728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

ProSeal garage door bottom seals are made of durable weather resistant vinyl. The high quality PVC remains flexible at extreme low temperatures, providing a tight seal for your garage door. ProSeal locks out the elements by conforming to the shape of your garage floor. Helps save energy, by keeping your garage warmer during the winter and cooler during the summer. Replaces your existing Garage Door Seal. Fits into your dual track garage door channels with 1/4 in. channels.
Overall rating:
3.906 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product39 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product39 of 51reviews
Customer reviews for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Review 1 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from MA

Do not buy this replacement seal

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this U-shaped replacement seal for my Clopay garage doors. After removing my old seal and cleaning the double track, I found this product fairly easy to slide in the tracks and cut to proper length. In the cool morning sun, it looked like it would work fine, although it seemed loose in the tracks. By lunchtime, it heated up in the south-facing sun and was so soft that it was just barely hanging from one end of the tracks, the rest completely loose and out of the tracks. It is impossible to keep in place, even in this moderate early summer heat (75 degrees), not at all an unusually warm installation location. The product is useless for me, and now I will see if Home Depot cares about customer satisfaction.
Cons: not functional, too thin and cheap; becomes v. soft in direct sun
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ProSeal garage door bottom seal w/T-ends

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The seal on the garage door was old, dried out & cracking with several gaps allowing rain and pest in but the ultimate motivation was the snake my wife encountered inside the garage. Before you start this project make sure you have the correct seal that fits your garage door track, if possible carry a three inch long piece of the original seal to compare 'T' track width. DO NOT REMOVE THE WIRE CABLE ON EACH SIDE OF BOTTOM DOOR, THEY ARE ATTACHED TO THE SPRING COIL!! While replacing the bottom seal can be accomplished by one person, an extra set of hands will greatly help. Remove the old seal, clean the 'T' track with a cloth and inspect that the track gap is uniform the full width to the garage door bottom and adjust gaps as needed. I sprayed the 'T' track lightly with silicone spray lubricant and threaded the the replacement seal a foot into the tracks. With one person feeding the seal into the 'T' slot and another gently pulling it along, it can be finished in little time.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, forms tight seal keeps pest out
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Michigan, USA

Easy and economical

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our door maintenance people had said it would be about $50 per door to replace the gasket (they claimed it was a special part just for those doors). Plus, they could never be bothered to order the part to do it. So, I researched on HD.com, found exactly what I needed. Probably took an hour to remove and replace, saved $80. Worst part was removing the old gasket. It was fossilized and required some muscle. Make sure you clean the tracks before installation - maybe even some silicone spray might make it easier.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Massachusetts

Follow-up on this product

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just wanted to follow up on my earlier unsatisfactory review of this product. First, I am happy to report that the manager of my local Home Depot was exceptionally helpful and provided a full refund for my product. Thanks!
Second, a few details about replacement seals that might prove helpful to others: my Clopay garage doors have an aluminum double-track guide to hold the rubber seal, so this U-shaped "T" style seal is the correct type to use. If you have a similar system, you will need to check to see if your door takes a 1/4" or 5/8" width "T" (the part that fits into the track). The reviewed product here is widely advertised on many websites as fitting Clopay doors, but its 1/4" "T" is too loose in the aluminum track, which actually requires a 5/8" T. This accounts for its ease of installation --it slid right in!-- but also for its falling out of the track, a problem very much exacerbated by the softening of the rubber in even moderate sun. So, when you take out your old rubber seal, be sure to measure the width of the "T" part of the seal to make sure you buy the proper sized replacement.
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Orland Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weatherstrip

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to install. I did it alone in less than 30 minutes.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Clackamas, OR

Works as advertised, but has a slight flaw

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works as advertised. It was fairly easy to install and cheap enough to replace again if it gets torn again.
One thing you have to look for is to make sure the seal does not stick out so far that it catches the garage door fram when closing. If the seal presses against the door frame when the door closes, it may get pinched while the door is closing, which will eventually cause the product to fail.
To prevent the seal from hitting the garage door frame, flatten the seal while the door is open so it doesn't stick out. This could be held in place by duct tape temporarily, or by using something more permanent, such as a screw with a washer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Carson City NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent bottom seal, tricky install for amateuer.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bottom seal was needed for 12' wide commercial overhead shop door. It was the exact same design as the original seal and the quality of the seal material is as good or better than the original seal. I expect it to outlast the 15 years of service the original seal gave. Once installed, the seal easily adjusts to door or floor height irregularities up to a half inch (probably more but that's as much as my floor needs). I do recommend this product -- but it's not for the average garage door, so be sure it's the exact size and shape of the one you are replacing.
The seal is not carried at my local Home Depot and I ordered it on the internet for in store pick-up. That was a very successful transaction too. When it came into the store I got an email and phone call notifying me of it's arrival. And great service when I picked it up. You do save a little on shipping that way but more important, you're at the store and can pick up any other items you need for the project.
It's no reflection on this or any bottom door seal, but installation is rather difficult for a first time installer. The directions are clear about taking the time to fix the aluminum guide channels - mine needed quite a bit of work at the ends (pinched closed to keep the seal in place) and where the channels had been damaged hitting items left on the floor and being struck by the door when closed. Beyond channel repair though, feeding the seal into the channels would be best done with two persons - one to keep the seal material lined up and guide it into the channels and the other to pull it from one side to the other. Doing it alone required using one hand to guide, the other to pull the seal into the channel and push it along. Incidentally, I found it necessary to lubricate the seal T-ends with a water based lube used by electricians to pull wires through conduit. That might not have been needed with a helper.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, exact fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

