728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

Husky 26 gal. compressor is built from robust aluminum and delivers 4.0 CFM at 90 psi. This powerful compressor is equipped with a 1.5 HP motor and conveniently located gauges for easy monitoring. Its fully enclosed shroud helps protect the motor and pump from damage, and the included 25 ft. PVC hose with quick connect and plug, 1/2 in. impact wrench and 3/8 in. ratchet add value and convenience.
Overall rating:
2.478 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product24 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(8)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(33)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product24 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
Review 1 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Will be dead soon

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Dads house a few years ago and this thing was in the garage. It's basically a tire inflator with a big tank. I still don't know why they gave out an impact wrench with it because it can't even keep up with the wrench so I don't bother. What they should have done is given a supply of ear plugs with it cause it's so loud.
But it wont be long before the noise maker and the rest of the leaky junk on the top of the tank are a memory. I just ordered a real compressor, a real motor and all of the other real stuff I need to make up a nice one. The only reason I gave this a one is because I'm keeping the tank.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The worst Husky product ever

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Within few months of purchase and only less than an hour use in total (4-5 occasions) the belt busted. I replaced the belt (at the cost of $23) but noticed that the piston rod is out of alignment and it tends to push the belt out; probably that's why the belt busted in the first place. By then the compressor was over one year limited warranty and Husky repair center was asking for $250 flat rate repair. I had paid about $250 to buy it so I decided to toss the compressor in garbage because could not get the piston rod fixed.
Having charity organization to. Pick it in couple of weeks, maybe they are more successful fixing it for resale.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Newark, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a waste of time and money

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit for very light use, even though an impact wrench and torque wrench came with it. It has only been used to inflate tires and it failed after four to five months. The motor runs, but it will not build air. I removed the top cover to see if I could find any loose hoses, and so on. I was more than a little surprised to find the cooling fan laying next to the piston rod to which it used to be connected. This may be why so many of you are having heating issues.
Yes it is loud, but that didn't bother me. Not being able to do the small jobs when I need it, does.
If you see one on sale, please keep looking for another brand.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, not reliable, poor performance, can't find a phone number to contact husky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Spofford, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product Stinks...don't buy it! read the reviews ...I should have....Campbell hausfield the only way to go in my book

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has overheated since the day I bought it. I use it occasionally with a staple gun (small shoots 22 gauge staples) In the instructions it says it can overheat! This is how they get out of warranty....It overheats and smells like it is burning up. stops and wont run until you shut it off so it can cool down. I know I have had it 2 yrs 1 month....convenient for the warranty people. I have been faithful to this piece of garbage.....I will not bother having it repaired as I am going back to Campbell Hausfield which lasted me 33 years with much more use. So if you are smart do not walk away from this product....RUN
Pros: nothing good to say, item stinks
Cons: Not Durable, very poor workmanship, looks pretty but stinks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Mattoon, Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor quality

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was used approximately 12-15 times in 1.5 yrs. Used for tire inflation, and with an air blowoff nozzle only, no air tools. Out of warranty now and motor will not run.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from linden nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointing unit

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After owning it for a year doing only light work with it (as recommended by husky) it leaked and overheated. I probably used this unit less then ten times. Noted, this is more of an light work usage compressor but the craftsmanship and durability is an insult to the customers who purchase it and expect to rely on in when needed. There are many other brands on the market that will outlast this compressor by years. It is too poorly made . best to spring a couple of more dollars and do your homework on a more durable machine. Unit priced right but who wants a disposable unit. Come on husky you can do better. Some of your items are reasonably priced and reliable. This unit has received many poor reviews posted by many who used it as recommended.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Louisville, KY

All The Bad Reviews are Here for a Good Reason

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One star doesn't cut it. All The Bad Reviews are Here for a Good Reason: Because they are true. I had this unit for a few years, but used it maybe 10 times in my basement for finish nail gun use. I used it a time or two for spray paint applications as well. I noticed something didn't sound right after the first few uses. It sounded like something came loose. I took the plastic cover off to make sure all the parts were secure with no loose screws or components. The muffler was loose, but nothing more. I hoped it was that simple. Plugged it in today, filled the tank twice, but the third time the motor kicked on, it took a dump. I strongly suggest NOT purchasing this unit. Buyer beware for good reason.
Additionally, the air outlets are not friendly for hooking up a water separator or inline oilers.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems like a good deal, but is NOT

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This compressor acted a little funny from day one. It would shut off like it was overheating after only running for a few mins. The motor/pump sounded really bad once and I shut it off. Next time I turned it on it sounded normal again. The other day it shut off again, I had been running it on and off for a while, figured it was too hot. Went to use it again the next day and it sounds horrible now. I'm afraid of it coming apart. I have felt nervous since day one that it would fail at some point. I had a good reason to be nervous.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Only good for very limited use

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used mine for only a single house remodel job. Mostly spraying paint and running an nailer. Again... one house project. Possibly the worst engineered design I've ever seen. Motor mounts to the frame via 4 studs that it bolts to. I don't know if the bolts were loose, but basically the vibrations stripped the threads and the studs fell loose. Then the motor was able to move around freely and snapped the air line to the compressor tank. I would spend double to get something that will last a decent amount of time. It didn't last me long.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Tulsa, Ok
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

electric compressor

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it is so loud that I must wear ear protection in order to use it. As a result I seldom use it and will give it away to the first person that wants it.
Pros: looks good
Cons: too loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

