728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

Husky 26-Gal. compressor is built from robust aluminum and delivers 4.0 CFM at 90 psi. This powerful compressor is equipped with a 1.5 HP motor and conveniently located gauges for easy monitoring. Its fully enclosed shroud helps protect the motor and pump from damage, and the included 25 ft. PVC hose with quick connect and plug, 1/2 in. impact wrench and 3/8 in. ratchet add value and convenience.
Overall rating:
2.672 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
43%of customersrecommend this product24 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(8)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(25)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
43%of customersrecommend this product24 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
Review 1 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Spofford, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product Stinks...don't buy it! read the reviews ...I should have....Campbell hausfield the only way to go in my book

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has overheated since the day I bought it. I use it occasionally with a staple gun (small shoots 22 gauge staples) In the instructions it says it can overheat! This is how they get out of warranty....It overheats and smells like it is burning up. stops and wont run until you shut it off so it can cool down. I know I have had it 2 yrs 1 month....convenient for the warranty people. I have been faithful to this piece of garbage.....I will not bother having it repaired as I am going back to Campbell Hausfield which lasted me 33 years with much more use. So if you are smart do not walk away from this product....RUN
Pros: nothing good to say, item stinks
Cons: Not Durable, very poor workmanship, looks pretty but stinks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from linden nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointing unit

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After owning it for a year doing only light work with it (as recommended by husky) it leaked and overheated. I probably used this unit less then ten times. Noted, this is more of an light work usage compressor but the craftsmanship and durability is an insult to the customers who purchase it and expect to rely on in when needed. There are many other brands on the market that will outlast this compressor by years. It is too poorly made . best to spring a couple of more dollars and do your homework on a more durable machine. Unit priced right but who wants a disposable unit. Come on husky you can do better. Some of your items are reasonably priced and reliable. This unit has received many poor reviews posted by many who used it as recommended.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Only good for very limited use

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used mine for only a single house remodel job. Mostly spraying paint and running an nailer. Again... one house project. Possibly the worst engineered design I've ever seen. Motor mounts to the frame via 4 studs that it bolts to. I don't know if the bolts were loose, but basically the vibrations stripped the threads and the studs fell loose. Then the motor was able to move around freely and snapped the air line to the compressor tank. I would spend double to get something that will last a decent amount of time. It didn't last me long.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

Great oil less compressor

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this compressor. I have been shopping around for a good compressor for 2 years now. I just purchased this unit to power flush a cooling system it did the trick with no problem. Then proceeded to remove my brothers trucks rear shackle bolts which were rusted and seized into place, and the impact that came with it did it with out breaking a sweat. The air rachet left a little to be desired but did successfully remove every nut and bolt that i wanted it to. The only reason that i give it a 4 star and not a 5 is that i had to purchase 2 male quick connects to use that air tools that were provided. Many people have complained about it leaking over night but your not suppose to store it with air in it anyways that how you blow the seals. if you use it properly and read the manual it comes with it will serve you well. I would gladly buy another one.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shoddy quality components, and design

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned this product for approximately 2 years; used very lightly (maybe a few dozen times total, running small air tools like finish nailers). Engine now blows thermal fuse after approximately 2-3 minutes of running. Poor customer service, would never purchase a husky product again:
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Houston, Tx.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Husky Air Compressor Poor Quality - even for Minimal Personal Use.

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned 26gal 150psi max compressor about 4 years - minimal personal use only - approximately40-50 times - mostly to fill vehicle tires. Shortly after turning on today heard unusual noise-wouldn't compress over 40psi. Removed cover found copper tube from compressor to tank split literally in half-also instead of proper brass seals they used a liquid sealer which was brittle - found broken metal bracket used to secure portion of compressor with fan-suspect may have broken first causing excessive vibration that broke tube - also bare wire to fan - top cover pinched evidently due to improper routing or possible short length (save a penny or two). Was able to repair for about $20 and three hours of my time. Understand this is 'not' a pro-line product and that 'All' products can fail - but when it's a result of basic poor quality and workmanship I no longer trust the brand. Probably won't buy a Husky product again!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needs to be rebuilt for the second time in 5 years. Minimal use inflating tires and other light miscellaneous task.The only guarantee I have seen with this unit is that it will not last. I would not give this line of compressors any consideration for future purchases. I had to give 1 star for quality or value or this review would not post but it doesn't deserve even that much.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Houston
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

26-Gallon Portable Electric Air Compressor

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing just burnt up after less than a year. Warranty may as well be non-existant. It's going in the dump where it belongs.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from South of San Antonio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As expected...

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been researching portable upright compressors and found this one at Home Depot. The fact that it comes with 2 tools valued at about $150 on their own was a plus. I read the reviews (good and bad) on this site, so I was prepared for what to expect. I did have to remove both quick connects and main line from gauge assembly and coat with the included plumbers tape and fully tighten to end air leak issue. As mentioned by another owner, compressors are not meant to maintain pressure for long periods of time. With that said, after coating and tightening all connections I find it loses about 5 psi per 30mins of non use. I am pleased with this product for residential and personal use. Its portability makes it ideal for any location, and its max pressure and cfm great for most individual needs. I would recommend this product despite its need for tightening and resealing.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is the best bang for your buck!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shoped around for over three weeks before making a decision on which air compressor to buy. I have always trusted Craftsman and Snap-On, and have recently tried out Husky also. All of the tools have stood up to task. I bought this compressor expecting the same reliability as the tools and it has proven to be an awasome compressor. I have owned it for over a year and has held air constantly without any leaks. Love that it runs on 110v also. The air tools are also still working great after lots of everyday automotive work! If you are looking for a reliable compressor this is the one for you!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Millville, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money...Husky don't have a clue on how to make an air compressor!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 1st one I bought lasted 2 months and the cooling fan broke and came off and it leaked air. Took it back and got another one under warranty. That one lasted 3 months before the fan broke and I didn't want to take it back again so I positioned a box fan over it to keep it cool. That worked for 6 months and believe it or not, the shaft that turns the crank that pushes/pulls the piston, broke flush with the motor. I ain't takin' it back for another one. I'm going to Harbor freight tomorrow and buy a compressor head and fabricate it and a motor and use the tank. When it comes to compressors, Husky needs to get 'Schooled' before the make any more.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Maysville, GA

