728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Ariens Sno-Tek Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1171 reviews) 1171
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product1,057 of 1,128reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,171 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(818)
4
(253)
3
(35)
2
(26)
1
(39)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product1,057 of 1,128reviews
Customer questions and answers:
76 Questions | 303 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Anonymous
from Lake of the Woods, Virginia

Best Price on Snoablowers

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely pleased with shipping, receiving (mine) and equipment.that was advertised. Was in great shape and only four nuts to tighten on the whole machine. (Impressive!)
Comes delivered free from HD with the 208c engine (8 HP) that no other 24" snow blower has. (That I could find)
Also, about $150.00 cheaper.
Can't wait for snow:)
Thanks.
Danlee
+4points
17out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Rikk
from McCall, Idah0

Really great snow blower

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in idaho, I have already used this forceful snow blower. It really does throw the snow 40 feet. I have a long driveway of a couple hundred yards to clear and this blower worked fine uphill and downhill. I am glad I read the booklets as the keys are red plastic and wrapped on the assembly. They don't exactly look like keys, but do fit all the way into the ignition or key hole. I was looking for real keys, but, duh, finally figured that one out. I had to laugh at myself. I needed two wrenches to get the bolts on. The two bolts left over are extra shear bolts.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Rider2010
from Northen Utah

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised and one of the best values for the price I could find. Initial start up was easy with the 1st pull and the electric start is a nice feature I don't think I will be using much since it pull starts so easy. Cut right through the thick wet snow I had in the street and tossed it very well to my surprise. The controls are easy to operate and the 9.5HP kicks in when needed. Used this product in 3 storms now and it worked excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
tb123
from Akron, Ohio

Gas Snow Blower

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a snow blower similar to this a few years ago. But this one operates more efficient. I have to be careful these days because of my hip and total knee implants. This machine moves throw the heavy snow at an easier unit to get the job and at a safer pace for me in my condition. So go out and buy one and see if I am telling you the ease and fun you will have using this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
SnoLuver
from Traverse City, Michigan

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got unit home, fueled up, started on 2nd pull with half choke.
Next day, started 1st pull half choke. Love the ability to unlock wheels from drive mechanism to aid in turning.
Come on SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Kolo
from Baltimore, MD

Efficiency

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great to use with ease. Efficient when compared with other similar like item. Will recommend to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
doubleR
from Ramsey, MN

Strong snowblower

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my blower and wanted to use it immediately. Good thing I bought it when I did, City plow plowed in my three car drive way. The blower went through the snow with easy. I am very pleased and cant wait for more snow to come.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
2Cold
from Durango, CO

Great Machine

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this snow blower right in time for the snow season to hit. I have used it three times and it did a wonderful job. I am very impressed with this machine and the cost.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Zippy1965
from Oxford!NC

Love this snow blower!!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had looked hard for a two stage blower and was working on a budget and this blower was the best buy for the money hands down! Plenty of power and with the electric start and easy assembly was a breeze to get from the box to out in the yard blowing some snow! I recommend this product to anyone!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
OregonSnowman
from Klamath Falls, OR