LOUD

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm here looking for a new compressor. This one will wake the dead. its way too loud and I cant handle it any more. the neighbors have had enough as well. I'm selling this one for 50 bucks, good ridden.
Cons: loud
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools

Great oil less compressor

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this compressor. I have been shopping around for a good compressor for 2 years now. I just purchased this unit to power flush a cooling system it did the trick with no problem. Then proceeded to remove my brothers trucks rear shackle bolts which were rusted and seized into place, and the impact that came with it did it with out breaking a sweat. The air rachet left a little to be desired but did successfully remove every nut and bolt that i wanted it to. The only reason that i give it a 4 star and not a 5 is that i had to purchase 2 male quick connects to use that air tools that were provided. Many people have complained about it leaking over night but your not suppose to store it with air in it anyways that how you blow the seals. if you use it properly and read the manual it comes with it will serve you well. I would gladly buy another one.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shoddy quality components, and design

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned this product for approximately 2 years; used very lightly (maybe a few dozen times total, running small air tools like finish nailers). Engine now blows thermal fuse after approximately 2-3 minutes of running. Poor customer service, would never purchase a husky product again:
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needs to be rebuilt for the second time in 5 years. Minimal use inflating tires and other light miscellaneous task.The only guarantee I have seen with this unit is that it will not last. I would not give this line of compressors any consideration for future purchases. I had to give 1 star for quality or value or this review would not post but it doesn't deserve even that much.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Houston
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

26-Gallon Portable Electric Air Compressor

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing just burnt up after less than a year. Warranty may as well be non-existant. It's going in the dump where it belongs.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is the best bang for your buck!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shoped around for over three weeks before making a decision on which air compressor to buy. I have always trusted Craftsman and Snap-On, and have recently tried out Husky also. All of the tools have stood up to task. I bought this compressor expecting the same reliability as the tools and it has proven to be an awasome compressor. I have owned it for over a year and has held air constantly without any leaks. Love that it runs on 110v also. The air tools are also still working great after lots of everyday automotive work! If you are looking for a reliable compressor this is the one for you!
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Maysville, GA

Husky Could Do Better

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I actually purchased last years version of this compressor. They have only changed slightly. I purchased it for my garage because I like to do small home projects and I have a car I am restoring. This thing will not hold pressure over night! Tank slowly leaks down. I used it a few times and started turning the regulator to zero thinking the hose might have a slow leak. I went to turn the pressure up and the regulator knob broke. Well, once it breaks the compressor will not let air flow into the air line AT ALL! I took to Home Depot for repairs and they said it was not covered under warranty. I had to pay for a new cheap plastic regulator knob PLUS labor cost. I see that they have not improved on the regulator! IF YOU BUY THIS KEEP AT ONE PRESSURE AND DO NOT ADJUST! I should have came off a few more bucks and got a pro model!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Millville, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money...Husky don't have a clue on how to make an air compressor!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 1st one I bought lasted 2 months and the cooling fan broke and came off and it leaked air. Took it back and got another one under warranty. That one lasted 3 months before the fan broke and I didn't want to take it back again so I positioned a box fan over it to keep it cool. That worked for 6 months and believe it or not, the shaft that turns the crank that pushes/pulls the piston, broke flush with the motor. I ain't takin' it back for another one. I'm going to Harbor freight tomorrow and buy a compressor head and fabricate it and a motor and use the tank. When it comes to compressors, Husky needs to get 'Schooled' before the make any more.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from South of San Antonio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As expected...

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been researching portable upright compressors and found this one at Home Depot. The fact that it comes with 2 tools valued at about $150 on their own was a plus. I read the reviews (good and bad) on this site, so I was prepared for what to expect. I did have to remove both quick connects and main line from gauge assembly and coat with the included plumbers tape and fully tighten to end air leak issue. As mentioned by another owner, compressors are not meant to maintain pressure for long periods of time. With that said, after coating and tightening all connections I find it loses about 5 psi per 30mins of non use. I am pleased with this product for residential and personal use. Its portability makes it ideal for any location, and its max pressure and cfm great for most individual needs. I would recommend this product despite its need for tightening and resealing.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 26 gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor with 2 Air Tools
from Houston, Tx.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Husky Air Compressor Poor Quality - even for Minimal Personal Use.

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned 26gal 150psi max compressor about 4 years - minimal personal use only - approximately40-50 times - mostly to fill vehicle tires. Shortly after turning on today heard unusual noise-wouldn't compress over 40psi. Removed cover found copper tube from compressor to tank split literally in half-also instead of proper brass seals they used a liquid sealer which was brittle - found broken metal bracket used to secure portion of compressor with fan-suspect may have broken first causing excessive vibration that broke tube - also bare wire to fan - top cover pinched evidently due to improper routing or possible short length (save a penny or two). Was able to repair for about $20 and three hours of my time. Understand this is 'not' a pro-line product and that 'All' products can fail - but when it's a result of basic poor quality and workmanship I no longer trust the brand. Probably won't buy a Husky product again!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>