majestic

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this at local homedepot store with discounted price. It had been kept inside the store, no mold whatsoever, but there are several "bad" studs - usable but not good. Everything you needed is inside the package - except shingles, drip edges, some nails etc. Overall, the instruction is useful and helpful, you need to read it very carefully.
We "upgrade" the construction plan, 1), for floor frame and two side walls, use 16" spacing NOT 24" spacing; 2), Use 2x4x144" stud for floor frame (NOT 2x4x48" + 2x4x96" for both side frame) These options required us to make new purchases - (6 x) 2x3x78.5"; (1 x) 2x4x93"; (2 x) 2x4x144". We also purchased two 4x4x144" treated wood for runners (see pictures).
My wife and me built this shed entirely by ourselves without any other's help. (Our neighbors would offer the help if needed.) We spent about extra US$450 for shingles, nails, screws, painting, felt, drip edge, additional studs.
We rent homedepot's $20 truck for 75 minutes to delivery the package to our home (6.5 miles away from store), homedepot stuff moved the package to truck and we cut the packaging material to move the shed product to our garage by our hands in 20 minutes.
We use entirely the new hammer which is purchased from homedepot the first day of the project to finish this shed. We are happy to report that this DIY build (Handy Home Majestic 8'x12') looks majestic and is very solid. Use hammer!
Overall, we think the DIY package is worth its value even though it would be more welcome if better wood material used in this package.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wood material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Brad
from Green Bay, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Worth the work

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed looks great. I did most of the work myself, so it took longer. I did use 12' 2x4s for the top and bottom wall frames, made it easier. I also put in more studs in the walls and treated studs for the floor at 12" on center, this made it real sturdy. I went with better shingles, built a ramp, which was easy to make, and built an garden box for my daughter (dads this was worth the hugs). I use the left over landscaping stones from old flower garden. Overall the cost increased by about $500, but it was worth it. I had Home Depot deliver it for $60 and that was really worth it. So far I have 2 neighbors and an in law who wants me to help them build on. Wait till I put the Christmas lights on it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Kellie
from Mays Landing, Hamilton Township, NJ 08330, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great Kit - Great Shed and Great Buy!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this shed to accommodate all of the items that took up space in our 18x18 garage including camping gear, tons of tools, lawn care and odd and end items. The shed was perfect for all of these items because it has the loft and the wrap around shelving leaving the floor space and wall space free for additional items. I printed out the directions ahead of time and stapled specific sections together, i.e. PARTS, FLOOR SUPPORT, WALL PANELS, etc. As we completed a section, I would fold that up and move on to the next portion of the directions. A couple things: We added a third support beam (picture attached) because my husband is a big guy and I didn't want any give in the center of the eight foot front pieces. It was a little more difficult to level but well worth the support it gives. The package was delivered by Home Depot and the Pro Customer desk put every additional item we needed on the invoice and picked it themselves for delivery. We opted for the drip edge and roof felt, which are both optional choices. There is a video online made by majestic on how to roof and it is very detailed and a great tool for anyone who hasn't roofed before. All in all the process took 4 days of working from start to finish. On Day One: We unpacked the kit and separated the pieces into piles as they were separated on the Parts List; i.e. Roof, Shelf, Trim, Walls etc. We also leveled the support beams using 3-4x4x12's, 9- 4x8x16 mortar bricks and a few shingles for the perfect level. Day Two: We assembled the floor support and laid the OSB panels. **These panels did not fit perfectly on our square frame, but they were also not included in the package, so we kept out frame square and left a small gap between the panels which I filled with Wood Filler and sanded down later. Our square was exactly 173 1/16" just as the instructions stated. We then used the floor structure to assemble the wall, front and back panels. **The instructions call for nails for the most part but we strongly recommend utilizing screws for your panels and nails. We had an issue with the boards that were nailed banging apart as we tried to finish up the opposite side. Once we had screws in - everything stayed perfectly and solid. We didn't have room to simply lay the walls to either side, so we moved them to a pile as a team, where we tarped them and called it a day. Day 3: we mounted all of the wall panels, which all fit perfectly, except for one corner (picture attached) but our square and levels were right, so we nailed/screwed it in knowing it would be covered by the corner trim provided. We then proceeded to build the rafters which were so easy using the walls as a guide as the instructions suggested. We attached the rafters and then started on the loft and shelves. Everything was cut perfectly except one side shelf. It was literally the only cut we had to make in the entire construction process and it was less than 1/2" (picture attached). Our last task on Day 3 were the roofing panels. I want to note that in our kit the panels for the roof had water damage, because it is packaged where the two large panels are the top and bottom of the packaging. I called Jason at our local Home Depot and they delivered two new panels the very next morning and took away the old panels. Amazing customer service all the way around. The roof went up perfectly. To secure the rear support for the roof, we cheated and had our teenager handle the screwing over the loft area. He was light enough and limber enough to maneuver easily up there. (picture attached) After we had one side up we stood on the roof and measured to ensure every rafter was exactly 24" apart. Any rafters that didn't measure up were banged into the correct position. This roof is sturdy! My husband is 210 lbs. and has no issues navigating on top. Day 4: We took it easy by all accounts this day. We installed all the trim, doors and windows. We painted and painted some more. I opted to paint the floor frame the same color as the shed and it hid it perfectly.We moved stones to cover the side that faces our house and installed the drip edge along the sides. Day 5: ROOFING TIME. This was an all day job for my husband and I. We followed the video exactly and the roof came out perfect! We also installed the door hardware. We had to purchase different latches for the left door because we could not figure out how the included hardware worked. We also attached heavy duty hooks to the side of the shed and eye hooks to the doors to keep them from banging in the wind when opened. Our last mission of the day was to do something with the one foot drop from the floor to our yard at the front of the shed where the support beams showed. We priced ramps and they were crazy expensive, so we went au natural and built up the lawn and laid sod in a gradual slope. (picture attached) Overall, this project (and do not be mistaken it is a project) was an amazing experience for my family and I. The directions were detailed and as long as you follow them step by step and DO NOT JUMP AHEAD, everything will go together perfectly. I recommend one person project manage with the directions and everyone else do as they say!! <3 Bet you can guess which job I had! The space is fabulous for any layout you so choose. We had a long work bench in our garage, which we cut down and stacked for a large shelf area. We also had yard tool hangers on the garage walls which we relocated to the side of the shed, using a couple of cut 2x3's for support. This kept any screws from going through our wall board as well. On the back wall, my husband installed some cork board for his tools (which he is still sorting through.) The loft holds all of our camping gear and sports equipment. I have attached a picture of our junk for you as well - hopefully give you some organization motivation. Hope our experience helps with your purchase and your build! Best of Luck!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
GeneratorJoe
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good Bang For Your Buck

