728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED

Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED

Stand up to rough weather with the Toro Power Max 726 OE 2-Stage 26 in. Snow Blower. With a dual-stage design, 26 in. clearing width and 21-1/2 in. intake height, this snow blower is ideal for larger jobs, and 6 forward speeds and 2 reverse speeds let you choose the right speed for the conditions. The expanded chute base and inverted, funnel-shaped design helps prevent snow buildup, and the interlock systems allows for 1-handed operation, so you can change the speed or the direction of the chute without stopping.
Overall rating:
4.646 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product150 of 154reviews
Rating Breakdown 158 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(114)
4
(37)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product150 of 154reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Plainville, Ct

Like the Power Max

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the snow blower very much once I got it together. I had it put together in about 20 minutes or so, but it wouldn't move when putting into gear. After playing around for about another 25 minutes I looked down at the wheels when in gear and found the axle was turning but not grabbing the wheels. That is when I realized the wheels didn't have the pins in them to grab, they were on the outside of the wheel in the holes(nothing in the instructions that I noticed about that). Once I fixed that it moved along perfectly. Cannot believe how high and far it throws the snow, love it. With the safety features it has, it took a little to get used to.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Barnegat NJ

Toro Powermax 726 OE

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
36 inches of snow and my old, tired Snapper snowblower just couldnt make the grade anymore. While I was standing at the Home Depot tool rental / parts counter trying to locate replacement parts I saw the tractor trailer full of snowthrowers arrive like a sign from the heavens. I have been researching snowthrowers for about a year or two in anticipation of replacing the Snapper. I bought the Toro Powermax 726 which got good reviews. I was hesitant because 24 hours would go by from the snow ending to me using the snowthrower causing the snow to settle and freeze, becoming heavy and slushy. I brought the Toro home and assembled it in about an hour. The joystick control shaft gave me a little trouble because it was about an inch and a half too long. I loosened the upper handlebar and aligned the shafts then retightened everything. If I had it assembled at Home Depot this would have been already worked out. If you do it yourself, remember to align the cotter pins in the axle from freewheeling holes to the drive holes before using. Simple, but I wish it was documented in the Toro assembly manual.
Next morning came, I was ready for business. I double checked everything and started it manually, I was suprised how quiet it was. It ate the 36 inch high snow with no problem. The Toro Powerrmax quickly and effortlessly moved the sludged down snow that had been plowed from the local Road department, which normally clogs the discharge chute. My neighbors came out to see what was throwing this snow around. Three of them have other brand name snow throwers but were impressed at how the Toro auger system chewed the blocks into a fine powder and thew it an impressive 30 - 40 feet. One of my neighbors made me realize what a durable machine the Toro was when he offered me a packet of shear pins. I told him the auger had grade three bolts, he was shocked.
One of the reviews I had read was that the Toro used more gas than other similiar snowthrowers. I didnt find it excessive. I used the Toro for about 4 solid hours and cleared alot of snow. I didnt have to but I refilled it at the end. Clean up was easy as it should be for a new machine, but there werent any crevices or spots where the snow would sit and over years would rust or rot. Looking at the machine, maintainence seems to have been developed by DIY'ers as opposed to engineers who never touched a tool in thier life. I couldnt be happier with my purchase. Kudos to Home Depot for pricing it at the lower end of the retail scale. I would like to see Toro include a suitable 8-12 foot extension cord with the machine to really make the purchase perfect. I will post again if anything changes.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Westminster, Maryland

Saved my back

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We moved to Westminster last year, in the middle of all the hugh snow storms. The common drive for the three houses off the main road is over 200yds, up hill!!!! My driveway is big enough to hold 8-10 cars. We were snowed in last year. So we made sure we got the right equipment this year. The Toro Power Max 26in snow blower, just plowed right through the snow!!! The last storm of about 12", NO PROBLEM!!! Took care of my drive and the common drive and had no problems coming back up the hill back to the house. And made it to work, that day, NO LEAVE USED! Thanks
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from St. Paul, MN

Perfect for me

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this snow blower a day before a storm dumped 7 inches of snow on us, and I'm really glad I did. The blower worked great. It had no trouble clearing the snow, including the boulders at the end of the driveway where the snow plow had been. It throws snow a good distance, at least 30 to 40 feet. I like the gearing as well. There are slow speeds for clearing dense patches of snow and faster speeds for light snow or for transporting the blower to a new location. I liked it so much I did my driveway and my neighbor's too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Prior Lake, Mn

