728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Ariens Sno-Tek Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1201 reviews) 1201
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product1,083 of 1,155reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,201 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(836)
4
(261)
3
(39)
2
(26)
1
(39)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product1,083 of 1,155reviews
Customer questions and answers:
83 Questions | 328 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Lake of the Woods, Virginia

Best Price on Snoablowers

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely pleased with shipping, receiving (mine) and equipment.that was advertised. Was in great shape and only four nuts to tighten on the whole machine. (Impressive!)
Comes delivered free from HD with the 208c engine (8 HP) that no other 24" snow blower has. (That I could find)
Also, about $150.00 cheaper.
Can't wait for snow:)
Thanks.
Danlee
+4points
17out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from beaver falls, PA

works like a champ

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
brought it home from the store, put gas and oil in, and it fired right up. so glad i spent the extra 100 bucks on this model. the electric start alone is worth it, and the different speeds are quite the bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Vienna Virginia

Bring on the Snow!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleased when the Home Depot guy delivered the Snow Tek all assembled with gas & oil. He walked me through the process and it started on the 1st pull.
Today, we had 3 inches of snow and I added some more oil and gas. I used the pull start instead of the electric start - it fired on the 1st pull!
While 3 inches is not a big test, it did the job just fine. Suggest locking both wheels for big snow falls or get chains if you have a steep driveway. You also need the gas additive for any stale gas in your fill can.
Only issue is that the intake housing has small openings on the left and right sides of the lower scraper that leaves two narrow bands of snow on the driveway. I think a small piece of Duct Tape will fix this.
I am glad I bought the 208 cc engine and 2-stage. Weighs only 170 lbs and is easy to move around. At $630 Home Depot easily beats the competition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hedgesville,Wv

Awesome!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
M this product last month &y husband & I purchased & are thrilled. We were so impressed with everything from easy ordering & the delivery people called to set a date for delevery around our schedule. They delivered the product as the said time & reviewed the product w/my husband. They started it & explained the controls. The gaswas full & it was tested befre delivery.We read the owners manual which is so easy to understand. We just got snow 2 days ago & this snow blower is Awesome! It's so easy to operate & works fantastic. The write up on the blower is very accurate. We are totally satisfied with the product & recommend it to everyone. Thank you Home Depot for a wonderful product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from McCall, Idah0

Really great snow blower

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in idaho, I have already used this forceful snow blower. It really does throw the snow 40 feet. I have a long driveway of a couple hundred yards to clear and this blower worked fine uphill and downhill. I am glad I read the booklets as the keys are red plastic and wrapped on the assembly. They don't exactly look like keys, but do fit all the way into the ignition or key hole. I was looking for real keys, but, duh, finally figured that one out. I had to laugh at myself. I needed two wrenches to get the bolts on. The two bolts left over are extra shear bolts.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New|England

SnoTek

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently purchased one of the SnoTek snow blowers. Excellent value for the look and structure of this item. The use of different speeds and safety devices are good things on this product. Hope to get many years of use from this product. Can't wait for our first heavy snow storm sure this snow blower will make the job much easier.
Going to be the envy of our neighbors.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Traverse City, Michigan

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got unit home, fueled up, started on 2nd pull with half choke.
Next day, started 1st pull half choke. Love the ability to unlock wheels from drive mechanism to aid in turning.
Come on SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Klamath Falls, OR

