728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

The Essick Air Products Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier features a decorative tile on top that can be changed out to match your decor. It adds invisible moisture to your home by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Proper humidity in your home is scientifically proven to help prevent flu and allergies. It reduces static electricity, relieves dry skin and scratchy throat, and protects fine furniture and wood floors. It allows you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
3.177 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product19 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product19 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
Review 1 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Plains, PA 18705, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

******** Best Humidifier I Ever Had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Humidifier is real easy to add the water through front door opening.
No heavy jugs of water to lug around.
Pros: Shuts off when it runs out of water.
Can't believe how much water unit puts out in one day!!!!
Comes with remote control that tells you humidity and temperature.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design, easy to fill
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Shawnee Kansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

EXCELLENT humidifier

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great to have nine fan speeds. Quiet until the high speeds Attractive enough, plastic is pretty thin and cheap, but the function is wonderful. Easy to fill, easy to move, does a perfect job of humidifying a large space. Humidistat is accurate. Compares exactly with a small humidistat we have. I like the way it functions. I don't like ultrasonic humidifiers. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, can easily choose humidity and fan speed. easy to
Cons: the plastic is pretty flimsy., not really sturdy feeling.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Northern VA

whole house humidifier

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy set up and whilst a tad bulky, the pedestal design is definitely more aesthetically pleasing than the console version. The unit even has a marble (real!) insert on which a plant or vase or similar can be stood, thus dressing up (or disguising!) its appearance somewhat.
Nine (9) fan settings give a wide range of 'volume' when the machine is running, from a very gentle purr for overnight hours to an almost supersonic level which raises the humidity in a heartbeat!
I am sensitive to noise (ticking clocks, a/c units etc) and definitely recommend this machine for its genuine "quiet setting". The water top up is easily accessible and the remote control allows you to alter settings from across the room.
My +1500sq ft apartment is so much more comfortable with the humidity level having risen in just the first hour of use from the mid 20's to a comfortable 45.
I highly recommend this unit and its value for money when weighed against other options.
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Royal Oak, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy the EP9R 500 Humidfier

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this unit for 60 days and it has NOT been what I thought it would be. Right out of the box the float had a hole in it so it was not useable until Essick sent me a new float. Now the fan is getting noisy.. I guess I will be replacing that too. It has a remote that I could do without. The "manual" control on the unit and the remote humidity sensors don't even come close to reading the same.
Also filling it is weird. You have to put this funnel in it but you can't see how much to fill it unless you stop filling and get on your hands and knees and look really hard to see the fill line. hmmm
I had a Kenmore for over ten years and I wish I had another.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, float was broken right out of the box.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Houlton, ME
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this humidifier for three winters now and it is still going strong. I picked one up for my father two years ago and found they did make an improvement to his by placing a small light inside it so you didn't need a flashlight to see the water level when refilling, nice! I use a flower watering can without the sprinkler end on it to make refilling easy and no mess, don't need to use the extended funnel that came with it. My wife and I are totally satisfied with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: loud at first
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Central Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64

Works fine. Easy to use.

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Been using this unit for a week now. Brought the humidity up from 10 to 30's in a couple of days in our 2000 sf home. Very easy to use. Very easy to fill. Unit shuts off and flashes "F" in the display when it's time to refill. Add 3 gallons of water through the front and it's ready to go again. Can't get much simpler than that. Fan is quiet on low. Of coarse the higher you set it, the noisier it gets. We just leave it on low all the time. It does the job just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Works great, easy to use, and wife loves it!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Set this up in a few minutes, filled it up, and all was good. The granite top is a piece of tile so you can easily swap it out. We found a matching piece for the other granite in our home and it looks like it was made for us. My wife loves it and it very quiet. Easy to fill, shuts down automatically when empty. Great product for the money!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Laurel, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Decent product, attractive; poor humidity measure however; remote good

