728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.

Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.

The Port-A-Cool Cyclone TM 3000 1/3 HP Evaporative Cooler Motor helps cool outdoor areas. This powerful cooler simply runs on 120 volts and tap water. The high-efficiency cooling pads and water help naturally cool the outdoor air and lower temperatures down to 15-25 degrees Fahrenheit. This cooler can easily be transported and used in your home's backyard patios, garages warehouses, workshops and factories during the hot summer months or whenever air conditioning is needed. This 1/3 HP motor can cool areas up to 700 sq. ft. and can circulate air up to 3,000 CFM. This evaporative cooler performs best in dry, arid climates.
Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
Review 1 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Even cools the Texas Heat!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was not sure how well this would work here in Texas with our high humidity. I was very surprised. Sitting out on the patio now is comfortable with this thing. I placed a thermometer in front of it and it blows a constant 76 degrees. On a 100 degree day, 76 will give you chill bumps. I love this thing and recommend it completely. I am surprised how much water it uses. It evaporated a full 16 gallons in 8 hours on high. Wish I had two of them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Fayetteville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Cooler

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appears to be well made. Started using it right away. I have a 30'X50', 4 bay metal garage with 17' ceilings. With my shop being just one large room, even though it is insulated and with all the doors closed, I was concerned if this would be just a waste of money trying to cool this large open space. I can definitely feel the cool air from across the garage with this thing going. It has made me able to work comfortably in my garage even on the hottest days. Only thing I have noticed is you need to take out the water wafers and clean out the tank about once a month. I live in a very sandy part of North Carolina, so even with county water, I still get sand in the unit. Other than that, I am very happy with the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Kingman, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO regrets

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative has met and in some ways exceeded my expectations. It is pricier than lesser coolers, but you get what you pay for. I expect this one will be around for many years to come as it is built to last. I am VERY please with this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: i can find no faults (and i tried lol)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Mesa, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent product for Arizona

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a Port-A-Cool Cyclone TM 3000 at Home Depot for my house. This is how I am using it. From one of my bedroom windows, Make sure you have few windows open elsewhere for the air to move through. I have the windows in my bedroom opened and have the Cyclone TM 3000 from out site flush to the windows screen and I use an air filter in between the windows screen to the Cyclone TM 3000. I bought the air filter that I can cut to fit the opening to collect the unwanted dust from outside. My house is 1811 square feet and three bed rooms. I am never in the other bedrooms so I have the bedroom door closed. This Cyclone TM 3000 cools my room and the living room and the kitchen. I am using one fan blowing cool air from my room to the hallway and to the living room. I start using the Cyclone TM 3000 from middle of March through second weak of July. My neighbors are spending $300 to $390 a month and I am spending $45 to $55 a month through March to July. I start using the air conditioner from third week of July to the end of September. In Arizona Last two weeks of July, August and September, humidity is very high. Cyclone TM 3000 is very expensive I paid $699 not including tax yet. But in one summer it paid for itself. I have been using it and going on two years. Make sure that you do regular maintenance. Our water has so much mineral best is to use the mineral filter between Cyclone TM 3000 and your water hose. You can get everything that you need from Home Depot.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Kerrville, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice for a limited purpose

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This model works fine for me but I knew of its limitations when I bought it. It is designed to cool a limited area immediately in front of the unit. So for cooling a workbench area where you will spend most of your time in an otherwise hot shop, it's great. But for generally cooling a large open shop, it is not the model you want.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Arizona, USA

Expensive, But You Get What You Pay For

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product made in america. Well made but expensive. Should outlast all of the other cheaply made coolers
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a 4 car garage that is also my shop. I was looking at an efficient way to cool it. I looked at installing an A/C unit into the wall, but just couldn't bring myself to install the 220 to power it, plus I didn't want to breach the wall and risk leaks from the outside. I did some research on the Cyclone 3000 from Porta-A-Cool and it seemed a great alternative. It works great, it cools the entire shop down by 15-20 degrees, without the energy drain. Also, since it is portable, I can aim it in the direction I need to to cool the area I'm working on. While on the lowest speed, it's surprisingly quiet, on the highest fan speed, it's marginally louder, but not overwhelmingly so. All in all, a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Murphy, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helps keep the family cool during the hot summers in Texas

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cooler is a great thing to have for 100 plus degree summer days. The fan has two speeds and performs great. The water tank can be filled once and you can run it for a long weekend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Yukon Ok
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it!!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a mechanic and with temps over 100 this makes working in the warehouse alot easier.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sweet Relief From THe Mississippi Heat!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this thing so much! In 100% humidity and 95+ degree weather, there's no way this thing is cooling 700 sq ft 30 degrees, but having it on my screened in patio cools that 200 sq ft area perfectly. Now I can go out in the yard with my kids, get soaked in miserable sweat after 15 minutes, cool off on the patio with the kids still playing and do it all over again. We used to just go outside for 15 minutes and call it a day. Now we can stay outside until the kids are exhausted from hours of playing. Thanks Cyclone 3000!
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.

Simple product. Great results.

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this thing. It is really powerful and simple to use. It makes the Texas heat manageable. We spend lots of time outside in the summer and this thing works.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product for the Money

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would highly recommend this unit. I was torn between the 2000 and 3000. I decided to go with the 3000 and it has exceeded my expectations so far. It was ready to go right out of the box. I was expecting some additional assembly but was able to hook up the water hose, plug it in and enjoy the day!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Freeman, MO 64746, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We were able to enjoy the outside!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With temps over 100 degrees all summer were were able to enjoy the outside with the port-a-cool 3000. The temps it brought our outside patio to were amazing. We had a number of patio parties with at least 35 people here and we able to keep it around 80 degrees which were very comfortable for all of us. We had to shut if down early, because we all go COLD. I would say everyone should get one of these.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Portable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cyclone 3000 CFM 2-Speed Portable Evaporative Cooler for 700 sq. ft.
from Jasper, MO 64755, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised, good product

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Real pleased with performance. Great looking addition to the shop.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.