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this shed together over a weekend with the help of a few neighbors. Overall it's a pretty good kit. I made a few mistakes mostly because I got ahead of the directions ;). I am happy with the shed.
My only complaint is that the wood to build the floor frame was NOT TREATED, even though it was marked that way. The wood was way too clean and light to have been treated. I contacted the company and they said they would reimburse the cost of treated wood.
Plan to spend about $300 - $400 more in parts when building the shed. (floor panels, shingles etc.)
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: some material had to be replaced.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Ryan
from Kenosha, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

I really like the "Look" of the shed in my yard. Solid color doors add a great contrast to the rest of the building.

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed took 3 days to put together my self. I did need help on day two to hold the walls up while I secured everything. I placed my shed on a cement slab and added a shelf above the workbench. I really like the loft shelves and the tall walls. My last shed was "Barn style" and I could not hang yard tools on the wall. I colored the barn a tan with dark brown trim. I painted the doors a solid dark green. Fits will with my house. Don't forget to factor in about $500 for paint, shingles, drip edge etc.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
770mark
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Nice kit with great service from local delivering company!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit was very complete and well packaged although it is not packaged in the order of assembly so you'll need room to unpack and go through it. I did have a few warped studs, but not a big deal. The instructions are very thorough and easily understood. I did as suggested by the delivering agent to make the floor stronger and purchased two pressure treated 12' 2x4s to replace the kits side rails on the floor frame which are made up of one 8 foot and one 4 foot 2x4. I then used the replaced 8' original side rails as two additional floor joists and added one more which made for a stronger 16" on center floor. I also added two 12 foot 4x4s as main runners under the floor frame which made leveling it very easy. Including paint and roofing it took me 5 days working alone at a casual pace from about 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Two people could easily do it in three or so. Also, the locking hardware supplied is great and works well. Overall a very nice project!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Well Made, Great Instructions
Cons: a two person project at times
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Des1
from Endicott, NY 13760, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good value, Easy to build

