728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

The Essick Air Products Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier features a decorative tile on top that can be changed out to match your decor. It adds invisible moisture to your home by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Proper humidity in your home is scientifically proven to help prevent flu and allergies. It reduces static electricity, relieves dry skin and scratchy throat, and protects fine furniture and wood floors. It allows you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
3.2 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product17 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product17 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
Review 1 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Plains, PA 18705, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

******** Best Humidifier I Ever Had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Humidifier is real easy to add the water through front door opening.
No heavy jugs of water to lug around.
Pros: Shuts off when it runs out of water.
Can't believe how much water unit puts out in one day!!!!
Comes with remote control that tells you humidity and temperature.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design, easy to fill
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Absolutely Useless!!!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this yesterday. It's been running at full speed (F9) and full humidity (65%) for 15 hours now and the humidity hasn't budged 10 feet away from the unit, not to mention the "whole house". It's supposed to go through a tank of water every 9 hours when on full and it's still got half a tank.
The hygrometer on it is not even close to accurate. I've got three other hygrometers at different locations in the room and the one on this unit is off by almost 20%!
I can boil water on the other side of the house and the humidity will instantly go up in the room where this unit is. This Essick thing is absolute junk, just a fan blowing on a stale pool of water. Stay away.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Northern VA

whole house humidifier

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy set up and whilst a tad bulky, the pedestal design is definitely more aesthetically pleasing than the console version. The unit even has a marble (real!) insert on which a plant or vase or similar can be stood, thus dressing up (or disguising!) its appearance somewhat.
Nine (9) fan settings give a wide range of 'volume' when the machine is running, from a very gentle purr for overnight hours to an almost supersonic level which raises the humidity in a heartbeat!
I am sensitive to noise (ticking clocks, a/c units etc) and definitely recommend this machine for its genuine "quiet setting". The water top up is easily accessible and the remote control allows you to alter settings from across the room.
My +1500sq ft apartment is so much more comfortable with the humidity level having risen in just the first hour of use from the mid 20's to a comfortable 45.
I highly recommend this unit and its value for money when weighed against other options.
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Loud!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy assembly, attractive for size but LOUD even on low speed. Returned after two days:(
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Royal Oak, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy the EP9R 500 Humidfier

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this unit for 60 days and it has NOT been what I thought it would be. Right out of the box the float had a hole in it so it was not useable until Essick sent me a new float. Now the fan is getting noisy.. I guess I will be replacing that too. It has a remote that I could do without. The "manual" control on the unit and the remote humidity sensors don't even come close to reading the same.
Also filling it is weird. You have to put this funnel in it but you can't see how much to fill it unless you stop filling and get on your hands and knees and look really hard to see the fill line. hmmm
I had a Kenmore for over ten years and I wish I had another.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, float was broken right out of the box.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Central Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64

Works fine. Easy to use.

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Been using this unit for a week now. Brought the humidity up from 10 to 30's in a couple of days in our 2000 sf home. Very easy to use. Very easy to fill. Unit shuts off and flashes "F" in the display when it's time to refill. Add 3 gallons of water through the front and it's ready to go again. Can't get much simpler than that. Fan is quiet on low. Of coarse the higher you set it, the noisier it gets. We just leave it on low all the time. It does the job just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Works great, easy to use, and wife loves it!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Set this up in a few minutes, filled it up, and all was good. The granite top is a piece of tile so you can easily swap it out. We found a matching piece for the other granite in our home and it looks like it was made for us. My wife loves it and it very quiet. Easy to fill, shuts down automatically when empty. Great product for the money!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

Puchased and returned

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the appearance of this unit and it fit my room perfectly. But...the humidistat is way off. It's located on the electrical cord. When the unit was off, the humidity measure agreed to two humidity monitors I have (within a couple of degrees which is acceptable). When running, the humidity reading was about 20 points higher than my monitors. The only way to get it to achieve my desired reading was to set it at 65 percent humidity and have it run constantly.
Very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: design flaw - humidistat way off
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Laurel, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Decent product, attractive; poor humidity measure however; remote good

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Like other humidifiers with the detector on the power cord, humidity measures are wildly off unless there is other circulation to keep things moving.
The remote control is interesting, but I thought that when it was active, it would override the cord-mounted humidistat. This appears not to be the case. If it did, it would eliminate the shortcomings of the cord-mounted.
The unit is much more attractive than the usual "boxes," but there are two significant operational shortcomings:
Filling the 3.5 gallon (small) tank is tricky without spilling. They supply an extension for the opening trough, but it still spills unless one pours very slowly.
Secondly, there is no way (unless you disassemble) to know the water level.
In general, I am satisfied and can adjust to the design shortcomings, but others might be more disturbed by them.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: see comments
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Arizona desert

