728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Multi Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

RIDGID's new JobMax system of tools is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand you will begin to think of a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or using as a detail sander, this tool will become a vital member of your tool collection. Whether you are a cabinet maker, flooring or drywall installer, painter or just a hobbyist, this tool will solve work related problems you did not even know you had. The best part is that you can use any brands accessories with the universal adaptor. The JobMax power base accepts the Multi-tool head as well as all other JobMax tool heads sold separately. The power base allows the tool heads to be positioned in four ways, maximizing your comfort when completing jobs in tight or awkward spaces. Best of all they are backed by RIDGID's Lifetime Service Agreement. Free Batteries. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life.
Overall rating:
3.225 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(142 reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product78 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 142 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(21)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(48)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product78 of 139reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Review 1 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
SafetyGal
from Houston Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE this tool!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have just finished 140 sq ft flooring job in 1933 year old house (old, hard, dry wood door moldings). This tool fills the gap for the DIYer who doesn't have a base cut saw to trim the door moldings. It is perfect for cutting insets into floor boards going into tight spaces. I have other Rigid tools, and batteries, so having a battery die isn't an issue. I just have at least 4 fresh when I'm tackling old, hard wood. The "D" adapter piece allows use of another company's blades if Rigid blades aren't in stock. Only complaint is the light could be placed differently to actually light up the end of the blade, instead of being blocked by hands holding the tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: light poorly placed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Imgettingcloser
from Mooresville, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get the corded version.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These multi tools are so versatile. I bought the 12v version when it first came out about 3 years ago, while I found so many uses for it the battery was always dead when I needed it or would die just in the middle of a project and then I would have to wait for it to charge back up. Finally I was starting a bathroom remodel and of course the battery was dead and after charging it overnight it was working for about 30 seconds then just stopped then it keep doing that, work not work and so on. It was the one Rigid tool I was glad I didn't register for the lifetime service cause I had a reason to get the corded version. And it is so much better. Has more power and never have to worry about a battery. If your going to get one of these go for the corded version. The build quality of the 12v jobmax that I have was not the best either, the head seamed a bit loose compaired to the new corded one I just bought.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
hillbillyhawg
from Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for what it's designed for / Poor Battery Life

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned my Jobmax 12volt for over a year now and it is a great tool for what it is designed for. I have since purchased multiple attachments and I'm very pleased with the overall performance of this tool. I have used it for everything from trimming the base of a door frame for flooring to cutting a 2x4 base plate loose in a tight place.
Granted I agree the battery life is poor, if you are running this thing wide open fast enough to drain the battery in a couple minutes you're probably using the wrong tool.
Overall I dont agree with some of the negative reviews, but these are all individually based experiences and mine has been great.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, can be all in one with multiple attachments
Cons: battery life
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Scott
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok for limited home owner use

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tool is a neat concept and way to get multiple tools (combo kit cordless like) on the cheap. It should not be thought of as a replacement for combo kits for more than limited use. If you want to use the jigsaw attachment to cut a few boards, ok. Lite angle drilling works fine as well. It has real limitations that you should be aware of:
1) Only 1 12V battery > This is a severe limit. It really should come with 2 batteries particularly since it is 12V.
2) This is a 12V tool. > We have all gotten use to more power.
3) Carry back should be bigger.
Ridgid doesn't necessarily mean commercial grade any more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
DIYER

Avoid

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works decent, when it works. I'm on my second one of these after returning the first for defective construction. The second one now has a battery issue shortly after using it maybe a 1/2 dozen times. Go with a chorded version or another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
RemodelerMA
from MA

Worst buy ever!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me start by saying that I have many Ridgid tools, and I think they are a great value and stand up well in a work environment. That being said....
This tool has got to be the worst piece of junk that I have ever held in my hands.
It worked great for about the first 3 minutes. When the battery was drained I thought, Good thing I spent $40 on another battery for this thing to use while the other one charges. After about 5 minutes, and another dead battery, I switched to another part of the project while the first battery finished charging.
This went on for about 3 hours. Figuring maybe I was being to hard on the tool, I put it away for another day.
I love the ridgid products, but this disappointment should never have hit store shelves.
The second time I went to use it, the power would cut in and out with a depressed trigger. The head became loose and stopped being effective for the project.
Had to buy another corded brand to finish the SMALL job.
Might have been a good tool if was in 18 volt, and the idea as well as the cordless factor is brilliant.
I've bought cheap throw away toys that have lasted longer.
If I could give this -5 stars I would.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
hobbyseeker

battery issue

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tool is nice.
Unfortunately, a main drawback is the battery. The battery runs approximately 15 minutes. I recharged it for 20 minutes. Another drain battery later and recharge it again back and forth. I used it for simple projects such drilling, screwing, unscrewing, and sanding. I have the extra battery with the same issue.
I leave you to decide whether to buy Ridgid power tools or not.
I am disappointed that the company must have knew the problem because they don't want to bring up the battery recalls. I contacted the manufacturer about the battery issue. They twisted their words. Nothing that I can do about it.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
littlebuc
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome tool for the DIY'er