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall it looks like it will be a very good Shed. It was packaged in a fairly small package about 4X8 feet and was delivered on time. I think there could be some additional information available as to how it is packaged and that all parts should be inventoried prior to beginning. In an area where rain would be a possibility you need a space out of the weather to do the inventory and keep the parts until you are ready to use them. The instructions assume you are building the shed in an open field. In my case I had trees within 6 feet of either side. The quality of the material was generally OK but some was not the best especially the 2X3's.. Warping was not a problem and the building went together as described in the instructions.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
handydan
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good product if you are familiar with framing tools and materials,

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shed went up easily, in one weekend, because we had three guys familiar with framing a house. The directions are simple and mostly complete, but a few places needed some figuring out. I did not contact the company so I don't know if they were open on a Sunday. There are a lot more parts you WILL need to buy (other than the ones suggested on the box.)
Look through the instructions BEFORE you leave the store if you are trying to get it all delivered in one shot. Oh --- you WILL need it delivered or rent the BIG truck. Heavy materials and parts.
We set it up in the shade and added the turbine vent for moisture control, added concrete footings, a drip edge at the roof line, added more joists to the floor, for support, painted inside/out and insulated with ridged foam. Nice and comfy. The wood walls and ceiling look a bit like wheat thins. Now to see when the rains come, how well it holds up.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: must be handy with construstion
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Chappie

Great shed, excellent customer support

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this kit to replace a steel shed that was probably built in the 50's. I consider myself fairly handy, but nowhere near an expert carpenter. Overall I'm thrilled with the results. I took my time, and carefully read the instructions, which were very well written. I would guess I spent 70-80 hours on it from grading the space to finishing the paint, and did it entirely by myself, with the exception of lifting up the rear wall.
Pros:
- All of the wood was cut perfectly to length, I was surprised how well everything lined up once it was all together.
- It replaced a shed that was probably 40% bigger, but because of the loft and shelving, it has way more room in it.
- Very good overall quality
- Excellent customer service. My shed kit had been stored outside at my local HD, which is very much against the rules according to the manufacturer. As a result, virtually all of the plywood, and much of the lumber was wet and moldy. I was able to clean up the lumber and make it useable, but the plywood (actually OSB) was basically no good. The manufacturer was very distressed, and recommended that I simply take it back and get a whole new kit, but they offered the option of reimbursing me for purchasing replacement wood. I went to my local store, had them cut everything to specifications, and within 10 -12 days I had been fully reimbursed. It was slightly annoying to have to make another trip to the store, but I couldn't ask for a better resolution from the manufacturer, who wasn't to blame in the first place.
Cons:
- I ended up spending an additional $500 or so on paint, flooring, and tools to finish the project (I highly recommend using an air powered palm nailer), but I knew about this going in to the project, so I can't complain too much. Just be aware that the kit is not technically 100% complete.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
awilson
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Lumber quality was mixed.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall value was okay. I am dissappointed with the wood provided. While I didn't expect top grade lumber, I did expect the liumber to be checked. I had several boards that were broken/cracked that couldn't be used. I even had two boards that were not dried properly and were covered with green mold. I guess you get what you pay for.
Pros: Great Instructions, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: poor quality lumber
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Kerry

Not great, but good

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I still have to paint my shed and do a couple of final minor things, but I think in general the quality of the shed is good, and it was fairly easy to assemble. Instructions are good, identifying which pieces go where is not difficult. Like others, I'd recommend additional 2X4's as part or the floor framing, and although I did not do this, 12' full length 2X4's for the side walls is good rather than putting an 8 foot next to a 4 foot. would be more sturdy, but once the wall siding is on and the roof on, seems sturdy enough. As others usually say, I too had a couple wood pieces that are a bit warped, but not so much to be a problem. I'm not sure why the kit comes with all screws needed but only some of the nails (you need to pick up a few boxes of nails, some 2" and some 3". Be sure to read the instruction manual before starting construction so you can hopefully have everything you need rather than making a couple of additional trips to Home Depot.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
dano
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Just Ok