Great back-to-basic humidifier

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks nicer than old models my parents had. Doesn't leave a film like ultra-sonic humidifiers. Is very efficient keeping the humidity levels up, especially living in the desert. The only drawback is not knowing water level; wish it had a visual gage.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from St. louis, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very simple to get working out of the box and to maintain. It is best suited to control the humididty on a sigle level and not a multi-level home. We keep our furnace thermostat turned down low and use space heaters so it doesn't really have much of an effect even though it is positioned next to a cold air return. Some complain about the reading of the humidity but that is to be expected since the unit is going to read the level near itself. The remote solves this issue since it can be accross the room and will display the level where it is located.
Overall I am pleased with the unit and would recommend to anyone who needed to increase the humidity on 1 level.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Chgo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not very durable for the price

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2nd unit in less than a year the fan went out. terrible design system with having to take entire housing off unit to fill - otherwise you have no idea how much water is in there or when it overflows. Im sure the daily on/off of the housing has knocked the fan out again.. not worth replacing every 6 months.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Lake Wylie, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So far, so good

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been searching for something to add needed humidity to most of the living area of my house. Tried and returned a couple humidifiers for poor quality, fans out of balance, leaks, etc. got this one yesterday. It puts out plenty of moisture and is fairly quiet. Very easy to fill, even a little light inside so you can see the water level! No issues but it has only been a day. I initially installed the float upside down, quickly realized my mistake, inverted it and all is fine. Looks like a good one to me. The remote is just stupid, I can't imagine why that came with it. No need for it IMHO.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product, but didn't work In my home

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The humidifier is average quality for the price. The remote was useless and didn't measure the humidity correctly unless it was placed on top of the unit. If placed in a different room, the humidifier would run constantly. The fan noise is fairly significant from the unit. It had to be on a level 8 fan speed to get the humidity to 45 percent. I have a two level home and this unit just did not work out. I tried different placements and had no improvement. I decided to return it and go with a whole house unit attached to my heating system. This unit would be great for a one level home for seasonal use. It would become a pain to maintain year round for minimal improvement. The unit is very easy to fill despite what I read in other reviews. With a flashlight, there is no issue. The deal breaker for me was the minimal level of humidity the unit was able to produce. Even near the unit there seemed to be little difference. I also did not like the paper smell from the wick. It never really went away after a week of use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Fort Wayne, IN USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm so glad I bought this humidifier. I got more that I was expecting.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidifier was easy to assemble. Performance is more than I excepted. The ease of adding water. Is great.
Also, I'm able to use it as an end table.
Being a 72 year old widow, I am very happly with this perchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from St. Cloud, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I give this four stars only because I have to fill it like every other day. The tank does not hold enough water, otherwise I think this is the best product for the money. I live in a house that is 110 years old. This unit works perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from De Soto, MO 63020, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product works great and very easy to fill

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this works great with no excess moisture. very easy to fill and is very nice looking.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.

What else is there?

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For a whole house humidifier, there's not much else to choose from. This unit will do the job, no doubt about it, it's currently getting through the 3 gallons in a day and half and keeps the whole house >45% humidity which is just fine. No ultrasonic mist humidifier can do this, place it in a central location and this humidifier will humidify your whole house. Now for the drawbacks.
No fill level indicator. You basically have to wait for it to run out of water before you fill it again, which of course it inevitably does in the morning when the heating comes on so you wake up to a dry house. Not ideal. On the other hand if you overfill it it leaks everywhere. Not cool.
Noisy fan. I mean, really noisy, yet jet engine setting number 9 doesn't appear to move that much more air than silent number 1. I leave it on 2 and put up with the noise. Given the fan technology out there it would be relatively easy to install a fan that produces much less noise.
All or nothing response. Surely a variable speed fan coupled to humidistat readings would allow a low speed / low noise fan to keep running most of the time instead of a high speed fan cutting in and out. Waiting for the humidity to drop 3% before the fan switches on is dumb if you could leave the unit running at low speed and maintan the existing humidity with the lowest amount of noise.
Three relatively small upgrades that would add little to the cost of the unit. It's a pretty cheap plastic unit anyway that nowhere near justifies the price tag. The marble top is nonsense. Why upgrade with pathetic aesthetic features when the mechanical features that would make the unit function better are missing? I could have installed a fully automated home furnace humidifier for the same cost if there was space to fit it on the furnace duct. As it was I ended up with this. Like I said, it works, but with minimal functionality and finesse.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, Noisy
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Glastonbury, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not As Good As Expected

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
For Such A Large Unit and Energy Sucker I Would Have Expected My House to Be a Bit More Humid (1600sqft)
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: not as humid as expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Whole-House Pedestal Humidifier for 2000 sq. ft.
from Saratoga, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great humidifier

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works great, the float was damaged out of the box, called customer service and they sent us a new one right away, really like the programmable feature, so it only runs when needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>