728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)

Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)

Fruit flies are a common nuisance in homes, restaurants and supermarkets - anywhere fruit, vegetables or garbage bins offer a tempting place for them to lay their eggs. But now you can keep your kitchen fruit-fly free, with Contech s Fruit Fly Trap. A natural attractant entices fruit flies into the decorative trap, where a disposable sticky pad ensures they don t escape. Safe, effective, and 100 Percent pesticide free, the Contech Fruit Fly Trap is an easy and effective way to eliminate fruit flies from your kitchen, without using harmful sprays or chemicals.
Overall rating:
2.864 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product10 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product10 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
Review 1 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Sacramento CA

Very Effective

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Produce is safe, fast, and effective. There was no odor and the fruit flies were attracted to it immediately. A swarm of fruit flies appeared in my home and this product safely eliminated them within a matter of a couple of days.
You will need to dispose of the product and/or the contents once the flies have been eliminated. I made the mistake of letting it set for an extra few days and discovered that the trapped flies had laid eggs. The larvae was crawling around inside the jar. Disposal was quick and easy.
I highly recommend this product to quickly eliminate any infestation of fruit flies.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)

Worked really well

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd been trying a bunch of different homemade traps from the internet without any real success. I saw this @ my local home depot and thought it was worth a try. It worked so well! By the next day about 90% of the flies were gone, and by the end of day 2 I was fruit fly free! I would definitely recommend this to anyone dealing with Fruit flies.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Miami Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

horrible product waste of money

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
do not waste your money, you have to put it together and it does not work at all
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)

Worthless.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worthless. Caught 2 fruit flies with them. Went online and found apple vinegar and soap formula. Caught over 50 the first day!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Ohio

Simple and works

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this! We have had fruit flies once or twice every year. I tried this and it worked great. Pretty easy to set up and the flies were gone in 2 days. And I'm happy not to use more bug killer spray cans, especially around food and the kitchen. Nice having a 2-pack also - Good value.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Cle Elum, WA

Fruit Fly Vacation Home

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept for the unit is a great idea but the execution is horrible. Their is nothing to prevent the flies from flying right back out. The flies never seemed to want to enter the jar in large enough quantities to actually take care of the problem. I had to get the traditional fly strips to catch them. It was a waste of money. I would not recommend this product to anyone. Ok, maybe someone I didn't like.
Cons: doesn't work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)

Great product! Worked like a charm!

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last summer we had a real fruit fly problem in our home. We tried all the tricks, but those pesky flies just didn't seem to want to leave.
Then we tried this trap and bingo! - it worked like a charm!
Those flies were gone before you knew it.
I would highly recommend this product!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Canada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works well at the beginning, after the 2nd whetting, the attraction is much weaker

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It worked well at the beginning. But after whetting the "bag" the 2nd time, the fruit flies would fly around the container, land on it and stay on the outside quite awhile and some will enter and some will get distracted and fly away.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, may need many containers in high season
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Worked as expected

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was a particularly bad summer for fruit flies. I bought this and refilled three times and it has worked very well. The glue trap paper could be stickier but other than that, the flies filled it up. Just remember to rewet the attractant after 2-3 days and dump it and clean it after 6 or 7 days.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Pittsfield, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good stuff

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought product while fruit flies were invading the office. Caught 37 the first week. Have refilled it a few times, allways has a large crop inside.
A coworker tried the cup of cider vinegar trap. After four days, it hasn't caught one fly. My trap is full.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Homestead

IT works

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works very well. Place near problem area it takes a few days to capture most of them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Forest Park, Findlay, OH 45840, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This didn't work at all

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item was expensive and I placed it in four places and not one spot did it work. It caught only a couple fruit flys so I got a competitors product placed it and the issue is mostly gone. I would not ever recommend this or ever buy it again.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Louisville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't work well. A waste of money, dont buy, dont buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from NY.NY

Quick and easy setup

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked as advertised. Would buy more of the same. Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Virginia Beach, VA

Too Good to be True!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The instructions are simple and the product is basic...not much to mess up, but it did not work for us. In 3 days, 1 gnat got in but 2 or 3 others continued to irritate us until they fell victim to the age old fly paper strip. So much for science! Good idea, but lots of room for improvement. Would not purchase again.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)

Try a different solution

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To be brief, the traps simply did not work. By no means did I have an infestation of fruit flies, but still not even one was caught over the course of 10 days (the active life of the traps). I would highly recommend sourcing another product.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)

It doesn't work.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Don't buy this product. I followed the directions exactly. I put one in the kitchen and one in the bathroom, where all the fruit flies hang out. Neither trap caught one of those buggers. I still have fruit flies.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is horrible

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THe paper is not sticky enough, the fruit flies just walk all over it. The holes they just fly in and out of. This product is a waste of money.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
from Huntington Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very effective!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These were super easy to use, and caught most all of the flies that were taking over the house.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fruit Fly Trap (2-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Save your money

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
totally worthless. A waste of money. Did nothing to relieve fruit fly problem!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>