728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED

Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED

Stand up to rough weather with the Toro Power Max 726 OE 2-Stage 26 in. Snow Blower. With a dual-stage design, 26 in. clearing width and 21-1/2 in. intake height, this snow blower is ideal for larger jobs, and 6 forward speeds and 2 reverse speeds let you choose the right speed for the conditions. The expanded chute base and inverted, funnel-shaped design helps prevent snow buildup, and the interlock systems allows for 1-handed operation, so you can change the speed or the direction of the chute without stopping.
Overall rating:
4.627 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product152 of 157reviews
Rating Breakdown 161 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(116)
4
(37)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product152 of 157reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Barnegat NJ

Toro Powermax 726 OE

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
36 inches of snow and my old, tired Snapper snowblower just couldnt make the grade anymore. While I was standing at the Home Depot tool rental / parts counter trying to locate replacement parts I saw the tractor trailer full of snowthrowers arrive like a sign from the heavens. I have been researching snowthrowers for about a year or two in anticipation of replacing the Snapper. I bought the Toro Powermax 726 which got good reviews. I was hesitant because 24 hours would go by from the snow ending to me using the snowthrower causing the snow to settle and freeze, becoming heavy and slushy. I brought the Toro home and assembled it in about an hour. The joystick control shaft gave me a little trouble because it was about an inch and a half too long. I loosened the upper handlebar and aligned the shafts then retightened everything. If I had it assembled at Home Depot this would have been already worked out. If you do it yourself, remember to align the cotter pins in the axle from freewheeling holes to the drive holes before using. Simple, but I wish it was documented in the Toro assembly manual.
Next morning came, I was ready for business. I double checked everything and started it manually, I was suprised how quiet it was. It ate the 36 inch high snow with no problem. The Toro Powerrmax quickly and effortlessly moved the sludged down snow that had been plowed from the local Road department, which normally clogs the discharge chute. My neighbors came out to see what was throwing this snow around. Three of them have other brand name snow throwers but were impressed at how the Toro auger system chewed the blocks into a fine powder and thew it an impressive 30 - 40 feet. One of my neighbors made me realize what a durable machine the Toro was when he offered me a packet of shear pins. I told him the auger had grade three bolts, he was shocked.
One of the reviews I had read was that the Toro used more gas than other similiar snowthrowers. I didnt find it excessive. I used the Toro for about 4 solid hours and cleared alot of snow. I didnt have to but I refilled it at the end. Clean up was easy as it should be for a new machine, but there werent any crevices or spots where the snow would sit and over years would rust or rot. Looking at the machine, maintainence seems to have been developed by DIY'ers as opposed to engineers who never touched a tool in thier life. I couldnt be happier with my purchase. Kudos to Home Depot for pricing it at the lower end of the retail scale. I would like to see Toro include a suitable 8-12 foot extension cord with the machine to really make the purchase perfect. I will post again if anything changes.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Savage, MN

Great Product

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have only used this product twice, but great so far.
Was easy to assemble upon receipt, easy to start (pull not electric, though it comes with electric starter), and easy to use.
I replaced a smaller Murray with this snowblower, which has a larger engine and bigger inlet. My Murray would die when I hit the large snow banks left by the snowplows unless I worked it very slow. This snowblower was able to get through those snow banks much easier. I have nothing to compare an eveen larger snowblower with, but assume they would be better, but at a significantly higher price.
I am 6'1" and 240 lbs, and can handle this quite easily. My smaller wife, 5' and 100 lbs has some difficulty, but no more than she had with the smaller Murray. I know she doesn't have to work as hard with this one, though it is a litle more difficult for her to turn the blower around and head the other direction. This is mostly due to the weight of the blower, not that there is a problem with maneuvering the blower.
This system will lock in the snow auger while the unit is still moving and allow changing the direction of the output. Great feature, especially if you want to change the direction the snow is being blown because the wind is causing the snow to come back in your face.
The controls are all on the top and within easy reach while operating the unit. The controls that are used during the starting process are also within easy reach making starting equally easy.
Using the directions in the handbook, push the primer button 3 times for cold weather, and the unit starts on the first pull. (Not true during my initial start because the system had no fuel.) Since the initial start, which was done without use and after assembly, the unit has started on the first pull, even at -16F.
I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a snowblower in an area that gets a lot of snow, such as MN. Not sure that if I still lived in CO, that I would recommend this, as it is a rather large machine. Would be good for any blizzard though, regardless of where you are.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Prior Lake, Mn

