728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

This Sno-Tek 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower by Ariens powers through your snow build-up for fast removal. This best selling, rust-resistant snow blower features a push button electric starter and a 205-degree turning radius on the chute that will throw the snow up to 35 ft.. The Powerful 136 cc LCT Storm Force OHV Engine is paired with aggressive tread Polar Trac tires to power through most snow conditions.
Overall rating:
4.168 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product132 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 161 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(76)
4
(64)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(13)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product132 of 150reviews
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 79 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Allentown, Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my new toy!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The snowblower was delivered to a local dealership, assembled and delivered to my driveway with a full tank of gas, no charge. I was told by Home Depot that this service was not available in this area. I guess it is. So far we only have had a few inches of snow, but I used it anyway. Waiting for some bigger snow to really try it out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from East Meadow, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got the product just in time for Winter Storm Nemo and it worked fine. Only problem I had is with the delivery of the product. Didn't get any instrucitons and it was missing a pin for the snow chute. But I improvised with a paper clip. Buyers make sure you have everything when you purchase it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Self-Propelled
Cons: No Instructions, missing part
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

I recommend this for someone you don't like

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 3rd pull and the cord failed to retract. Then I tried using the electric start and the prongs were installed wrong. It didn't give any clearance for the power cord to fit in. After cursing for 5 minutes, I finally got it started. Maneuvering this was like trying to trying to push a hippo into a Fiat 500. The one speed it has is incredibly slow. If you have a long driveway, by the time you're done spring will be here. So there, recommend this to all those neighbors that don't mow their lawns before it starts seeding, edge their sidewalks every 5 years, leave lawn clippings all over the sidewalk and think the weeds are part of the landscaping.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-6points
8out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Performance For Cost

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this mid October from local Home Depot.
Easily assembled in under 1/2 hr. another 15 min to add the Melt Buddy drop spreader.(nice addition in my opinion)
Had to wait till today's snow to review, 5" of heavy wet snow.
The unit preformed solidly, threw the snow and slush at least 25' (had to clear slush build up from tip of chute a few times when it started inhibiting the throw distance.)
The aggressive tread on tires climbed right up my steep driveway no problem.
The single forward speed is somewhat painfully slow at times but this will be perfect for deeper snow so as not to overload the auger.
For the price I am perfectly pleased with the purchase.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Countryside Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too new to review

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The snow blower is really too new to review because it hasn't snowed yet. However I feel it to be a good product because of the opinions I've gathered before purchased. I am very unhappy that I could not purchase the 20 in. the store. Shipping is an expensive waste.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from dearborn mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Haven't used it yet, no snow, but the demo convinced me I bought the best 1

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
haven't used snowblower yet, but I am sure after the demo by the person who assembled the unit and delivered it that it will work exactly how I anticipate or even better! this is an excellent product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from buffalo ny
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
snow blower is great looks wonderful, The service I received from the delivery people was kind and professional.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Parma, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Changing oil was a chore. I'll scrap it before I do it again!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The oil drain tube, actually a HEXAGON, is directly across from the top of the right rear wheel. This leaves absolutely no room to use a funnel to drain the oil, even though I had the left side raised with two (2) 2x4's. I notified Airens of this and was told, "Slide a plastic hose over the tube to drain the oil.". I'd like to see them try it! I sure didn't. The hose would crimp, no surprise, trying to bend it down. And they expect this to work?????
Trying to put oil in is just as bad. The oil inlet is almost parallel to the ground! You cannot hold a funnel in such a position and expect the oil to flow into the inlet. I had to tilt the unit, hold a funnel to the inlet, and poor the oil all at the same time. Not an easy task. The BLACK dip stick has a nice design, and has an "L" at the bottom which indicates low oil. This I could not see. But it's there according to the manual. Yea, I could have seen it if I had the eyesight of a bold eagle! How do they expect anyone to read the oil level on a BLACK piece of plastic that is a 1/4" wide and is not smooth?????
I would not purchase any Airens product if it has an LCT engine designed like this one, or anything else. I am very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Cons: very poorly designed engine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Toledo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price and great back saver

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have refused to buy a snowblower for years, finally giving in this year due to increasing age of my wife and I. Well, I should have bought one decades ago, this unit is fun to use, light enough that it can be maneuvered easilly in tight places yet still throws the snow a long way. My wife enjoys it so much she ends up doing all the neighbors driveways and sidewalks. It has electric start if you plug it in to an extension cord, but the pull start is so easy and it always fires on the first or second pull so I have never tried the electric start option. I hate to admit it, I am looking forward to snow just to play with this thing...great little machine.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Lasalle, IL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done but nothing more

