728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED

1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED

The Pelonis Portable Electric Radiant Heater uses convection heating to provide up to 1,5000 watts of sun-like, heat to rooms of up to 200 sq. ft. The thermostat can be adjusted to maintain a selected temperature, while the heater offers variable heat settings to meet different temperature needs.
Overall rating:
3.78 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product27 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(8)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product27 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Tlynn67

great heater!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this heater 5 years ago, it's still going strong! It works much better than the infrared heater that we paid almost $200 for! It also uses less electric than the infrared. Highly recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
averageman
from Texas

Heater review

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros; I have a 16x24 room or roughly 298 square feet to heat. It can and will heat a room this size to about 68 degrees as a stand alone heater.
I do like the fact that you can turn each of the 4 heating elements on as a whole or just use 1,2,or 3.
Cons: This heater does not have a 3 prong plug in for a ground safety!
Secondly unless in the off position the first heating element stays on continuously (is not thermostat operated) nor is the 2nd element.
So first element stays on all the time! another safety concern and definitely not to be left on!
The heater works great and does have ample heating capability though it would be great to have had a circulating fan in it.
So beware out there that these safety concerns are something you should consider if buying this heater.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
uafnanook2001
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice space heater!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one of these heaters and have used it constantly by the table where I sit. It provides some nice heat and you are able to have different heat settings. I enjoyed it so much, I purchased two more. These are nice heaters!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Celeste44
from Frederick, Maryland

Good Choice

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was freezing in my basement apt. last month and spent a lot of time and energy comparing heaters. I'm so glad I chose this one. It does an excellent job of heating a huge basement room. Plus it has the added benefit of warm heat right next to it.
It moves easily from the couch to the computer chair - light, yet stable.
The 4 temp setting are a huge plus. I usually have it on 2 or 3 - rarely have had to put it up to 4.
I'd highly recommend this product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Hoss1962
from Spring Branch, TX.

Dawgs are happy!

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought one for my uninsulated stand alone garage with two windows and two attic access points. The dogs stay in there when it's cold. Tested it the other night. It was 16 deg. outside w/ 25 mph. wind. I had just opened the door twice, to let them out and then back in, and the temp. inside was 61 deg.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
SandyBeach

Would not fully heat after 4 months use.

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased for an elderly person for Christmas- and she loved it. Problem: By April the unit would not fully heat. Not sure what happened, controls went out - but the top coils would no longer work. Returned to Home Depot for credit. It is a shame as the ease of portability was a very important factor for her
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Geep
from Atlanta, GA

Warm at last!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this from the local store and it puts out some serious heat. I have an oil filled convection one that doesn't even come close.
I bought it because my building heat isn't on yet, and it easily puts out more heat than my radiator.
I am a displaced Floridian that loves heat and couldn't be happier.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Awabi7
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best supplemental heater

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Every year purchase a new heater for my large and old house; love this one for many reasons, 4 bars of heat and thermostat, so totally adjustable. Simple to use, and you never forget to turn-off because you see the glowing bars. Totally quiet, safe, and economical. It's the only one that heats large room with windows on 3 sides, plus skylight!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Mike
from Ballston Lake, NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very pleased

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Warms a large room with much glass. The unit has no fan; it relies on the process of convection so that it is very quiet, efficient and effective. We're glad to have found it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
AZBob

only 3 elements work

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 elements out of 4 work and are heating. the 4th element worked for about 2 hours and then went out. The other 3 elements work good and put out good amount of heat. This is the second one I have purchased. The first one also has only 3 elements working but its 4th element worked for about 2 months. But overall, I am getting enough heat from the 3 elements.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Ladyhawk
from Maryville, TN

The Best Little Heater at Home Depot !

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My family and I have been looking for a space heater for over a year. We came across this one in the store. We have a great big room to heat which is open with vaulted ceilings and a Loft. We usually heat it by propane gas and a fireplace. Last year we went through thousands of dollars trying to keep the house warm. We seem to have a very cold home especially in 19 degree weather. We purchased one unit to try it and low and behold it worked. We went back and purchased another unit. We will be purchasing 2 -3 more in the near future. The greatest thing about it is, It Works! The top is open and it has caster wheels. Easy for an elderly person to roll. It has gotten so warm in the Great Room that we actually had to either lower it or shut it off completley. Another family member has the 2 most famous heaters sold at a much more exuberant amount of money. This one worked far better and for less cost. Now the electric bill will be higher than we usually recieve but not as high as the cost of Propane and fire wood I assure you. We as a family reccomennd this heater to all. Now we can go back to relaxing infront of a fire insted of working the fire for heat. Usually the temperature in the home stays at 64 degrees. With this little heater in the far corner of the room away from the thermostat now reads 70 degrees. Plus we can turn a knob and only use 1 thru 4 heating elements depending on how warm we want it. We can swivel it to any direction with care not to be too close to furniture or bodies. Thank you Home Depot for always having just the right products we need. To all of you who purchase this product, May you have a warm and toasty Winter Season. May you all be as satisfied as we are.
Two 55 year olds and a 90 yearold in Maryville TN
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
NBRuthie
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Totally soundless, no smell - Lots of Heat output

