728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Soaking Tubs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

The Maui 5 ft. bath tub is made in the USA, and is the industries deepest enameled steel bath tub with a modern functional recess design. The Maui is lightweight, and offers a built in leveling support pad-No Mortar Base required, just set and level it, saving time, money. The Maui offers a 35 degree lumbar support for a more comfortable bathing experience.
Overall rating:
3.219 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product17 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product17 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Review 1 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Coon Rapids, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tub!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this tub from our local Home Depot store. Thought about opening the box before purchasing, but in the end we just took our chances (we only live about 5 miles away). Upon opening the box at home, we did find a very small (1/8" to 1/4") spot of chipped enamel on the very left edge of the tub, but will be hidden by the ceramic tile surround anyway - so not problem for us. Otherwise in perfect condition, not a scratch or blemish anywhere on the visible tub surface. Very well packaged. The boxed tub fit perfectly into our Subaru Outback (w/rear seats folded down), no need for tie downs or bungee cords. A very deep, attractive, and lightweight tub that looks fabulous installed. As a previous reviewer recommended, we intend to use "Great Stuff" spray-foam installation in the hollow areas underneath the tub before installing our cement board and ceramic tile surround.
All of the negative reviews are due to shipping damage (enamel chips), which in my opinion are not true reviews of the product itself. Just open the box before buying to make sure - and keep in mind that 1/4" to 1/2" of the edges will most likely be masked by your specific tub surround. I think it would be virtually impossible to package/ship a product of this size/material without a single enamel blemish on the edges... a relative once worked a temporary/seasonal job at the local USPS sorting facility, and I heard all kinds of stories about how the loading dock guys just toss things around (and if it's marked "fragile", they will toss it that much harder). NO FAULT of either the manufacturer or Home Depot, just the way it is.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this tub!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bright white tub looks great in newly remodeled bathroom. This tub was a great value.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NIce sturdy tub!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tub is great. Feels very sturdy. I used this in a rental property several years ago and it was so easy we bought one for our new (very old) house. The one thing we did that I highly recommend: before installation we used a couple cans of Great Stuff foam insulation to make the tub have less of an echo and retain heat when full of water. The day before install, we used great stuff on the underside black parts, with the exception of the VERY BOTTOM of the tub (do that later). When installing the tub, you lay a bed of Great stuff on the ground and squish the tub into it securing it in place with screws. Leave room around the drain(s) with NO Great Stuff in the way. Enjoy your well insulated and very durable tub!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Pendleton, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost 1 year and still love it!!

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We, like others who have written, did our research before buying this tub. Looked at L__e's, local plumbing suppliers, M____ds, etc.....and this fit the bill for us. MADE IN USA, fit with decor, AND extra depth. We did a total remodel, yes, WE did it. A little daunting at first, but we took our time and did it right. This tub is no exception. Thought about cast iron, but the weight, carrying it through the house without ripping walls, smashing fingers, etc..made this a no brainer. We had no chips, no dents, no problems. Install was a breeze. We are planning on buying another for the next remodel in bath #2 this summer. Great value and quality for $$ spent.
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Seattle WA

Make sure the color "white" is the color of white that you need.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Maui tub appears to be manufactured well, but the white color is not the same as the white Kohler toilet and sink, it is more of a Biscuit color than white. Lesson learned.
Cons: Appearance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Great product, easy installation

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a new bathtub, and a buddy of mine helped me put this one in. Awesome price. Clean look. Exactly what I was looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Awful

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Went through 4 tubs to find one that wasn't damaged. Finally found one that had a chip I could hide only to realize that it was completely out of square. Wasted an entire day and created a lot of unnecessary work. Do not waste your money or time with this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Orange, CA, USA

Good quality and price

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a last minute purchase because a cast iron tub was to heavy for my second floor condo. I love the white color of this tub. I practically took the tub out of the box before buying it in the store. There were no dents, scratches, or chips at all. It's deep and very roomy and it looks great in the bathroom that was just remodeled. I did notice that when you walk towards the drain there is a sort of squeaking noise where the tub seems to be "giving" a little bit. This only seems to happen with my larger family members so I think weight matters. The bottom of the tub seems a little rough but this is not noticeable when you're standing in it wet or dry. Easy to install. Aside from the minor flaw of it "giving" a little it's hard to beat the beauty, quality, and price of this tub.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Tucson
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All the problems reported

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this. The first two arrived damaged - Home Depot was good about replacing, but time wasted. We very carefully framed in a squared up opening of the right size. Putting the tub in it didn't fit. Turns out the back edge of the tub - the side that goes against the flat wall - was not straight. It had a 1/2 inch bend in it - this did not seem to be damage, but a manufacturing defect. . Too late to start over. We had to pile on thinset until the wall bulged out far enough to tile over the lip. Looks pretty bad if you know where to look - fortunately the house is old and there are other things out of square, so we'll live with it.
Pros: Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Chico

