728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

This Sno-Tek 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower by Ariens powers through your snow build-up for fast removal. This best selling, rust-resistant snow blower features a push button electric starter and a 205-degree turning radius on the chute that will throw the snow up to 35 ft.. The Powerful 136 cc LCT Storm Force OHV Engine is paired with aggressive tread Polar Trac tires to power through most snow conditions.
Overall rating:
4.155 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product121 of 138reviews
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(58)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product121 of 138reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

I recommend this for someone you don't like

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 3rd pull and the cord failed to retract. Then I tried using the electric start and the prongs were installed wrong. It didn't give any clearance for the power cord to fit in. After cursing for 5 minutes, I finally got it started. Maneuvering this was like trying to trying to push a hippo into a Fiat 500. The one speed it has is incredibly slow. If you have a long driveway, by the time you're done spring will be here. So there, recommend this to all those neighbors that don't mow their lawns before it starts seeding, edge their sidewalks every 5 years, leave lawn clippings all over the sidewalk and think the weeds are part of the landscaping.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from East Meadow, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got the product just in time for Winter Storm Nemo and it worked fine. Only problem I had is with the delivery of the product. Didn't get any instrucitons and it was missing a pin for the snow chute. But I improvised with a paper clip. Buyers make sure you have everything when you purchase it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Self-Propelled
Cons: No Instructions, missing part
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Toledo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price and great back saver

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have refused to buy a snowblower for years, finally giving in this year due to increasing age of my wife and I. Well, I should have bought one decades ago, this unit is fun to use, light enough that it can be maneuvered easilly in tight places yet still throws the snow a long way. My wife enjoys it so much she ends up doing all the neighbors driveways and sidewalks. It has electric start if you plug it in to an extension cord, but the pull start is so easy and it always fires on the first or second pull so I have never tried the electric start option. I hate to admit it, I am looking forward to snow just to play with this thing...great little machine.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product...

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this item at the end of 2013,have used twice already with no problems....really recommend this product
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Performance For Cost

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this mid October from local Home Depot.
Easily assembled in under 1/2 hr. another 15 min to add the Melt Buddy drop spreader.(nice addition in my opinion)
Had to wait till today's snow to review, 5" of heavy wet snow.
The unit preformed solidly, threw the snow and slush at least 25' (had to clear slush build up from tip of chute a few times when it started inhibiting the throw distance.)
The aggressive tread on tires climbed right up my steep driveway no problem.
The single forward speed is somewhat painfully slow at times but this will be perfect for deeper snow so as not to overload the auger.
For the price I am perfectly pleased with the purchase.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Lasalle, IL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done but nothing more

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 3rd snow blower and overall the value to simply throw snow is there, however, there are no gears, only one speed with no reverse...There is no throttle so the engine runs at one constant speed, the assembly of the chute and chute level is not a smooth process as it is rough going to get the lever to respond without some real force. The carburetor is easily drained and the sparkplug is easily accessible for maintenance purposes. Do not leave gas that is anything other than fresh out of the pump and without sea foam in this machine as it is super touchy and particular about what level of octane remains in the motor.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Richland, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After 3 years, FINALLY some snow!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had this thing sitting in my shed for 3 years, just waiting for snow, starting to think I was never going to get to use it. Well, the Northeast finally got hit with some snow, about 6 inches for my area. My driveway that used to take me about 3 hours to shovel only took 20 minutes. Ended up doing 3 of my neighbors driveways too. My neighbor across the street normally sends her teenage boys out to shovel, and it takes them about 5 hours. I did her driveway in 30 minutes. This snow blower did exactly what it was supposed to do, took the snow from one place, and moved it somewhere else. Can't really ask for anything more. And it did all that on less than one tank of fuel. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Ocean County, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine, can't wait to use it....

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A well built machine, unfortunately as soon as I put it in my garage the snowfall stopped amounting to enough to use it.
I must comment on the delivery service. The machine was sent to a local business, where they assembled and tested it. They then filled the tank and brought it to my home. The delivery person unloaded it and instructed me in all the operations and uses. Great service !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product at a fair price

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snow blower packs a punch for such s small unit. It easily removes snow, beyond its size. It started right up, and runs smoothly. it's well built, much better than the Sears model I had before.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Island Park NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Delivered Broken

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to start it and the pully cord came off with one pull, have to wait for replacement piece which for a $500.00 snow blower someone should come and fix or replace
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Dyer, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sno Tek 20" Snow Blower

