728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Designed for maximum storage potential, Handy Home Products Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. wood storage shed features an additional 48 sq. ft. of overhead storage space. The light brown wood siding allows you to customize your shed with paint and shingles to match your home (not included). This wide gable-style building also features two over-door transom windows and generous 7 ft. high sidewalls for extra headroom. The lockable door latch will help you feel safe and secure with your stored belongings.
Overall rating:
3.873 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product61 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(27)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product61 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
48 Questions | 100 Answers
Customer reviews for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Cedar Hills, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

The Shed Looks Majestic

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this at local homedepot store with discounted price. It had been kept inside the store, no mold whatsoever, but there are several "bad" studs - usable but not good. Everything you needed is inside the package - except shingles, drip edges, some nails etc. Overall, the instruction is useful and helpful, you need to read it very carefully.
We "upgrade" the construction plan, 1), for floor frame and two side walls, use 16" spacing NOT 24" spacing; 2), Use 2x4x144" stud for floor frame (NOT 2x4x48" + 2x4x96" for both side frame) These options required us to make new purchases - (6 x) 2x3x78.5"; (1 x) 2x4x93"; (2 x) 2x4x144". We also purchased two 4x4x144" treated wood for runners (see pictures).
My wife and me built this shed entirely by ourselves without any other's help. (Our neighbors would offer the help if needed.) We spent about extra US$450 for shingles, nails, screws, painting, felt, drip edge, additional studs.
We rent homedepot's $20 truck for 75 minutes to delivery the package to our home (6.5 miles away from store), homedepot stuff moved the package to truck and we cut the packaging material to move the shed product to our garage by our hands in 20 minutes.
We use entirely the new hammer which is purchased from homedepot the first day of the project to finish this shed. We are happy to report that this DIY build (Handy Home Majestic 8'x12') looks majestic and is very solid. Use hammer!
Overall, we think the DIY package is worth its value even though it would be more welcome if better wood material used in this package.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wood material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Hands Down the Best Shed for the Price

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an existing 10x14 concrete slab and spent many weeks looking at many wood sheds that would fit on the slab. I eventually settled on the Majestic based on the price and features such as the loft, shelves, workbench and windows. It was also very helpful to be able to walk through the demo model in the parking lot of Home Depot. Based on advice in several reviews posted here, I opted to buy 2x4x12's for the top and bottom plate of the side walls to avoid using two pieces of lumber which I saw as the only weakness in this kit. Since I placed the shed on a slab, I did not use the included floor kit except for two of the treated 2x4x8's. I also purchased treated 2x4x12's for the frame we bolted down to the slab. Simple upgrades like these only made a great shed even better. I also reinforced the loft and workbench with the extra lumber I had as a result of replacing the side wall top and bottom plate. My friend and I both have construction experience and it took us about two full days to build the shed and roof it with shingles to match my house. As many have stated, follow the directions closely and it is a pretty simple build. I spent around $450 extra on paint, caulk, shingles, nails and an additional window. This is a bargain in my opinion as a similarly sized Tuff Shed would easily be double the cost and not include the great features. My only gripe with this kit is that they provide batten strips to cover the seams and nails on both sides, but none for the back side or the perimeter of the base. I bought some extra material and added trim to these locations. I did have some concerns about the 2x3's placed 24 on center before I built the shed, but once together it is plenty strong and very sturdy. I am extremely satisfied with the end result and highly recommend this kit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good Bang For Your Buck

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this shed together over a weekend with the help of a few neighbors. Overall it's a pretty good kit. I made a few mistakes mostly because I got ahead of the directions ;). I am happy with the shed.
My only complaint is that the wood to build the floor frame was NOT TREATED, even though it was marked that way. The wood was way too clean and light to have been treated. I contacted the company and they said they would reimburse the cost of treated wood.
Plan to spend about $300 - $400 more in parts when building the shed. (floor panels, shingles etc.)
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: some material had to be replaced.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Green Bay, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Worth the work

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed looks great. I did most of the work myself, so it took longer. I did use 12' 2x4s for the top and bottom wall frames, made it easier. I also put in more studs in the walls and treated studs for the floor at 12" on center, this made it real sturdy. I went with better shingles, built a ramp, which was easy to make, and built an garden box for my daughter (dads this was worth the hugs). I use the left over landscaping stones from old flower garden. Overall the cost increased by about $500, but it was worth it. I had Home Depot deliver it for $60 and that was really worth it. So far I have 2 neighbors and an in law who wants me to help them build on. Wait till I put the Christmas lights on it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Kenosha, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

I really like the "Look" of the shed in my yard. Solid color doors add a great contrast to the rest of the building.