Husky Could Do Better

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I actually purchased last years version of this compressor. They have only changed slightly. I purchased it for my garage because I like to do small home projects and I have a car I am restoring. This thing will not hold pressure over night! Tank slowly leaks down. I used it a few times and started turning the regulator to zero thinking the hose might have a slow leak. I went to turn the pressure up and the regulator knob broke. Well, once it breaks the compressor will not let air flow into the air line AT ALL! I took to Home Depot for repairs and they said it was not covered under warranty. I had to pay for a new cheap plastic regulator knob PLUS labor cost. I see that they have not improved on the regulator! IF YOU BUY THIS KEEP AT ONE PRESSURE AND DO NOT ADJUST! I should have came off a few more bucks and got a pro model!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Roseville Michigan

great compressor

PostedApril 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i brought this home and set it all up, filled the tank, used it with various air tools including the impact's it came with, then i drained it and filled it again, it has been sitting for 4 days and the tank still reads at 125, i replaced a 8 gallon Coleman black hawk with this, honestly i couldn't be happier, i do not think this would be good for a mechanic's shop for full time use but for a small shop or a wood shop it is perfect.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

Junk!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My boss made me buy this compressor it lasted 6 months and the reed valves went bad. DON'T BUY AN OIL LESS they are junk.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

Good compressor for the money.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy setup. Functions as described. Provided T splitter useful. It is loud, but no louder than others in its range. Overall, a good buy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Louisville, KY

not the greatest, you get what you pay for

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This compressor will work well if you are not going to use it all the time (continuous duty). Mine needed a new pressure valve, cylinder kit, and it still didn't work well. We eventually figured out that the motor has an internal breaker that needs to cool down before it will reset. So the only answer was to put a new motor into it! Good for filling up tires, or firing an occassional nail, otherwise a piece of junk. To make a long story short, Husky needs to make/ put a better motor to maintain this size of tank. If I were you, spend a little more and get a lot better in either the same line. Or even better, buy a dewalt that is built for continuous duty. Thanks
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

piece of junk

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
blowed seal on pump piston right after warranty they say buy a new pump motor assembly is only way to fix around 249
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Fairbanks, AK, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

26 Gal. Air Compressor

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This compressor requires fixing right out of the box, but then seems to work with minimal issues. First, it wouldn't set level without adding a couple of washers to one of the rear leg bumpers. Next, allowed it to fill with air to the max of 150psi. After it shut off, I could hear air leaking from more than one spot. Had to unplug the machine, remove the top, and start spraying soapy water on all of the lines and fittings. The fitting right off the compressor cylinder was leaking, the unloader valve was leaking, and one of the hose couplers was leaking. Fixed the coupler and compressor fitting with thread tape (did the other coupler too just because), but the unloader valve was trickier. Removed it, cleaned it, sprayed it out with canned air (irony?), and put a drop of oil in it. Now it works fine save for a very slow leak that still exists in the valve.
While I had the top off, also drilled some large ventilation holes in the rear of the top and bottom plastic directly behind the compressor cylinder due to it's high level of heat after only one fill up. Now it stays much, much cooler for a lot longer. While it's running, I can feel the air flowing through the drilled holes, while air is still cooling the motor as well.
Now I mostly use it for a small sandblaster and it does the job fine, as long as I don't get carried away and let it cool down as needed.
I only give it two stars because value doesn't raise the overall rating due to the quality issues. 3 major leaks on ANY compressor is unacceptable, but the fixes were relatively easy and kept me from having to return it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Covington, Ga

This Compresser Will NOT Last!

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this compresser in October 2010. I usad it 4 times then had to return it for repair. 1 1/2 Months later I got it back. It has been used about 10 times, and the date is 9/2/11 and being returned for repair. DONT BUY IT
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 26-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from PICKENS SC

HUSKY A GREAT PRODUCT

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
JUST RECENTLY BOUGHT A HUSKY 26 GAL 1.5 HP AIR COMPRESSOR, THIS THING REALLY IS GREAT FOR THE MONEY, I HAVE SHOPPED AROUND FOR A GOOD COMPRESSOR AND NOTHING ELSE COMES CLOSE , IT IS A OILESS UNIT BUT PRETTY QUIET , @150 POUNDS OF PRESSURE WITH THE RIGHT CFMs IT WILL RUN ALMOST ANY TOOL , IT IS A GREAT COMPRESSOR FOR A SHOP TO USE @ HOME ,WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT FOR A BUSSINESS THO, IT WOULD PROBALLY HOLD UP BUT YOU WOULD PROBALLY NEED MORE HP AND A BIGGER TANK. BUT FOR ME IN MY OWN SHOP FOR EVERY DAY USE I LOVE IT, THESE IMPACT WRENCHES ARE NO TOYS EITHER , THANKS HD , I JUST WISH HUSKY HAD A WEB SIGHT WERE YOU CAN FIND OUT ABOUT YOUR PRODUCTS, MAYBE IN THE FURTURE , I DONT KNOW IF HD OWNS THEM OR WHO ? BUT I AM STILL SATASIFIED WITH THE PRODUCT. HAVE OWNED A LOT OF HUSKY PRODUCTS NEVER LET ME DOWN YET
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>