728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Multi Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.
Overall rating:
3.407 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(189 reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product114 of 186reviews
Rating Breakdown 189 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(83)
4
(31)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(54)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product114 of 186reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Review 1 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Very Disappointed

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the 1st kit and used it for 10 months when the electronics in the motor failed. I did not go online and register the product initially so I ended up having to purchase another unit. I have had continous problems with the batteries and the charger. If the battery runs low the charger will not allow the discharged battery to recharge. I have purchased multiple batteries and chargers only to continue with the same results. When I actually have a working tool it is a great tool. It sure beats manually doing the work but I seldom can ever use the tool due to all of the problems. VERY UNRELIABLE!!!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Berry Creek, CA 95916, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

jobmax 12 volt

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very handy for cutting door trim and other obsticles while doing flooring
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: battery life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok for limited home owner use

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tool is a neat concept and way to get multiple tools (combo kit cordless like) on the cheap. It should not be thought of as a replacement for combo kits for more than limited use. If you want to use the jigsaw attachment to cut a few boards, ok. Lite angle drilling works fine as well. It has real limitations that you should be aware of:
1) Only 1 12V battery > This is a severe limit. It really should come with 2 batteries particularly since it is 12V.
2) This is a 12V tool. > We have all gotten use to more power.
3) Carry back should be bigger.
Ridgid doesn't necessarily mean commercial grade any more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from MA

Worst buy ever!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me start by saying that I have many Ridgid tools, and I think they are a great value and stand up well in a work environment. That being said....
This tool has got to be the worst piece of junk that I have ever held in my hands.
It worked great for about the first 3 minutes. When the battery was drained I thought, Good thing I spent $40 on another battery for this thing to use while the other one charges. After about 5 minutes, and another dead battery, I switched to another part of the project while the first battery finished charging.
This went on for about 3 hours. Figuring maybe I was being to hard on the tool, I put it away for another day.
I love the ridgid products, but this disappointment should never have hit store shelves.
The second time I went to use it, the power would cut in and out with a depressed trigger. The head became loose and stopped being effective for the project.
Had to buy another corded brand to finish the SMALL job.
Might have been a good tool if was in 18 volt, and the idea as well as the cordless factor is brilliant.
I've bought cheap throw away toys that have lasted longer.
If I could give this -5 stars I would.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

bad design

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Artery only last maybe 5-8 minutes depending on continuous use. BUT after a few uses the battery vibrates loose and eventually won't stay inserted. As soon as you hit the trigger it pops out a little and shuts off. Could be great wit a better design . I've had great luck with other rigid tools.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for what it's designed for / Poor Battery Life

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned my Jobmax 12volt for over a year now and it is a great tool for what it is designed for. I have since purchased multiple attachments and I'm very pleased with the overall performance of this tool. I have used it for everything from trimming the base of a door frame for flooring to cutting a 2x4 base plate loose in a tight place.
Granted I agree the battery life is poor, if you are running this thing wide open fast enough to drain the battery in a couple minutes you're probably using the wrong tool.
Overall I dont agree with some of the negative reviews, but these are all individually based experiences and mine has been great.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, can be all in one with multiple attachments
Cons: battery life
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy drill and driver tool

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Drill is a bit heavier than I expected. It can get into smaller spaces than regular cordless handdrill. It has plenty of torque for driving as well as drilling. Battery seems to last long time between charges. It's a shame this unit can only be bought from Home Depot on line and isn't sold in local stores. Also it would be nice if it came with a carrying case.
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

job max

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
capability provided is very useful. It would be great to have this kit with the 18 v motor
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, limited run time
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy tool but wouldn't buy another one!

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received this tool as a gift. I used it rarely, but was very handy. The battery doesn't last long and stopped working completely after approximately 3 years. I would not get another battery operated tool, but maybe a corded one.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Metropolis, IL

Good tool but battery is no good

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Job Max Multi-Tool is a great tool idea. The battery has a built in electronic shut down. If you do any work the tool will stop. It will restart monentary, but when start to use it again it will stop. The tool will not run long enough to get any work done. My brother and I returned both our kits. If wish Rigid would correct the battery issue. I would buy it aagain
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Oshawa Ontario Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The 12v system is absolutely awesome

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All pieces in the 12v line are great. Finished my 1500 sq, ft. basement with 2 12v drills and the jobmax 12v multi tool. Great torque and very good battery life. Great for trimming baseboards and cutting brass pipe. These tools made my life a whole lot easier. Yes I have a complete 18 v Ridgid set but I find the 12v will handle 90% of all my needs with no fatigue. Lots of features and very reliable. Lifetime warranty is the iceing on the cake.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from St Louis, MO

Good While It Lasted

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this today to do some plunge cuts so I could finish installing some laminate molding for a room I just finished installing Pergo in. I charged it completely before I used it and got about 20 minutes worth of work out of it before the tool stopped working. I assumed the battery needed to be recharged, so I let it charge about an hour before putting the battery back in the tool. I tried to get it running again, but the tool never turned back on. I assume that the trigger switch or the battery is to blame. Either way, I'm taking it back in the morning! I wasn't able to finish the job and I'm super disgusted!!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from COLUMBUS, OH