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 1 month of ownership and 8 uses here in NW Indiana, I am very pleased with the SnoTek 20. The 2-stage operation has been more than adequate in handing 10"+ of snow.
I have yet to use the electric start function as it is a very easy pull and starts on the 1st or 2nd attempt, even after sitting for extended periods.
The lack of a reverse gear is somewhat of a minor inconvenience and back-pulling the unit manually does require some minimal upper-body strength. The one forward gear is slow and there is some tendency to "push" the unit to make it travel faster, but the speed is well-matched to snowfalls of 2" or more.
Overall rating is excellent for this snow blower.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 10yrs of faithful service my old Craftsman snowblower finally gave up the ghost so I upgraded to a two stage model. After reading the reviews on the Snow Tek (made by Ariens) I decided on this one. This winter in Michigan it has been brutal with the most snowfall in recorded history. The Snow Tek 20" model eats through the biggest accumulations without bogging down and throws any type of snow from powder to slush an impressive distance. I haven't tried the electric start yet because it has cranked up in one or two pulls every time. The only con is that it doesn't have a reverse, but still not a problem to just back up. Great machine and I wouldn't hesistate to recommend it.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

snow blower

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The snowblower works better than I could've hoped for. Our house sits on the top of a hill here in Wyoming. And thanks to our constant wind, we have large drifts that form across the front of our garage door and toward the end of our driveway. The snowblower had NO problem with tackling either of the drifts, and the self propel feature saved my back and legs from pushing. Didn't have to push once. What used to take me almost an hour with my old snowblower was handled with this one in about 12-14 minutes. Well worth the money!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value and Gets the Job Done

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model is double stage with one forward speed and no reverse ( hence only 4 stars for features) but for clearing a few forty foot driveways (mine and a few neighbors) and relatively narrow walkways it gets the job done. Set-up was easy and the electric start makes getting going a breeze. The 20" wide unit works for me because the driveway is single car width. Of course if you have a double wide driveway a wider unit will get the job done quicker. Having said that this unit has easily cut through heavy, wet snow over 12" with no problem.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from cuyahoga falls

small size lots of power

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Sno Tek 20" snow blower online because of the free delivery. The snow blower had a minor issue and the driver was able to fix it.
I used the snow blower for the first time today. It was able to move a snow and slush mix with no problem.
it always starts on the first pull and has lots of power to move snow. The heavy stuff at end of the driveway was handled with no problem.
The small size of this snow blower is perfect for a small garage but don't be fooled by it's size. it's a powerful machine.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Pretty basic, but pretty good snowblower..

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This snowblower does indeed throw snow and the 7hp engine keeps it moving in pretty deep snow.
I like the fact that the handles that control the snow auger and drive wheels are capable of being locked in place together. The directional snow chute does not move or rattle regardless of the volume of snow you are moving.
I do not like the lack of speed settings for the drive wheels. The only forward speed is much too slow for anything less than a foot of fresh, wet snow. My other complaint is that the tires are very small and their profile from side to side is rounded; snowblower tires should have a flatter profile in order to get more tread on the ground.
Overall not a bad snowblower, but for the money you can do better.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: Limited Features, bad tires
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Pottstown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This IS MY FIRST TWO STAGE SNOW BLOWER

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I brought it home on 10/25/11, put 16ozs. of oil in crankcase, filled gas tank, this one has electric start, but i pull started it . One pull and it started, it runs quite and smooth, we got 5 inches of snow today,IT RAN GREAT, love it, ran it for two hours. this snow blower did not skip a beat,,,LET IT SNOW.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Long Island ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Can't go wrong for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although it only has one speed and no reverse, it's easy to move around so for me it's no big deal. We recently had 12" of snow and this snowblower went through it no problem. I even cleared the end of the driveway where the plows bury you in, no trouble. It's a small machine so I took it slow and got through my own driveway as well as two of my neighbors. Ariens makes a great product, even with a foreign made motor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Glastonbury, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did a great job through the Connecticut Blizzard of 2013

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Glastonbury, CT received 31" of snow during the CT blizzard of 2013. The first 8" were wet, heavy snow. This Sno-Tek blew right through it with ease, even throwing the wet snow 25' without an issue. Started right up in 5 degree temps with 60mph winds. Highly recommend this machine. I wouldn't have gotten through the blizzard without it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Minneapolis, MN

Plastic gear failed on first use.

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this snow thrower for the snow fall here in Minnesota that caused the Metrodome roof to collapse. After 1 hour the self propel stopped working. Following the instructions in the owners manual, I placed the unit in the service position and removed the steel cover under the rear axle. I found that the rear tires are driven by a plastic gear that connects to a steel gear. In just one hour of heavy use a two inch area of the plastic teeth were missing.
Ariens tech support knew exactly what I was talking about and offered to send out a replacement plastic gear. Instead, I am going to return this unit to the Home Depot and purchase something from another manufacturer.
+30points
38out of 46found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>