I love it

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad was a Toro guy and I think he passed it on to me. I bought a used Toro snowblower from my dad in 1993 and it lasted until 2010 (when I decided I wanted a new one). In Minnesota, we had our first snow storm in mid Nov. and I decided to buy a new one. I went to Home Depot and saw this one for $999. but it didnt include delivery. I went to the website and the delivery was free and it was the same price. So I ordered it on a Saturday and the next week it was delivered.
The assembly was really easy - there is a quick 3 page sheet but I suggest pulling out the owners manual as it does a better job explaining what needs to be done.
You really only are told to attach the handle bars and the rods for the chute, etc. What they DONT tell you is that you may need to put the cotter pins in on the wheels. If you get it all assembled and it starts but the wheels dont engage, you will need to remove the cotter pins on the wheels and then turn the wheels to align them with the holes and replace the cotter pins.
We just had 13 inches of snow today and this blower started right up and blew through the snow like it was no big deal. I love this and will remain a Toro guy! Its just the right size for my mid-sized driveway and sidewalk. The step up from this really only had a slightly bigger pathway and a headlight (which is practically useless unless you are out in the country where there are no street lights). Save the extra few hundred bucks and go with this one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED

Toro power max 726 oe

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ordered online, recieved within 5 business days.Excellent deliver and recieved with no damage.Assembly was about 30 mins with do problems and started up great.Electric starter is excellent...Only issue as was pointed out is that if u purchase it UNASSEMBLED the traction drive may not be engauged when u activate it....If u can push / pull with ease then u need to move the ***COTTER Pin *** on both wheels so that it engauges the axil...IT IS NOT STATED IN THE MANUAL......
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA

Good product, bad assembly instructions

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
- Clears snow well (including packed snow)
- Excellent throwing distance
- Starts easily and propels itself easily on a rather steep driveway
- I love the joystick chute
Cons
- As stated by numerous reviewers, the assembly instructions leave out an important step (cotter pin on the axel). Having read other reviews, I knew what to look for. Even the TORO website's FAQ doesn't mention this omission.
- A bit tough to manoever
- The chute is plastic -- but marketed as "stronger than steel" -- I hope that's close to being true
Overall, this is a great snowblower. I have already recommended it to my friends. The delivery process was painless. Estes, the delivery company, even brought the box right into my garage.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Snowy Boston

Excelleant

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is able to cut thru snowbanks and throw the snow a great distance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Detroit MI

Great Buy

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The nickname we use for this snow thrower is the ANJ ain't no joke. We can blow two driveways and walkways Plus 3 walkways in less than an hour. This machine is worth every penny! It is easy to maneuver.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Savage, MN

Toro 26" Snowblower

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I broke down and bought my first snowblower being this Toro model during a 20" snowstorm. We had drifts of well over 3 feet in our driveway and this snowblower had no trouble with it. The snowblower starts on the first pull almost every time (as long as you remember to turn on the gas line) and also has an electric start. The Toro Power Max system gets the most out of the 205cc engine as any excess snow not taken in through the 2nd stage thrower is dropped back into the auger so it bogs down much less than others without this technology. I am very happy with the purchase and now love it when it snows.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Maple Grove, MN

Works Great

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love this snow blower, easy to setup, just remember to engage the wheels using the provided pins. This is still not in the manual.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED

LOL How Far The Snow Can Be Thrown

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As everyone knows the winter of 2010-2011 is the worse one we have had in a long time and i lived through the one in 1978.That being said we heeded a snowblower desperately so we bought the Toro Power Max 726OE are we happy you better believe it what a machine.Go to Youtube and search richpin56 and take a look at the small clip i made of my father in action.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, NY

