728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Sno-Tek by Ariens Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.494 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1306 reviews) 1306
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product1,171 of 1,259reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,306 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(903)
4
(278)
3
(43)
2
(31)
1
(51)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product1,171 of 1,259reviews
Customer questions and answers:
107 Questions | 435 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Oh snap...

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought it 2 months ago but snow didnt fall until end of november. Had a winter storm 8-12 inches of snow then another 3-6 inches wet snow. Did the job at first but started leaking oil.. Bought it new but Had to return and get my refund. I wanted to get a new one that they have but their out of stock. Im thinking to switch on honda or craftsman brand.. I maybe or maybe not recommend this product... You judge..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Richmond, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great blower

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this model through an entire Maine winter and now into it's second. This unit starts like a champ with a very easy pull, I haven't actually used the electric start because it is so easy to pull. It has never even hiccupped on a start, first pull every time. It is very easy and intuitive to operate, and digs right through even the deepest, heavy, wet snows. I am far more satisfied with this blower than I was expecting.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Works great

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was my first snow blower purchase and I'm glad I picked this one. Easy to put together, all the controls work as expected and it's light enough that my wife can use it when I'm out of town. I've used it in as little as an inch and a half of snow and as much as 6 inches. Haven't had the chance to try more than 6" yet though. For the price I'd be surprised if you could find a better machine. I wish it had a headlight, but hey, it was relatively inexpensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Nj

Does a great job!

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this last year, but we didn't get any snow. Used it a couple of weeks ago following the nor'easter. Went through 8" of heavy wet snow like butter, never clogged and still threw the snow a good 30 ft. When I started it or the first time this year, it started on the first pull. Easy to maneuver and the controls to direct the snow work great. Machine Appears very well built. Take care of it and it should last a long time.
The motor on the flagship Ariens brand is made in the USA while the motor on this one is made in China, hence the lower price. But I expect this will go a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Lincoln, RI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Powerful, easy to handle and maneuver. It handles my long and steep driveway with ease, doesn't slide/skid when going downhill and it goes up by itself, no pushing or carrying to move. This North East winter has been very tough but the Sno-Tek snow-thrower has made the clean-up a breeze. Very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job, vey well,

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i got this snow blower in the summer of 2014, yes i know back then when i picked it up, some PPL laugh at me, just because it was mid July, i got tired of snow shoving .
the snow blower was delivered to my residence, and according the the delivery person it was tested, a ran fine,
it set in the garage with gas for 6 months, it was a mistake i didn't test run it before the snow,
in February second we had about 12 inches snow,
the snow blower ran for few seconds and stopped, i had to drain the gas,then then took spark plugs out, found a small debris stock between the electrode, cleaned it, and it started on the first pull.
did a very good job, garbed anything that was on its way, slosh, frozen snow, and ice that was pushed by the city trucked.the speed is awesome forward and reverse
i finished the three car garage, and side walk in 45 min , then i did the neighbor since they have a smaller snow blow and could keep up with snow.
good value happy i got it right on time, make sure you clean it and store it properly for the next snow season.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It’s been more than 2 years since I bought it. Shipment was fast. This blower is super sturdy, can take good beating without problems and will last many years. It required a 10 minute assembly. I have a 150 foot long driveway which used to take about 3 hours of hand shoveling and now it’s a half hour fun walk. It has electric start capability along with pull cord. This year, when I took it out after first snow, it took a long time to start since I never added fuel stabilizer before storing it last year. I wasted no time and ordered Arian electric start power cord from Home Depot which has made the starting experience effortless. If you are using electric start and it does not start, give breaks between each try. Trying continuously might burn the ignition switch.
When storing it end of the season, either empty out the fuel tank, or add fuel stabilizer or use higher grade gas (with no ethanol) and you will have no problems starting it next season.
In my opinion, let both wheels be used for drive instead of one for drive and one for turn, you do it by placing the axle pin in the inner hole. You will lose traction if one wheel is dedicated to turns. Blower came with Spaded cleaning tool. Chute deflector, forward/reverse speed controller and auger engager are placed at perfect location for your convenience.
The only thing I didn’t like was the placement of oil drain bolt (above the wheel) and it does not make it easy to drain oil. The only thing I wish it had is the head lights. But for what it costs, it’s an excellent product.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: oil drain bolt location is bad
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Norwood, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke twice two months after purchase/use

