728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Saws, Jigs & Cutting Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw

10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw

The IRWIN 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw features a wide-body, flush-cut blade for great performance and an ergonomic ProTouch handle for comfort. The spring-loaded pin enables the blade to reverse for right- and left-handed cutting.
Overall rating:
3.087 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product12 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product12 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Review 1 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
dcmikez
from Washington, DC

great saw

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was very happy to find this saw for $11 when I was being distracted by the $100 flush cut saws.
If you only have to cut a few jambs this is a great deal. I really like that the blade flips for righthand/lefthand cutting.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Precisionmachinist
from Kalama Wa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't bother.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a piece of junk, a waste of time and money, takes forever to "saw" through anything and it splinters your board so badly that I'm only half joking when I say a chainsaw would probably work better in the majority of cases.
You'd think that the engineers at Irwin would know that in order for a saw to cut on both push and pull strokes, it needs to have a crown like the old whip saws that lumberjacks use to use to cut down trees
Boo on them.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Jamie
from Waco, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cut Loose!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Irwin jamb saw was very reasonably priced and was the exact tool I needed for under-cutting molding before installing new resilient vinyl flooring. The raised, right-angle handle allows you to lay the blade flat on top of a sample of your flooring for cutting at the precise height needed--no need to bend the blade as you cut, no worries about scraping your knuckles/fingers while cutting. The blade can easily be swiveled (thanks to a spring-loaded locking pin), meaning you can cut with your right or left hand. This saves you from having to contort your body into small spaces because you can cut both sides of a closet jamb, for example, without getting inside the closet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, good design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Jacob
from Alabama

Dull

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not be fooled by the fact that this is labeled as a jam/dovetail saw. It absolutely will not cut a dovetail. It is terribly dull.
The handle is nice, and I can see how it would function as a jamb saw, if you had the time to hack at it for a while
I will be returning this immediately. It's a dull saw and it does not function for my purpose.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
juno
from ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not heavy duty as it says

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this saw and it was very dull, wouldn't even cut a piece of soft pine, not very sturdy, lacks quality,disappointed in irwin, thought they had better products.returned back to store.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Mpls

Decent for a few jambs

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The saw worked fine for the first few jambs that I cut, however after using it for the full day it dulled to the point of not being able to even cut through the wood. Also the lock that holds the hinging blade in comes undone when the saw sticks, which can be really annoying.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Grif
from Atlanta
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
With hand tools, it seems that you do get what you pay for. I'm a guy who will drop 70 bucks on a quality dovetail saw intended for fine woodworking, so I'm not sure what compelled me to get this thing. I think I was hoping to make use of it's alleged flush cutting ability, and the price seemed like a no-lose situation.
The design seems like a great idea for flush cutting, and the offset handle would allow you to better see your cut lines when making joinery, but the real issue here is that this thing is dull as bread. The handle is also not a good fit in the hand. Just not a pleasurable tool to use at all.
Thinking over the other products that I've bought from Irwin, I have to say that this manufacturer's products just don't seem to be of much quality overall and this saw is no exception.
If you are indeed looking to cut some joinery, I'd look at one of the Japanese pull saws HD sells. I've not used their brands but even the cheap Japanese saws I've used elsewhere sliced through hard woods scary fast and they aren't all that expensive.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Use, dull blade, uncomfortable in the hand
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Boss
from About 12 inches behind my steering wheel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good tool

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good tool for the money. Doesn't have a way to replace blade so I guess you just replace the tool.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Ronnie
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great feature and easy to use

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw is so easy to use. and it works great !! They show me how to use to measure and use the saw correctly in the store.
It made my job 1000 times easier.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Onerunner2
from Connecticut

Great tool for small jobs

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot sold two different undercut hand saws, this one and another that was in the flooring department that cost about $18. It was a no brainer to buy this one. Irwin is a brand that I tend to trust as I've had good experience with their tools. This one is no exception. The blade can move 180 degrees so you can cut left or right handed (or if you just need to cut in a specific location). I was glad to find this tool so cheep since I only needed to make two cuts in a door jamb for a hardwood floor install. It sure beat buying a more expensive saw or renting a power version for so few cuts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
natedawg
from Maine, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

save your money

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Saw came out of the box dull. After 3 cuts the handle snapped. Irwin just does not make a quality product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Joe1

Makes job more difficult

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spring pin that is supposed to hold the blade in place does not work. Every time the saw gets hung up a little bit, the blade pops out and has to be reset. This tool probably doubled the time it would take to saw jambs if I bought a better tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
hdpro

great jamb saw

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
love the spring clip to flip the blade either way, much easier to work with than the two sided pull saws.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, spring clip flip blade
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Buck
from Vallejo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great functional tool to do a specific job.

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sturdy comfortable handle. Saw is very sharp and cuts cleanly. Makes fairly quick work of removing part of a door frame when putting down hard wood floors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
fkaJames
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it's supposed to do

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good jamb saw - does the job. It flips from right- to left-handed with a simple click, which is nice (but also can be annoying because the flip-lock can come loose if the saw teeth get stuck in the jamb). For the price, a good tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Bromba
from NJ

Saw handle broke

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It broke after about 10 cuts and you will find it very dull. you get what you pay for...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Cheetah
from Hartford, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reversable feature makes for compact size. Needs tooth guard.

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This saw has what you need to cut jambs an dovetails. The reversible feature is nice since only one side has teeth. Needs a saw tooth guard however.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Light Weight
Cons: no tooth guard
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
tonyl13
from Sonoita AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice idea poor desige

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice idea but the spring button to hold the blade is useless
And yes the blade was DULL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
dvyjoneslocker

worthless

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used this saw one time. The saw was dull out of the box. blade does not stay in place when trying to cut. A complete waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Dovetail/Jamb Saw
Brian
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke quickly

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installing Pergo in the second room.
The handle broke.
I am on the phone with home depot now to see if it has a warranty.
Ok, lifetime warranty according to the store.
It's going back.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>