Wheel Pins

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please see my email to Toro and their kind response:
From: SThomas
To: Consumer Service - Toro
Subject: SnowBlower Model 38614
I bought a machine from Home Depot delivered directly from Toro last month.
If anyone from Toro just takes a minute to scroll thru home depot website’s customer reviews of this product; they will realize that almost everyone is happy with the product, but at the same time people are so disappointed that your assembly instruction doesn’t inform them about putting the cotter pins in the axle and tires. Since you sent it out from the factory in freewheeling position.
After all these customer complaints about it still you send out the machines without correcting the assembly instruction. Is that supposed to be a joke on a customer who bought a $1,000 machine?
Thanks,
SThomas
--------------------------------------------
Thank you for your input regarding the wheel pins. We will direct your comments to the publications area.
Machines ship without the wheels pinned to the axle so they easily move out of the package. With the pins in place, fuel must be added to the machine to move it from the package. However, we will suggest adding this information in the set up process.
Again, thank you for your input.
Supervisor, Customer Relations
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Exeter, NH

Good Bye Shoveling

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My neighbor has a Toro he bought 30+ years ago and he's still using it today (he was helping me out this season before I bought a snowblower for myself). Impressed by the longevity I decided to go Toro as well.
Ordered from Home Depot with Free Shipping (via Estes). Estes provided an estimated delivery date and snow blower arrived on time.
Even better it arrived a day before a big snowstorm that blew in with nearly a foot of snow.
Installation was pretty straightforward. The only gotcha has been mentioned in other reviews (so I was prepared for it) with the wheels. The wheels will ship to you in FreeWheeling mode. Remove the cotter pin on each wheel and put back in place through holes and the axle. Then you can take advantage of the drive modes.
Have had two big snows in two weeks and this machine has performed like a dream. Chews threw the snow and throws it with ease. I so far consider this machine worth every penny and have no regrets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Gray, ME, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good American-made product.

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted an American made product, including the engine. Toro (a Minnesota company) has always pleased me with its lawnmowers. The snowblower is also very good, so far. It can handle very wet, heavy snow conditions with its anti-clog feature. I was a bit nervous about a plastic discharge chute, but theirs has a lifetime warranty....you can't beat that. The engine is Briggs and Stratton so parts availability should be good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best snowblower I''ve owned!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just used it yesterday on very heavy snow...piece of cake!! The anti clog is outstanding and electric starts with a touch. I've owned 3 top rated snowblowers, this is the best. Wisconsin winters are no longer a problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Dillingha, Alaska
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Build Alaska tough !

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just got it ship today, not a day late. We just got about 6" today. It went right through it without any trouble, love the multiple speed, you can adjust to the snow in front of you. Climes up a 35 degree with a little ice on it without any trouble at all. Could use more power, but for the price it can't be beat ! It is made for paved driveways, but have found it work great even over gravel roads (watch out for the flying rocks though). I would recommend this blower to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Longville, MN 56655, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This snowblower is rugged and is the right size to remove major snow but yet its not cumbersome.

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snowblower has plenty of power and will cut through snow and drifts a foot deep and doesn't bog down one bit. I even removed a three foot ridge made by a snow plow and the blower ate right through it. If you follow the starting instruction it will start on the first pull so I haven't even had to use the electric start except for the first day that I got the blower just trying features out. I really liked the home delivery from Home Depot and getting it delivered right to my door.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, New York, USA

Ready for Winter with this made in the USA product !

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a lot of research and much hesitation, I finally broke down and purchased the Toro Power Mas 726OE. It is an amazing piece of equipment. It was delivered in less than one week from ordering on line. It was assembled in less than one hour, just take the time to review the assembly directions found on the Toro web site prior to delivery. As many others have noted make a special note of how to engage and disengage the drive wheels, use a fuel stablilizer in fresh fuel for your new snowblower. And of course I am glad that my hard earned money was spent on a USA made product keeping Americans employed at Toro. One thing is for sure now that I have this machine, I will not shovel another winter away again, it is most likely not going to snow this winter at all, now that I have this machine. Enjoy the piece of mind I now have, knowing this machine is ready to go should the big storm hit.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from hamburg,ny

good price,good running machine

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i had a toro 826 xl that was bought in 1999.still runs great.only put 2 belts and one bushing in all those years,but decided to get a new one and i stuck with toro..it is funny..the internet says 999.00.but when i went to the store, it was going for 949.00..then i used my lowes 10% off anything card which home depot accepts and the price as 854.10 plus tax which came out to 928.83..it was already put together and i started it when i got home..my old toro was great, so i will hopefully have the same results with this machine..
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>