728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Original Waspinator

Original Waspinator

The Original Waspinator sends a message that your outdoor area is already inhabited by wasps -encouraging other wasps to stay away. Portable and easy to use, the Waspinator is ideal for backyards, picnics or beach barbeques. Enjoy a wasp-free environment wherever you are. The Waspinator is environmentally-friendly, non-toxic and pesticide-free.
Overall rating:
3.083 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product13 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product13 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for Original Waspinator
Review 1 for Original Waspinator
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a great product!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am completely pleased with my purchase of The Waspinator. It was delivered promptly and was so simple to install - using plastic outdoor Christmas light clips I secured one Waspinator to my front porch overhang and one on the back deck overhang. I stuffed the bag with plastic grocery bags as suggested and the effect was a very believable replica of a hornets nest. I have not seen any wasps in either area; I used to have nests under the front porch ceiling siding and ditto for the deck overhang. I don't like to use any pesticides and this product has certainly proven effective. I highly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, and it is immediately effective!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Original Waspinator
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not effective against paper wasps in AZ

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product probably works well in areas where wasps with similar-type hive structures exist, but it isn't effective against pool-water-loving Paper Wasps in AZ, and it doesn't hold up well when exposed to the harsh AZ summer sun. I installed the Waspinators (2) on either side of the pool, and the wasps simply ignored them. It was only a couple of weeks before the material became brittle and easy to tear. Plus, right out of the box, the material had a very chemical, almost kerosene-like smell. Would not buy again.
Cons: Not Durable, not effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Original Waspinator
from Gallipolis, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth a try.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have seen big reduction in wasps building nests around house (under window and door frames, also eves) This is third or fourth year we've used them. Have given them to others to try and they also have noticed fewer nests. Such a simple solution and environmental friendly.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Original Waspinator

Not impressed

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So I recd. a solicitation from another company to purchase this item. It sounded great...but at over twice the price I found at HD. The idea is that this "looks" like a wasp nest and that deters other wasps from building a hive. No scent or anything...just a bag with a tent like insert that you put together. Unless you place it exactly where the wasps would build, they ignore it. I have a hive being built about 8 feet above where we placed one of the ones we purchased. So apparently they are great if you buy one for every nook and cranny. But not so good if you only buy a few.
Not very practical in my opinion.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Original Waspinator
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works on most wasps

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been buying and using these for three or four years now and I haven't had any problems keeping them away. It doesn't keep all of them from checking it out every once in a while, but most of the bees and wasps have avoided where I've put them. I've only had to spray a persistent wasp once in all that time, and with little children that's been one less concern. Also, the price is pretty good. Being fabric they do wear out every year or two, but I can live with that.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Original Waspinator
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have to be patient

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I was skeptical because of all the bad reviews. But since I was trying to protect butterfly caterpillars on passion vines from predator wasps I couldn't use chemicals and I had already tried a wasp trap, which didn't work at all. This seemed like the only option, and at the low price of these things I figured it was worth a try. I ordered four of them as I have three large vines and wanted to put one on each end as well as in the gaps between them.
Initially I didn't see any result - the number of wasps flying around the vines looking for food did not diminish. However, after about three to four days I started to notice the number of wasps go down. It took almost two weeks before the wasps were gone, but gone they were! The only thing I can figure is it takes time for the little devils to notice the waspinators and react to them. Perhaps if the other reviewers who disliked the product had been more patient and waited a couple of weeks for the result, it may have turned out differently.
I haven't seen a single wasp in weeks now and am very satisfied with the product. No chemicals, no dead butterfly caterpillars, and no wasps - how sweet is that.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Original Waspinator
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but doesn't last

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The original product was of sturdy material which lasted from early spring until late fall. The new Waspinators are made of a paper-like material which begins to literally decay in a few weeks. Really disappointed as the they work very well until they fall apart
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Original Waspinator
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works really well

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second time I bought these - they work great BUT degrade in the weather, so had to replace
Great eco-friendly way to deter wasps
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Original Waspinator
from south dakota

