728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Sno-Tek by Ariens Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1210 reviews) 1210
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product1,092 of 1,164reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,210 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(843)
4
(262)
3
(39)
2
(27)
1
(39)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product1,092 of 1,164reviews
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions | 359 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Akron, Ohio

Gas Snow Blower

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a snow blower similar to this a few years ago. But this one operates more efficient. I have to be careful these days because of my hip and total knee implants. This machine moves throw the heavy snow at an easier unit to get the job and at a safer pace for me in my condition. So go out and buy one and see if I am telling you the ease and fun you will have using this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Waconia, MN

Great right out of the box!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the brand when I bought it from Home Depot. However, I have had good luck with most products purchased from HD, so after talking with the sales rep, I went ahead and purchased this blower.
It only took me a half hour to assemble, and I could tell just putting this thing together that it was high quality.
We ended up getting 16 inches of snow the following day, so I was excited to give this machine a workout.
I used the plug in option to fire it up, and it started immediately. It ran extremely smooth. It almost seems over powered for the size. But that is a good thing. It cut through the snow nicely.
I ended up cleaning 3 of my neighbors drive ways after I finished mine. It saved me alot of time and my back, and I am extremely pleased I purchased this machine.
My only gripe would be that the tires don't grip as good as I would have liked. I had an icy base coat under my snow, so it may not be fair to judge the blower on this,but I think I will invest in some chains in the near future.
All in all I highly recommend this snow blower. It does everything I expected it to do and more, and appears to be extremely reliable. I would definitely go with this model over the step down. The bigger engine and more power is well worth it. It never got jammed, or showed any sign of slowing down.
Hope this helps anyone who may be on the fence about this product. It is a great deal, and a very quality blower.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Pasco, WA

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant buying it sight unseen, but man am I glad I did. We don't get a lot of snow, but I'm getting old and lazy and wanted to get something durable and capable for the occasional snowpocalypse, but not super expensive - or with a lot of bells/whistles/gadgets to break. This machine delivers exceptional performance and value.
We had between 3/4" and 4" of wet, packed snow/ice all around the house and this machine chewed it up and spit it out like it wasn't there. I even went after the snow that was right along the curb and it kept chugging along.
I did a lot of research on the LCT engine and based on my initial impression can recommend it without hesitation. It starts easy and runs smooth. The plastic and metal parts have a very good fit and finish and quality to them. I read that the engine has a very long EPA emissions compliance rating, which is a good indicator of its durability (some are as low as 50 hours!).
The rest of the unit is made of heavy gauge steel and uses high quality hardware throughout. The chute is very thick plastic and has a very thick metal cap. The handles, levers, etc. are all sturdy and will hold up very well.
You can run it with one hand once you get it rolling. The chute rotation is conveniently located and very quick. I really like having six speeds to help match the feed rate to the conditions. It rolls easily with the clutch disengaged and being able to disengage either or both tires is a nice feature. In an hour, I was able to clear several hundred feet of sidewalk, two small patios, and two large driveways. It's big enough to do real work but not so heavy or awkward to make it tough to move around.
Setup and assembly was very quick and easy - requiring only a couple of wrenches and 15 minutes or so. Anyone can do it with ease and the instructions are easy to understand.
This is a great snow blower for the money and should last a long time. If you are in the market for a real snowblower and don't want to spend $1000 - this is the unit for you. Ariens really hit a home run with this one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Salem, NH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This machine is a beast!!

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered from HD online and picked up in store. They had it already to go for me. All gassed up and ready. They demo'ed the machine for me and went over all of the controls. Loaded it up in my truck and good to go.
We had a rare end of October noreaster last week and this ripped through the heavy wet snow with no problems. I recommed setting up one wheel to turn freely to make turning the machine easier. Just pull the wheel pin out and push the wheel all the way in past the hole then reinsert the pin.
They highly recommend an oil change after the first storm to prevent any metal shavings from the break in run from getting gummed up in the engine.
+51points
53out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hutchinson, MN

Great right out of the box

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well Well...Living in Minnesota I finally broke down and purchased a snow blower....online. I shopped extensivly and did my research both on features , reliability and price and this was the BEST deal by far. First, it was delivered in just a matter of ja couple of days right to my garage a Big plus. Communication with HD was excellent. Partial assembly of this item was quick with just a couple of household tools. The components and finish of the Sno Tek 24 are just Great The controls are simple and laid out in a logical manner, and easy to understand. The chute control is especially nice and really easy to use. Big features on an economical machine. Dont' be afraid of the LCT (China) engine Vs a US made one it will perform just as well. Filled with gas and oil and started on the second pull right out of the box. Controls functioned flawlessly and with little effort. Drive engaged for both the auger and drive without effort....now undersand it is mid July and 100 degrees here in Minneapolis so not to much snow but I am confident that it would perform well. Large intake, serrated auger larger tires and snow clearing tool make this a Great buy along with the free shipping and resonable price make this a GREAT deal...even in July. Buy early this model won't last long once the snow flies.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Lots of great features

