728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

The Honeywell 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple includes universal adapter fittings and is compatible with screw-in, push-in or clamp-type pilot burners. It is designed for gas furnaces and 30 millivolt systems. The element is built for reliability and long life.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
Review 1 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect part and easy to install!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saved me over $100 in parts and labor! I found the effect art for $12 and was able to replace it perfectly and had hot water in 30 minutes! My wife and daughter think I'm "Mr. Fixit" now!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

best fit for my carier gas furnace

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it is very convenient to get this from a local store when i need rather than searching from the web and wait for a few days to have it arrived. one thing need to know is to adjust the tip 1/2" above the pilot light. otherwises, the pilot won't be able to maintain the light after you release the gas's button. recommended.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Water heater with no pilot light / thermo coupler fixes it

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water heater pilot light went out. I google the tutoring for replacing the thermo-couple,
and I was able to replace the thermo-coupler in my water heater, GE brand Model PG40T9XA. Since the thermo-coupler basically is a solid copper wire, a conductor with a thermo sensor at the end. It’s very simple to go to Home Depot and buying an UNIVERSAL THERMO coupler typical one of two sizes 24 inches or 36 inches. For example, My GE water heater has the thermo sensor / copper wire 15 inches long. However, I bought the universal thermo coupler 24 inches long at Home Depot and folding the extra copper wire / thermo sensor .
The point is we don’t have to find / to buy OEM manufacturing part for the exact length of the thermo coupler. An universal thermo couple works just fine.
Pros: Easy to Install
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from St Louis

Bradford White

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Bradford White 40 gallon water heater and found the pilot light out this morning when getting ready for work. I tried to clean up the old thermocouple with sandpaper, but to no use. I picked this up and had it installed and working in no time. This is a bit longer than the OE so I just put one coil in it before I hooked it up to take in the slack.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from lindy
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Try this FIRST, its cheap and easy!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Now I know... I went the old school method and bench tested everything with a multi-meter. still couldn't find the problem. I reviewed my issue online and found this to be the most common issue with this system. "pilot light goes out every time I release the button, never stays lit"... this product solves this problem for myself and many others. Try it first and if its not the problem it will be in the future so a little preventative maintenance never hurts.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Ada, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Shopping Made Simple

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The thermocouple was/it great. Was easy to install and fixed the problem I've been having with my hot water heater.
Pros: Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just as shown

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product fit perfectly and I choose to use the shorter length so there wasn't so much extra wiring to mess with.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

It worked!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The universal Thermocoupler worked perfect. My hot water heater was not the same name brand as the Thermocoupler, but it works!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

Good Design. Quick Install

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This universal was easier to install than the original design. This part has a separate mounting assembly from the sensor, which made it easier to install past a tight fitting corner.
I woke up on a cold morning to no heat. Pilot was out. Tried relighting pilot several times. It would ignite everytime, but once I let off the pilot button it would go out. A quick trip to my local Home Depot and 15-20 minute install later and we have heat again!
Save some $ and do this one yourself.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted less than a month! Find another brand somewhere!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this on 10/28/13, installed it a few days later, and the thermocouple died on 11/25/13. I was extremely careful during the install to not crimp or put any sharp bends during the install.
Cons: not reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

Works

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works well, but it was a bear to get it installed. I have installed other thermal couplers before with little issue. In there others, the thermal coupler and the housing was two separate parts which made it easier to work the height of the sensor to flame. This being one piece made it a bit more difficult to install. The other versions took 15 minutes to install and 5 to test to make sure everything was working properly. This version took me 30 min with 5 mins testing.
Pros: works properly
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

easy peasy lemon squeezy

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great on a GE (Rheem) water heater. In fifteen minutes I was out of hot water with my wife and into hot water in the shower. You gotta love it!
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Replacement

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This universal thermo couple was easy to install. It worked perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no cons.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Cadillac, MI 49601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product was easy to install

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a plumber but the repair I made with this thermocouple was fast and easy, even for me a non directions kind of installer guy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple

this product is a great solution for a simple heating repair.

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
24 IN. UNIVERSAL GAS THERMOCOUPLE works as advertised.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another one to add to the short term failure list

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the Honeywell one about 2 months ago, and it has failed. Interesting, Home Depot no longer has the Honeywell ones, they are usint Reem now. Perhaps they had an issue with them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked well for me

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Though the package says the swap would take only 15 minutes, don't believe it, especially if you have to take apart the housing (refer to the manual). It took about an hour for me to pull out the parts after diagnosing the problem where my pilot light would soon go off after lighting and running for awhile then going out again (a 5+ year old Whirlpool water heater). Anyway this 24" was just the right side (with flexibility to making it "shorter" should you have to get it closer. Getting a repair person to do the job probably would have cost over a $100 to do, but googling and youtubing helped me save lots of money on this fix.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Water Heater Fix

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pilot light on my water heater went out and after watching an online video I decided to try and replace the thermocouple myself. The instructions were clear but I would recommend watching a video as well. This was an easy fix.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from morris cty nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quality product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have tried multiple brands of this product and none have the longevity of Honeywell. Home Depot always does their homework and chooses the best products for us.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Hayward, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace the thermocouple for my gas water heater because the pilot light won't stay on. Worked like a champ. The only disconcerting thing is that the casing for the thermocouple looks used (scorched or burned marks), but I suppose that it is due to testing at the factory. All the thermocouples on the shelf had similar burned marks.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>