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed took 3 days to put together my self. I did need help on day two to hold the walls up while I secured everything. I placed my shed on a cement slab and added a shelf above the workbench. I really like the loft shelves and the tall walls. My last shed was "Barn style" and I could not hang yard tools on the wall. I colored the barn a tan with dark brown trim. I painted the doors a solid dark green. Fits will with my house. Don't forget to factor in about $500 for paint, shingles, drip edge etc.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Endicott, NY 13760, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good value, Easy to build

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall it looks like it will be a very good Shed. It was packaged in a fairly small package about 4X8 feet and was delivered on time. I think there could be some additional information available as to how it is packaged and that all parts should be inventoried prior to beginning. In an area where rain would be a possibility you need a space out of the weather to do the inventory and keep the parts until you are ready to use them. The instructions assume you are building the shed in an open field. In my case I had trees within 6 feet of either side. The quality of the material was generally OK but some was not the best especially the 2X3's.. Warping was not a problem and the building went together as described in the instructions.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Nice kit with great service from local delivering company!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit was very complete and well packaged although it is not packaged in the order of assembly so you'll need room to unpack and go through it. I did have a few warped studs, but not a big deal. The instructions are very thorough and easily understood. I did as suggested by the delivering agent to make the floor stronger and purchased two pressure treated 12' 2x4s to replace the kits side rails on the floor frame which are made up of one 8 foot and one 4 foot 2x4. I then used the replaced 8' original side rails as two additional floor joists and added one more which made for a stronger 16" on center floor. I also added two 12 foot 4x4s as main runners under the floor frame which made leveling it very easy. Including paint and roofing it took me 5 days working alone at a casual pace from about 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Two people could easily do it in three or so. Also, the locking hardware supplied is great and works well. Overall a very nice project!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Well Made, Great Instructions
Cons: a two person project at times
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Klamath Falls, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Little Shed Kit!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shed kit instruction booklet was very well written and well organized. My husband and myself put it together in less than a week. We are very pleased with the quality. We found it had a lot of room inside and were able to put it to good use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Mays Landing, Hamilton Township, NJ 08330, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great Kit - Great Shed and Great Buy!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this shed to accommodate all of the items that took up space in our 18x18 garage including camping gear, tons of tools, lawn care and odd and end items. The shed was perfect for all of these items because it has the loft and the wrap around shelving leaving the floor space and wall space free for additional items. I printed out the directions ahead of time and stapled specific sections together, i.e. PARTS, FLOOR SUPPORT, WALL PANELS, etc. As we completed a section, I would fold that up and move on to the next portion of the directions. A couple things: We added a third support beam (picture attached) because my husband is a big guy and I didn't want any give in the center of the eight foot front pieces. It was a little more difficult to level but well worth the support it gives. The package was delivered by Home Depot and the Pro Customer desk put every additional item we needed on the invoice and picked it themselves for delivery. We opted for the drip edge and roof felt, which are both optional choices. There is a video online made by majestic on how to roof and it is very detailed and a great tool for anyone who hasn't roofed before. All in all the process took 4 days of working from start to finish. On Day One: We unpacked the kit and separated the pieces into piles as they were separated on the Parts List; i.e. Roof, Shelf, Trim, Walls etc. We also leveled the support beams using 3-4x4x12's, 9- 4x8x16 mortar bricks and a few shingles for the perfect level. Day Two: We assembled the floor support and laid the OSB panels. **These panels did not fit perfectly on our square frame, but they were also not included in the package, so we kept out frame square and left a small gap between the panels which I filled with Wood Filler and sanded down later. Our square was exactly 173 1/16" just as the instructions stated. We then used the floor structure to assemble the wall, front and back panels. **The instructions call for nails for the most part but we strongly recommend utilizing screws for your panels and nails. We had an issue with the boards that were nailed banging apart as we tried to finish up the opposite side. Once we had screws in - everything stayed perfectly and solid. We didn't have room to simply lay the walls to either side, so we moved them to a pile as a team, where we tarped them and called it a day. Day 3: we mounted all of the wall panels, which all fit perfectly, except for one corner (picture attached) but our square and levels were right, so we nailed/screwed it in knowing it would be covered by the corner trim provided. We then proceeded to build the rafters which were so easy using the walls as a guide as the instructions suggested. We attached the rafters and then started on the loft and shelves. Everything was cut perfectly except one side shelf. It was literally the only cut we had to make in the entire construction process and it was less than 1/2" (picture attached). Our last task on Day 3 were the roofing panels. I want to note that in our kit the panels for the roof had water damage, because it is packaged where the two large panels are the top and bottom of the packaging. I called Jason at our local Home Depot and they delivered two new panels the very next morning and took away the old panels. Amazing customer service all the way around. The roof went up perfectly. To secure the rear support for the roof, we cheated and had our teenager handle the screwing over the loft area. He was light enough and limber enough to maneuver easily up there. (picture attached) After we had one side up we stood on the roof and measured to ensure every rafter was exactly 24" apart. Any rafters that didn't measure up were banged into the correct position. This roof is sturdy! My husband is 210 lbs. and has no issues navigating on top. Day 4: We took it easy by all accounts this day. We installed all the trim, doors and windows. We painted and painted some more. I opted to paint the floor frame the same color as the shed and it hid it perfectly.We moved stones to cover the side that faces our house and installed the drip edge along the sides. Day 5: ROOFING TIME. This was an all day job for my husband and I. We followed the video exactly and the roof came out perfect! We also installed the door hardware. We had to purchase different latches for the left door because we could not figure out how the included hardware worked. We also attached heavy duty hooks to the side of the shed and eye hooks to the doors to keep them from banging in the wind when opened. Our last mission of the day was to do something with the one foot drop from the floor to our yard at the front of the shed where the support beams showed. We priced ramps and they were crazy expensive, so we went au natural and built up the lawn and laid sod in a gradual slope. (picture attached) Overall, this project (and do not be mistaken it is a project) was an amazing experience for my family and I. The directions were detailed and as long as you follow them step by step and DO NOT JUMP AHEAD, everything will go together perfectly. I recommend one person project manage with the directions and everyone else do as they say!! <3 Bet you can guess which job I had! The space is fabulous for any layout you so choose. We had a long work bench in our garage, which we cut down and stacked for a large shelf area. We also had yard tool hangers on the garage walls which we relocated to the side of the shed, using a couple of cut 2x3's for support. This kept any screws from going through our wall board as well. On the back wall, my husband installed some cork board for his tools (which he is still sorting through.) The loft holds all of our camping gear and sports equipment. I have attached a picture of our junk for you as well - hopefully give you some organization motivation. Hope our experience helps with your purchase and your build! Best of Luck!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Great shed, excellent customer support

