728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Orbit's Professional Gear Drive is the best in class of all gear drive pop-up sprinkler heads. It is the #1 consumer choice for medium to large area gear drive sprinkler heads. Its versatility allows coverage from a 25 ft. up to a 52 ft. radius in a part- to full-circle spray pattern. The gear drive rotor ensures even and complete water coverage as well as a quiet spray. A filter protects the nozzle from clogging and is easily accessible for cleaning. It is compatible with all major brands of gear drive rotors including Rainbird, Hunter, and Toro.
Overall rating:
4.128 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product30 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product30 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Review 1 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Nampa, Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good purchase

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good sprinkler, has a lower pressured nozzle than other brands which was important to me
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Easy install, does the job

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of my old Toro sprinkler heads stopped rotating properly and I couldn't figure out how to fix it. I dug it up and replaced it with this one, which has worked out great. Nothing much to the installation, just screw it into place. Very easy to adjust the angle of spray with the included key. I also like that the access ports in the top are covered with rubber so it's less likely that crud will get in there and gum up the gear drive (which is probably what happened with my old one)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sprinkler works but distance has a conditions

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These sprinklers are easy to install, easy to adjust and come with a variety of spray nozzles. But be warned, the 52 foot radius that is advertised is is only acheived if you have one sprinkler head on the line and use the field watering nozzle. The pre installed nozzle is rated at ~ 40ft and with 2 sprinkler heads on the line it went further than the nozzle rated at 50ft.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: max distance is conditional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Montgomery, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Was easy to install and setup. Best thing was it was much cheaper than many others.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Glenns Ferry, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Premature failure, over and over again

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Over the last 5 years I've purchased 10 or so of these sprinklers. I use surface irrigation source water in my lawn sprinkler system with a 200 micron filter so nothing other than the finest sediment and minerals gets through. Most of the time the sprinklers work fine for a while, then the rotation slows down and ultimately stops. I have some that have failed in less than a year. Others lasted longer, but I'm tired of replacing sprinklers. I called Orbit customer service and they said that they were designed to run at a certain PSI in the delivery system. I changed how I water to achieve the higher pressure they said I needed. The problem was actually worse with the higher pressure. I just replaced one this morning that had stopped rotating. The brand new one I put on leaks so badly around the pop-up that it is eroding the soil around the sprinkler. I'm going to shop for a better quality product and would advise others to do the same.
Cons: Not Durable, the gear assembly is sub-par
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Singing in the rain

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This pop up sprinkler head is a rugged somewhat economical head which is easy to install for the average homeowner. It is also easy to adjust and from my experience, lasts for years and years. It is backed back a decent warranty should that ever be needed. My system originally used Toro brand sprinkler heads but these are as good if not better.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Excellent Value

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and set up, and the price is right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Plano, TX

Great Head and Value!

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do not normally write reviews but I had to after purchasing this product when my sprinkler head in the back yard got hacked off by my mower (not me!) So I went into my local HD store to see the options I had. After gaining valuable knowledge from the an associate, I chose the Voyager II for the value and application in my yard ( it also looked like what I had) I took it home and screwed it in where the other one came out. Just like that, same size and everything! I guess I was expecting this to be a pain but I was able to easily set it and move on. I would suggest checking this out if you have a sprinkler go out in your yard.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is a very good quality sprinkler that works as advertised. It is also very easy to set.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was what we expected from Orbit. It is a good quality product that is easy to install and set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfect

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy replacement. Good instructions. Easy to use. I recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Durable, puts out the water

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Replace all my old sprinkler heads with these. Lawn looks Great
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Flat Rock Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good replacement

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its was a good replacement to the Rainbird sprinkler head. I would recommend this as a suitable replacement. The performance level is about the same as the name brand sprinkler like the Rainbird product.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Best Gear Dive Sprinkler

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not the easiest to learn to set arc, but once it's done, these Voyager II have been the longest lasting of the ones I've used
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Grand Rapids, MI

First time user of Orbit

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easy to install and easy to adjust. Only problem was the pre-installed nozzle flew out on first use and I had to replace with one of the supplied replacement nozzles. It is working so far so good but it has only been one day in service.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Saint Augusta MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Equal to Original

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our sprinkler system has been in the ground for nearly 20 years. With time comes necessary maintenance. To save money on the original install, we insisted that the installer use Orbit equipment. As wear has dictated over time, we've replaced some of the original heads with these replacement heads. These heads are easy to install and deliver equal performance to the original.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Amarillo, Tx

This product has great features

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have use the Voyager II for all of my sprinker heads. Never have had any problems. They have been in place for about four years now. Very easy to adjust and sturdy.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Sprinkler I've used

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and adjust. Optional nozzles make reconfiguration possible.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad quality, do not waist your time.

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just replace one of my rain bird sprinkler with this one. What a waist of time plus Sprinkle requires a proprietary key to adjust the sprinkler so if you loose it you're in trouble.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is suitable

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price of the Orbit sprinkler head is very good. The enclosed or lack of instructions are very poor. They say nothing about how to adjust the body of the sprinkler. The other adjustments take a lot of time to get correct.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Heads

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made sprinkler head with a very wide variety of nozzles to choose from. Great coverage with the nozzle it comes with.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>