PostedJune 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this in the fall 2012 because oil prices were killing me. I rent 1 entire floor of an older house with large, drafty rooms. This heater worked excellently to heat approximately 400 square ft room plus. I also used a smaller 1500 watt Lasko in another room. These two heaters kept me cozy until the daytime temperatures got to 35F and night-time below 30F. Then I had to put the furnace on for a bit. WORD OF CAUTI
ON: I'm lucky to have a non-functioning fireplace with brick heath - this is where I located this heater. Most of the outside stays cool, BUT the top and the front grill get VERY HOT - NOT SUITABLE AROUND SMALL CHILDREN! Also, when in the maximum heat mode it gives off a lot of heat. To play it safe, I put aluminum foil on the carpet in front of the heater and on the wooden mantel above and behind the heater. I had absolutely no problems with this heater. However, you just have to guess with the temperature setting as there is no thermostatic control and I used a small fan to circulate the heat,
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: do not use around children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
LUMUKU
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This heater has great features: quiet, 4 heat settings, even heating, light wt, tip control and the price is amazing!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the heater, it provides more than ample warmth for the master BR suite. I've only had to use the 1st & 2nd settings. I bought two (2) at the store, was so pleased went back for a 3rd, my store was out of stock, immeditaetly went online while in HomeDepot to find another store that had them in stock, placed the order and it was delivered within five (5) business !!! 2Thumbs Up
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet, easy transport
Cons: no thermastat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
ScottB
from Solon, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for a smaller area

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It doesn't cover as much of an area as it claims. Without a blower on it it doesn't disipate the heat over more than 150sq. ft.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
NVAuser

it was great until it died after the second winter season

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased it on Jan 16, 2011, and it died around Jan 2013. It just did not turn on anymore (no red light). I unplugged it for a day, i checked the tip off protection. As the warranty is for 1 year only, i tried to diagnose the issue but it was so hectic to get into the power source and the switches. Power was getting into the heater but some component obviously failed (i have basic electrical knowledge). these are not meant to be repaired, it is not built in a way to be fixed. I had to throw it away after i spent 2 hrs taking it apart, and i cut myself in the process.
we really liked it though, it really heated up a big area. You could feel radiant heat from the front and convection from the top.
i can't recommend it based on our experience, we used it for 3-4 months per year (probably less than 25 hrs per week on the high side, and 5 hrs per week on the low side) and then stored it in its box in the attic with its plastic bag.We did not abuse it at all.(no surge or thunder on the day it died either)
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
DMDM
from Albany, NY

Mediocreee

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I find this radiant heater, completely average. For the price and weight, I expected better performance in the exertion of heat and efficiency. I also bought, Holmes MaxFlow Radiant Heater Model # HRH314 Internet # 100686213, and I find the cheaper one ($27) to work much better, in my opinion, to this Pelonis radiant heater. I've had both the Holmes and Pelonis for 3 weeks and the Holmes, for me, is the better choice for my basement and mudroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
geigs
from Montana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

well built, good looking

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i am using this heater in a 300sq ft wood wooking shop and it keeps my work area very comfortable
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
lupnric
from pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

needs a blower

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not impressed at all. very surprised to see so many good reviews. save your time and money and buy something with a blower. i bought this heater this evening and it will be going back first thing in the morning. will get store credit and buy a blower heater. dont even waste your time.
Cons: needs a blower
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
Skunkwolves

this heater is great for small rooms

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
1. heater doesn't heat as wide of area as expected.
2. heater doesn`t allow thermostat control on setting one and two.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features
Cons: not a lot of heat from unit, themostat doesn`t allow control on all settings
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500-Watt Electric Radiant Portable Heater-DISCONTINUED
benstone
from Saint Paul, MN

Pelonis Portable Electric Radiant Heater

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater works poorly. The only way I found to get any meaningful heat or warmth from it, is to sit immediately in front of it. The unit- set on 'high'- sends out just enough heat to warm what is directly in front of it. I was looking for a heater that would at least warm my small computer work area. I even left the heater on continuously for several days trying to warm up this area. No meaningful heat for over a week. And even then, again, I had to sit right next to it - I mean within an inch or two. A very, very poor buy for the money.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>