728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit

1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit

The Ryobi 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit includes a 1/2 in. single-sleeve keyless chuck with spindle lock for easy bit changing and 2-speed transmission and 24-position clutch for high-torque applications. The kit also includes two 18-volt Ni-Cad ONE+ batteries and a 1-hour diagnostic charger and bag. The drill features a 1,600 RPM speed with variable speed settings to accommodate each job you tackle.
Overall rating:
4.483 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product162 of 175reviews
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(129)
4
(29)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product162 of 175reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Review 1 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Axekick

Great for the homeowner

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill for the homeowner and beyond that I have not tested it.
It has more than sufficient power and is comfortable in the hand. Both of the included batteries hold a charge well, the charger functions as ex[ected and the carrying bag is a perfect shape & size to accommodate the drill, batteries and charger.
I have owned mine for a couple years but rarely use it more than 90 minutes in any given month. The batteries remained charged between uses.
I came close to buying a higher end drill but took a gamble on this tool after holding it in my hand. Now I am glad I did because my second option cost three times as much.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit

Right tool for DIYers

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a homeowner who only does basic projects around the house this turned out to be a great buy. I debated getting a much more expensive drill from a different brand but didn't think the costs would be worth it.
I can't begin to list the different kinds of projects / tasks this drill has gotten me through all these years. A lack of power has never been an issue.
The one downside is that it is heavy (compared to other drills I have demoed in the HD store). I recently was installing some gutters and holding the drill over my head got to be tiresome after a while. With that said, it is still my go to powertool!
Pros: Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
eedrapa
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Decent Drill at a great price

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I go through at least one cordless drill per year...I never replace the batteries as it's cheaper to replace the whole drill usually.
I bought this drill to replace another that had worn out batteries. I've tried most of the big brands and have found that the life span of the batteries is about the same.
That's why I chose the Ryobi because of it's price point.
It has decent power and torque, not as much as my other 18V but it costs half as much.
I've only owned it for a month so I'm interested to see how it will hold up with daily use in a cabinet shop.
The only thing I dislike (besides the obvious extra weight of a NiCad), is the one piece chuck. It's tough to tighten down on round bits and my magnetic bit holder often falls out. This wouldn't be an issue with a two piece chuck.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
ToolboyNC
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

P850 Drill Kit: Great Value

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit comes with a P204 drill, a P115 IntelliPort 1-hour fast charger, two P100 batteries, and a bag. This is all you need to do some serious work.
The P204 drill is well balanced in the hand with a P100 battery. It's comfortable to hold and very powerful.
The P115 IntelliPort charger won't overcharge your battery. So there's no need to rush over and unplug the battery when the charger indicates a full charge. Heck, go ahead and leave a battery plugged in at all times and it'll be ready when you are.
Two P100 NiCD batteries are included in this kit. So use one while the other is charging and you'll never be without power.
One of the best parts about this kit is that everything is backwards and forwards compatible with the other One+ tools, so once you own this kit you can start acquiring some of the other 50 or more One+ tools that run on the same 18v battery.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
arson94

Great quality and value

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi 1/2" 18V drill has worked great for me for several years now. I fully charged the batteries when I first received them to make sure they were good. I only have to use this drill every couple of months and the batteries retain enough juice over that time to do what I need. I've only used the drill for jobs around the house. I have not constructed a deck with it or anything, but I have replace a few boards on a deck with it over the years. I use all kinds of random drill bits I find unsorted in my collection. This is a very handy drill and has been a great purchase for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Mass01
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The battery lasts long

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own mostly Ryobi products. Dependable and easy to use, not to mention the price. Had to invest in a new one because after 12 years of my 12 volt I decided to upgrade.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Anonymous
from Fairfax, VA

Read the manual before installing bits

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They stopped making batteries for my 13.2V Black & Decker drill so I checked the drill reviews on this website. Since there was only one negative review and an excellent overall rating I purchased this drill kit.
Page 8 of the manual says that the first step in installing bits is to "Lock the switch trigger by placing the direction of rotation switch in the center position." When in the center position the chuck turns a little then locks so the bit can be tightly secured. If you Install a bit with the switch in the forward or reverse position then you will have the same problems that Gary1985 mentions in his review.
I like everything about this kit. The drill is powerful and seems well designed. It even has a small magnetic tray to hold bits and screws while you are working. The charger does not look like the one in the picture at the time I am writing this. The label calls it an "IntelliPort Charging System". It tests the batteries before charging and has an Energy Save Mode. Two LEDs show the state of the battery and the current charging mode. The bag holds all the items in the kit with room for all my bits.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
JDathome
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the money!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy bit changing, high torque and two batteries. Batteries charge quickly. I have been updating my deck and this drill has done it all. I especially like the magnetic area on it. Holds my long screws for me, so I don't have to. Just drill and grab the next screw! Great feature.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Iceman