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this kit to replace a steel shed that was probably built in the 50's. I consider myself fairly handy, but nowhere near an expert carpenter. Overall I'm thrilled with the results. I took my time, and carefully read the instructions, which were very well written. I would guess I spent 70-80 hours on it from grading the space to finishing the paint, and did it entirely by myself, with the exception of lifting up the rear wall.
Pros:
- All of the wood was cut perfectly to length, I was surprised how well everything lined up once it was all together.
- It replaced a shed that was probably 40% bigger, but because of the loft and shelving, it has way more room in it.
- Very good overall quality
- Excellent customer service. My shed kit had been stored outside at my local HD, which is very much against the rules according to the manufacturer. As a result, virtually all of the plywood, and much of the lumber was wet and moldy. I was able to clean up the lumber and make it useable, but the plywood (actually OSB) was basically no good. The manufacturer was very distressed, and recommended that I simply take it back and get a whole new kit, but they offered the option of reimbursing me for purchasing replacement wood. I went to my local store, had them cut everything to specifications, and within 10 -12 days I had been fully reimbursed. It was slightly annoying to have to make another trip to the store, but I couldn't ask for a better resolution from the manufacturer, who wasn't to blame in the first place.
Cons:
- I ended up spending an additional $500 or so on paint, flooring, and tools to finish the project (I highly recommend using an air powered palm nailer), but I knew about this going in to the project, so I can't complain too much. Just be aware that the kit is not technically 100% complete.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from STOCKTON CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