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE. I HAVE GONE THROUGH 3 OF THESE MULTI TOOLS. THE 1ST ONE HAD A DEFECTIVE BATTERY. THE 2D ONE WORKED FOR 1 DAY THEN THE TRIGGER MECHANISM BECAME HIT AND MISS. THE 3D ONE HAD THE BOLT TO SECURE EACH HEAD SNAP INTO 2 PIECES WHEN FINGER TIGHTENING. WILL BE TAKING THIS ONE BACK AND GETTING A DIFFERENT MAKE OF THIS TOOL
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Rigid Oscillating Multi Tool

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute poor purchase! I bought this tool with high anticipation of helping with the door jamb trimmings on a bathroom tiling project and it stopped working after only about 60 seconds of precision cutting on the jamb. It left me high and dry, and back to the not so precise manual cutting mode.
Once it stopped working I tried all available methods to breath life back in to the product to complete my project, but no luck. Not even a twitch. This tool is not worth your time to purchase, let alone your hard earned dollars. Do some research and buy another brand, even if initial costs are higher. It will save you a great deal of frustration in the middle of your project.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Roseville Michigan

this sold me on the rigid tool line

PostedApril 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is my first power tool made by rigid, i had always been a craftsman guy but over the last few years my craftsman products have turned into nightmares. i decided to buy this and i took it home and tested it in the wood shop for a couple of days, i had no problems what so ever with sanding or cutting wood, i got the drill attachment with it also, i used spade bits, forstner bits, brad and twist bits, only thing i found is with the larger diameter twist bits you have to drill a pilot hole, i think this is something more for the wood shop and maybe drywall work, i am the type of person who really puts his tools to the test before writing a review and giving anyone kudos on a product. i don't expect miracles out of it but i can see why it won the 2010 handy innovations award, all in all this is a great concept and product if it is used for light to medium duty jobs.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Useful in tight spots

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this guy this summer in a pinch and I love using it. It's not the most powerful (Bosch corded), but when you need it it does great. The rounded blade does a great job cutting lengths, like siding for ledger board. If you're using it for long periods consider the corded because the 12v doesn't run for a very long time, maybe 15 minutes continuous., but it charges in about 15 minutes. I would like a rotary head attachment so it can be used in place of a dremel. Love the light and ease of use. Works great for trimming casing around doors to install tile or other flooring underneath.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

This product is great...

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used many of these multi tools and have found that this is the best one in my bag. I use this all the time and finished a complete kitchen remodel using it to cust holes in drywall, trim and so on. I have used the blades in the kit and they have not even begun to dull out either. The best thing I have found to use this tool for is vinyl siding installations using the newly released batteries, it lasts and the batteries are small enough to carry an extra in your tool belt...the added benefit of this tool is that you can cut into existing siding to install new vents, outlets and the like and makes for a super easy installation without the need of snips.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Mentor, Ohio

Great Concept, Poor Performance

PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the design concept and price point for the JobMax, and I wanted the Ridgid 12V Fuego tool system to be my standard system for interchanging batteries.
I first purchased the JobMax as reconditioned for use of the detail sander on a furniture refinishing project. After about 40 minutes the JobMax operation became intermittent, so I returned the unit for a refund and went to Home Depot to buy a new unit with the Lifetime Warranty. Started using the new JobMax and after about 15 minutes, the operation became intermittent. This tool depends on the multi-head attachments to be mounted to allow operation. There appears to be some design flaw in the switch which causes intermittent operation due to saw dust, making the tool useless.
I've seen other posts from people commenting on issues with the switch but assumed it was some abnormal situation. After seeing the same result with both the recon and new units, it must be design issue.
So in looking at other alternatives in 12V tools and speaking with clerks and tool reps at Home Depot, I learned that Ridgid, Milwaukee, Ryobi and Dremel tools are all made by the same manufacturer which explains why the sandpaper for the Dremel Multi-Max fits the JobMax and Milwaukee sander attachments.
I looked at Dewalt, Bosch, Makita and Milwaukee 12V tool systems, and the Milwaukee M12 Lithium Ion Tools are the broadest available including a Multi-tool with a Detail Sander attachment.
If your considering a 12V Multi-tool, do some comparison shopping and consider what you would like in a 12V tool system before making a purchase, there are lots of tools to review.
I've now switched to the Milwaukee M12 Tool System due to the flexibility for 2 battery sizes and broad range of tools available, not to mention consistent product reviews. These new 12V Lithium Ion Battery Powered Tools are very compact and convenient. I'm hope my decision to go with the Milwaukee M12 System is a good one.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

battery issue

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tool is nice.
Unfortunately, a main drawback is the battery. The battery runs approximately 15 minutes. I recharged it for 20 minutes. Another drain battery later and recharge it again back and forth. I used it for simple projects such drilling, screwing, unscrewing, and sanding. I have the extra battery with the same issue.
I leave you to decide whether to buy Ridgid power tools or not.
I am disappointed that the company must have knew the problem because they don't want to bring up the battery recalls. I contacted the manufacturer about the battery issue. They twisted their words. Nothing that I can do about it.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Rochester, NY

DO NOT PURCHASE VERY BAD TOOL

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have other Rigid toos that are great but this one is junk. The adaptor broke and you cannot buy Rigid blades. The tool lasts for 20 minutes then shuts off and the storage bag is a real dumb design for holding accessories.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>