728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

ProSeal garage door bottom seals are made of durable weather resistant vinyl. The high quality PVC remains flexible at extreme low temperatures, providing a tight seal for your garage door. ProSeal locks out the elements by conforming to the shape of your garage floor. Helps save energy, by keeping your garage warmer during the winter and cooler during the summer. Replaces your existing Garage Door Seal. Fits into your dual track garage door channels with 1/4 in. channels.
Overall rating:
3.938 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product37 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(9)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product37 of 47reviews
Customer reviews for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Review 1 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Homeowner
from MA

Do not buy this replacement seal

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this U-shaped replacement seal for my Clopay garage doors. After removing my old seal and cleaning the double track, I found this product fairly easy to slide in the tracks and cut to proper length. In the cool morning sun, it looked like it would work fine, although it seemed loose in the tracks. By lunchtime, it heated up in the south-facing sun and was so soft that it was just barely hanging from one end of the tracks, the rest completely loose and out of the tracks. It is impossible to keep in place, even in this moderate early summer heat (75 degrees), not at all an unusually warm installation location. The product is useless for me, and now I will see if Home Depot cares about customer satisfaction.
Cons: not functional, too thin and cheap; becomes v. soft in direct sun
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
PeaPicker
from Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ProSeal garage door bottom seal w/T-ends

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The seal on the garage door was old, dried out & cracking with several gaps allowing rain and pest in but the ultimate motivation was the snake my wife encountered inside the garage. Before you start this project make sure you have the correct seal that fits your garage door track, if possible carry a three inch long piece of the original seal to compare 'T' track width. DO NOT REMOVE THE WIRE CABLE ON EACH SIDE OF BOTTOM DOOR, THEY ARE ATTACHED TO THE SPRING COIL!! While replacing the bottom seal can be accomplished by one person, an extra set of hands will greatly help. Remove the old seal, clean the 'T' track with a cloth and inspect that the track gap is uniform the full width to the garage door bottom and adjust gaps as needed. I sprayed the 'T' track lightly with silicone spray lubricant and threaded the the replacement seal a foot into the tracks. With one person feeding the seal into the 'T' slot and another gently pulling it along, it can be finished in little time.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, forms tight seal keeps pest out
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Homeowner
from Massachusetts

Follow-up on this product

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just wanted to follow up on my earlier unsatisfactory review of this product. First, I am happy to report that the manager of my local Home Depot was exceptionally helpful and provided a full refund for my product. Thanks!
Second, a few details about replacement seals that might prove helpful to others: my Clopay garage doors have an aluminum double-track guide to hold the rubber seal, so this U-shaped "T" style seal is the correct type to use. If you have a similar system, you will need to check to see if your door takes a 1/4" or 5/8" width "T" (the part that fits into the track). The reviewed product here is widely advertised on many websites as fitting Clopay doors, but its 1/4" "T" is too loose in the aluminum track, which actually requires a 5/8" T. This accounts for its ease of installation --it slid right in!-- but also for its falling out of the track, a problem very much exacerbated by the softening of the rubber in even moderate sun. So, when you take out your old rubber seal, be sure to measure the width of the "T" part of the seal to make sure you buy the proper sized replacement.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Garmat
from Orland Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weatherstrip

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to install. I did it alone in less than 30 minutes.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
JimP
from Clackamas, OR

Works as advertised, but has a slight flaw

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works as advertised. It was fairly easy to install and cheap enough to replace again if it gets torn again.
One thing you have to look for is to make sure the seal does not stick out so far that it catches the garage door fram when closing. If the seal presses against the door frame when the door closes, it may get pinched while the door is closing, which will eventually cause the product to fail.
To prevent the seal from hitting the garage door frame, flatten the seal while the door is open so it doesn't stick out. This could be held in place by duct tape temporarily, or by using something more permanent, such as a screw with a washer.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Sprachinseln
from Wexford, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product falls way below expectations