I love it

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad was a Toro guy and I think he passed it on to me. I bought a used Toro snowblower from my dad in 1993 and it lasted until 2010 (when I decided I wanted a new one). In Minnesota, we had our first snow storm in mid Nov. and I decided to buy a new one. I went to Home Depot and saw this one for $999. but it didnt include delivery. I went to the website and the delivery was free and it was the same price. So I ordered it on a Saturday and the next week it was delivered.
The assembly was really easy - there is a quick 3 page sheet but I suggest pulling out the owners manual as it does a better job explaining what needs to be done.
You really only are told to attach the handle bars and the rods for the chute, etc. What they DONT tell you is that you may need to put the cotter pins in on the wheels. If you get it all assembled and it starts but the wheels dont engage, you will need to remove the cotter pins on the wheels and then turn the wheels to align them with the holes and replace the cotter pins.
We just had 13 inches of snow today and this blower started right up and blew through the snow like it was no big deal. I love this and will remain a Toro guy! Its just the right size for my mid-sized driveway and sidewalk. The step up from this really only had a slightly bigger pathway and a headlight (which is practically useless unless you are out in the country where there are no street lights). Save the extra few hundred bucks and go with this one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, NY

Wheel Pins

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please see my email to Toro and their kind response:
From: SThomas
To: Consumer Service - Toro
Subject: SnowBlower Model 38614
I bought a machine from Home Depot delivered directly from Toro last month.
If anyone from Toro just takes a minute to scroll thru home depot website’s customer reviews of this product; they will realize that almost everyone is happy with the product, but at the same time people are so disappointed that your assembly instruction doesn’t inform them about putting the cotter pins in the axle and tires. Since you sent it out from the factory in freewheeling position.
After all these customer complaints about it still you send out the machines without correcting the assembly instruction. Is that supposed to be a joke on a customer who bought a $1,000 machine?
Thanks,
SThomas
--------------------------------------------
Thank you for your input regarding the wheel pins. We will direct your comments to the publications area.
Machines ship without the wheels pinned to the axle so they easily move out of the package. With the pins in place, fuel must be added to the machine to move it from the package. However, we will suggest adding this information in the set up process.
Again, thank you for your input.
Supervisor, Customer Relations
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey

Review of Toro Power Max 2-Stage 26 in. SnowBlower

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Machine had to be assembled when it shipped to me. The instructions on the box say not to open the carton completely before the assembly. WRONG-you cannot get the instructions as they buried deep inside the auger chamber. I am very handy and thought I should have no issues.
The help phone number on the box is totally wrong. Next, the instructions and pictures are horrible. Had to download the service manual to figure it out. Next, the speed control linkage instructions tells you to adjust the angle of the lower lever all the way up and adjust the trunnion accordingly. WRONG again, the axles would run in the wrong speed selector position. Next the blower is shipped in free-wheeling position and do not tell you how to engage the wheels to the axle with the pin.Had to call the help line 3 times during this whole mess.
A colleague ordered an Ariens, and it came assembled from the factory. I have to say that the user experience so far is DISMAL. The engine started OK and it seems that otherwise the blower will operate as advertised but time will tell. Home depot was perfect in the order and delivery processes.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Central New Jersey

Very Good Buy

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My single stage Toro CCR 2500 GTS finally died after 10 years of service on a 60 foot long driveway. So because the old Toro snow blower did so much work for so long I decided to upgrade to the Toro 38614 two stage blower. It arrived in a big box by truck freight and was dropped in my garage by the driver. All I had to do was assemble the handle, cables and adjust the forward and reverse lever. Then I removed some of the air from the tires as they are overinflated at the factory. The blower comes with oil in it and I added gas. Fired up on the first shot. We had 18” of snow the following week and the Toro 38614 fired up on the first shot and went right through it. It even chewed through the old ice/snow mix at the end of the driveway. I wound up doing all my neighbors driveways because their single stage blowers just could not handle the amount of snow. I do recommend the two stage blower for these heavy snows. The Toro 38614 is the way to go if you have the space to store it and can afford it. So far after two snows I really like this machine and the Home Depot free delivery was great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, NY

Excellent Power

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got the free delivery via Estes last month. Happy with the delivery and installation. I am not very smart when it comes to any assembly… so it took me two hours !! I had some gas in the container that I bought last summer and I poured that in the tank; which I realized it was a big mistake.
I used it in last week's 16 in snow. People from across the street who started with single stage and shovels early morning were staring at me when I stat cranking this stuff around 8am. I could clear my driveway and walkway in just one ride. Didnt had to come back to the same spot. Only when I did the front of driveway ploughed & packed snow I had to do it in a few steps. I ended up doing it for my four neighbors. Hoping for another one foot plus snow…
I am giving it only 4 stars because of two things:
1. It is too difficult to turn this machine since it doesnt have any clutch.
2. I think Toro was too cheap in not installing a headlight in a $1000 machine.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Exeter, NH

