728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

The Maui 5 ft. bath tub is made in the USA, and is the industries deepest enameled steel bath tub with a modern functional recess design. The Maui is lightweight, and offers a built in leveling support pad-No Mortar Base required, just set and level it, saving time, money. The Maui offers a 35 degree lumbar support for a more comfortable bathing experience.
Overall rating:
3.435 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product14 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product14 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Review 1 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Bridge
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this tub!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bright white tub looks great in newly remodeled bathroom. This tub was a great value.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
RenoGal
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NIce sturdy tub!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tub is great. Feels very sturdy. I used this in a rental property several years ago and it was so easy we bought one for our new (very old) house. The one thing we did that I highly recommend: before installation we used a couple cans of Great Stuff foam insulation to make the tub have less of an echo and retain heat when full of water. The day before install, we used great stuff on the underside black parts, with the exception of the VERY BOTTOM of the tub (do that later). When installing the tub, you lay a bed of Great stuff on the ground and squish the tub into it securing it in place with screws. Leave room around the drain(s) with NO Great Stuff in the way. Enjoy your well insulated and very durable tub!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Marty
from Pendleton, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost 1 year and still love it!!

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We, like others who have written, did our research before buying this tub. Looked at L__e's, local plumbing suppliers, M____ds, etc.....and this fit the bill for us. MADE IN USA, fit with decor, AND extra depth. We did a total remodel, yes, WE did it. A little daunting at first, but we took our time and did it right. This tub is no exception. Thought about cast iron, but the weight, carrying it through the house without ripping walls, smashing fingers, etc..made this a no brainer. We had no chips, no dents, no problems. Install was a breeze. We are planning on buying another for the next remodel in bath #2 this summer. Great value and quality for $$ spent.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
NewRemodeler
from Orange, CA, USA

Good quality and price

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a last minute purchase because a cast iron tub was to heavy for my second floor condo. I love the white color of this tub. I practically took the tub out of the box before buying it in the store. There were no dents, scratches, or chips at all. It's deep and very roomy and it looks great in the bathroom that was just remodeled. I did notice that when you walk towards the drain there is a sort of squeaking noise where the tub seems to be "giving" a little bit. This only seems to happen with my larger family members so I think weight matters. The bottom of the tub seems a little rough but this is not noticeable when you're standing in it wet or dry. Easy to install. Aside from the minor flaw of it "giving" a little it's hard to beat the beauty, quality, and price of this tub.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Anonymous
from Janesville, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solid product

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1st tub was damaged by manufacturer. It came to Home Depot box damaged. You couldn't tell there was damage to the box, not Home Depot's fault.
JUST AN INCONVENIENCE
Nice tub, we had someone else install it so not sure of ease.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Josh

Perfect Product

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect! Looks great installs easy and it didn't cost to much!
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Squeaky
from St. Petersburg, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this tub and had it installed today so this review is based on just one bath (first impressions). I did not want to purchase a fiberglass tub but did want a decent soaking tub. This tub is advertised as the deepest soaking porcelain-on-steel tub available in North America which is the main reason why I bought it. Overall, it seems to be decent quality and is made in the USA which I guess is good for jobs. It seems to be a bit roomier than other porcelain-on-steel tubs that I tried in the store. I am 6'2" and this tub allows me to fully extend my legs while in a relaxing position. The only possible drawback I can see is the slip resistant pattern on the bottom of the tub. It is a bit like fine-grained sandpaper which is maybe better for standing while taking showers than sitting in the bath. It didn't bother me much but bathers with sensitive bottoms may want to consider another tub. Perhaps, as time goes on it will become less abrasive? The care and cleaning instructions state that abrasive cleaners like Comet and Ajax cannot be used to clean the slip resistant pattern on the tub bottom because it may result in its removal. They recommend "Zud" and "Bar Keepers Friend" so I will have to check these out. So, in summary not a bad product except for the rather weird slip resistant bottom design that may bother those bath-takers with sensitive skin.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Cons: abrasive slip resistant bottom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Nuffer
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall no issues with the installing or the tub

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had no issues with tub or the installation. Leveling the tub was very simple.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
dtiet
from Austin TEXAS

the perfect tub!