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Like other humidifiers with the detector on the power cord, humidity measures are wildly off unless there is other circulation to keep things moving.
The remote control is interesting, but I thought that when it was active, it would override the cord-mounted humidistat. This appears not to be the case. If it did, it would eliminate the shortcomings of the cord-mounted.
The unit is much more attractive than the usual "boxes," but there are two significant operational shortcomings:
Filling the 3.5 gallon (small) tank is tricky without spilling. They supply an extension for the opening trough, but it still spills unless one pours very slowly.
Secondly, there is no way (unless you disassemble) to know the water level.
In general, I am satisfied and can adjust to the design shortcomings, but others might be more disturbed by them.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: see comments
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Absolutely Useless!!!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this yesterday. It's been running at full speed (F9) and full humidity (65%) for 15 hours now and the humidity hasn't budged 10 feet away from the unit, not to mention the "whole house". It's supposed to go through a tank of water every 9 hours when on full and it's still got half a tank.
The hygrometer on it is not even close to accurate. I've got three other hygrometers at different locations in the room and the one on this unit is off by almost 20%!
I can boil water on the other side of the house and the humidity will instantly go up in the room where this unit is. This Essick thing is absolute junk, just a fan blowing on a stale pool of water. Stay away.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Arizona desert

Great back-to-basic humidifier

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks nicer than old models my parents had. Doesn't leave a film like ultra-sonic humidifiers. Is very efficient keeping the humidity levels up, especially living in the desert. The only drawback is not knowing water level; wish it had a visual gage.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Worked fine for one season

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought the look and space saver. Worked fine and didn't mind having to fill it daily. However, this season it has begun to make a rattling noise when running. It is not the motor as it doesn't rattle when the base is separate. You can make it stop by holding it. Called the company but no return call after a week. Ready to toss it if I can't get the rattle to stop.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Puchased and returned

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the appearance of this unit and it fit my room perfectly. But...the humidistat is way off. It's located on the electrical cord. When the unit was off, the humidity measure agreed to two humidity monitors I have (within a couple of degrees which is acceptable). When running, the humidity reading was about 20 points higher than my monitors. The only way to get it to achieve my desired reading was to set it at 65 percent humidity and have it run constantly.
Very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: design flaw - humidistat way off
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from St. louis, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple to get working out of the box and to maintain. It is best suited to control the humididty on a sigle level and not a multi-level home. We keep our furnace thermostat turned down low and use space heaters so it doesn't really have much of an effect even though it is positioned next to a cold air return. Some complain about the reading of the humidity but that is to be expected since the unit is going to read the level near itself. The remote solves this issue since it can be accross the room and will display the level where it is located.
Overall I am pleased with the unit and would recommend to anyone who needed to increase the humidity on 1 level.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Manistee Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst brand EVER!

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have gone through 4 of these in the last 2 years, this company sells total garbage! The firest one lasted 2 months, the second 2 weeks,the third about 3 months the last one I bought yesterday. Guess what less than 1 hour........
Cons: horrible craftsmanship, junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Saratoga, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great humidifier

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works great, the float was damaged out of the box, called customer service and they sent us a new one right away, really like the programmable feature, so it only runs when needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Texas Panhandle
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor performance

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not like. Would not humidify one room let alone 2000 sq. ft.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works good and is not very loud. We have ours on carpet and have not had any problems.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from De Soto, MO 63020, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product works great and very easy to fill

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this works great with no excess moisture. very easy to fill and is very nice looking.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Very Happy with My Purchase

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have found the product to work well in my two-level, 1,664 square foot home. It is not able to humidify the upstairs (it is located downstairs) quite as well with the extreme cold we have had lately. Otherwise, it humidifes both levels very well.
I was so entertained by the comments from some users that complained about the water fill level indication. Some people apparently did not read the instructions. I think the instructions explain it pretty well. Simply look through the refill area on the front. I use a small flashlight and I can see the water level and the line to avoid overfilling very easily. I pour the water pretty fast, and with very little spillage, if any at all.
I do find that the remote control temperature and humidity level is way off. It is useful to me only to adjust the fan speed, desired humidity level, or to power on/off. The humidity senser on the cord of the actual humidifier works very well.
I really love the way it works. I run it at one of the higher settings usually (7 out of 9), and it needs to be refilled once a day. Some of the reviewers have made their use of it much harder than it needs to be. But they are useful for entertainment purposes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Loud!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy assembly, attractive for size but LOUD even on low speed. Returned after two days:(
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: loud
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>