Good Bye Shoveling

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My neighbor has a Toro he bought 30+ years ago and he's still using it today (he was helping me out this season before I bought a snowblower for myself). Impressed by the longevity I decided to go Toro as well.
Ordered from Home Depot with Free Shipping (via Estes). Estes provided an estimated delivery date and snow blower arrived on time.
Even better it arrived a day before a big snowstorm that blew in with nearly a foot of snow.
Installation was pretty straightforward. The only gotcha has been mentioned in other reviews (so I was prepared for it) with the wheels. The wheels will ship to you in FreeWheeling mode. Remove the cotter pin on each wheel and put back in place through holes and the axle. Then you can take advantage of the drive modes.
Have had two big snows in two weeks and this machine has performed like a dream. Chews threw the snow and throws it with ease. I so far consider this machine worth every penny and have no regrets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from New York

Great Snowblower

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first snowblower and I had the opportunity to use it twice already. Plows the snow like plowing thru butter, All I had to do is walk behind it and allow the machine to do the work. The instructions were easy to follow during setup BUT with one problem. The instructions DO NOT tell you the wheels need to be fastened by a cotter pin. It is extremely easy to do, but they leave that out in the instructions. So after the machine was assembled, (most of the machine is ready to go, light assembly required,) I spent two hours trying to figure out what i did wrong. It turns out I did nothing wrong, the wheels needed to be locked in place with the supplied cotter pins. Leaving that out of the instructions is a huge over site. After, figuring that out, the machine works beautifully, with just one pull of the rope, it starts right up. Highly recommended, but be aware of the wheel assembly.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, New York, USA

Ready for Winter with this made in the USA product !

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a lot of research and much hesitation, I finally broke down and purchased the Toro Power Mas 726OE. It is an amazing piece of equipment. It was delivered in less than one week from ordering on line. It was assembled in less than one hour, just take the time to review the assembly directions found on the Toro web site prior to delivery. As many others have noted make a special note of how to engage and disengage the drive wheels, use a fuel stablilizer in fresh fuel for your new snowblower. And of course I am glad that my hard earned money was spent on a USA made product keeping Americans employed at Toro. One thing is for sure now that I have this machine, I will not shovel another winter away again, it is most likely not going to snow this winter at all, now that I have this machine. Enjoy the piece of mind I now have, knowing this machine is ready to go should the big storm hit.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Lake Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with performance & reliability

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For over two years now I have owned the next model up- 826 OXE and have had no problems with it. Based on my experience with the 826 model, I purchased the 726 OE for our company. It has yet to snow this year, but I expect the same stellar performance from this very similar model. The Toro's are well balanced and easy to handle, in my opinion. Last season my 13 yr. old daughter cleared 26 inches of snow from our 75 foot driveway without any trouble. (first time she'd ever used the machine). I prefer to use the pull-start, which is easy to pull. My wife and daughter use the electric start feature. It has not failed to start, and has not quit/stalled when clearing heavy snow. The stick control for the chute is very easy to use and the plastic components have not broken. The throwing distance is quite far- I have to be careful not to put snow in my neighbor's driveway.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Kenton, DE

Toro Power Max 38614

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this snow blower at the beginning of the 2011 snow season. After what happened to the east coast last year, my back couldn't take another year shoveling. I purchased through HomeDepot.com and it couldn't have been easier. Within a week of my order, my new Toro was delivered. Man this Toro is a dream. For a change, the setup instructions were clear cut and within 45 minutes I had my Toro gassed and ready to blow. Even though it comes with electric start, one pull and I was up and running. The controls are intuitive and I couldn't be happier. Fortunately, not a big snow person growing up in San Diego, I've only had the chance to use it once so far this year. However, it's a quality built Toro so I'm sure I'll have many years of use ahead of me. BOTTOM LINE: If you're looking for a 2-stage snow blower.............BUY IT! As I said, HomeDepot.com was great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from White Plains, NY

Toro 726 OE Review

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The delivery was great! The service was on time. Just remember that the wheel pins are placed in the free transport hole and have to be locked before use. The manual was very comprehensive and the explanations and diagrams must have been improved since I've read about complaints about poor instructions for assembly.
I filled the tank with fresh regular unleaded gas (with fuel stabilizer) and it started right up! The next morning's snow was easily dispatched. Man can this machine throw snow. The best feature is the chute quickstick. My neighbor's house is right next to mine but I was able to direct the snow down to the ground between us.
My only complaint is that it doesn't have free wheeling capability so you have to muscle it to make turns. (You have to pay another $500 to get that feature along with a headlight) But for the $ it's a great machine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Minnesota