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is for the Bootz Maui.
Like any good homeowner we did a lot of research to buy a good tub. My wife didn't want one that looked or sounded plastic, I wanted one that was lightweight enough for easy installation. This is the perfect tub!
It is garden style, 15" DEEP but still fits standard size bathtub area. It looks, sounds, and feels like a cast iron with enamel tub but this bootz company is great! You can even call their customer service (on their website) and ask them questions, it is a small personable company which we love to support.
The difference between this tub and the Bootzcast material one that is almost 100 more is that one has an insulation coating for better heat retention. However this one insulates better than our old fiberglass, and who has time to sit in the tub for hours anyway? If you live that kind of life you're probably going to buy a big jacuzzi tub anyways!
The "anti slip" coating on the bottom is not noticeable but just helps keep you from slipping, but it is not rough or noticeable but is nice to have. Pretty neat idea actually.
I recommend this tub for the price and high quality, my wife recommends it for comfort.
+55points
80out of 105found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
ChrisK

You get what you pay for

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
We initially were going to go with this tub for our home remodel. We were attracted by the low price, depth, and plain yet elegant finish.
To our disappointment, however, we discovered the first one had some of the white porcelain chipped off right out of the box. So we returned it and got a different one. Also chipped. So we got a third one. Also chipped. All three were chipped in different places.
We're now planning to go with a cast iron tub. If you decide to run with this, I strongly recommend you first open the box and check EVERYWHERE for chips on the white surface. These are not insignificant chips either, they are definitely noticeable, and not something you want when you have to go through the effort of installing a new tub.
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
SuzEQ
from Wellington

White Bathtub

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We needed a 16 inch bathtub and could not find one for under $300. This Maui tub said it came in white which was what we needed. In the store it was displayed up high and hard to see the true color but when we got it into the bathroom it is NOT WHITE. It is cream colored to beige. It does not match our new white toilet or sink or the white of the bead-board wainscoting. If you want a WHITE bathtub, do not buy this one. I'm sorry I bought it and now I'm stuck with it. If color doesn't bother you then it is a good tub for the price.
+12points
20out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Amiee
from Broomfield, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really amazing tub

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently remodeled our master bathroom and had our handyman install this tub. We are very satisfied with the product and plan to install another when we remodel our other bathroom.
The non-stick surface is rough to the touch when the tub is dry, however, the texture is not noticeable when the surface is wet.
The lumbar support is just right if you enjoy a soaking tub.
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Richard
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Rust Appears In The Tub After A Month

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and my licensed contractor installed it. I spent almost $8000 in remodelling my bath room and my bathroom looks great but this tub shows specks of rust appear in the tub after a month. I live alone and I travelled away for work most of the time. In the last month since installation, I showered in it about 10 times.
I strongly discourage you from buying this brand. It is absolutely an eyesore to have a rusty tub after investing $8K to have a brand new bathroom
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Thomas

Great Buy, Great quality.

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got the tub home,....packaging was good no chips . And it was WHITE . Easy install and seems like a very sturdy tub.
You just have to install it properly and I am sure it will last a lifetime.
I am very happy with this product
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
alwaysfixing
from 14032
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

really happy with the tub

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it is very durable and yet lightweight; don't feel as though you are cramped in (especially around the feet); looks great, too. Be sure you get a drain system that accommodates the deeper tub.
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
tinman
from Cape Coral, FL, USA

This manufacturer obviously needs a quality control improvement

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this tub and brought it home to find out it was chipped, went back and got another one went home and found this one to be chipped also, decided to go somewhere else and buy an american standard for $ 100 more but it came in perfect condition, I am in no way blaming Home Depot but putting the blame on the manufacturer.
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Greg
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not too shabby

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All in all the tub seems yo be a good value. It is a heck of al ot lighter than a cast iron tub it replaced but I haven't experienced any problems due to it. Overall I would purchase this tub again.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Cindy

Looks good... But cheap!

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this tub the other day..... contractor put it in yesterday. I step in it and to my disapointment it gives alittle when walking towards the drain. Spend the extra money and get a cast iron tub.... It's worth the extra money.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Chris

Nice tub. Poor manufacturing

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Got this tub the other day and it's not square. The corner of the tub that goes on the stud wall did not go flush on the studs. Checked the wall, floor, everything to see what wasn't square. Finally decided to check the tub. Tub corner wasn't square. Easy fix though. Just shim the whole wall and make the rough-in square and such. So it's in but had to do way more work than just install the tub. No dings though. Only reason this got 2 not 1 star.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Maui 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
topcat
from Norristown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this tub installed over a year ago. Cleaned the tub as suggested with a sponge and shampoo. Installed a bath mat so that my mother in law could use the shower while she stayed with us during her medical recovery. What a surprise to me when I removed the mat to clean the tub and found RUST. The installer will not cover the replacement, and the manufacturer claims that it's not rust, and will not replace the tub. I will bite the bullet and tear this puppy out and install a better tub.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: rusting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>