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 3rd snow blower and overall the value to simply throw snow is there, however, there are no gears, only one speed with no reverse...There is no throttle so the engine runs at one constant speed, the assembly of the chute and chute level is not a smooth process as it is rough going to get the lever to respond without some real force. The carburetor is easily drained and the sparkplug is easily accessible for maintenance purposes. Do not leave gas that is anything other than fresh out of the pump and without sea foam in this machine as it is super touchy and particular about what level of octane remains in the motor.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from upstate new york
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great little snow thower

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
needed a small snow thower for around my house in the city .it goes a little slow. but blows a lot of snow great little snow thrower
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Crown Point, IN
Age Range:65 or over

The Home Depot Experience

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since this product is a snow thrower and since it hasn't snowed since I received it, I can only comment on the ordering and delivery process which was highly satisfactory. As a result of my experience in dealing with Home Depot on this purchase as well as on a previous issue, I highly recommend dealing with Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from cuyahoga falls

small size lots of power

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Sno Tek 20" snow blower online because of the free delivery. The snow blower had a minor issue and the driver was able to fix it.
I used the snow blower for the first time today. It was able to move a snow and slush mix with no problem.
it always starts on the first pull and has lots of power to move snow. The heavy stuff at end of the driveway was handled with no problem.
The small size of this snow blower is perfect for a small garage but don't be fooled by it's size. it's a powerful machine.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product...

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this item at the end of 2013,have used twice already with no problems....really recommend this product
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Minneapolis, MN

Plastic gear failed on first use.

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this snow thrower for the snow fall here in Minnesota that caused the Metrodome roof to collapse. After 1 hour the self propel stopped working. Following the instructions in the owners manual, I placed the unit in the service position and removed the steel cover under the rear axle. I found that the rear tires are driven by a plastic gear that connects to a steel gear. In just one hour of heavy use a two inch area of the plastic teeth were missing.
Ariens tech support knew exactly what I was talking about and offered to send out a replacement plastic gear. Instead, I am going to return this unit to the Home Depot and purchase something from another manufacturer.
+34points
42out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Eastern Missouri

Needs a Tee handle throttle and shutoff control

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been using an Atlas 20 inch single stage snow blower since 1975. It has worked very well and is a perfect size for my area and storage facilities.If fact it still works well, but I thought I would like to replace it with an electric start and two stage unit. The smallest I could find were 24 inch units, until I located this machine. It looked ideal for my needs, so I bought it...When it arrived I assembled, and checked it out in accordance with the assembly instructions. All went well, however this was the middle of summer, so I wouldn't be using it for at least six months. I did notice that it did not have a T handle throttle on the control panel to regulate the engine speed and provide a means for quick shut down. The current on-off switch is cumbersome to operate and located on the engine itself...There is no engine speed control..The addition of a Tee handle would be an inexpensive and very worthwhile addition..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Island Park NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Delivered Broken

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to start it and the pully cord came off with one pull, have to wait for replacement piece which for a $500.00 snow blower someone should come and fix or replace
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Pottstown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This IS MY FIRST TWO STAGE SNOW BLOWER

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I brought it home on 10/25/11, put 16ozs. of oil in crankcase, filled gas tank, this one has electric start, but i pull started it . One pull and it started, it runs quite and smooth, we got 5 inches of snow today,IT RAN GREAT, love it, ran it for two hours. this snow blower did not skip a beat,,,LET IT SNOW.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from N. Wilkesboro, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Used It Yet - Runs and Looks Great!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was a snap. Had it ready to use in just under 30 minutes. Took an extra step - drained the factory installed oil and refilled with 100% synthetic. Added fuel and test cranked the unit. Runs great. No hesitation and cranked on the 2nd pull! Looking forward to using my "Sno-Tek" when we start getting some snow. I did a lot of research before deciding to buy this unit and although this machine is smaller, after closer examination, I'm convinced it will do an excellent job removing snow from my driveway. Cosmetically, it is a nicer looking machine compared to many other brands. It's funny but this year is the first time I've seen snow blowers at our local Lowes store. They were the 208 cc Troy Built units (6 of them) setting outside of the store - all reduced due to carburetor refurbs. I actually considered that model but after examining them up close, I'm relieved that I chose Ariens instead.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Failed after one season

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this during MN's historic snowfall season. Worked fine at first, strong motor and good enough single speed.
The following year, it was leaking gear oil and the self propulsion no longer worked so had to take it in for warranty already with less than one year under its belt.
My brother in law also purchased one and after year one, it would not start and he also had to get warranty work done. 0 for 2 is enough for me, sad thing is that I had an old MTD that lasted 10 years with no issues. Might as well stick with MTD based on this experience.
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>