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased mine from the local store and used the Military Veterans Discount.. Paid only $539. I decided on a unassembled boxed unit so that it would fit in the back of my GMC Jimmy althouthough the store did offer me a assembled version. Setup was a breeze. Took all of maybe 15 minutes. Instructions were very clear and through. I set my skid shoes to about 1" up cause I have a long gravel driveway. After putting a gallon of gas in it, primed 3x, Choked it (9 degree's outside) it started on the 2nd pull. Let it run for 15 minutes as stated in the instructions then took off in 4th gear down my 150' gravel driveway with over 18" of wet snow. Let me tell you this machine blows snow 40' as advertised! I noticed it really likes the wet/icy stuff and never bogged down once. When I got to the end of my driveway where the plow had blocked my driveway and I had drove over it this did not hamper the blower and it went right through the over 24" of packed ice/snow without a hiccup. 2nd gear allowed the machine to gobble and blow the mound lenghtwise!!! I noticed my neighbor with a competitor "RED" machine with the same size blower as this one was having to go slower down his driveway and had a bit of difficulty getting through the plow mound at the end of his driveway. My return trip down the driveway I had it in 6th gear and it traveled at nice walking pace with no problem and never bogged down again. When I assembled my machine I had engaged both traction wheels and never once had a problem with traction or turning although the maual say's you can leave one wheel to free spin making turns easier. Once back at my garage I took a coffee break and restarted the blower using the electric starter just to try it.. it sounded very powerfull and did not take more then 3 seconds to start right back up. I finished the rest of my driveway in mostly 6th gear although I did go slower near my garage and deflected the know doen more to keep it out of my neighbors yard. The chute direction control is easy to operate and with one hand on the wheel engage lever and the other cranking the handle. 2.5 times and the chute goes from fully right to fully left... while turning the blower the other direction in a turn one handed. Doing my concrete walkways around my house was just as easy since it's 24' wide it traveled down them without a hitch. Cleanup was a breeze after I was done thanks to the smooth coat of black paint.. the snow/slush wiped right off. The next day we got about 12" of powder snow so I decided I would try it again on powder. Topped off the gas.. (about 1/2 a gallon was used the day before). Primed it 3x as directed on the instuctions.. choked it and started on the 2nd pull. Off I went again down my driveway.. 6th gear is to fast for powder and had to slow down to about 3rd.. seemed I was pushing more powder then blowing it at full speed. Once I slowed down it did pretty good with the powder although the wet icy the day before was much better. Next time I just may let the powder sit a day and then blow it off as I know this machine will not have a problem with it. Again, clean up was a breeze. Oh, I did hit a large rock (around 3") the 1st day and had to replace a shear pin... took a couple 7/16" wrenches and replaced the pin in about 30 seconds.. hey it was really cold that day and did it with gloves on. That was my fault wor getting to close the landscape on the edge on my driway. Overall I am quite impressed with the power of this machine's 208cc (9.5 Ft pounds of torque) engine and the 24" clearing width. Without any doubt I would highly recommend this blower to anyone.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Akron, Ohio

Gas Snow Blower

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a snow blower similar to this a few years ago. But this one operates more efficient. I have to be careful these days because of my hip and total knee implants. This machine moves throw the heavy snow at an easier unit to get the job and at a safer pace for me in my condition. So go out and buy one and see if I am telling you the ease and fun you will have using this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Pasco, WA

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant buying it sight unseen, but man am I glad I did. We don't get a lot of snow, but I'm getting old and lazy and wanted to get something durable and capable for the occasional snowpocalypse, but not super expensive - or with a lot of bells/whistles/gadgets to break. This machine delivers exceptional performance and value.
We had between 3/4" and 4" of wet, packed snow/ice all around the house and this machine chewed it up and spit it out like it wasn't there. I even went after the snow that was right along the curb and it kept chugging along.
I did a lot of research on the LCT engine and based on my initial impression can recommend it without hesitation. It starts easy and runs smooth. The plastic and metal parts have a very good fit and finish and quality to them. I read that the engine has a very long EPA emissions compliance rating, which is a good indicator of its durability (some are as low as 50 hours!).
The rest of the unit is made of heavy gauge steel and uses high quality hardware throughout. The chute is very thick plastic and has a very thick metal cap. The handles, levers, etc. are all sturdy and will hold up very well.
You can run it with one hand once you get it rolling. The chute rotation is conveniently located and very quick. I really like having six speeds to help match the feed rate to the conditions. It rolls easily with the clutch disengaged and being able to disengage either or both tires is a nice feature. In an hour, I was able to clear several hundred feet of sidewalk, two small patios, and two large driveways. It's big enough to do real work but not so heavy or awkward to make it tough to move around.
Setup and assembly was very quick and easy - requiring only a couple of wrenches and 15 minutes or so. Anyone can do it with ease and the instructions are easy to understand.
This is a great snow blower for the money and should last a long time. If you are in the market for a real snowblower and don't want to spend $1000 - this is the unit for you. Ariens really hit a home run with this one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from AKRON OHIO

SNO-TEK -GOOD EQUIPMENT! -GREAT SERVIVE

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT MY SNO TEK AT HOMEDEPOT 325 Howe Ave, Cuyahoga Falls OH, I HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE SPEED SURGING IT WORKED OK BUT SOUNDED KINDA FUNNY ( ENGINE NOT STABLE) BUT DID GET THE JOB DONE! I CALLED THE STORE AND TOLD THEM OF THE PROBLEM AND THEY PROFESSIONALLY HANDLED IT- THEY ONLY HAD TWO OF THE SNO-TEK UNITS LEFT AND THE PERSON WORKING IN LAWN AND GARDEN PUT MY NAME ON ONE AND HELD IT FOR ME ON A CART AT THE SERVICE DESK AT THE FRONT OF THE STORE TILL I ARRIVED . THE REPLACEMENT WORKS FLAWLESS NO PROBLEMS AT ALL . VERY HAPPY GOOD PRODUCT AND GREAT SERVICE FROM HOME DEPOT.. JCOR46 AKRON OHIO.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Waconia, MN