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Anyone wanting to replace existing Clopay garage door seals with this product is well-advised NOT to purchase it. The width of the T-section on both sides that is to be inserted into the two channels on Clopay doors is about 1.5 mm too narrow compared to the OEM seal. These T-guides do NOT stay in the grooves, making it impossible to install them.
Cons: Quality, not functional, Size, t-guides too narrow, thinner than original
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Gsimmon5
from Ball Ground, GA 30107, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product fit the need exactly.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 18' wide garage door always had a 3" seal gap on one end; I assumed it was cut too short by the builders. I bought a replacement 18' seal, and it was too short also (door must actually be slightly wider than 18'). I purchased this 20' seal and trimmed it to fit perfectly. It looks great, seals great and no more gaps for critters and insects to get under door. Easy to install. Requires 1 adult, 1 teenager, and a knife. :)
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
bamaboy56

The amazing shrinking seal

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The seal shrunk about 1" on a 9' door after about 1 month. I now have gaps at the ends. I recommend you leave the seal a little long on initial installation then trim to final length after a couple of months.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Duglyn

Item performs as promised

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a 'You Tube' search and found a great installation video.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
unknown
from DuPage, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product fit fine, but I already knew how to replace garage door seals and I replaced mine before it gets to damaged or plugged up with dirt, sand and crud. The trick is in measuring which size to order. If you can pull out a small piece of the original where it's folded over into the end you can cut a piece for measuring the new replacement piece. The ends are cut like 3-4 inches longer, then folded back into the track or inside the new seal to stay in place.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
fixer13
from White Lake, Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sounded like a great idea

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Funny this assessment comes today. I just called Home Depot about returning this. After installing this seal, very easy! The new one came out of tract. Thought we might have messed up, redid it. The next day came out again. Retried to reinstall, and a few days later the seal came out again. Not wanting to keep getting aggravated I called Home Depot and explained the situation. I am returning this one and getting one from the store that is designed to fit my garage door. I only ordered this one because I could not find at the store. I now know where to find the seals. Hope this helps. Ask at the store before buying a generic version of what you need.
Cons: not functional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Dwyanne
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20Ft Bottom Seal Replacment Insert with T-Ends U-shape

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the 20ft Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with the T-ends U-shape. Rain water was entering into my garage under door. I installed the seal, which took me about 2 hours by myself. Once I had one end of the U-shape bottom in place, installation went well. Although rain water still enters into my garage from other spaces, the seal did reduce more than half the water entering into my garage. So this is the answer to some of my issue. Other than that, my garage is warmer, and less rain water enters into my garage. Install this product with help is my recommendation..
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
redavis13
from Homer Glen, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The "T" on the seal does not fit my door

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This part does not fit my garage door, the "T" on the product is too narrow for the door track.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Jimmy
from Hueytown, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inferior product

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was flimsy, thin. The product was easy to install because it is an inferior product and should have a higher quality locking capability. I had to replace the product within weeks because it was falling out of the grooves. Would not recommend this product to anyone for any use.
Cons: Quality, not functional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
jferra1016
from Bristow, VA

Garage Bottom Seal is a DEAL for 18' door

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish they carried this in the store. It is easy to install as long as the garage door bottom is undamaged and the channel is clean. If done by yourself you will just need to unroll the seal in the direction it will be feed into the channel. That or get a significant other to help feed it to you in the channel. The 1st foot is the hardest to insert into the channels. Then it is just a matter of pulling and feeding (gentle push )at the same time. Being sure the seal has an unobstructed feed up to the mounting channel. In actuality the old seal was hard to remove.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
budman
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was a perfect replacement for my old and torn seal
Pros: Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
ffmedic
from Spring Hill, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as describes...

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to order product, wasn't on hand at store. Once I got it, it felt too thin, but after installing it worked just fine. Took about 20 minutes to install. Most important note from other reviewers, make sure you measure the T channel, all the one's in the store were too big. Easiest way is to cut off a piece from your old one and bring to store and visually measure.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
quality1
from Buufalo NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good garage door weather strip

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this replacement since the OEM was the proverbial short on one end. Ample material for a 18 FT door. Installation was a snap with a little help from Si spray. Overall, looks good and appears to be holding up well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Gene
from Northeastern Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at a reasonable price

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install by two people. A little silicon spray when needed aids in sliding the product along easily.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
dlctree
from Des Moines, IA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The order/delivery process was very good....but

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I returned the seal because the T-Ends were to narrow causing the seal to easily pull out of the door track. It would be a nice addition to the on-line description to include the width of the ends.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>