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased mine from the local store and used the Military Veterans Discount.. Paid only $539. I decided on a unassembled boxed unit so that it would fit in the back of my GMC Jimmy althouthough the store did offer me a assembled version. Setup was a breeze. Took all of maybe 15 minutes. Instructions were very clear and through. I set my skid shoes to about 1" up cause I have a long gravel driveway. After putting a gallon of gas in it, primed 3x, Choked it (9 degree's outside) it started on the 2nd pull. Let it run for 15 minutes as stated in the instructions then took off in 4th gear down my 150' gravel driveway with over 18" of wet snow. Let me tell you this machine blows snow 40' as advertised! I noticed it really likes the wet/icy stuff and never bogged down once. When I got to the end of my driveway where the plow had blocked my driveway and I had drove over it this did not hamper the blower and it went right through the over 24" of packed ice/snow without a hiccup. 2nd gear allowed the machine to gobble and blow the mound lenghtwise!!! I noticed my neighbor with a competitor "RED" machine with the same size blower as this one was having to go slower down his driveway and had a bit of difficulty getting through the plow mound at the end of his driveway. My return trip down the driveway I had it in 6th gear and it traveled at nice walking pace with no problem and never bogged down again. When I assembled my machine I had engaged both traction wheels and never once had a problem with traction or turning although the maual say's you can leave one wheel to free spin making turns easier. Once back at my garage I took a coffee break and restarted the blower using the electric starter just to try it.. it sounded very powerfull and did not take more then 3 seconds to start right back up. I finished the rest of my driveway in mostly 6th gear although I did go slower near my garage and deflected the know doen more to keep it out of my neighbors yard. The chute direction control is easy to operate and with one hand on the wheel engage lever and the other cranking the handle. 2.5 times and the chute goes from fully right to fully left... while turning the blower the other direction in a turn one handed. Doing my concrete walkways around my house was just as easy since it's 24' wide it traveled down them without a hitch. Cleanup was a breeze after I was done thanks to the smooth coat of black paint.. the snow/slush wiped right off. The next day we got about 12" of powder snow so I decided I would try it again on powder. Topped off the gas.. (about 1/2 a gallon was used the day before). Primed it 3x as directed on the instuctions.. choked it and started on the 2nd pull. Off I went again down my driveway.. 6th gear is to fast for powder and had to slow down to about 3rd.. seemed I was pushing more powder then blowing it at full speed. Once I slowed down it did pretty good with the powder although the wet icy the day before was much better. Next time I just may let the powder sit a day and then blow it off as I know this machine will not have a problem with it. Again, clean up was a breeze. Oh, I did hit a large rock (around 3") the 1st day and had to replace a shear pin... took a couple 7/16" wrenches and replaced the pin in about 30 seconds.. hey it was really cold that day and did it with gloves on. That was my fault wor getting to close the landscape on the edge on my driway. Overall I am quite impressed with the power of this machine's 208cc (9.5 Ft pounds of torque) engine and the 24" clearing width. Without any doubt I would highly recommend this blower to anyone.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
EJC1
from Pasco, WA

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant buying it sight unseen, but man am I glad I did. We don't get a lot of snow, but I'm getting old and lazy and wanted to get something durable and capable for the occasional snowpocalypse, but not super expensive - or with a lot of bells/whistles/gadgets to break. This machine delivers exceptional performance and value.
We had between 3/4" and 4" of wet, packed snow/ice all around the house and this machine chewed it up and spit it out like it wasn't there. I even went after the snow that was right along the curb and it kept chugging along.
I did a lot of research on the LCT engine and based on my initial impression can recommend it without hesitation. It starts easy and runs smooth. The plastic and metal parts have a very good fit and finish and quality to them. I read that the engine has a very long EPA emissions compliance rating, which is a good indicator of its durability (some are as low as 50 hours!).
The rest of the unit is made of heavy gauge steel and uses high quality hardware throughout. The chute is very thick plastic and has a very thick metal cap. The handles, levers, etc. are all sturdy and will hold up very well.
You can run it with one hand once you get it rolling. The chute rotation is conveniently located and very quick. I really like having six speeds to help match the feed rate to the conditions. It rolls easily with the clutch disengaged and being able to disengage either or both tires is a nice feature. In an hour, I was able to clear several hundred feet of sidewalk, two small patios, and two large driveways. It's big enough to do real work but not so heavy or awkward to make it tough to move around.
Setup and assembly was very quick and easy - requiring only a couple of wrenches and 15 minutes or so. Anyone can do it with ease and the instructions are easy to understand.
This is a great snow blower for the money and should last a long time. If you are in the market for a real snowblower and don't want to spend $1000 - this is the unit for you. Ariens really hit a home run with this one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Johnj9424
from Chicago, IL

Ariens Snow Blower

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you live in the midwest, you need a 2- stage snow blower. Went back and forth between this model and a singe stage unit. I am glad I spent a few extra dollars and got this model. It just snowed 5 inches of wet snow, plus the city plow left 2 feet of slush at the end my driveway. The Ariens snow blower made quick work of the snow and slush. The second auger provides great lift when throwing the snow. I was shooting slush 20 feet across the street.
Most fun I had shoveling the driveway since I was a kid!
This is a great machine. Does a super job clearing "heart attack" snow.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Nettel
from Canton,OH

Bring on the Snow

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snow blower fired right up using the manual method on one pull. I'll try the electric start next time. On the floor this model was sold out. But Home Depot employees double checked and found that one was still in the system. Luckily, they had one left. They also helped load it up.
The LCT engine that's on the Sno-Tek performed great so far. It's designed and engineered in America, This made me feel better since I knew LCT was mfg. in China. I read it's as close to a honda motor as you can get. Honda signed off on the engineering of it..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
densab71
from beaver falls, PA

works like a champ

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
brought it home from the store, put gas and oil in, and it fired right up. so glad i spent the extra 100 bucks on this model. the electric start alone is worth it, and the different speeds are quite the bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Andrew4u
from Milwaukee, WI

