728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Sno-Tek by Ariens Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.494 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1305 reviews) 1305
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product1,170 of 1,258reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,305 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(902)
4
(278)
3
(43)
2
(31)
1
(51)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product1,170 of 1,258reviews
Customer questions and answers:
105 Questions | 428 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Pasco, WA

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little hesitant buying it sight unseen, but man am I glad I did. We don't get a lot of snow, but I'm getting old and lazy and wanted to get something durable and capable for the occasional snowpocalypse, but not super expensive - or with a lot of bells/whistles/gadgets to break. This machine delivers exceptional performance and value.
We had between 3/4" and 4" of wet, packed snow/ice all around the house and this machine chewed it up and spit it out like it wasn't there. I even went after the snow that was right along the curb and it kept chugging along.
I did a lot of research on the LCT engine and based on my initial impression can recommend it without hesitation. It starts easy and runs smooth. The plastic and metal parts have a very good fit and finish and quality to them. I read that the engine has a very long EPA emissions compliance rating, which is a good indicator of its durability (some are as low as 50 hours!).
The rest of the unit is made of heavy gauge steel and uses high quality hardware throughout. The chute is very thick plastic and has a very thick metal cap. The handles, levers, etc. are all sturdy and will hold up very well.
You can run it with one hand once you get it rolling. The chute rotation is conveniently located and very quick. I really like having six speeds to help match the feed rate to the conditions. It rolls easily with the clutch disengaged and being able to disengage either or both tires is a nice feature. In an hour, I was able to clear several hundred feet of sidewalk, two small patios, and two large driveways. It's big enough to do real work but not so heavy or awkward to make it tough to move around.
Setup and assembly was very quick and easy - requiring only a couple of wrenches and 15 minutes or so. Anyone can do it with ease and the instructions are easy to understand.
This is a great snow blower for the money and should last a long time. If you are in the market for a real snowblower and don't want to spend $1000 - this is the unit for you. Ariens really hit a home run with this one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Northern Idaho

awesome machine

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered this for my husband for chrismas as we had 3 feet of snow before the end of November. It came 1 week early with the white glove delvery to your door step. However not sure what that ment. so when the man called he ask me to come get it from his bissness. I said no I thought it was to be delivered. He said okay and the next day it was hear Put together and ready to use. This is one bad machine. Tons of turbo power. throwes snow a great distance. We have a large drive, a walk way. a patio area our back t=for the animal to do and we do the street on both sides of our drive for our daughters to park. This machine poweres right up one pull or electric if its plugged in. and in less than hour its all done with no head aches or back aches. We ofter get plowed in on our streets. It has the 2 stage blower and easily removes the berm even if its slushy or hard. It has been great addition to our family. Cant wait for more snow!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from AKRON OHIO

SNO-TEK -GOOD EQUIPMENT! -GREAT SERVIVE

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I BOUGHT MY SNO TEK AT HOMEDEPOT 325 Howe Ave, Cuyahoga Falls OH, I HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE SPEED SURGING IT WORKED OK BUT SOUNDED KINDA FUNNY ( ENGINE NOT STABLE) BUT DID GET THE JOB DONE! I CALLED THE STORE AND TOLD THEM OF THE PROBLEM AND THEY PROFESSIONALLY HANDLED IT- THEY ONLY HAD TWO OF THE SNO-TEK UNITS LEFT AND THE PERSON WORKING IN LAWN AND GARDEN PUT MY NAME ON ONE AND HELD IT FOR ME ON A CART AT THE SERVICE DESK AT THE FRONT OF THE STORE TILL I ARRIVED . THE REPLACEMENT WORKS FLAWLESS NO PROBLEMS AT ALL . VERY HAPPY GOOD PRODUCT AND GREAT SERVICE FROM HOME DEPOT.. JCOR46 AKRON OHIO.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Akron, Ohio

Gas Snow Blower

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used a snow blower similar to this a few years ago. But this one operates more efficient. I have to be careful these days because of my hip and total knee implants. This machine moves throw the heavy snow at an easier unit to get the job and at a safer pace for me in my condition. So go out and buy one and see if I am telling you the ease and fun you will have using this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This snowblower worked great. I was able to start it with 1 pull. No mixxing of gas is wonderful. The only proplem is that if the driveway is short then it is not worth starting it up.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Minneapolis, MN

This could have prevented the Metrodome collapse

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought the Sno-Tek machine 2 weeks ago after a painful shoveling experience of some significant, heavy snow. This weekend I got to pit my new snowblower against the MN blizzard that just hit on December 11th.
Sno-Tek 1, Mother Nature 0.
This machine is awesome!! My brothers each bought a Toro snowblower, but I couldn't justify paying twice as much simply for the name. The Ariens Sno-Tek destroyed the snow in my driveway, as well as the street (I helped two drivers who got stuck while I was plowing). I used this baby 4 times in one day, and it cleared snow drifts that were about 2 feet high with ease. It took an additional pass to get the drifts that were 3-4 feet high, but even then this machine was impressive. The multiple speeds are a life saver. The thick, fat tires seemed like overkill at first, but I'm now incredibly thankful to have had them. They dug into the snow to make the job easier.
Assembly was pretty basic, but a little tricky in single-digit temps without a partner. Once I got it together, it started right up with a couple of pushes of the primer button and 2 pulls. I highly recommend this snowblower - my wife is getting tired of me talking about it, and I am now excited for each major snowfall!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Iowa

Lack of power

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was disappointed in the lack of power the blower had. Anything over 6 inches of dry fuffy snow would pull the motor way down. I am not looking forward to a wet snow fall. The large rounded corners on the bottom of the blower chute allow snow to fall out around the bottom of the blower. I would have to go extremely slow in order to get a full swath. I have a 20 year old snowblower that will blow more snow than this one will.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Traverse City, Michigan

