728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

The QEP Glass Tile Nipper helps you quickly and easily cut shapes. Use the nipper like scissors to trim glass tile to fit around pipes, cabinets and walls or create eye-catching glass mosaics. Cutting wheels can be replaced, when dull, to return cutter to original condition.
Overall rating:
4.41 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Review 1 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to say that I've NEVER installed a mosaic glass backsplash before, or done any tile work for that matter, and after buying all of the material and getting rediculous labor quotes for install, I decided to tackle it myself. My main scare was that I had no idea what to do about cutting the tile for the edges and around outlets. I looked, read reviews and you tubed all the options. Wet Saws, Dry Saws, Glass cutters, glass etchers, etc. Finally, after all the research, I decided to go with this product because the reveiws I read here were the closest to my project. A small kitchen/panty area approx less than 100sq ft of wall area. This cutter was the perfect tool for the job. Without experience I finished in about 4 hours. I canonly remember 5 or so cuts that chipped he surface of the glass after cutting it but think about it, it's glass. There is no magic tool that will cut glass perfectly for you every single time, although this came close.
My only real suggesstion is to just buy this thing and cut a piece of the glass tile yourself. My confidence boosted 1000% after I made my first cut. It really is very, very simple.
Good luck!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Thing Ever!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This might be the best invention ever. We used this gadget to install our kitchen back splash and it came out great. We had a wet saw, but it was too complicated to get set up to use for tiny glass and stone squares. We even tried using pliers to cut some smaller pieces. I read the reviews for this item and I went down the road to Home Depot. This thing cuts clean pieces, my boyfriend was amazed at how well it worked! One of my friends just did a mosaic tile back splash in her kitchen and she didn't know this existed. She's waiting for me to finish my project so she can borrow it!
Pros: Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well worth the money especially for small glass accent tile

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Made the job of cutting small glass accent tile much easier and cleaner. I still had to score the tiles with a glass cutter but this tool made the snapping, once scored, a breeze. I would recommend this if you have glass tile to install.
Pros: Comfortable, Effective
Cons: still need to score tile with glass cutter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good glass cutter

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good handy tool. works fine. will have to wait to see how it holds up
Pros: Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Vancouver, WA

A must have!

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these cutters for a glass tile backsplash and they helped make quick work of the project. Cuts though glass tiles like butter with a clean cut every time. A must have!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

worked great for my art project!

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, and worked great cutting stained glass materials for my art project.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

LOVE these!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was extremely nervous about trying to do a mosaic tile backsplash in my kitchen on my own. What made me most nervous was trimming the tile. These made my life so easy. One snip and the glass was cut! Definitely recommend if you don't want to rent a wet saw!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

glass backsplash

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
work great, but wont cut a straight line, always slightly curved. worked for me as all my cuts were hidden by outlet covers. may want to look into other tools if you do need perfect straight cuts, otherwise supper easy and fast to use. my backsplash looks great. tool help up nicely. stayed nice and sharp for whole project.
Cons: doesnt cut straight lines
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked very well on glass mosic tile.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It cut very clean edges on the glass. Very easy to cut in tight areas of the tile.
Pros: Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

neat square cuts for both glass and stone tiles for backsplash

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use and performed above expectations. perfect for cutting mini tiles for those hard to fill places on backsplash in kitchen .
Pros: Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from MN

A Must Have for Glass Tiling!

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went out and purchased this item last minute before putting up a glass mosaic backsplash, and boy was it worth it!! This made going around outlets a breeze. Not always a straight cut but didn't matter when it will be covered up by outlet covers but did have clean cuts and never lost a piece. Highly recommend for anyone doing a mosiac tile job!
Pros: Comfortable, Effective, clean cuts
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

good

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The glass tile nippers were easy to use. I used them to cut 1"x1" glass tiles. I could not always get the cut to be perfectly straight, but it worked well enough. A lot of the time the cut came out concave rounded, but you can clean it up a little by taking smaller nips at the higher sides.
Pros: Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from PARIS, TN

GLASS NIPPER

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS IS A MUST HAVE FOR NIPPING MOSIAC GLASS TILE. YOU WILL GET A NEATER CUT IF YOU ETCH THE GLASS FIRST. I USED THE DREMEL 545 DIAMOND COATED SAW. THE PAIR DID A GREAT JOB. GREAT PRICE!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Glen Burnie, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wish I could give this 6 stars.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent pair of nippers. I was amazed by how easy they cut through mosaic glass tile.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for the job

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used these to cut glass subway tile for a backsplash project and they worked great. it was my first time working with tile and these made it very easy to make all the cuts i needed. nice and sturdy too
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

Works Great!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just picked one up last night. So far, I've cut about 15 1" x 2" x 3/16" glass tiles for a back splash. It cuts through really easy. I don't know what the one star guy is complaining about. His review instigated a purchase of a 7" cutting disc as a back up, which is still in it's packaging. Maybe his tiles were thicker, or got a bad nipper. Tough to get a really straight cut, scoring it would help, but I think I can get by for my project. I'm also using a belt sander to get the cuts a little straighter, and round the sharp edges.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to help me install my mosaic kitchen backspash. The nipper works good on both the glass and stone tiles.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from philomath or
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These things are great

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These things are great. They work awesome. Their comfortable in my hand.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
from Hagerstown, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Use

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, very easy to use. The QEP Glass Tile Nipper helps you quickly and easily cut shapes in glass
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glass Tile Nippers

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These glass Nippers work great! I used them on my mosaic glass tiles for my kitchen backsplash. The top part that couldnt fit the entire square shape I cut in half with these Nippers. Make sure your wearing your protected glasses before you start nipping away b/c pieces DO fly off. Other wise its easy to use but know that u should try to put it in one main spot/target so you get the same cut.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>