ABSOLUTE GARBAGE

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM AGAIN. NOTHING FIT ALL THE WOOD WAS WARPED. NOTHING WAS CUT SQUARE. INCOMPLETE PRODUCT BUILD KIT HAD TO BUY ALMOST 500$ MORE OF STUFF. NOT WORTH MY HEADACHE.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Cape Cod
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Quality Shed

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a great shed for the money. I shopped around a bit and was pleased with the cost relative to the quality of the product. I have done little to know projects such as this and the instructions were very user friendly and manageable. Definitely budget in at least $600 on top of the cost for extra items you will need. I had to purchase all of the leveling materials, the 4x4 for the flooring to sit on, the decking, shingles, caulk, paint, nails etc. and it added up quickly. Still I was able to build a pretty nice shed for around $1700 all told. You'll definitely need two people to assemble and plan on at least a full two days work. Overall I'm very happy with the end result.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: had to purchase a lot of extras to complete
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good product if you are familiar with framing tools and materials,

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shed went up easily, in one weekend, because we had three guys familiar with framing a house. The directions are simple and mostly complete, but a few places needed some figuring out. I did not contact the company so I don't know if they were open on a Sunday. There are a lot more parts you WILL need to buy (other than the ones suggested on the box.)
Look through the instructions BEFORE you leave the store if you are trying to get it all delivered in one shot. Oh --- you WILL need it delivered or rent the BIG truck. Heavy materials and parts.
We set it up in the shade and added the turbine vent for moisture control, added concrete footings, a drip edge at the roof line, added more joists to the floor, for support, painted inside/out and insulated with ridged foam. Nice and comfy. The wood walls and ceiling look a bit like wheat thins. Now to see when the rains come, how well it holds up.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: must be handy with construstion
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Auburn, MI 48611, USA

Nice Shed but Bad Wood

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this shed so I could store all of my Holiday
Airblown Inflatables in I saw this shed on display at Home
Depot and just loved it with the loft and the workbench in
the back but what I did not like about this kit is that tons
of wood in the kit was warped I made lots of trips back to
the Home Depot to get new wood and in this kit was a very
poor way to make the 12ft boards for the frame they had
a 8ft board connect to a 4ft board we put it together and
when we went to lift it up to take out to the site it almost
broke in haft so we decided just to buy a one piece 12ft
2x4 board so that was very poor but after we fixed all of the little flaws it had I got to admit it was a really nice shed
with the windows it had it was very nice but instead of putting shingles on the roof of ours we put a metal roof
and it looked fantastic it was so easy to install too it should
hold up much longer with the metal roof. You will love this
shed as it is a very nice one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Vienna, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good project for moderately skilled, lots of storage, 7-foot walls a plus for tall people too

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I built this shed a year ago, taking my time from one weekend to the next. It turned out to be a bigger project than I expected, but was still easy to assemble for someone with almost no carpentry skills. The only time that I needed a second person was the day we raised and squared the walls. As far as cost goes, it adds quite a bit to purchase flooring, shingles, nails and paint. It's still a very good value compared to other kits, just know that your final cost will not be the kit price. Building the shed gave me a reason to upgrade my tool kit, but that was an expense I enjoyed. In the end, there was a great feeling of accomplishment at finishing the project, and doing something I might not have dared to try a few years ago. I'm happy to say the shed was weatherproof through a nasty winter and we're enjoying the extra space (love the loft storage and 7-foot walls). Windows above doors are great for light without losing storage space along walls.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Central Point, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Decent, for the price.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most of the dimensional lumber was warped, impossible to square up. The included handle with lock did not come with a key. We purchased a new one. The included door latches top and bottom were useless, as it is not square, we purchased different ones. All in all, not real satisfied, but with extra roofing work, it should be leak-proof. But it didn't cost that much, and you do get what you pay for!
Pros: Functional, Great Instructions
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, no key for door lock
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Rochester, NY

excellent product

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Aside from the difficult to understand directions, the shed is a great product for the money!
Pros: Durable, Functional, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Midlothian, VA