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got unit home, fueled up, started on 2nd pull with half choke.
Next day, started 1st pull half choke. Love the ability to unlock wheels from drive mechanism to aid in turning.
Come on SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL

Ariens Snow Blower

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you live in the midwest, you need a 2- stage snow blower. Went back and forth between this model and a singe stage unit. I am glad I spent a few extra dollars and got this model. It just snowed 5 inches of wet snow, plus the city plow left 2 feet of slush at the end my driveway. The Ariens snow blower made quick work of the snow and slush. The second auger provides great lift when throwing the snow. I was shooting slush 20 feet across the street.
Most fun I had shoveling the driveway since I was a kid!
This is a great machine. Does a super job clearing "heart attack" snow.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Warminster PA

Everything I need is a snowblower

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised to find that the snow chute has both azimuth and elevation adjustable from the hand controls. Starts right up easily even without using the electric start.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Canton,OH

Bring on the Snow

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This snow blower fired right up using the manual method on one pull. I'll try the electric start next time. On the floor this model was sold out. But Home Depot employees double checked and found that one was still in the system. Luckily, they had one left. They also helped load it up.
The LCT engine that's on the Sno-Tek performed great so far. It's designed and engineered in America, This made me feel better since I knew LCT was mfg. in China. I read it's as close to a honda motor as you can get. Honda signed off on the engineering of it..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Waconia, MN

Great right out of the box!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the brand when I bought it from Home Depot. However, I have had good luck with most products purchased from HD, so after talking with the sales rep, I went ahead and purchased this blower.
It only took me a half hour to assemble, and I could tell just putting this thing together that it was high quality.
We ended up getting 16 inches of snow the following day, so I was excited to give this machine a workout.
I used the plug in option to fire it up, and it started immediately. It ran extremely smooth. It almost seems over powered for the size. But that is a good thing. It cut through the snow nicely.
I ended up cleaning 3 of my neighbors drive ways after I finished mine. It saved me alot of time and my back, and I am extremely pleased I purchased this machine.
My only gripe would be that the tires don't grip as good as I would have liked. I had an icy base coat under my snow, so it may not be fair to judge the blower on this,but I think I will invest in some chains in the near future.
All in all I highly recommend this snow blower. It does everything I expected it to do and more, and appears to be extremely reliable. I would definitely go with this model over the step down. The bigger engine and more power is well worth it. It never got jammed, or showed any sign of slowing down.
Hope this helps anyone who may be on the fence about this product. It is a great deal, and a very quality blower.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

THIS PRODUCT HAS GREAT FEATURES

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I HAVE NOT USED MY NEW ARIENS SNOWBLOWER YET, BUT IT WAS EASY TO ASSEMBLE, IT'S LIGHT ENOUGH FOR ME TO HANDLE, AND IT LOOKS EASY TO OPERATE. A NICE WIDE PATH AND AN ELECTRIC START IS A PLUS.THE PRICE WAS RIGHT!!
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Better than the Sears product I almost Purchased

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent ordering system. Unit was delivered assembled, including a tank of gas. I was shown how to use unit.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Vienna Virginia

Bring on the Snow!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleased when the Home Depot guy delivered the Snow Tek all assembled with gas & oil. He walked me through the process and it started on the 1st pull.
Today, we had 3 inches of snow and I added some more oil and gas. I used the pull start instead of the electric start - it fired on the 1st pull!
While 3 inches is not a big test, it did the job just fine. Suggest locking both wheels for big snow falls or get chains if you have a steep driveway. You also need the gas additive for any stale gas in your fill can.
Only issue is that the intake housing has small openings on the left and right sides of the lower scraper that leaves two narrow bands of snow on the driveway. I think a small piece of Duct Tape will fix this.
I am glad I bought the 208 cc engine and 2-stage. Weighs only 170 lbs and is easy to move around. At $630 Home Depot easily beats the competition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hedgesville,Wv

Awesome!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
M this product last month &y husband & I purchased & are thrilled. We were so impressed with everything from easy ordering & the delivery people called to set a date for delevery around our schedule. They delivered the product as the said time & reviewed the product w/my husband. They started it & explained the controls. The gaswas full & it was tested befre delivery.We read the owners manual which is so easy to understand. We just got snow 2 days ago & this snow blower is Awesome! It's so easy to operate & works fantastic. The write up on the blower is very accurate. We are totally satisfied with the product & recommend it to everyone. Thank you Home Depot for a wonderful product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

good deal

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
no snow yet to early i n year for it very happy with price
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Too Early Still to Tell

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although, it is Snowing out, It is only Holloween time, so too early to tell how the Blower is. Delivery and set-up from the White Glove Service was great. Very Helpful to have the Local OEM Sales Team bring it and explain fully how to use it.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Torrington, CT, USA
Gender:Male

best bang for your buck

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
did my homework and all the other blowers either didnt have enough for the money or just didnt have the best combination for what i need .since we get alot of snow but not in need of something too big , this model fits perfect..has a powerful engine, decent ft lbs of torque, big enough clearance at 24in ,6 speeds including 2 reverse metal chute, electric starter, i can go on and on... compare this model to other brands and models and you'll see the difference in price, and options, now we just have to wait for the snow... i shouldnt be dissapointed.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Nice machine!

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I received this snowblower within 5 days of placing the order. It was shipped to a local Arien Dealer then assembled and delivered to my home. The representaive from the local dealer went over all the controls. While it is still summer, I am very confident that this snowblower will perform admirably when the winter snowstorms arrive. It is well built and has many features that other machines don't have. The price was very good to for a machine of this quality.
-37points
18out of 73found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>