728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Orbit's Professional Gear Drive is the best in class of all gear drive pop-up sprinkler heads. It is the #1 consumer choice for medium to large area gear drive sprinkler heads. Its versatility allows coverage from a 25 ft. up to a 52 ft. radius in a part- to full-circle spray pattern. The gear drive rotor ensures even and complete water coverage as well as a quiet spray. A filter protects the nozzle from clogging and is easily accessible for cleaning. It is compatible with all major brands of gear drive rotors including Rain Bird, Hunter, and Toro.
Overall rating:
4.178 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product35 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product35 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Review 1 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Choice

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed this last year and my lawn is nice and green. Covers a large area so less heads needed. I have gotten lots of complements on my lawn.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Sparks, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed results

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a dozen of these sprinkler heads. Of the dozen, 1 didn't work from the beginning (wouldn't rotate), another stopped rotating a few days later, and 3 of them quit rotating the next spring. I have replaced them all and currently they all are working, but I would not advise them to anyone. 5 out of 12 within a year is not a good percentage.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from baldwin, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works as expected !

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The instructions do not describe what each of the nozzles do, that is, what pattern of water for each
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Logan, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Yard is Full of These

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit is the best for its value I have found. I originally installed Toro but they cracked on the bottom of the sprinkler causing water to erode my lawn. I took them back and installed these and they have been working for 8 years now with no problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Plano, TX

Great Head and Value!

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do not normally write reviews but I had to after purchasing this product when my sprinkler head in the back yard got hacked off by my mower (not me!) So I went into my local HD store to see the options I had. After gaining valuable knowledge from the an associate, I chose the Voyager II for the value and application in my yard ( it also looked like what I had) I took it home and screwed it in where the other one came out. Just like that, same size and everything! I guess I was expecting this to be a pain but I was able to easily set it and move on. I would suggest checking this out if you have a sprinkler go out in your yard.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sprinkler works but distance has a conditions

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
These sprinklers are easy to install, easy to adjust and come with a variety of spray nozzles. But be warned, the 52 foot radius that is advertised is is only acheived if you have one sprinkler head on the line and use the field watering nozzle. The pre installed nozzle is rated at ~ 40ft and with 2 sprinkler heads on the line it went further than the nozzle rated at 50ft.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: max distance is conditional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Bakersfield
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Previous sprinkler wore out. These are real easy to adjust once you get the right stop set.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Singing in the rain

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This pop up sprinkler head is a rugged somewhat economical head which is easy to install for the average homeowner. It is also easy to adjust and from my experience, lasts for years and years. It is backed back a decent warranty should that ever be needed. My system originally used Toro brand sprinkler heads but these are as good if not better.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Easy install, does the job

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of my old Toro sprinkler heads stopped rotating properly and I couldn't figure out how to fix it. I dug it up and replaced it with this one, which has worked out great. Nothing much to the installation, just screw it into place. Very easy to adjust the angle of spray with the included key. I also like that the access ports in the top are covered with rubber so it's less likely that crud will get in there and gum up the gear drive (which is probably what happened with my old one)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Amarillo, Tx

This product has great features

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have use the Voyager II for all of my sprinker heads. Never have had any problems. They have been in place for about four years now. Very easy to adjust and sturdy.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Grand Rapids, MI

First time user of Orbit

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was easy to install and easy to adjust. Only problem was the pre-installed nozzle flew out on first use and I had to replace with one of the supplied replacement nozzles. It is working so far so good but it has only been one day in service.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Glenns Ferry, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Premature failure, over and over again

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Over the last 5 years I've purchased 10 or so of these sprinklers. I use surface irrigation source water in my lawn sprinkler system with a 200 micron filter so nothing other than the finest sediment and minerals gets through. Most of the time the sprinklers work fine for a while, then the rotation slows down and ultimately stops. I have some that have failed in less than a year. Others lasted longer, but I'm tired of replacing sprinklers. I called Orbit customer service and they said that they were designed to run at a certain PSI in the delivery system. I changed how I water to achieve the higher pressure they said I needed. The problem was actually worse with the higher pressure. I just replaced one this morning that had stopped rotating. The brand new one I put on leaks so badly around the pop-up that it is eroding the soil around the sprinkler. I'm going to shop for a better quality product and would advise others to do the same.
Cons: Not Durable, the gear assembly is sub-par
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler

Great

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and it works beautifully. Great directions on how to adjust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is suitable

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The price of the Orbit sprinkler head is very good. The enclosed or lack of instructions are very poor. They say nothing about how to adjust the body of the sprinkler. The other adjustments take a lot of time to get correct.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good easy to adjust sprikler

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The heads last about 9 years before the seal at the top starts to leak and they need to be replaced..
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Nampa, Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good purchase

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good sprinkler, has a lower pressured nozzle than other brands which was important to me
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Ventura County, Ca.

Orbit Voyager II sprinkler

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this product. I tried two of these sprinkers at the lower end of their rated radius, about 25 feet. I tried two different Low Profile nozzles that were provided with the sprinkler. Nozzle L1 sent part of the stream into the ground about two feet from the nozzle, causing a lot of erosion and runoff. It would be impossible to use this with lawn seed, and I think if you used it with sod it would erode away the dirt before the sod had a chance to take root. I also tried nozzle L2. This provides a larger radius, but there was no coverage for the first four to six feet. After a few minutes of operation, the ground was completely dry around the sprinkler head. As a comparison trial, I purchased sprinklers from two different competitors, and both of them provided much better coverage than this Orbit. Perhaps it would do better at longer distances, but for my purpose it was unusable and I returned them.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

as good as the hunter head and better than the rainbird

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good product as good as the hunter head and better than the rainbird
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Montgomery, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product. Was easy to install and setup. Best thing was it was much cheaper than many others.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Voyager II Pop-Up Gear Drive Sprinkler
from lon island

orbit sprinkler

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I changed the original sprinkler, after two days sprinkler
jamed would no come up and I could not pull it up. broke it
trying.
replace sprinkler with same orbit same thing happened
discovered that sprinklers have no filter to stop sand from
getting in sprinkler and jamming it. took it apart twice to clean it and tried to get all sand out before putting it back.
a two cent screen on water input would stop this.
never buy again. rainbird is the way to go
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>