This product did seem to make a difference

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hung this near the house following a weekend of killing about fifty wasps by the front door. For the remainder of the summer, I saw one or two wasps around the house. It doesn't decorate your space so if you can find a secluded spot near what you are trying to protect I would. I do intend to have at least two hanging next summer.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Original Waspinator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No one was more surprised than we were to discover that this actually worked. We were unable to enjoy our yard because there were so many wasps and they were agressive. We hung this up and literally within a day or so....nothing! It's been 3 months and still nothing. It's the first summer we've been able to really enjoy the yard. We showed it to a family member who works for an exterminator and he was shocked! I will purchase next year!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Original Waspinator
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I plan to return this to get money back. It is useless.

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Too big, perhaps, wasps fly by without paying any attention. It is useless.
Cons: no function
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Original Waspinator

Waspinator: This product is truly effective.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to see it to believe it. We have a 10'x30' garden on the side of the house in northern Nevada. Many flowering plants attract mason and honey bees as well as hornets. The hornets are troublesome because we also have a hummingbird feeder and the bugs crawl on it and aggressively drive the birds away. I hung the Waspinator from the eaves of the roof and about 15' away from the hummingbird feeder during the day when hornets were swarming around. Within 2 hours there was a noticeable decrease in hornet numbers and by the end of the next day they were so few as to not bother counting. The hummingbirds now hang out at their feeder all day.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Original Waspinator
from Camp Hill, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appears to work!!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wasps appear discouraged by the Waspinator. Time will tell.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Original Waspinator

Helps some

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Waspinator does cut down on the wasp activity at my house but does not eliminate it. I still have some but not near as bad as I did have them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Original Waspinator
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I guess it works

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have it hung inside the dog house, but not sure it the spray is working best or if it is really keeping them away.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Original Waspinator
Gender:Female

The pretend wasp nest

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had read about this product online and was facinated about how simple this was to install and it's use. It is made out of very light material much like the shape and color of a real wasp nest. You just hang it in the area you want to NOT see nesting wasps. It is just that simple. I will say for me it hasn't eliminated them altogether. But they are not nesting in swarms around my house. I do recommend this if you want to try something other than an exterminator.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Original Waspinator
from Central, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well but doesn't endure the weather

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seasonally I would get a bunch of wasps building nests under the peaks of my roof overhangs. I used to destroy these paper nests with a spray of high pressure water from my hose. The wasps were persistent and would return to rebuild and I would have to destroy their nest repeatedly throughout the season. They then took to building inside my covered rain gutters, at the dry end. I intalled two of these Waspinators and after a while I saw no wasps, no evidence of nesting either. Unfortunately the material they use falls apart and crumbles in your hands after a few weeks of use. They are made out of a paper product and do not stand up to any rain or wind. I used stryofoam packing peanuts to fill them to keep their shape bulbous. They look like a large paper wasp nest and work, but until the manufacturers make this product out of a better material, I would suggest buying one for a pattern and making one out of a polyester material that has a similar color and pattern. Too bad for Waspinator, its a great idea, it works well, but is made of an inferior material. But for a picnic, barbeque or camping outing, maybe for short use, it would be sufficient. In the case of severe allergy to wasp stings, I would highly recommend this, but with the suggestionss I noted.
Pros: Easy to Install, good for temporary use short term
Cons: Not Durable, needs to be stuffed to retain shape.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Original Waspinator
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works Great. I have not seen a wasp since I put this up.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Original Waspinator
from Dallas,TX

Wasps

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am glad to know there is something I can do to keep wasps out other then chemicals to achieve that end. THANKS
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Original Waspinator
from Oroville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not exactly what I expected

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess I expected an actual item that could be hung out as is but had to add stuffing to make this appear as indicated. Still waiting to see if it will work, lots of hornets outside and haven't noticed any decrease yet. It says it make take some time so I will give it a couple of weeks. Not sure if I would recommend to others at this point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>