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this right before the first winter storm this year. Worked Ok through the first two storms. I didn't use it, but my husband did. His main complaints were that the instruction booklet and pictures on the machine were not helpful at all, and it couldn't throw the snow at the bottom of our driveway over the fence, which meant he had to pile it all up on our fence. Third snow storm, went to start it and couldn't get it to work. HD sent their mechanic (ex-navy jet mechanic), who said it had something to do with the spark plug and would need to be fixed by Ariens' mechanics. Mechanic even offered to help shovel our driveway! After being returned to us (two snow storms later), started it, it went 8 ft, then quit a second time. Called HD and manager said Sno-Tek engines are NOT made in America (like other Ariens products), and he never recommends it to customers. Home Depot was GREAT and offered to refund us, even though it was 2 months old and past warrantee. They are even coming to our house and picking it up. Wouldn't buy a Sno-Tek ever again, but this continues to show HD's great customer service.
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from KCMO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor assembly

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i purchased this snow blower on line with delivery. It was delivered timely, and the delivery person demonstrated the controls. I tried turning it on over the weekend to make sure everything was in order. I found that one of four bolts holding the handle on was lose. It had been cross-threaded and the nut that was spot welded to the frame was torqued off and the threads stripped. Also, reverse did not work. I had to replace the bolt and adjust the transmission. Not a big deal- just took a little time. It is irritating as the delivery fee was advertised as including set up. The machine started on the first pull and appears to be sturdy.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Self-Propelled
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Worst Purchase Ever!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brand new snow blower, never used - would not start. Sent to an Ariens "authorized repair center." Got the snow blower back and it still wouldn't start. Even though it was an out of box failure, Ariens would not cover the cost of pickup for repair. Interactions with Ariens was very frustrating because they are not customer friendly. Will never purchase another product from Ariens again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from colonia new jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

driveways all clear

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i.ve got a few snow storms under my belt now and can say this snowblower has done what I ask of it.It started with a quick pul l{never used the electric start).It does use some gas so if your going to go a ways from the gas can filler up.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

don't waste your time or money

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They don't have an air cleaner so the you have air filtration problems and when that plugs the carburetor or dusts the engine the company won't warranty the problem. Know what you are buying it is junk.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Detroit Mi.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice 2 stage snow thrower. Good bang for the buck!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Now mind you at the time of this writing we haven't gotten any snow, this is why I couldn't give it 5 stars. I haven't used it yet, but I will tell you as much as I can about it. I checked out this snow blower as well as the $200 more expensive orange bigger brother. Their engines are the same 208cc, but that's where the similarities end. The Ariens auger trans housing is cast iron and the whole snow blower is made with a thicker guage steel than the Sno-Tek unit. The warranty is 5 year on auger trans and 3 year on whole unit where as the Sno-Tek is a 2 year warranty. From reading other reviews, extensive research and limited budget, I choose this snow blower. At the time of purchase my local Home Depot threw in a extra quart of oil. Which I thought was cool! Here are the facts about this snow blower. Instructions were good, they even give you the replacement sparkplug number conversion to Champion, NGK and Bosch. Anyways, this unit was easy to assemble and adjust. Check your engine oil, auger trans fluids and most of the hardware before running. Mine was slightly low on engine oil, so I topped it off. Everything else was okay. On the topic of the engine. This engine is made by LCT. According to their specs, the engine has dual ball bearings and a cast iron sleeve. The engine seems of very good quality. I filled the fuel tank up and primed 3 times and on the first pull she fired right up. So far so good. I'll try to get back here and tell you about my experience with it when I get a chance to put it through its paces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Waconia, MN