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of time reading reviews and going over the specs of the tool. My dilemma was the 18v or the 12v. I currently own both systems and have been impressed with both. The 12v allows me an easier to handle tool for simpler jobs and my 18v gives me the power needed for bigger jobs, as expected. But after reading review after review I began to worry about the battery life of this tool. Continually reviewers were saying the life on the battery stinks and there changing every few minutes. It just didn't sit well with me at all. So then I started leaning towards the 18v jobmax but I couldn't sell myself on it because I didn't want the extra weight of the 18v. After all this tool is meant to be easily handled and used for many types of jobs. So I bit the bullet and went for the 12v. By far the best purchase I've made, without a doubt. What I'm thinking is happening is these contractors are buying this tool and expecting it to handle a full scale job site. Don't expect that, but what you can expect is awesomeness. I just did crown, wainscoting, and frames for the paneling in my dining room and loved absolutely everything this tool had to offer and I didn't even begin to touch its full capabilities. Battery life was just fine. Don't even let that be an issue when decided on what to buy. And with the 12v system you shed the extra weight! Great tool!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
repairguy
from Perrysburg, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tool worked well WHEN it ran

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tool stops working whenever using blade, and will not run jigsaw or impact. Called mfg. no response. My first tipoff should have been the company giving a lifetime warranty, why is it needed if you build a quality product and have confidence in your product? This is junk, I now have some orange paperweights to remind me of my mistake. I am glad I purchased Milwaukee 18 volt drill and impact, works great. I guess I will have to purchase a Milwaukee multi tool as well to get a quality product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Maverick
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool to have for any job.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for several guys that work with me. Great tool to have with and compact enough to carry to every job site.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Bodtwo
from Valrico, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have o rings ready

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
There is a small o ring on the bolt that holds the blade on. Over some use it will flatten out causing the blade to loosen. Replace the o ring and you are good to go. A slow process but it works. Not bad for smaller jobs. The battery dies in about 15 minutes. A real pain. Takes about 15 minutes to recharge. Should be sold with two so you can keep working
Pros: Durable, All In One, Accurate
Cons: battery life and o ring issue.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
mpwzl
from Metropolis, IL

Good tool but battery is no good

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Job Max Multi-Tool is a great tool idea. The battery has a built in electronic shut down. If you do any work the tool will stop. It will restart monentary, but when start to use it again it will stop. The tool will not run long enough to get any work done. My brother and I returned both our kits. If wish Rigid would correct the battery issue. I would buy it aagain
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Marc22
from St Louis, MO

Good While It Lasted

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this today to do some plunge cuts so I could finish installing some laminate molding for a room I just finished installing Pergo in. I charged it completely before I used it and got about 20 minutes worth of work out of it before the tool stopped working. I assumed the battery needed to be recharged, so I let it charge about an hour before putting the battery back in the tool. I tried to get it running again, but the tool never turned back on. I assume that the trigger switch or the battery is to blame. Either way, I'm taking it back in the morning! I wasn't able to finish the job and I'm super disgusted!!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
buck2011
from COLUMBUS, OH

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE. I HAVE GONE THROUGH 3 OF THESE MULTI TOOLS. THE 1ST ONE HAD A DEFECTIVE BATTERY. THE 2D ONE WORKED FOR 1 DAY THEN THE TRIGGER MECHANISM BECAME HIT AND MISS. THE 3D ONE HAD THE BOLT TO SECURE EACH HEAD SNAP INTO 2 PIECES WHEN FINGER TIGHTENING. WILL BE TAKING THIS ONE BACK AND GETTING A DIFFERENT MAKE OF THIS TOOL
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
HDoc

Rigid Oscillating Multi Tool

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute poor purchase! I bought this tool with high anticipation of helping with the door jamb trimmings on a bathroom tiling project and it stopped working after only about 60 seconds of precision cutting on the jamb. It left me high and dry, and back to the not so precise manual cutting mode.
Once it stopped working I tried all available methods to breath life back in to the product to complete my project, but no luck. Not even a twitch. This tool is not worth your time to purchase, let alone your hard earned dollars. Do some research and buy another brand, even if initial costs are higher. It will save you a great deal of frustration in the middle of your project.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Rich