The amazing shrinking seal

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The seal shrunk about 1" on a 9' door after about 1 month. I now have gaps at the ends. I recommend you leave the seal a little long on initial installation then trim to final length after a couple of months.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Wexford, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product falls way below expectations

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Anyone wanting to replace existing Clopay garage door seals with this product is well-advised NOT to purchase it. The width of the T-section on both sides that is to be inserted into the two channels on Clopay doors is about 1.5 mm too narrow compared to the OEM seal. These T-guides do NOT stay in the grooves, making it impossible to install them.
Cons: Quality, not functional, Size, t-guides too narrow, thinner than original
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20Ft Bottom Seal Replacment Insert with T-Ends U-shape

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the 20ft Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with the T-ends U-shape. Rain water was entering into my garage under door. I installed the seal, which took me about 2 hours by myself. Once I had one end of the U-shape bottom in place, installation went well. Although rain water still enters into my garage from other spaces, the seal did reduce more than half the water entering into my garage. So this is the answer to some of my issue. Other than that, my garage is warmer, and less rain water enters into my garage. Install this product with help is my recommendation..
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

DO NOT BUY THIS GARAGE REPLACEMENT SEAL

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This seal is so thin that I looked at in the box and could see that if I installed it that it would not last so I returned to Homedepot and got a refund. If your going to replace your seal you want a heavy duty seal that will last !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from jasper alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

with modification could be a good product

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product installed easily but after a couple of days it would not stay in the tracks. The T shaped ends need to be a little wider
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

exactly what i was looking for!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product met all my expectations. I went to the local garage door store and got the run around and a ridiculously high price. Went on line to home depot site and found exactly what i wanted at half the price. It shipped to the store in 2 days. I was happy and my customer was happy.
Pros: Well Made, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Bristow, VA

Garage Bottom Seal is a DEAL for 18' door

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish they carried this in the store. It is easy to install as long as the garage door bottom is undamaged and the channel is clean. If done by yourself you will just need to unroll the seal in the direction it will be feed into the channel. That or get a significant other to help feed it to you in the channel. The 1st foot is the hardest to insert into the channels. Then it is just a matter of pulling and feeding (gentle push )at the same time. Being sure the seal has an unobstructed feed up to the mounting channel. In actuality the old seal was hard to remove.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from DuPage, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product fit fine, but I already knew how to replace garage door seals and I replaced mine before it gets to damaged or plugged up with dirt, sand and crud. The trick is in measuring which size to order. If you can pull out a small piece of the original where it's folded over into the end you can cut a piece for measuring the new replacement piece. The ends are cut like 3-4 inches longer, then folded back into the track or inside the new seal to stay in place.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Homer Glen, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The "T" on the seal does not fit my door

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This part does not fit my garage door, the "T" on the product is too narrow for the door track.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Northeastern Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at a reasonable price

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install by two people. A little silicon spray when needed aids in sliding the product along easily.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from White Lake, Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sounded like a great idea

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Funny this assessment comes today. I just called Home Depot about returning this. After installing this seal, very easy! The new one came out of tract. Thought we might have messed up, redid it. The next day came out again. Retried to reinstall, and a few days later the seal came out again. Not wanting to keep getting aggravated I called Home Depot and explained the situation. I am returning this one and getting one from the store that is designed to fit my garage door. I only ordered this one because I could not find at the store. I now know where to find the seals. Hope this helps. Ask at the store before buying a generic version of what you need.
Cons: not functional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape
from Ball Ground, GA 30107, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product fit the need exactly.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 18' wide garage door always had a 3" seal gap on one end; I assumed it was cut too short by the builders. I bought a replacement 18' seal, and it was too short also (door must actually be slightly wider than 18'). I purchased this 20' seal and trimmed it to fit perfectly. It looks great, seals great and no more gaps for critters and insects to get under door. Easy to install. Requires 1 adult, 1 teenager, and a knife. :)
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 ft. Bottom Seal Replacement Insert with T-Ends Forms U-Shape

Item performs as promised

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a 'You Tube' search and found a great installation video.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>