Great right out of the box!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the brand when I bought it from Home Depot. However, I have had good luck with most products purchased from HD, so after talking with the sales rep, I went ahead and purchased this blower.
It only took me a half hour to assemble, and I could tell just putting this thing together that it was high quality.
We ended up getting 16 inches of snow the following day, so I was excited to give this machine a workout.
I used the plug in option to fire it up, and it started immediately. It ran extremely smooth. It almost seems over powered for the size. But that is a good thing. It cut through the snow nicely.
I ended up cleaning 3 of my neighbors drive ways after I finished mine. It saved me alot of time and my back, and I am extremely pleased I purchased this machine.
My only gripe would be that the tires don't grip as good as I would have liked. I had an icy base coat under my snow, so it may not be fair to judge the blower on this,but I think I will invest in some chains in the near future.
All in all I highly recommend this snow blower. It does everything I expected it to do and more, and appears to be extremely reliable. I would definitely go with this model over the step down. The bigger engine and more power is well worth it. It never got jammed, or showed any sign of slowing down.
Hope this helps anyone who may be on the fence about this product. It is a great deal, and a very quality blower.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Vienna Virginia

Bring on the Snow!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleased when the Home Depot guy delivered the Snow Tek all assembled with gas & oil. He walked me through the process and it started on the 1st pull.
Today, we had 3 inches of snow and I added some more oil and gas. I used the pull start instead of the electric start - it fired on the 1st pull!
While 3 inches is not a big test, it did the job just fine. Suggest locking both wheels for big snow falls or get chains if you have a steep driveway. You also need the gas additive for any stale gas in your fill can.
Only issue is that the intake housing has small openings on the left and right sides of the lower scraper that leaves two narrow bands of snow on the driveway. I think a small piece of Duct Tape will fix this.
I am glad I bought the 208 cc engine and 2-stage. Weighs only 170 lbs and is easy to move around. At $630 Home Depot easily beats the competition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hedgesville,Wv

Awesome!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
M this product last month &y husband & I purchased & are thrilled. We were so impressed with everything from easy ordering & the delivery people called to set a date for delevery around our schedule. They delivered the product as the said time & reviewed the product w/my husband. They started it & explained the controls. The gaswas full & it was tested befre delivery.We read the owners manual which is so easy to understand. We just got snow 2 days ago & this snow blower is Awesome! It's so easy to operate & works fantastic. The write up on the blower is very accurate. We are totally satisfied with the product & recommend it to everyone. Thank you Home Depot for a wonderful product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Excellent Value; Service and Delivery

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Impressed by the on-line price; the assembly process and the service to my door; it started on second pull as brand new, in August. Put it in shed with Stabil additive and look forward to using it at first snowfall here in Northeast New Jersey.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

So far, so good

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this snow blower based on reviews and the fact it had the 208cc engine (larger than others), a steel chute and in person it seemed rugged in comparison to others.
Home depot arranged for free delivery from an Ariens dealer who delivered it assembled and filled with gas and oil. I had a complete walk through of starting operation and all the features of the blower; all included at no extra charge. Started first shot for the delivery guy and also when I tried it. I think it is perfect for my relaitively small driveway and the heavy snow which we get. My worst problem is "day later" street plowing that often leaves knee-high banks of heavy icey snow that requires something substantial.
Hoping for some good snow to try it out.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Great machine

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am extremely satisfied with the new Sno-tek snow blower.I t is a very well made product. Easy to use.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy so far!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought snowblower and rec'd in Sept. No snow yet. White Glove delivery was great. Gassed up and ready to go. Started on one pull (after checking oil....it was correct level). Machine seems sturdy and well made. I expect great things come winter snows.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>