728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Non-Programmable Thermostats or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat

Round Heat/Cool Thermostat

The Honeywell Round Heat/Cool Thermostat offers time-tested, precise temperature control in a simple, mercury-free thermostat. It has non-programmable mechanical operation in a traditional circular housing.
Overall rating:
4.048 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Review 1 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
the13thDoctor
from Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what the Doctor ordered...

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit is simple in design and function, has easy to understand instructions on setting it up, and works flawlessly with a mechanical simplicity that borders on genius. My older thermostat, a fancy computerized model that allowed for network connectivity and web-based controls, lost it's mind - literally. Suddenly my house was getting hot - fast, yet the 'stat said all was well. Go online and it said differently and it refused to let me change it. After many hours of Frankenstein's monster tormenting us, I gave in and went low-tech. My only CON on this unit is it's small size when compared to the larger more elaborate thermostats: wiring with older, thicker wiring like my house means you have to take extra care not to cross anything when installing it. Other than that, I love the simple use and ease of install. I'm never going back to the high-tech stuff like that again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: unit's small size comparitively
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Mike
from Superior, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product simplifies your heating and cooling operation. It removes the "guesswork" of setting set-back thermostats.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. I am not gifted to set these new sat-back thermostats, sometimes the heat comes on in the middle of the night because I didn't correctly input the correct information. it's easy, before you go to bed, turn down the heat, when you get up in the morning, turn it up to your setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Jbillings
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was exactly what I needed to replace the old

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched about the thermostat, looking at the best replacement I could use for my old thermostat. The price was in the ballpark with what I found, and I didn't have to have it mailed to me. When I went to the Home Depot store, a sales associate stopped and asked if I needed help. He took me to the location of the item. That saved me about 30 minutes of looking and comparing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
stubby
from Bay City, mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the money.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install and keeps the house within 2 degrees of the settings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Frustrated
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't expect ant help from Honeywell Customer Support

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed instructions for removal of the original Honeywell T87A thermostat and ended up with six wires, two of which didn't appear in the replacement instructions. Ended up calling Honeywell 3 times only to get told that I needed to call a repairman because they didn't have any information on the Honeywell T87A thermostat and Honeywell W226A Evaporator Sequening Control. At their request, I traced all the wires and found that they were wired exactly as shown on the W226A Box cover schematic but they refused to accept the terminal pinout labels telling me they don't use what they printed on the box cover. If your new thermostat isn't a wire for wire replacement, you won't get any help from Honeywell even if they originally made the product.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Install, honeywell customer support stinks
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
LifeIsGood

Can't improve on such a classic

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worlds most popular thermostat. What else is there to say. Does exactly what it is supposed to. No more and certainly no less.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
BakerVacationRental

Strange wiring terminal block

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the analog aspect of this thermostat, its for a vacation rental property and programmable thermostats can be complicated for those unfamiliar with them to figure how to program/HOLD temp for their stay.
That said, the Honeywell Round thermostat I bought has a very unusual terminal for securing the wires. It requires a very small flathead screwdriver and I could not find a way to secure the wires tightly. The wires go into a 1/4 dip in the back of the terminal block but the screws to tighten don't seem to do anything.
Honeywell customer service was useless, they had a hard time understanding me and offered no advice over the manual. It was clear they were not familiar with the product they were supporting.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Reggie
from Memphis, Tn.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great and was easy to install.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is outstanding. Instead of having two or three levers to go from heat to air the basic dial is much more to my liking.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Dylan

Easy to install but not worth your time

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was excited to see such a classic thermostat available for purchase. The install was easy. However the thermostat setting was innacurate as well as the temp. indicator on the front. The switches for the fan and heat/cool also felt very cheap/flimsy. Upon returning to the store I noticed that all of these on the shelf read different temperatures. Ended up buying a White-Rogers simple mechanical thermostat from a different store. It is 1000 times better in every way. Won't buy another Honeywell product. Far cry from the original.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
carzk

Nice replacement thermostat

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought as direct replacment for one that had been broken in a friend's house. Relatively easy to install. Note that this is a manual thermostat and has no automatic settings. Personally, I would have spent a little more to get a programmable unit, but this was an older couple and they like the manual type of thermostat.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Patrick

No Other Choice

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simply the best thermostat available and has been for 40 years. I just installed this updated version of the old classic in my elderly father's house and it was quick and easy. HVAC schools teach thermostats using this old workhorse ( I know because I used to teach HVAC). Good instructions, good hardware and plenty of info on the web. The CT87N is the best most reliable analog 'stat available. 70 million households can't be wrong.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Economical, Reliable
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Judson
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product that simply does what it was designed to do.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This placed the thermostat, same brand and style, that served me well for over 40 years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
jbsloan
from Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honeywell Thermostat

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Direct replacement for the old mercury tilt-switch type round Honeywell thermostat. Works well and easy to install. My only wish was that I could get it in a color other than white, like the nice gold color of the original.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Shape, Reliable
Cons: white only
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Jed1

Not accurate

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these today. One was 2 degrees off and the other was 4. There is no way to adjust them. The Honeywell recommendation was that if you don't like the difference between the thermometer you see and the one the thermostat uses to adjust the temperature; return it. So I did.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
TomK
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good one for one replacement for 20 year old thermostat

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Our 20 year old thermostat with that same form factor was not functioning. Reluctant to replace it with a different kind, I was pleased to find this one. It worked perfectly. The construction was much improved from the old one, which still appeared to use a mercury switch. I wish it were available in more than one color.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, direct replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
woober
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

thermostat

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
excellant product , easy to use and install quality product
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
xcgfatboy
from Klamath Falls, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice & easy

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice manual thermostat. How can you go wrong?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
Silverfoxhorse
from Fullerton, Calfornia, USA

Round Honeywell Heat/Cool Thermostat

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought 3 of these, becasue they keeep breaking down. The only reason I bought them was simplicity of operation since I have 9 people living with me (4 are children 8 - 10 - 14 - 15 years of age. Finally I had to change this one because it would not allow us to select the temperature with ease. We have to go one degree at a time with a pause between. Sometimes it jumps back to the starting temperature, and you try set it slowly. I don't trust it anymore.
Sorry I can't recomend it anymore.
-15points
13out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
saw69x
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It has a battery

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I install thermostats frequently. I have had a couple of these that were dead right from the package. Other than that they are a good replacement for the old mercury types.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Round Heat/Cool Thermostat
none

don't like this product as it is difficult to set

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a month living with this thermostat I hate it! The shinny plastic dial reflects the lights in the room making it difficult to read. Last night i had to turn on the lights in 3 different rooms and turn off the lights in the room it is in . to set it. Futhermore the red indicator is also very shinny and causes distortion in reading the setting when the lights are on. The rocking feature of the dial moves the indicator. I phoned honeywell about these issues and the customer service rep did not or offer any help. My old honeywell round did not have these issues.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 >>