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poorly constructed. I had to beef up the shelf's and work bench to use. Missing parts that I had to make. Directions were difficult at best to follow. It would have been better if I just manufactured it myself and not bought the kit. It would have cost half the price.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Anonymous

Great project for beginners- try and you will succeed

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Brought this shed for our BSA Troop. Instructions were good, anticipate replacing warped 2x3's. This 8x12 shed comes in 4x8 box, so lots of joining seems.
Expect to lay out addtional $200 for floor, roofing, (2) 4x4x12 for ground runners. Locking harware is worthless so plan to add an additional $50 to secure your shed. Plus you will need additionial 3" screws and recommend a power nailer to save time. Since shed weights 1,000 lbs, pay HD to deliver it - another $65. Plan on spending additional $350 not incluing paint.
+38points
41out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Christine
from San Diego, CA, USA

Great value, takes longer than expected, some warped boards

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I put this together (mostly my husband), also with the help of a handyman friend. My husband is very handy but this shed took more than 1 day for two people to complete. There were also warped boards that we had to work around. That said, it's a great little shed, with a nice workbench inside. We use it for storage and also as a tack & feed (horse supplies) shed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: some warped boards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
kevinnork
from Midlothian, VA

Do it youself sheds

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shed was very easy to construct. Myself and two others helped and we finished everything in one day. My advice is to just follow the instuctions all the way to the end or you will have issues. YOU WILL NEED HELP so dont try and go at this project alone. I saved alot of money doing it myself and i am very plaesed with my shed. It is wobbly at first untill you complete everything but after all work was done it is soilid and sturdy.. the loft and work bench are very nice gives you lots of extra room. i would recomend this shed to anyone. But build your own floor framing i used treated 2*6 wich will last longer and more sturdy
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
HomeownerGuy
from Illinois

Regular Homeowner-Level Carpenter Experience

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
On a 10 point scale, I rate myself as a 7/10 skill level carpenter, 8/10 on good days and in flashes of accidental genius occasionally a 9/10.
This shed delivers what it says; the attic is incredibly useful to get lighter items off the ground. Once built it looks nice.
I had a concrete pad built which cost about $200 more than a gravel and paver and it is worth every penny!
I built this by myself with the exception of one day when I had two guys helping me. Without this help I could not have done it, primarily because of the roof. The rafters are doable without help but much easier with, but unless you turn into the incredible hulk on the weekends there are two pieces of treated plywood that you won't be able to get in place by yourself, they are simply too heavy, big, and the placement is on the peak of the roof ot the shed. Other than the roof, I could have built it but it would have added a day and 1/2 without the guys that I had.
I did this in late Fall, so I had about 7 - 8 hours of daylight max.
In total I spent one day framing the side walls, one day putting together the front, back and roof plywood (this is the day I had help), 1 1/2 day putting the roofing felt, drip edge, and shingles on the roof, two days painting the shed (thanks honey!!) and the trim, installing and calking it, another day and 1/2 tweaking along the way and waterproofing the shed, especially around the doors (which is still problematic but I think that any shed is this way) so figure seven days of construction without the base.
Words of advice--read the instructions. I didn't follow the sequence of the instructions as I did the roof right after the 4 walls were up to help keep it waterproof, so I would have written it in a different sequence, but there is important info throughout so I know it's even more painful than stopping to ask directions but definately do this.
Roof--they mention a drip edge, definately get one. You'll need to buy 5 packs of shingles/felt and then whatever you will do for the ridge in addition to the kit.
Base--This shed is meant to rest on a wooden frame which the bases of the stud walls rest on, and that can be mounted on concrete or whatever substrate that you use. When you frame the walls, the wall plywood overlaps past the bottoms of the base of the wall, which then slips over the outside edge of the frame that you built. I found that mine leaked from underneath the shed, so along the bottom outside edge I put a trim piece that rested on the concrete and butted up against the outside wall of the shed, and calked it to help which seems to do the trick. A wooden rame is included with the shed but not the actual floor so you'll need to buy this.
Paint--if you have the time, I would paint the outside when you have the walls constructed but before you erect them. This way it is easy to reach and you can also paint the edges to easily paint them to help weatherproof. Also, there are 2 pieces of untreated/unprimed lumber that are just below the peak of the roof, two on the front and two on the back of the shed. It would make it very much easier if you painted these before putting them on the shed..
All pieces were there, some extras, most marked well. I took the other advice/reviews and seperated the different parts of the shed before I started--this is a must and thanks to the other reviewers for the tip.
I had to cut four pieces: the verticle trim on the side and middle of the transom, and curiously I had to cut the shaft of the door mechanism or it would stick out about 1 1/2 inches inside the shed. You could live with this but I am not graceful and would constantly get bruises with it sticking out that far. Other than these minor cuts none other were needed other than the bottom trim that I installed.
If you are considering a 10 x 10 shed, look at total square feet of storage--because of the attic this actually has considerable more.
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Jerzy10
from Auburn, MI 48611, USA

