728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose

Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose

This Automatic Retractable Air Hose Reel features a spring-wound auto re-wind mechanism and a locking ratchet brake. Also includes all-steel construction. Can be mounted on wall, floor or ceiling. Guide arm is adjustable to dispense hose at various angles. Includes 3/8 in. x 50 ft. red rubber air hose and leader hose with 3/8 in. Male NPT end fittings.
Overall rating:
2.636 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
45%of customersrecommend this product5 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
45%of customersrecommend this product5 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
Review 1 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
garfield2012
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another Example Of Cheap Chinese Junk

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just as the other reviewers posted for this hose reel, I had a problem with the poor quality Chinese hose this reel ships with. After noticing my air pressure dropping quickly right after installation, I had to spend extra time finding out exactly where the leak was coming from. After eliminating my own plumbing and the swivel seal connection of the reel, I determined the leak was from the hose.
I put the end of the hose in a bucket of water and soon discovered bubbles coming from the factory crimp at one end. I removed the hose and replaced it with a brand new high quality Goodyear rubber hose. This solved the problem.
Upon further inspection of the removed hose, I found the REAL problem that was causing my air leak. In the middle of the 50' hose, I found that it had burst open, and this is where the majority of the leaking was coming from.
In the attached picture above the black tape, you can see the defect in this hose.
Also, this reel ships with 3/8" sized threads where the air fittings need to be installed. Since most all air fittings and hoses use 1/4" size threads, you must add two bell reducers to be able to use this reel with those.
After having this unit installed for only 24 hours, I can say that the mechanical parts of the reel itself seem to be made as well as others priced the same. It extends and retracts the new hose smoothly as it should.
I would not recommend this reel because of the junky quality of the hose it ships with. If you do purchase one, save yourself the headaches I had and swap out the hose with a quality hose.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no manufacturer contact info in instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
NYJeff
from New York

Not as industrial as box would lead you to believe

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The printing on the box would make you believe this is truly an industrial grade product, but this couldn't be further from the truth. It is more of a home use product. Included hose is of poor quality. Not even the same quality as the Amflo 50' hose that you can buy separately. Reel will not lock reliably if pulling hose at an angle. Frame flexes when pulling hose at an angle, which prevents locking paw from engaging teeth. Paw rides at edge of locking mechanism, so position is not deep enough to engage teeth when pulling hose at an angle with frame flexing. Adding a washer should correct this, but it should not be necessary to modify a product to make it work right.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
cartooluse
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wouldn't buy again

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this 4 months ago. I have had no problems with the hose leaking. The locking mechanism feature is awful, it has to be in just the right spot to catch. It does catch but I would expect a better design that is much easier. When pulling form the side it never locks. I would pass this one up.
Cons: Limited Features
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
Suprrrtom
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Locking Reel OK Hose is a "JUNK"

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have not had it installed two months hose is dry rotted from the inside when I had a blow out leak at 125 PSI, cut the hose and its dry rotted inside out.
Cons: hose is junk
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
Curtalude
from SoCal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lousy hose

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hose mfg date (according to labeling) 1/20/2012. Purchased in May . By October hose blew out. Was also cracked and aged looking.Also like previous reviewer, hard to lock when pulled from side.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, terrible hose
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
Nash
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Hose is JUNK, reel is fine

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had this reel for about a year, the hose has burst on me three times now. The first time I bought a new reel and returned the old one in the box.. Now I'm just going to buy a better quality hose and install it on the reel. The reel itself seems fairly solid, just the cheap mickey mouse hose you will need to worry about.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
Maintenance

Hoses are junk

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 2 of these and installed them in my shop. Within a month one of the hoses had cracked, like it was dry rotted, and was leaking. Home Depot replaced the entire reel under the 30 day warranty. Now 9 months later both of the hoses are leaking and show cracking on the first 3-4ft of hose on each reel. Too bad because the reels work really great.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
PCADCenter
from San Diego, CA, USA

Beats their competitiors by a long shot

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We originally purchased 2 reels a few years back. When we moved our company to a new location, we required a few more for our larger building.
We purchased reels from a competition since they did not have them in stock.
Long story short, the reels lasted a month and now have to be returned.
We purchased the new reels from Home Depot and no problems.
Should have been patient and waited on a product I know is a good value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
TBHandyman
from Wisconsin

Very Nice Hose Reel for the money!!

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't expecting alot for $80.00. I work with a alot of industrial air reels at work and wanted one for my garage but didn't want to spend $400.00. This air reel is a Chinese made unit but is surprisngly heavy duty and works great. The hose is a nice quality soft rubber the fittings are brass. You cant go wrong for the price!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
maw9694

well worth the money

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant at first but now I am glad I made the purchase. I have had no problems with it, and you cant beat the price. It's well worth the money
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Retractable Air Hose Reel with 50 ft. Rubber Air Hose
Harolds2
from Jackson, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hose

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Less than two years old and the hose is dry rotted. Reel works great for light use. If you buy this unit, then go ahead and buy a good hose to go with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.