728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Multi Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

RIDGID's new JobMax system of tools is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand you will begin to think of a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or using as a detail sander, this tool will become a vital member of your tool collection. Whether you are a cabinet maker, flooring or drywall installer, painter or just a hobbyist, this tool will solve work related problems you did not even know you had. The best part is that you can use any brands accessories with the universal adaptor. The JobMax power base accepts the Multi-tool head as well as all other JobMax tool heads sold separately. The power base allows the tool heads to be positioned in four ways, maximizing your comfort when completing jobs in tight or awkward spaces. Best of all they are backed by RIDGID's Lifetime Service Agreement. Free Batteries. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life.
Overall rating:
3.184 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product79 of 144reviews
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(21)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(51)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product79 of 144reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Review 21 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Florida

Rigid Multi-Tool - Poor Quality and Performance

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 12V Multi-Tool was the first Rigid brand tool I ever purchased and it turned out to be a big disappointment.
-Using the drywall attachment, the blade vibrated apart in less than 3 minutes of use performing poorly cutting on 5/8" FR drywall.
-I went to Home Depot and found no Rigid replacement blades were stocked/available and purchased a Dremel blade to use instead with the blade adapters provide with the multi-tool.
-After trying the tool the second time, In less than 2 minutes, the trigger switch became intermittent and when it finally ran, the tool ran spotty and sounded as if the gears were stripping out internally in what I would consider light duty use.
-Today, I'm taking it back to the store to ask for a refund.
-Hopefully, this particular tool is not indicative of the performance of other Rigid brand power tools or else customers like me will look at other brands to purchase in the future.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

job max multi tool

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am always impressed with HD's return policy. I returned this tool twice and the same problem occurred; the connection with the trigger and powering the tool kept shorting out. This was after the first charge, out of the box, on all three tools.......from different stores and one purchased from the internet. Do not purchase this tool as it needs to have the bugs worked out. Purchase a tool without removable heads, as this appears to be the issue.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Rochester, NY

DO NOT PURCHASE VERY BAD TOOL

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have other Rigid toos that are great but this one is junk. The adaptor broke and you cannot buy Rigid blades. The tool lasts for 20 minutes then shuts off and the storage bag is a real dumb design for holding accessories.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from California

Product Stops Working

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Jobmax to cut door jams for tile and to clear out grout joints. It worked great out of the box, but failed to continue to work after running through a full charge. After charging the battery and continuing to cut the tool would stop working. I would wiggle the battery and the product would continue to work. I exchanged the first one for another jobmax and purchased an extra battery to make sure I was using a fresh battery. I had the same result. After a few hours of use it seemed that the battery would not make a solid connection. I released the trigger wiggled the battery and it would work shortly and then cut out. Keep in mind I used a fresh battery and ensured that the battery was fully inserted. It's unfortunate. I really loved the tool, but after returning two of them I decided to give up. Hopefully Rigid corrects this because it has the potential to be an amazing tool.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Milwaukee, WI

You didn't even know you needed one...

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You didn't even know you needed one until you used one and then didn't have one.
This tool is in a league of its own. From the cordless operation (via Lithium Ion Battery) to the adapter that comes with it to make using other manufacturers tools work with it.
The default pack comes with the battery, charger, power handle, multi-tool head and an assortment of attachments. I would recommend that you purchase a 2nd battery if you plan to use the tool for continuous operation.
Charging time of the battery is quick at about 30 minutes.
The default tools assortment allow for mostly wood working. Be it cutting/trimming, plunge cutting or sanding.
Being a cordless tool, I was surprised with the power that the light weight unit produced. I was able to plunge cut through wood (to fix a broken door frame) and notch out the piece to be replaced.
With a standard tool I would have had to lay out the process, via a template, to insure accuracy, with a router. With a saber saw or saws-all I would had been a lot less precise and more clean up work would have been needed.
Needless to say, this tool pays for itself with the first use.
The flexibility that it provides will make any around the house task a breeze.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Flowery branch, GA

GREAT MULTI TOOL

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this tool 12/1/10 and only charged the battery for 30 mins when I opened the box. I have been using the tool for a bathroom remodel and it hasn't died on me yet. I will agree with the other reviewers about the bag being too small but I could care less about the bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Flowery branch, GA

bad 1st review

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently wrote a review on the rigid multi tool and said it was great, used it all night and it worked perfect but I wrote praise too soon. I went back to work the next night and the darn thing wouldn't even come on! I thought the battery must be dead so I charged it for an hour and still nothing. I read another review that this happened to someone else so I will return it and don't think I will buy another RIGID.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Good idea, needs some work

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a professional repair man and for a while have wanted to add an oscillating tool to my collection. I looked at all of the brands on the market and read many reviews, both professional and common. After all the research i settled on this Ridgid multi-max. I really liked the idea that i could buy different heads for different jobs and the price wasn't bad either. I even tried one out at my local Home Depot store. Also i should mention that i really like Ridgid, and so the fact that it was a Ridgid carried a lot of weight with me. I have a lot of Ridgid tools, most of my power tools are Ridgid. The day after i bought the Multi-max, i was on a job and needed to cut a small hole in some drywall. It worked great and i thought i had made the right choice, however i was wrong. A few hours later i found myself using it again, but this time when i turned it on the gears in the head stripped out or something along those lines. I tried to see if it was fixable but it wasn't. I returned the tool and have since bought a Milwaukee oscillating tool, which i am not so sure about either. I gave this two stars because it is a really good idea and i don't know how it works with the other heads on it, maybe it does great. All i know is that the oscillating head needs some work.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from greenville, S.C.

awesome

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great for all your tasks. I even have my children begging to take turns to help with family projects. It makes a great gift and addition to any tool shed. And it's great even for novice craftsmen and women!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Zion, IL

What a tool!