Useful in tight spots

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this guy this summer in a pinch and I love using it. It's not the most powerful (Bosch corded), but when you need it it does great. The rounded blade does a great job cutting lengths, like siding for ledger board. If you're using it for long periods consider the corded because the 12v doesn't run for a very long time, maybe 15 minutes continuous., but it charges in about 15 minutes. I would like a rotary head attachment so it can be used in place of a dremel. Love the light and ease of use. Works great for trimming casing around doors to install tile or other flooring underneath.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
woodworker48066
from Roseville Michigan

this sold me on the rigid tool line

PostedApril 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is my first power tool made by rigid, i had always been a craftsman guy but over the last few years my craftsman products have turned into nightmares. i decided to buy this and i took it home and tested it in the wood shop for a couple of days, i had no problems what so ever with sanding or cutting wood, i got the drill attachment with it also, i used spade bits, forstner bits, brad and twist bits, only thing i found is with the larger diameter twist bits you have to drill a pilot hole, i think this is something more for the wood shop and maybe drywall work, i am the type of person who really puts his tools to the test before writing a review and giving anyone kudos on a product. i don't expect miracles out of it but i can see why it won the 2010 handy innovations award, all in all this is a great concept and product if it is used for light to medium duty jobs.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

This product is great...

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used many of these multi tools and have found that this is the best one in my bag. I use this all the time and finished a complete kitchen remodel using it to cust holes in drywall, trim and so on. I have used the blades in the kit and they have not even begun to dull out either. The best thing I have found to use this tool for is vinyl siding installations using the newly released batteries, it lasts and the batteries are small enough to carry an extra in your tool belt...the added benefit of this tool is that you can cut into existing siding to install new vents, outlets and the like and makes for a super easy installation without the need of snips.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
RoyTheToolguy
from Mentor, Ohio

Great Concept, Poor Performance

PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the design concept and price point for the JobMax, and I wanted the Ridgid 12V Fuego tool system to be my standard system for interchanging batteries.
I first purchased the JobMax as reconditioned for use of the detail sander on a furniture refinishing project. After about 40 minutes the JobMax operation became intermittent, so I returned the unit for a refund and went to Home Depot to buy a new unit with the Lifetime Warranty. Started using the new JobMax and after about 15 minutes, the operation became intermittent. This tool depends on the multi-head attachments to be mounted to allow operation. There appears to be some design flaw in the switch which causes intermittent operation due to saw dust, making the tool useless.
I've seen other posts from people commenting on issues with the switch but assumed it was some abnormal situation. After seeing the same result with both the recon and new units, it must be design issue.
So in looking at other alternatives in 12V tools and speaking with clerks and tool reps at Home Depot, I learned that Ridgid, Milwaukee, Ryobi and Dremel tools are all made by the same manufacturer which explains why the sandpaper for the Dremel Multi-Max fits the JobMax and Milwaukee sander attachments.
I looked at Dewalt, Bosch, Makita and Milwaukee 12V tool systems, and the Milwaukee M12 Lithium Ion Tools are the broadest available including a Multi-tool with a Detail Sander attachment.
If your considering a 12V Multi-tool, do some comparison shopping and consider what you would like in a 12V tool system before making a purchase, there are lots of tools to review.
I've now switched to the Milwaukee M12 Tool System due to the flexibility for 2 battery sizes and broad range of tools available, not to mention consistent product reviews. These new 12V Lithium Ion Battery Powered Tools are very compact and convenient. I'm hope my decision to go with the Milwaukee M12 System is a good one.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
UnLuckyWithRidgid
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad experience

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tool died after ~6 projects (and that is being nice as one project was cutting gram crackers into the shape of dog bones- kid's party). Sent it to the nearest authorized repair location. The shop owner rolled his eyes. He said Ridgid is slow to send parts. It took 4 months to get a switch, to fix the tool. He asked for the registration tag - that's when I found about my LSA was never acknowledged.
So how about that LSA. You can search the internet and find a mixed bag. It seems Emerson randomly accepts your registration papers. I sent my registration in and it was never acknowledged. What do you have to do, drive to the Emerson office and meet face to face with the person? In hindsight I'd recommend copying everything and sending it notarized & return receipt. still no guarantee & the repair time will still be slow but...
DIY projects is my hobby - I do not work in construction. The battery is dead after very few working hours, still within the three year period but it is PAINFUL to get it replaced. I thought about buying a new battery and they've since changed the charger so replacement battery = replacement charger = $$$
My 18V lithium Ion batteries died early too, a month after the 3yr warranty. Hard decision ahead, buy new batteries & charger or all new tools - NOT RIDGID.
Pros: cool color
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>