Nice Shed but Bad Wood

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this shed so I could store all of my Holiday
Airblown Inflatables in I saw this shed on display at Home
Depot and just loved it with the loft and the workbench in
the back but what I did not like about this kit is that tons
of wood in the kit was warped I made lots of trips back to
the Home Depot to get new wood and in this kit was a very
poor way to make the 12ft boards for the frame they had
a 8ft board connect to a 4ft board we put it together and
when we went to lift it up to take out to the site it almost
broke in haft so we decided just to buy a one piece 12ft
2x4 board so that was very poor but after we fixed all of the little flaws it had I got to admit it was a really nice shed
with the windows it had it was very nice but instead of putting shingles on the roof of ours we put a metal roof
and it looked fantastic it was so easy to install too it should
hold up much longer with the metal roof. You will love this
shed as it is a very nice one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Midd753
from Middlebury. VT

Great Storage Shed

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed arrived with no damage, but with some warping of some of the materials. We made do. Once assembled, it is very sturdy. It is definitely a 2-person job. We used 4x4 posts with concrete blocks beneath as a base to support the treated deck boards from the kit, and this seemed to work fine. You need to purchase paint, plywood, shingles, tar paper, dripedge, and roofing nails. Would recommend using a thick plywood for a sturdier floor (go one size larger than the minimum suggested by the instructions. As others have said, just follow the directions carefully and you'll be fine.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
MikeTheMasterCarpenter
from Katy, Texas

Some EZ Tips that will help with construction

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My father and I (we are both master carpenters) built this shed in 20 total hours. We made some quick observations that will help with construction.
1. Follow the instructions as far as when to put things in place exactly (we did not install the doors nor the loft plywood until the very end.)
2. When building with the "free treated base" that comes with the package we decided to make the base stronger. We bought two 2x4-12 treated wood and replaced the two 8' and 4' boards that make up the outer long prermeter...it is much more solid. (cost was $15.00 extra).
3. Brace the flooring cross-studs if you are building on uneven land...it will be saggy in the center if you do not.
4. For the gables, instead of 3" nails, buy some 3" dry-wall screws and use those instead. Dill a pilot hole before screwing into the upper header...you will most likely have to adjust to get the 24" centers when installing the roof decking and you can easily be backing out the screws to make adjustments (no so with nails).
5. We did not place any of the loft ply wood in place until the end. We found it much easier to place the roofing deck up (ladders inside the building and placed wood on the roof...instead of climbing up ON the roof)...it saved us a lot of time and was safer!
6. Roof drip edging is a must if you want this roof to last. 50 foot will get you all the way around and really helps to prevent the roof decking from soaking up water on the edges.
7. We hung the doors last...this helped us with getting in and out and the doors aligned "easier" for us with out having to build the cross supports and drilling into the finished wood. Neater appearance.
Hope these quick tips help! My building looks like a million bucks...I may more out of my house and into it!
+51points
54out of 57found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>