728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

ProSeal garage door bottom seals are made of durable weather resistant vinyl. The high quality PVC remains flexible at extreme low temperatures, providing a tight seal for your garage door. ProSeal locks out the elements by conforming to the shape of your garage floor. Helps save energy, by keeping your garage warmer during the winter and cooler during the summer. Replaces your existing Garage Door Seal. Fits into your dual track garage door channels with 1/4 in. channels.
Overall rating:
3.841 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product46 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product46 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Review 1 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from MA

Do not buy this replacement seal

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this U-shaped replacement seal for my Clopay garage doors. After removing my old seal and cleaning the double track, I found this product fairly easy to slide in the tracks and cut to proper length. In the cool morning sun, it looked like it would work fine, although it seemed loose in the tracks. By lunchtime, it heated up in the south-facing sun and was so soft that it was just barely hanging from one end of the tracks, the rest completely loose and out of the tracks. It is impossible to keep in place, even in this moderate early summer heat (75 degrees), not at all an unusually warm installation location. The product is useless for me, and now I will see if Home Depot cares about customer satisfaction.
Cons: not functional, too thin and cheap; becomes v. soft in direct sun
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Michigan, USA

Easy and economical

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our door maintenance people had said it would be about $50 per door to replace the gasket (they claimed it was a special part just for those doors). Plus, they could never be bothered to order the part to do it. So, I researched on HD.com, found exactly what I needed. Probably took an hour to remove and replace, saved $80. Worst part was removing the old gasket. It was fossilized and required some muscle. Make sure you clean the tracks before installation - maybe even some silicone spray might make it easier.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ProSeal garage door bottom seal w/T-ends

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The seal on the garage door was old, dried out & cracking with several gaps allowing rain and pest in but the ultimate motivation was the snake my wife encountered inside the garage. Before you start this project make sure you have the correct seal that fits your garage door track, if possible carry a three inch long piece of the original seal to compare 'T' track width. DO NOT REMOVE THE WIRE CABLE ON EACH SIDE OF BOTTOM DOOR, THEY ARE ATTACHED TO THE SPRING COIL!! While replacing the bottom seal can be accomplished by one person, an extra set of hands will greatly help. Remove the old seal, clean the 'T' track with a cloth and inspect that the track gap is uniform the full width to the garage door bottom and adjust gaps as needed. I sprayed the 'T' track lightly with silicone spray lubricant and threaded the the replacement seal a foot into the tracks. With one person feeding the seal into the 'T' slot and another gently pulling it along, it can be finished in little time.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, forms tight seal keeps pest out
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Massachusetts

Follow-up on this product

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just wanted to follow up on my earlier unsatisfactory review of this product. First, I am happy to report that the manager of my local Home Depot was exceptionally helpful and provided a full refund for my product. Thanks!
Second, a few details about replacement seals that might prove helpful to others: my Clopay garage doors have an aluminum double-track guide to hold the rubber seal, so this U-shaped "T" style seal is the correct type to use. If you have a similar system, you will need to check to see if your door takes a 1/4" or 5/8" width "T" (the part that fits into the track). The reviewed product here is widely advertised on many websites as fitting Clopay doors, but its 1/4" "T" is too loose in the aluminum track, which actually requires a 5/8" T. This accounts for its ease of installation --it slid right in!-- but also for its falling out of the track, a problem very much exacerbated by the softening of the rubber in even moderate sun. So, when you take out your old rubber seal, be sure to measure the width of the "T" part of the seal to make sure you buy the proper sized replacement.
+39points
41out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be careful

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product description is lacking critical dimensions that the buyer needs to assure the seal will fit properly. Garage door seals are not one size fits all.
Cons: Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Buffalo NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best fit ever !!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I sprayed a little silicone into the track prior to install. The new seal slid into the track like butter!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

Barey usable. Had to modify garage door

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Had to pinch the sides of the metal lip to keep the t-ends from falling out.
Cons: Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rubber T-Channel on the seal is not equal distance from the seal center line. After opening and closing the door several times the front edge of the T comes out of the metal T-Channel on the bottom of the door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Clackamas, OR

Works as advertised, but has a slight flaw

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works as advertised. It was fairly easy to install and cheap enough to replace again if it gets torn again.
One thing you have to look for is to make sure the seal does not stick out so far that it catches the garage door fram when closing. If the seal presses against the door frame when the door closes, it may get pinched while the door is closing, which will eventually cause the product to fail.
To prevent the seal from hitting the garage door frame, flatten the seal while the door is open so it doesn't stick out. This could be held in place by duct tape temporarily, or by using something more permanent, such as a screw with a washer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Victoria, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bottom Seal Replacement inserts

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was easy. Our old garage seal was flattened and pieces on the end were missing. We wondered why it was so easy for bugs and water to get in the garage. I recommend checking your bottom seal of your garage door to make sure it makes a good seal. It doesn't cost that much to replace this and I'm sure it will make a tremendous difference.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

The amazing shrinking seal

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The seal shrunk about 1" on a 9' door after about 1 month. I now have gaps at the ends. I recommend you leave the seal a little long on initial installation then trim to final length after a couple of months.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

low quality material

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Much thinner material than original seal. Kept popping out during installation. Not sure how long it will last. I would check with the door manufacturer for a better quality item. You get what you pay for!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Berea, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great garage door weatherproofing

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great weatherproofing. I slid 1/2 pieces of foam pipe insulation inside while installing, which makes it more substantial. I've got a tight fit at the bottom of the door.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Wexford, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product falls way below expectations

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Anyone wanting to replace existing Clopay garage door seals with this product is well-advised NOT to purchase it. The width of the T-section on both sides that is to be inserted into the two channels on Clopay doors is about 1.5 mm too narrow compared to the OEM seal. These T-guides do NOT stay in the grooves, making it impossible to install them.
Cons: Quality, not functional, Size, t-guides too narrow, thinner than original
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Romeoville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy peasy to install

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install when 2 people are installing. One to pull thru the channels and the other is guiding and straightening the insert thru the channels
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item for replacing overhead garage door seal

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Install went easy enough with soapy water but a second person would make the task a lot easier.
Pros: Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Orland Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weatherstrip

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to install. I did it alone in less than 30 minutes.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from western PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

picture mislead

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had to return this item for it did not fit our door. It stated a V that would fit but we needed it to be joined or little on the top of the V- or maybe it to be oval.
It would work on other doors I think.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20Ft Bottom Seal Replacment Insert with T-Ends U-shape

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the 20ft Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with the T-ends U-shape. Rain water was entering into my garage under door. I installed the seal, which took me about 2 hours by myself. Once I had one end of the U-shape bottom in place, installation went well. Although rain water still enters into my garage from other spaces, the seal did reduce more than half the water entering into my garage. So this is the answer to some of my issue. Other than that, my garage is warmer, and less rain water enters into my garage. Install this product with help is my recommendation..
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Bristow, VA

Garage Bottom Seal is a DEAL for 18' door

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish they carried this in the store. It is easy to install as long as the garage door bottom is undamaged and the channel is clean. If done by yourself you will just need to unroll the seal in the direction it will be feed into the channel. That or get a significant other to help feed it to you in the channel. The 1st foot is the hardest to insert into the channels. Then it is just a matter of pulling and feeding (gentle push )at the same time. Being sure the seal has an unobstructed feed up to the mounting channel. In actuality the old seal was hard to remove.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>