Great right out of the box!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the brand when I bought it from Home Depot. However, I have had good luck with most products purchased from HD, so after talking with the sales rep, I went ahead and purchased this blower.
It only took me a half hour to assemble, and I could tell just putting this thing together that it was high quality.
We ended up getting 16 inches of snow the following day, so I was excited to give this machine a workout.
I used the plug in option to fire it up, and it started immediately. It ran extremely smooth. It almost seems over powered for the size. But that is a good thing. It cut through the snow nicely.
I ended up cleaning 3 of my neighbors drive ways after I finished mine. It saved me alot of time and my back, and I am extremely pleased I purchased this machine.
My only gripe would be that the tires don't grip as good as I would have liked. I had an icy base coat under my snow, so it may not be fair to judge the blower on this,but I think I will invest in some chains in the near future.
All in all I highly recommend this snow blower. It does everything I expected it to do and more, and appears to be extremely reliable. I would definitely go with this model over the step down. The bigger engine and more power is well worth it. It never got jammed, or showed any sign of slowing down.
Hope this helps anyone who may be on the fence about this product. It is a great deal, and a very quality blower.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Minneapolis, MN

This could have prevented the Metrodome collapse

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought the Sno-Tek machine 2 weeks ago after a painful shoveling experience of some significant, heavy snow. This weekend I got to pit my new snowblower against the MN blizzard that just hit on December 11th.
Sno-Tek 1, Mother Nature 0.
This machine is awesome!! My brothers each bought a Toro snowblower, but I couldn't justify paying twice as much simply for the name. The Ariens Sno-Tek destroyed the snow in my driveway, as well as the street (I helped two drivers who got stuck while I was plowing). I used this baby 4 times in one day, and it cleared snow drifts that were about 2 feet high with ease. It took an additional pass to get the drifts that were 3-4 feet high, but even then this machine was impressive. The multiple speeds are a life saver. The thick, fat tires seemed like overkill at first, but I'm now incredibly thankful to have had them. They dug into the snow to make the job easier.
Assembly was pretty basic, but a little tricky in single-digit temps without a partner. Once I got it together, it started right up with a couple of pushes of the primer button and 2 pulls. I highly recommend this snowblower - my wife is getting tired of me talking about it, and I am now excited for each major snowfall!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Iowa

Lack of power

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was disappointed in the lack of power the blower had. Anything over 6 inches of dry fuffy snow would pull the motor way down. I am not looking forward to a wet snow fall. The large rounded corners on the bottom of the blower chute allow snow to fall out around the bottom of the blower. I would have to go extremely slow in order to get a full swath. I have a 20 year old snowblower that will blow more snow than this one will.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Mountainside NJ

great value

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Extremely pleased, will know more when it snows.
Solidly built, starts easily, runs well. Replacing older
Ariens machine which is now going to a relative. Glad to see all the recent positive reviews for this model. Can't give the 5th star until it's been used in the snow.
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

THIS PRODUCT HAS GREAT FEATURES

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAVE NOT USED MY NEW ARIENS SNOWBLOWER YET, BUT IT WAS EASY TO ASSEMBLE, IT'S LIGHT ENOUGH FOR ME TO HANDLE, AND IT LOOKS EASY TO OPERATE. A NICE WIDE PATH AND AN ELECTRIC START IS A PLUS.THE PRICE WAS RIGHT!!
-9points
0out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Durango, CO

Great Machine

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this snow blower right in time for the snow season to hit. I have used it three times and it did a wonderful job. I am very impressed with this machine and the cost.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Oxford!NC

Love this snow blower!!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had looked hard for a two stage blower and was working on a budget and this blower was the best buy for the money hands down! Plenty of power and with the electric start and easy assembly was a breeze to get from the box to out in the yard blowing some snow! I recommend this product to anyone!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This snowblower worked great. I was able to start it with 1 pull. No mixxing of gas is wonderful. The only proplem is that if the driveway is short then it is not worth starting it up.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Happy with product and features

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery was great. Have not used snow thrower yet but if it works as good as it looks and runs I will be very happy
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 25 >>