Do it youself sheds

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shed was very easy to construct. Myself and two others helped and we finished everything in one day. My advice is to just follow the instuctions all the way to the end or you will have issues. YOU WILL NEED HELP so dont try and go at this project alone. I saved alot of money doing it myself and i am very plaesed with my shed. It is wobbly at first untill you complete everything but after all work was done it is soilid and sturdy.. the loft and work bench are very nice gives you lots of extra room. i would recomend this shed to anyone. But build your own floor framing i used treated 2*6 wich will last longer and more sturdy
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Great project for beginners- try and you will succeed

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Brought this shed for our BSA Troop. Instructions were good, anticipate replacing warped 2x3's. This 8x12 shed comes in 4x8 box, so lots of joining seems.
Expect to lay out addtional $200 for floor, roofing, (2) 4x4x12 for ground runners. Locking harware is worthless so plan to add an additional $50 to secure your shed. Plus you will need additionial 3" screws and recommend a power nailer to save time. Since shed weights 1,000 lbs, pay HD to deliver it - another $65. Plan on spending additional $350 not incluing paint.
+38points
41out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Majestic 8 ft. x 12 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Illinois

Regular Homeowner-Level Carpenter Experience

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
On a 10 point scale, I rate myself as a 7/10 skill level carpenter, 8/10 on good days and in flashes of accidental genius occasionally a 9/10.
This shed delivers what it says; the attic is incredibly useful to get lighter items off the ground. Once built it looks nice.
I had a concrete pad built which cost about $200 more than a gravel and paver and it is worth every penny!
I built this by myself with the exception of one day when I had two guys helping me. Without this help I could not have done it, primarily because of the roof. The rafters are doable without help but much easier with, but unless you turn into the incredible hulk on the weekends there are two pieces of treated plywood that you won't be able to get in place by yourself, they are simply too heavy, big, and the placement is on the peak of the roof ot the shed. Other than the roof, I could have built it but it would have added a day and 1/2 without the guys that I had.
I did this in late Fall, so I had about 7 - 8 hours of daylight max.
In total I spent one day framing the side walls, one day putting together the front, back and roof plywood (this is the day I had help), 1 1/2 day putting the roofing felt, drip edge, and shingles on the roof, two days painting the shed (thanks honey!!) and the trim, installing and calking it, another day and 1/2 tweaking along the way and waterproofing the shed, especially around the doors (which is still problematic but I think that any shed is this way) so figure seven days of construction without the base.
Words of advice--read the instructions. I didn't follow the sequence of the instructions as I did the roof right after the 4 walls were up to help keep it waterproof, so I would have written it in a different sequence, but there is important info throughout so I know it's even more painful than stopping to ask directions but definately do this.
Roof--they mention a drip edge, definately get one. You'll need to buy 5 packs of shingles/felt and then whatever you will do for the ridge in addition to the kit.
Base--This shed is meant to rest on a wooden frame which the bases of the stud walls rest on, and that can be mounted on concrete or whatever substrate that you use. When you frame the walls, the wall plywood overlaps past the bottoms of the base of the wall, which then slips over the outside edge of the frame that you built. I found that mine leaked from underneath the shed, so along the bottom outside edge I put a trim piece that rested on the concrete and butted up against the outside wall of the shed, and calked it to help which seems to do the trick. A wooden rame is included with the shed but not the actual floor so you'll need to buy this.
Paint--if you have the time, I would paint the outside when you have the walls constructed but before you erect them. This way it is easy to reach and you can also paint the edges to easily paint them to help weatherproof. Also, there are 2 pieces of untreated/unprimed lumber that are just below the peak of the roof, two on the front and two on the back of the shed. It would make it very much easier if you painted these before putting them on the shed..
All pieces were there, some extras, most marked well. I took the other advice/reviews and seperated the different parts of the shed before I started--this is a must and thanks to the other reviewers for the tip.
I had to cut four pieces: the verticle trim on the side and middle of the transom, and curiously I had to cut the shaft of the door mechanism or it would stick out about 1 1/2 inches inside the shed. You could live with this but I am not graceful and would constantly get bruises with it sticking out that far. Other than these minor cuts none other were needed other than the bottom trim that I installed.
If you are considering a 10 x 10 shed, look at total square feet of storage--because of the attic this actually has considerable more.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>