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was considering buying another brand of tool but had heard so many good things about Rigid that I decided to give it a shot. Boy am I glad I did. I do a lot of renovation and this tool has been invaluable. From trimming molding to cutting holes in drywall and cutting porcelain tile, this is a must-have tool. I couldn't be happier...or more impressed. Rigid really "nailed" this one!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Detroit, MI

3-in-1

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for a multitool to grind/sand down a door frame and have seen the Dremel several times in TV commercials. Though, after comparing both tools in my local HD store, I decided to go with the one from Ridgid.
The overall features of the Ridgid multitool were convincing. Most important PLUS: cordless/battery and LED light
I think I made a good choice. I got the job done and I was impressed by the tool's performance.
Though I am not able to make a direct comparison with other multitools since this is the only one I've been using so far.
However, you won't be disappointed if you get this one. It seems to be good quality and well thought through.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Chicago, IL

no problems yet

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure I'd have purchased this if I'd have read the reviews but I've been fairly happy with Ridgid so far.
I've had it for a few weeks and I haven't had any problems so far.
Nice features:
bag fits well, not too big.. not too small.
good heft, seems well made.
the adapter for other vendors blades works well. I purchased a bosch scraper with it and it works perfectly.
Charges fast.
Cordless is much more convenient than the corded models (like the Dremel).
The ability to add new heads is great.. my next purchase will be the angle drill head.
issues:
my only issue so far is that I used the blade that's rated for drywall to trim a couple small tiles. The tool performed great but the blade dulled. I Understand tile is more dense than DryWall and I accept I wasn't using the blade as intended. I'm not surprised it was hard on the blade.
I'm still a bit disappointed it didn't hold up better than it did. I feel like they could have used a better quality of metal in the blade (is it even carbide?). These weren't particularly good tiles (not porcelain or stone).
Overall, I've been happy with the tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from York, PA

Great for all those small jobs!

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Job Max is worth the $$! One of those tools that you ask yourself, "what could I use this for?" then you quickly realize the answer is just about everything and it quickly becomes an indispensable addition to your tool bag. I actually found myself looking around the house trying to find more jobs where I can use it. This tool is incredibly versatile (which is obviously the point) but it really does work well. It is battery powered, so the convenience there is a nice factor over the corded models. If you have ever used a corded model like a FEIN Multimaster you will quickly realize the RIDGID JobMax isn't as heavy duty. My advice, if you are a pro contractor get the more expensive FEIN multiMaster, but if you are a DIY'er or hobbyist, go with the Job Max. Great little tool for sandind tough to reach places, cutting trim and moldings, plunge cutting drywall for outlets and switches, etc. etc. etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Saratoga New York

DO NOT PURCHASE

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These units work well for about three days and then the switch goes. I went and had it fixed and three days later it was dead again. I used to like Ridgid products, but this one is a dealbreaker.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Grand Blanc, Mi

Gift for Son

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift for my son. He was very excited and thought it would be a very useful tool to have. I have not heard if he's used it as to date.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Indiana

good concept bad design

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been through 3 different tools. Returned for new and finally the last time the rep gave me my money back and i bought a milwaukee. This is one the best concepts for a tool I have seen in a while, but I don't think they were ready. The trigger would go out and work intermittenly after 1 or 2 times of short use. This was very frustrating. I really liked the idea of the interchangealbe heads and being able to rotate the head, but like I said it just didn't work. The pin that the head pushes down would not push all the way or did not make good contact. This is coming from a guy who 90 percent of his tools are ridgid because I they are very good tools. Just not this one!!! Very disappointed!!!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 37 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Kansas City, MO

Great tool!

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been very impressed with the speed that this little tool takes cares of the jobs! I'm a Network Field Technician and this is invaluable to me! It's makes cutting in old work boxes so quick, clean and easy! I've used it to cut FRP panels, drywall, formica and baseboard.
The only downside, if you call it that, is that the blades aren't quick release, you have to use the allen wrench to swap out blades.
I'm going to purchase the Impact Driver head very shortly, I'm very excited to have so many heads for one tool!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from Leadville, CO

Fun and Easy

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product because I am not that talented with the household repairs. But this product helps me do work that looks like I hired a professional. I also love how it as the different tool heads so you can do multiple projects around the house. My boyfriend is an electician and even takes it to work with him some days, well whenever I don't need it. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
from COLUMBUS, OH

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE. I HAVE GONE THROUGH 3 OF THESE MULTI TOOLS. THE 1ST ONE HAD A DEFECTIVE BATTERY. THE 2D ONE WORKED FOR 1 DAY THEN THE TRIGGER MECHANISM BECAME HIT AND MISS. THE 3D ONE HAD THE BOLT TO SECURE EACH HEAD SNAP INTO 2 PIECES WHEN FINGER TIGHTENING. WILL BE TAKING THIS ONE BACK AND GETTING A DIFFERENT MAKE OF THIS TOOL
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 40 for JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Great tool

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am remodeling my home and purchased this tool to be a good multi-tool for odds and end jobs. I bought this starter kit and the drill head.
Yesterday I used it for the first time to drill electrical holes through studs. I performed perfectly.
When I went to charge the battery after I was done using the tool for the day, I had some problems. The charger kept indicating that the battery was defective. However, I then examined it and found that I was not pushing the battery all the way onto the charger. I think this may be what is causing many other people's problems. You really need to push the battery to click it into place, then it will charge normally and the tool will work correctly.
Li-ion batteries are weird. They go full power until they are pretty much dead, then just stop. It sounds to me like many reviewers have not properly recharged their batteries and that is what is causing the problems.
I will update this review when I have used the tool more. Give me a month...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>