Looking forward to putting it thru it's paces

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got it about a month ago, haven't been able to use it yet. Well I almost fired it up for a snowfall less then an inch. My better half overruled me. :(
Assembly was quick and easy, with no issues. Quality of machine for most part was identical to the higher price cousin (Ariens Compact 2-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower). The chute, tires, engine and color are the only differences. I think these tires are better then the compact ones. Engine started right up with 2 pumps of prime, and one pull. Used electric start the 2nd time, with no issues, Engine/unit operated smoothly. Looking forward to being able to use it, and see what it can do. Will review the use when I can
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
SnoBlowinFool
from South Hadley, Massachusetts

Best machine in it's class! :~)

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just picked up my new Ariens Sno-Tek machine last night and put it together today. 4 nuts, 2 bolts and 1 spring pin and I was done in 10 minutes tops! Filled the tank checked the oil level (it even came filled with oil) and it fired right up! I first used the electric start as I have a bad back, so bad that my spinal cord was almost severed and I could still pull it too start it as it is that easy to start! The handling of this machine seems fantastic and for the first time since I was in school (some 40 years ago) I am wishing for snow and here in Massachusetts we get plenty of it! The 208 cc LCT motor seems to have plenty of power and it is the largest in it's price class plus with me being a hot rodder I love the hot rod black finish and the fact that it's got duel exhaust is way too cool!!!! (I said I was a fool!)
Buy this machine, you won't be disappointed!
I liked it so much I'm going back tomorrow to buy another one for my 79 year old dad as it is that easy to operate!
LETS GO SNOW! :-)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Dickydootoo
from Wiscosnin

Love It

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fantastic - loved the 1st time I used can hardly wait for more snow.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
PaulinMpls
from Minneapolis, MN

Didn't even last one day

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never bought a product that didn't even last one day until I purchased this snowblower from Homedepot.com. We got a lot of snow today, and the unit seemed to work fine the first time I cleared about 8 inches worth of snow. Later I went out for a second round, again about 8 inches. The unit ran out of gas. After I filled it, it died when I engaged the auger. The auger was not frozen or blocked, but each time I engaged it, the unit died. Since I let the delivery man pick up my old snowblower, I have to beg the neighbors for help to get out of my driveway.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
tnorthidaho
from Northern Idaho

awesome machine

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this for my husband for chrismas as we had 3 feet of snow before the end of November. It came 1 week early with the white glove delvery to your door step. However not sure what that ment. so when the man called he ask me to come get it from his bissness. I said no I thought it was to be delivered. He said okay and the next day it was hear Put together and ready to use. This is one bad machine. Tons of turbo power. throwes snow a great distance. We have a large drive, a walk way. a patio area our back t=for the animal to do and we do the street on both sides of our drive for our daughters to park. This machine poweres right up one pull or electric if its plugged in. and in less than hour its all done with no head aches or back aches. We ofter get plowed in on our streets. It has the 2 stage blower and easily removes the berm even if its slushy or hard. It has been great addition to our family. Cant wait for more snow!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Chuck55112
from Minneapolis, MN

This could have prevented the Metrodome collapse

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought the Sno-Tek machine 2 weeks ago after a painful shoveling experience of some significant, heavy snow. This weekend I got to pit my new snowblower against the MN blizzard that just hit on December 11th.
Sno-Tek 1, Mother Nature 0.
This machine is awesome!! My brothers each bought a Toro snowblower, but I couldn't justify paying twice as much simply for the name. The Ariens Sno-Tek destroyed the snow in my driveway, as well as the street (I helped two drivers who got stuck while I was plowing). I used this baby 4 times in one day, and it cleared snow drifts that were about 2 feet high with ease. It took an additional pass to get the drifts that were 3-4 feet high, but even then this machine was impressive. The multiple speeds are a life saver. The thick, fat tires seemed like overkill at first, but I'm now incredibly thankful to have had them. They dug into the snow to make the job easier.
Assembly was pretty basic, but a little tricky in single-digit temps without a partner. Once I got it together, it started right up with a couple of pushes of the primer button and 2 pulls. I highly recommend this snowblower - my wife is getting tired of me talking about it, and I am now excited for each major snowfall!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 24 >>