728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fasteners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold

Museum Putty- Collectors Hold

Museum Putty secures antiques, collectibles and more from falling and breaking. Pull off amount needed, roll it in your fingers until soft, apply to base of object. Lightly press object to surface. Remove by twisting and lifting from base. Comes off clean, works on most surfaces and walls.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
Review 1 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exactly as advertised

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Museum Putty has the texture of Silly Putty but is a bit stickier. I tested the putty on both the wooden surface of the display case in which I was placing bone china thimbles and on the thimbles themselves. The putty came off cleanly, without damaging the surfaces.
For my project, I was able to use a piece of putty smaller than a pea. Following the instructions, I rolled the tiny bit of putty on my palm until it became pliable. I formed a small coil, which I pushed down onto the wooden surface. Once the putty was in place, I gently pushed the thimble into the putty. The thimble did not move, until I intentionally remove it, as a test.
The thimbles are now firmly in place. I'm very pleased with the results.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Remove, rquires very little putty to do the job, doesn't hurt surfaces
Cons: wish it came in clear instead of white
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
from Fort Myers, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A perfect solution!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to secure some beautiful
antique figurines on my glass shelves. I saw this product in a catalog, but was shocked when I found it was available at Home Depot too! At a much better price, and no shipping fees to the store, it became a "no brainer". Works like a charm - no more worries about anything falling over or sliding off. Very simple to use. Thanks to Home Depot for coming through with what I needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold

Don't Move!

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love museum putty. It really adheres to the item and it keeps it in place. I used it on top of the toilet to hold a decorative ceramic piece in my kids bathroom. It's been there three years now and can you believe the item is still in one piece! It really does a great job and I would highly recommend it!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
from Hull
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've used this product before. If you have valuables and pets or kids, you'll love this stuff.

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a crystal vase that I "puttied" to the top of a table. The table was tipped over on it's side and the vase stayed attached to the tabletop...completely unharmed. Plus, it leaves no mark when you remove it, so it won't mar your valuables. Great stuff. You'll be ready for an earthquake or kidquake with this stuff
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Easy to Move
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for securing all sorts of items, especially precious breakables
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
from LosOsosCA

Perfect for my use

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to stabilize two ceramic items to our granite counter top. Easy, and seems to be solid yet removable.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
from Destin, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This work great for holding pictures in place.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our local Home Depot didn't carry this product so we ordered online and had it shipped to the store near us. It arrived on time and it was easy to pick up at the counter.
Pros: holds pictures in place
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Museum Putty- Collectors Hold
from Montrose, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hang Christmas lights straight!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this putty last Christmas and again this coming Christmas to hang C9 LED lights straight up and down outside our Church along the facia boards - make sure the surfaces are clean and dry. Yes, this stuff will hold pretty good through wind and rain (only needed to "repair" a few lights over the 4-week period). You want to hang lights straight easily without hassle, then this is your tool.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, works in the rain, works in the wind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.