728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip

The QEP Glass Tile Nipper helps you quickly and easily cut shapes. Use the nipper like scissors to trim glass tile to fit around pipes, cabinets and walls or create eye-catching glass mosaics. Cutting wheels can be replaced, when dull, to return cutter to original condition.
Overall rating:
4.548 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product29 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product29 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Review 1 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
sim5
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to say that I've NEVER installed a mosaic glass backsplash before, or done any tile work for that matter, and after buying all of the material and getting rediculous labor quotes for install, I decided to tackle it myself. My main scare was that I had no idea what to do about cutting the tile for the edges and around outlets. I looked, read reviews and you tubed all the options. Wet Saws, Dry Saws, Glass cutters, glass etchers, etc. Finally, after all the research, I decided to go with this product because the reveiws I read here were the closest to my project. A small kitchen/panty area approx less than 100sq ft of wall area. This cutter was the perfect tool for the job. Without experience I finished in about 4 hours. I canonly remember 5 or so cuts that chipped he surface of the glass after cutting it but think about it, it's glass. There is no magic tool that will cut glass perfectly for you every single time, although this came close.
My only real suggesstion is to just buy this thing and cut a piece of the glass tile yourself. My confidence boosted 1000% after I made my first cut. It really is very, very simple.
Good luck!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Krys
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Thing Ever!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This might be the best invention ever. We used this gadget to install our kitchen back splash and it came out great. We had a wet saw, but it was too complicated to get set up to use for tiny glass and stone squares. We even tried using pliers to cut some smaller pieces. I read the reviews for this item and I went down the road to Home Depot. This thing cuts clean pieces, my boyfriend was amazed at how well it worked! One of my friends just did a mosaic tile back splash in her kitchen and she didn't know this existed. She's waiting for me to finish my project so she can borrow it!
Pros: Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
pappabear
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

neat square cuts for both glass and stone tiles for backsplash

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use and performed above expectations. perfect for cutting mini tiles for those hard to fill places on backsplash in kitchen .
Pros: Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
hbrocks
from philomath or
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These things are great

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These things are great. They work awesome. Their comfortable in my hand.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
RonB
from Hagerstown, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Use

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, very easy to use. The QEP Glass Tile Nipper helps you quickly and easily cut shapes in glass
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
dieboy
from MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as intended.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as intended. If you know how to use it, no problems.
Pros: Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
BrianMc
from Vancouver, WA

A must have!

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these cutters for a glass tile backsplash and they helped make quick work of the project. Cuts though glass tiles like butter with a clean cut every time. A must have!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Mikie
from Glen Burnie, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wish I could give this 6 stars.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent pair of nippers. I was amazed by how easy they cut through mosaic glass tile.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
NurseTana
from illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

glass backsplash

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
work great, but wont cut a straight line, always slightly curved. worked for me as all my cuts were hidden by outlet covers. may want to look into other tools if you do need perfect straight cuts, otherwise supper easy and fast to use. my backsplash looks great. tool help up nicely. stayed nice and sharp for whole project.
Cons: doesnt cut straight lines
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Prisa
from WV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for glass mosaic tiles

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These are quite good at cuts all glass tiles. Although after using for a while the spring stays closed after cutting and you must manually open them. But I have no real issue with that.
Pros: Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Drea
from MN

A Must Have for Glass Tiling!

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went out and purchased this item last minute before putting up a glass mosaic backsplash, and boy was it worth it!! This made going around outlets a breeze. Not always a straight cut but didn't matter when it will be covered up by outlet covers but did have clean cuts and never lost a piece. Highly recommend for anyone doing a mosiac tile job!
Pros: Comfortable, Effective, clean cuts
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
SKCSAF
from Panama City, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for Small Jobs

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Cuts glass tiles easily but not really straight very time. Definately not for large tiles.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy
Cons: doesn't cut totally straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Katie

good

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The glass tile nippers were easy to use. I used them to cut 1"x1" glass tiles. I could not always get the cut to be perfectly straight, but it worked well enough. A lot of the time the cut came out concave rounded, but you can clean it up a little by taking smaller nips at the higher sides.
Pros: Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
nich
from ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bad wheel

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The tool cut the glass tiles well with some cuts not perfect but the wheels loosened up and I did not notice that and on the next cut one of the wheels snapped in half. I tried to get replacement wheels but none available for this tool. I had to purchase another tool to finish the job.
Pros: Effective
Cons: lack of importence of cutting wheel security
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
SissysMom
from Lexington, MO 64067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does the job

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did the job on small glass mosaic tiles for kitchen backsplash. I did do a preliminary pass with the Dremel cutting blade and then used the nipper to finish the job. Worked just fine with only a few ruined tiles lost. I put double sided carpet tape on a board then laid the sheet of tiles on the tape to hold it to do my cutting, worked like a charm.
Pros: Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
eddie
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for the job

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used these to cut glass subway tile for a backsplash project and they worked great. it was my first time working with tile and these made it very easy to make all the cuts i needed. nice and sturdy too
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
1NycChick
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glass Tile Nippers

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These glass Nippers work great! I used them on my mosaic glass tiles for my kitchen backsplash. The top part that couldnt fit the entire square shape I cut in half with these Nippers. Make sure your wearing your protected glasses before you start nipping away b/c pieces DO fly off. Other wise its easy to use but know that u should try to put it in one main spot/target so you get the same cut.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
bar20ranch
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool to use

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this tool to make the tiny cuts in our small glass mosaic tile for kitchen back splash. It works great and we are very happy with it. It was a very good price too. Highly recommend!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Modern, Effective, dependable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
Shen
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to help me install my mosaic kitchen backspash. The nipper works good on both the glass and stone tiles.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Glass Tile Nipper, Contoured Handles with Cushion Grip
TALLBOY731
from PARIS, TN

GLASS NIPPER

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS IS A MUST HAVE FOR NIPPING MOSIAC GLASS TILE. YOU WILL GET A NEATER CUT IF YOU ETCH THE GLASS FIRST. I USED THE DREMEL 545 DIAMOND COATED SAW. THE PAIR DID A GREAT JOB. GREAT PRICE!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>