MN Tested & Proven!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased this snow blower halfway through a snowstorm with 2-5' drifts already accumulated in the driveway that I had to battle. I am very happy I chose this model, they let me take a pre-assembled floor model so I just had to add gas and go. Started up on the first pull this morning in sub zero temps, it also has an electric start but requires a power cord.
The chute control stick is great and really lets you fine tune where you're going to put it (ie not the neighbors driveway!). I had some troubles with the snow that was over the height of the intake, but i think any blower would. Machine is structurally solid, very little flex in the handles when you really need to work a snowbank. Surprisingly easy to maneuver too - I would definitely recommend this model to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Westfield, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro Power Max 726OE

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this weekend in PA store since all other stores within 50 mile radius of where I live did not have in stock. Very easy transaction and outdoor store personel were very accomodating. Helped me load and secure as well. My only complaint was that I am missing the plastic key that comes with snowblower. I have called the store and they told me to contact Toro directly for quick shipment of these keys. If you buy, make sure that you have the plastic ignition key included since you can't start the machine without (hope it does not snow until I get key sent!). Seems like a very well made machine and I look forward to testing out this winter. I was on the fence between an Ariens and this Toro and after reading reviews, I decided on this model...
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from new jersey

power max 726

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received 2 weeks ago-delivery by Estes was excellent-brought it right into my garage with a pallet jack.
The MOST IMPORTANT SETUP INSTRUCTION IS NOT IN THE INITIAL GUIDE OR THE MANUAL! The first thing they should tell you is to remove the cotter pins from the wheels and engage them in the secondary hole in the wheel which locks the wheels to the axle, otherwise the machine will not move in any forward or reverse gear. So after assembly and adjustments the machine cranked up on the first pull and ran like a champ but wouldn't move. I spent several hours and days reviewing the manual and adjusting to no avail. Only a week later did I discover the fact about the wheels which took 3 seconds to fix and now everything works perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA

Good product, bad assembly instructions

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
- Clears snow well (including packed snow)
- Excellent throwing distance
- Starts easily and propels itself easily on a rather steep driveway
- I love the joystick chute
Cons
- As stated by numerous reviewers, the assembly instructions leave out an important step (cotter pin on the axel). Having read other reviews, I knew what to look for. Even the TORO website's FAQ doesn't mention this omission.
- A bit tough to manoever
- The chute is plastic -- but marketed as "stronger than steel" -- I hope that's close to being true
Overall, this is a great snowblower. I have already recommended it to my friends. The delivery process was painless. Estes, the delivery company, even brought the box right into my garage.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey

No more worries about the snow

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year my wife and I decided we'd shovel the snow in our brand new house...well after the snow in the Northeast in 2010 it got old. Then 2011 came and the first storm nailed us. I didn't waste any time and starting reaching Toros as i'm a big fan of them. We found HD carried the 26inch model and after reviews online and asking around it was recommended. Within the first month of owning it we've used it 4 times including two storms with 8+ inches or more....it's great and starts real easy. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good blower but doesn't want to drop too much on one. HD also delivered it and it was quick/easy...the driver brought it right up our garage!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey

Toro snowblower

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This has certainly proved a worthwhile buy and is earning it's keep with all the snow we have had this year. It clears the drive easily and gives good control over where to throw the snow.
Delivery by HomeDepot was quick and problem free.
Only reason for losing a star is that if I hadn't read reviews on the Internet it would have been a real struggle getting it to work. The set up instructions don't actually tell you that it is delivered with the wheels in "freewheel" and that you have to move the cotter pin to lock the wheels to the drive axle and make the self propulsion work.
Thank you to all you reviewers who noted this rather critical step!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Max 726OE 26 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Plainville, Ct

Like the Power Max

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the snow blower very much once I got it together. I had it put together in about 20 minutes or so, but it wouldn't move when putting into gear. After playing around for about another 25 minutes I looked down at the wheels when in gear and found the axle was turning but not grabbing the wheels. That is when I realized the wheels didn't have the pins in them to grab, they were on the outside of the wheel in the holes(nothing in the instructions that I noticed about that). Once I fixed that it moved along perfectly. Cannot believe how high and far it throws the snow, love it. With the safety features it has, it took a little to get used to.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>