728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Orbit's Professional Gear Drive is the best in class of all gear drive pop-up sprinkler heads. It is the #1 consumer choice for medium to large area gear drive sprinkler heads. Its versatility allows coverage from a 25 ft. up to a 52 ft. radius in a part- to full-circle spray pattern. The gear drive rotor ensures even and complete water coverage as well as a quiet spray. A filter protects the nozzle from clogging and is easily accessible for cleaning. It is compatible with all major brands of gear drive rotors including Rainbird, Hunter, and Toro.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Review 1 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Rainman
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sprinkler works but distance has a conditions

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These sprinklers are easy to install, easy to adjust and come with a variety of spray nozzles. But be warned, the 52 foot radius that is advertised is is only acheived if you have one sprinkler head on the line and use the field watering nozzle. The pre installed nozzle is rated at ~ 40ft and with 2 sprinkler heads on the line it went further than the nozzle rated at 50ft.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: max distance is conditional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Molar1
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Singing in the rain

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This pop up sprinkler head is a rugged somewhat economical head which is easy to install for the average homeowner. It is also easy to adjust and from my experience, lasts for years and years. It is backed back a decent warranty should that ever be needed. My system originally used Toro brand sprinkler heads but these are as good if not better.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
RPeel
from Elgin, OK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's good

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It performs as expected. Worth the money. Comes with various tips to attach for spray adjustment, but it's almost a guessing game on how they will actually spray out because of everyone's varying water pressure. Overall, no complaints on this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
ChrisD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is suitable

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price of the Orbit sprinkler head is very good. The enclosed or lack of instructions are very poor. They say nothing about how to adjust the body of the sprinkler. The other adjustments take a lot of time to get correct.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
suprised
from Plano, TX

Great Head and Value!

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do not normally write reviews but I had to after purchasing this product when my sprinkler head in the back yard got hacked off by my mower (not me!) So I went into my local HD store to see the options I had. After gaining valuable knowledge from the an associate, I chose the Voyager II for the value and application in my yard ( it also looked like what I had) I took it home and screwed it in where the other one came out. Just like that, same size and everything! I guess I was expecting this to be a pain but I was able to easily set it and move on. I would suggest checking this out if you have a sprinkler go out in your yard.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Vclorie
from Victoria, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for aerobic septic systems

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought to use on septic system sprinklers. Worked so well that we did a little DYI sprinkler system and ran lines in our flower beds spraying outward to water the yard. They have great distance and coverage.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
joseph
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good easy to adjust sprikler

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The heads last about 9 years before the seal at the top starts to leak and they need to be replaced..
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
xfarmer
from Grand Rapids, MI

First time user of Orbit

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easy to install and easy to adjust. Only problem was the pre-installed nozzle flew out on first use and I had to replace with one of the supplied replacement nozzles. It is working so far so good but it has only been one day in service.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
gunnermikee
from Amarillo, Tx

This product has great features

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have use the Voyager II for all of my sprinker heads. Never have had any problems. They have been in place for about four years now. Very easy to adjust and sturdy.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Karen
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, works well, damages easily

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install, works well, damages easily.
I've used this product before, frequently need to replace.
I would currently recommend it, until something that does not damage as easily and does the same job arrives.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, ease of setting
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
nickname
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

as good as the hunter head and better than the rainbird

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product as good as the hunter head and better than the rainbird
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
mvrd
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Basic Replacement

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
What can I say it's a replacement head, it worked as expected and if anything don't over-think the installation, like I did. Needed very few adjustments as it come pre-set to 180. The instructions are clear for those who like to read and the part performs as expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Butch
from Ventura County, Ca.

Orbit Voyager II sprinkler

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this product. I tried two of these sprinkers at the lower end of their rated radius, about 25 feet. I tried two different Low Profile nozzles that were provided with the sprinkler. Nozzle L1 sent part of the stream into the ground about two feet from the nozzle, causing a lot of erosion and runoff. It would be impossible to use this with lawn seed, and I think if you used it with sod it would erode away the dirt before the sod had a chance to take root. I also tried nozzle L2. This provides a larger radius, but there was no coverage for the first four to six feet. After a few minutes of operation, the ground was completely dry around the sprinkler head. As a comparison trial, I purchased sprinklers from two different competitors, and both of them provided much better coverage than this Orbit. Perhaps it would do better at longer distances, but for my purpose it was unusable and I returned them.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
sborsher
from Coastal RI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If this is what you want, this is what you should get

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used these for years and have been continually impressed, compared to the other available types, most of which I have tried or inherited. At my previous house Hunter types were installed, and I replaced many of them over the 15 years. At my new house, RainBird are installed, and I am replacing many of them because they are very difficult to adjust. Just about everyone I have to touch is going to get replaced with some type of Orbit sprinkler
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality, Good Shape, good value
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
tomlongisland
from lon island

orbit sprinkler

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I changed the original sprinkler, after two days sprinkler
jamed would no come up and I could not pull it up. broke it
trying.
replace sprinkler with same orbit same thing happened
discovered that sprinklers have no filter to stop sand from
getting in sprinkler and jamming it. took it apart twice to clean it and tried to get all sand out before putting it back.
a two cent screen on water input would stop this.
never buy again. rainbird is the way to go
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Jake
from Leominster, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to intall, good range

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to install. More difficult to adjust. Have a little difficulty following the writtten directions. Don't seem to get the desired results.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
bsy1
from hemlock

this product has many options

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is one of the best sprinlers that I have every used
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Dmbbwalker
from VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Minor tweaking required to adjust the patern that was easily accomplished.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Patient43
from MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The head was easy to install and I liked the variety of nozzles that came as part of the package. Adjustments were relatively easy to make. Convenient and inexpensive.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
BoBo
from Buford, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replace Rain Bird

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Screw off old, screw on new. DONE..
Have replaced 2 Rain Birds, one leaking and one cut into while edging yard (Ops!)
These units work fine....
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>