Excellent product, easy to use, convenient carry bag

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this item because my previous one broke after several years. Most drills only come with one battery this one came with two. Therefore you could continue to work while the other is charging. Convenient carry/storage bag stores the drill and both batteries easily.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
maxndon
from Ottertail, Mn

Ryobi Products

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I already have several Ryobi tools that require the 18V batteries and although I did not really need another cordless drill I did need some new batteries. In my opinion the weak point in their whole system are the NiCad batteries. To replace some batteries that no longer would hold a charge over night or would not operate a tool very long I bought this pkg which I feel was a good deal.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
RobS
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Great Drill

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this after as it was cheaper than replacing the batteries in my 12volt Makita that I've had for 10 years. I was a little hesitant, but have been nothing but happy with it. Battery charges quickly and holds a charge even when not in use.
I used this for a bathroom remodel and had no issues with screwing in cement board, or even using it to mix concrete and grout.
The drill has plenty of power and haven't found any major issues yet. I haven't tried any of the other tools yet for the set, but if they work as well as the drill I may be getting adding to the collection very soon.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Gutterman
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Drills are tough

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using Ryobi 18 volt drills in my commercial and residential gutter business for over 15 years. This drill has served me well. I am currently using some batteries that are 6 years old and I use them on a daily basis. I have never been disappointed in Ryobi. I run up to 1000 screws a day. I normall get 5 years out of a drill no kidding. I highly recommended them.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Jimmie
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Rep sent out new replacement drill.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally had trouble with the trigger on this cordless drill that I had used only a couple hrs but a Ryobi Rep contacted me and very nicely sent out a new replacement drill. I will return the old drill so they can investigate the failure. Obviously the company truly does care and wants the customer to be happy. I thank him and Ryobi for that.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, company really cares
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
th00088

Like the drill but the Batt's are sub standard

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned Ryobi products for years----for the money they perform reasonable well. One criticism I have is lately the batteries appear to be sub standard compared to previous batt's. After a few cycle times their operating time is substantially reduced.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: batteries don't last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Raffie
from north louisianna
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so far a good drill

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this same drill with a set about three years ago. It has been a good drill. I wish the batteries lasted longer, but they last as long as any Ridged or Dewalt. They are a whole lot cheaper in price. I needed new batteries. It cost $9 more to buy a new drill with two batteries than to buy two batteries, I opted to pay the $9. I purchased a third drill with two batteries recently for $80. new batteries were $59 each. You do the math.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
FullMonty
from Glenville, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Drill

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great drill, I've had it several years now. My 1+ batteries are starting to not hold charges well, but everything's several years old. Drill has a lot of power, and two speeds to choose from. I recommend having at least 2 batteries, they charge quickly and it's handy to have one fully charged ready to go if the 1st one dies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Byrdman
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Value priced quality the Ryobi supplies.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Actually didn't need another drill, the purchase price included two batteries, charger and drill for less than replacement cost of batteries. The extra drill was a plus with carring bag! Excellent balance. User friendly.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
NewYorker
from Thompsonville, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love The Drill.. but

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the drill, bought one.... but the batteries stink. They don't want to hold a charge anymore, didn't last as long as I would have liked. 60 bucks for two batts is kinda high, considering I spent 90 for the drill, charger, 2 batts and a bag at home depot before the sale
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
TPMotorsports
from North Carolina

Long Lasting, Great Product

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had a drill like this since about 2002ish. It was used for our race team and has really been put to the test. This gun has been beaten up day in and day out and it just keeps on running. Gun has great torque with the 18V battery. The batteries on my old gun were wore out and it was cheaper to buy a new gun with two batteries than a replacement battery, however now I have two strong drills! The new gun looks to be just as good as the old one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Stimpy

The drills make a loud sound whenever they stop spinning

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these for work. They seem to be functional. But they also seem to be cheaper than other Ryobi's I have had in the past. Of particular concern is I noticed that when you release the trigger and the drill stops spinning, it sounds like it is slamming to a halt. It makes me wander what the longevity will be for these drills. I've had a lot of Ryobi products, for over ten years now, and all of them except a weed trimmer are still in service. The only reason I gave up the battery powered weed trimmer was the cost to replace the battery after 5 years was almost as much as the trimmer itself.
In general, I find that Ryobi makes pretty good stuff at very reasonable prices. Only time will tell how well these two drills hold up. They are used for light duty so maybe it won't matter and they'll live a long time.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>