You get what you pay for, cheap tub = cheap results

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst enamel over steel tub I have ever installed. A client didn't have a large budget so she wanted to use this in a bath remodel. I strongly recommended that we use a higher quality tub and sacrifice something else for a better end result. Long story short, returned the first two because of shipping damage and the client wishes she had followed my advice to use a better product. You get what you pay for.
Cons: Build Quality, Performance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Janesville, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solid product

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1st tub was damaged by manufacturer. It came to Home Depot box damaged. You couldn't tell there was damage to the box, not Home Depot's fault.
JUST AN INCONVENIENCE
Nice tub, we had someone else install it so not sure of ease.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from St. Petersburg, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this tub and had it installed today so this review is based on just one bath (first impressions). I did not want to purchase a fiberglass tub but did want a decent soaking tub. This tub is advertised as the deepest soaking porcelain-on-steel tub available in North America which is the main reason why I bought it. Overall, it seems to be decent quality and is made in the USA which I guess is good for jobs. It seems to be a bit roomier than other porcelain-on-steel tubs that I tried in the store. I am 6'2" and this tub allows me to fully extend my legs while in a relaxing position. The only possible drawback I can see is the slip resistant pattern on the bottom of the tub. It is a bit like fine-grained sandpaper which is maybe better for standing while taking showers than sitting in the bath. It didn't bother me much but bathers with sensitive bottoms may want to consider another tub. Perhaps, as time goes on it will become less abrasive? The care and cleaning instructions state that abrasive cleaners like Comet and Ajax cannot be used to clean the slip resistant pattern on the tub bottom because it may result in its removal. They recommend "Zud" and "Bar Keepers Friend" so I will have to check these out. So, in summary not a bad product except for the rather weird slip resistant bottom design that may bother those bath-takers with sensitive skin.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Cons: abrasive slip resistant bottom
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Austin TEXAS

the perfect tub!

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is for the Bootz Maui.
Like any good homeowner we did a lot of research to buy a good tub. My wife didn't want one that looked or sounded plastic, I wanted one that was lightweight enough for easy installation. This is the perfect tub!
It is garden style, 15" DEEP but still fits standard size bathtub area. It looks, sounds, and feels like a cast iron with enamel tub but this bootz company is great! You can even call their customer service (on their website) and ask them questions, it is a small personable company which we love to support.
The difference between this tub and the Bootzcast material one that is almost 100 more is that one has an insulation coating for better heat retention. However this one insulates better than our old fiberglass, and who has time to sit in the tub for hours anyway? If you live that kind of life you're probably going to buy a big jacuzzi tub anyways!
The "anti slip" coating on the bottom is not noticeable but just helps keep you from slipping, but it is not rough or noticeable but is nice to have. Pretty neat idea actually.
I recommend this tub for the price and high quality, my wife recommends it for comfort.
+57points
82out of 107found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

You get what you pay for

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
We initially were going to go with this tub for our home remodel. We were attracted by the low price, depth, and plain yet elegant finish.
To our disappointment, however, we discovered the first one had some of the white porcelain chipped off right out of the box. So we returned it and got a different one. Also chipped. So we got a third one. Also chipped. All three were chipped in different places.
We're now planning to go with a cast iron tub. If you decide to run with this, I strongly recommend you first open the box and check EVERYWHERE for chips on the white surface. These are not insignificant chips either, they are definitely noticeable, and not something you want when you have to go through the effort of installing a new tub.
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Wellington

White Bathtub

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We needed a 16 inch bathtub and could not find one for under $300. This Maui tub said it came in white which was what we needed. In the store it was displayed up high and hard to see the true color but when we got it into the bathroom it is NOT WHITE. It is cream colored to beige. It does not match our new white toilet or sink or the white of the bead-board wainscoting. If you want a WHITE bathtub, do not buy this one. I'm sorry I bought it and now I'm stuck with it. If color doesn't bother you then it is a good tub for the price.
+12points
20out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Rust Appears In The Tub After A Month

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and my licensed contractor installed it. I spent almost $8000 in remodelling my bath room and my bathroom looks great but this tub shows specks of rust appear in the tub after a month. I live alone and I travelled away for work most of the time. In the last month since installation, I showered in it about 10 times.
I strongly discourage you from buying this brand. It is absolutely an eyesore to have a rusty tub after investing $8K to have a brand new bathroom
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Broomfield, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really amazing tub

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently remodeled our master bathroom and had our handyman install this tub. We are very satisfied with the product and plan to install another when we remodel our other bathroom.
The non-stick surface is rough to the touch when the tub is dry, however, the texture is not noticeable when the surface is wet.
The lumbar support is just right if you enjoy a soaking tub.
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Great Buy, Great quality.

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got the tub home,....packaging was good no chips . And it was WHITE . Easy install and seems like a very sturdy tub.
You just have to install it properly and I am sure it will last a lifetime.
I am very happy with this product
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Sunset Hills, MO

A Very Bad Buyying Experience

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This ended up being a huge waste of time in that the first one brought home was damaged, took it back and got a second one and it too was damages out of the box, went back and opened a third one and it was also damaged. Opened the last remaining one in the store and finally found one that was not damaged. Something is wrong with their shipping or packaging.
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Perfect Product

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect! Looks great installs easy and it didn't cost to much!
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>