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I haven't had a chance to use this yet but I am looking forward to it making my work a lot easier when the snows come!
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

best snowblower ever

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this in Sept. 2011.Can't beat free shipping and setup to my garage,and man explained all features and how to use.Before first use I sprayed inside chutes and auger with Teflon spray lube from Ace Hardware which stops snow sticking and add Stabl to gas.1st snow last week was heavy wet 8.5 inches.Performed great at all speeds throwing snow 40 feet. I love this machine.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Sno-Tek 24 in. 2-Stage Gas Snow Blower (920402)

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fantastic free delivery provided. Unit comes fully assembled with full gas tank & oil. Delivery man will show you how to operate & will start up blower. This is my first snow blower and it looks like a good one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Kenosha, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent service

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything went well and I can't wait to try it out in real snow.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

So far so good

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The snow blower was delivered to my house, fully assembled, by the local Ariens dealer who went over the entire machine with me, explaining the controls, typical preventive maintenance, etc. When we get some snow I will report back.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Missouri

NO MORE SHOVELING SNOW

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to get a snow blower early this year before the FIRST snow. I have been doing research on various makes and models of snow blowers from other companies. I was thinking about purchasing a different snow blower from another company with about the same specs as this one comes with. When I came across this one from Home Depot, I decided to purchase it. Other companies wanted to charge (around an extra $100.00) for shipping to my house, but Home Depot offered FREE SHIPPING to my house. I jumped on this deal and called and ordered it. I also received the extra 10% discount, since I am retired from the military (which made it even a BETTER DEAL). Even though I have not been able to use this blower yet, with being 24" in width, I know it will cut down a lot on the time and the back breaking from using the shovel. The electric start is a PLUS. It started on the FIRST try. The controls are very easy to use and you DO NOT have to manually adjust the chute (as on other models from other manufactures). You just have to turn the lever which is accessible from the control panel area. If you purchase a snow blower from another company, you could be paying TOO MUCH.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Plymouth MN

Great

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered online. Free delivery and personal instructions in its use was wonderful.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from McCall, Idah0

Really great snow blower

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in idaho, I have already used this forceful snow blower. It really does throw the snow 40 feet. I have a long driveway of a couple hundred yards to clear and this blower worked fine uphill and downhill. I am glad I read the booklets as the keys are red plastic and wrapped on the assembly. They don't exactly look like keys, but do fit all the way into the ignition or key hole. I was looking for real keys, but, duh, finally figured that one out. I had to laugh at myself. I needed two wrenches to get the bolts on. The two bolts left over are extra shear bolts.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Baltimore, MD

Efficiency

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great to use with ease. Efficient when compared with other similar like item. Will recommend to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New|England

SnoTek

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently purchased one of the SnoTek snow blowers. Excellent value for the look and structure of this item. The use of different speeds and safety devices are good things on this product. Hope to get many years of use from this product. Can't wait for our first heavy snow storm sure this snow blower will make the job much easier.
Going to be the envy of our neighbors.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Milwaukee, WI

Looking forward to putting it thru it's paces

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got it about a month ago, haven't been able to use it yet. Well I almost fired it up for a snowfall less then an inch. My better half overruled me. :(
Assembly was quick and easy, with no issues. Quality of machine for most part was identical to the higher price cousin (Ariens Compact 2-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower). The chute, tires, engine and color are the only differences. I think these tires are better then the compact ones. Engine started right up with 2 pumps of prime, and one pull. Used electric start the 2nd time, with no issues, Engine/unit operated smoothly. Looking forward to being able to use it, and see what it can do. Will review the use when I can
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

impressive

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble , looks great .... can't wait for snow to try this out , then ill be back for another review . So far though I am very impressed , and it looks even better in my garage.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

great product

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the new setup and deliver system. Where your product is delivered to a private company put together started and tested then delivered to you. It takes away all the personal mistakes a owner will make in putting things together and save homedepot money in the long run.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The snowblower is easy to handle.

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great snowblower. The value and quality are excellent. The neighbors have given it the thumbs up.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Well-Built, easy to maneuver

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this back in September. Tired of having to shovel snow off of our 150 foot driveway. Looks like we will be able to put it to use this weekend as the forecast is calling for 5 to 8 inches of snow here.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 25 >>