728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Sno-Tek by Ariens Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.496 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1303 reviews) 1303
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product1,169 of 1,256reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,303 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(901)
4
(278)
3
(43)
2
(31)
1
(50)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product1,169 of 1,256reviews
Customer questions and answers:
104 Questions | 427 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New|England

SnoTek

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recently purchased one of the SnoTek snow blowers. Excellent value for the look and structure of this item. The use of different speeds and safety devices are good things on this product. Hope to get many years of use from this product. Can't wait for our first heavy snow storm sure this snow blower will make the job much easier.
Going to be the envy of our neighbors.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Vienna Virginia

Bring on the Snow!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleased when the Home Depot guy delivered the Snow Tek all assembled with gas & oil. He walked me through the process and it started on the 1st pull.
Today, we had 3 inches of snow and I added some more oil and gas. I used the pull start instead of the electric start - it fired on the 1st pull!
While 3 inches is not a big test, it did the job just fine. Suggest locking both wheels for big snow falls or get chains if you have a steep driveway. You also need the gas additive for any stale gas in your fill can.
Only issue is that the intake housing has small openings on the left and right sides of the lower scraper that leaves two narrow bands of snow on the driveway. I think a small piece of Duct Tape will fix this.
I am glad I bought the 208 cc engine and 2-stage. Weighs only 170 lbs and is easy to move around. At $630 Home Depot easily beats the competition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hedgesville,Wv

Awesome!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
M this product last month &y husband & I purchased & are thrilled. We were so impressed with everything from easy ordering & the delivery people called to set a date for delevery around our schedule. They delivered the product as the said time & reviewed the product w/my husband. They started it & explained the controls. The gaswas full & it was tested befre delivery.We read the owners manual which is so easy to understand. We just got snow 2 days ago & this snow blower is Awesome! It's so easy to operate & works fantastic. The write up on the blower is very accurate. We are totally satisfied with the product & recommend it to everyone. Thank you Home Depot for a wonderful product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Northen Utah

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as advertised and one of the best values for the price I could find. Initial start up was easy with the 1st pull and the electric start is a nice feature I don't think I will be using much since it pull starts so easy. Cut right through the thick wet snow I had in the street and tossed it very well to my surprise. The controls are easy to operate and the 9.5HP kicks in when needed. Used this product in 3 storms now and it worked excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Durango, CO

Great Machine

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought this snow blower right in time for the snow season to hit. I have used it three times and it did a wonderful job. I am very impressed with this machine and the cost.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Oxford!NC

Love this snow blower!!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had looked hard for a two stage blower and was working on a budget and this blower was the best buy for the money hands down! Plenty of power and with the electric start and easy assembly was a breeze to get from the box to out in the yard blowing some snow! I recommend this product to anyone!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Klamath Falls, OR

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased mine from the local store and used the Military Veterans Discount.. Paid only $539. I decided on a unassembled boxed unit so that it would fit in the back of my GMC Jimmy althouthough the store did offer me a assembled version. Setup was a breeze. Took all of maybe 15 minutes. Instructions were very clear and through. I set my skid shoes to about 1" up cause I have a long gravel driveway. After putting a gallon of gas in it, primed 3x, Choked it (9 degree's outside) it started on the 2nd pull. Let it run for 15 minutes as stated in the instructions then took off in 4th gear down my 150' gravel driveway with over 18" of wet snow. Let me tell you this machine blows snow 40' as advertised! I noticed it really likes the wet/icy stuff and never bogged down once. When I got to the end of my driveway where the plow had blocked my driveway and I had drove over it this did not hamper the blower and it went right through the over 24" of packed ice/snow without a hiccup. 2nd gear allowed the machine to gobble and blow the mound lenghtwise!!! I noticed my neighbor with a competitor "RED" machine with the same size blower as this one was having to go slower down his driveway and had a bit of difficulty getting through the plow mound at the end of his driveway. My return trip down the driveway I had it in 6th gear and it traveled at nice walking pace with no problem and never bogged down again. When I assembled my machine I had engaged both traction wheels and never once had a problem with traction or turning although the maual say's you can leave one wheel to free spin making turns easier. Once back at my garage I took a coffee break and restarted the blower using the electric starter just to try it.. it sounded very powerfull and did not take more then 3 seconds to start right back up. I finished the rest of my driveway in mostly 6th gear although I did go slower near my garage and deflected the know doen more to keep it out of my neighbors yard. The chute direction control is easy to operate and with one hand on the wheel engage lever and the other cranking the handle. 2.5 times and the chute goes from fully right to fully left... while turning the blower the other direction in a turn one handed. Doing my concrete walkways around my house was just as easy since it's 24' wide it traveled down them without a hitch. Cleanup was a breeze after I was done thanks to the smooth coat of black paint.. the snow/slush wiped right off. The next day we got about 12" of powder snow so I decided I would try it again on powder. Topped off the gas.. (about 1/2 a gallon was used the day before). Primed it 3x as directed on the instuctions.. choked it and started on the 2nd pull. Off I went again down my driveway.. 6th gear is to fast for powder and had to slow down to about 3rd.. seemed I was pushing more powder then blowing it at full speed. Once I slowed down it did pretty good with the powder although the wet icy the day before was much better. Next time I just may let the powder sit a day and then blow it off as I know this machine will not have a problem with it. Again, clean up was a breeze. Oh, I did hit a large rock (around 3") the 1st day and had to replace a shear pin... took a couple 7/16" wrenches and replaced the pin in about 30 seconds.. hey it was really cold that day and did it with gloves on. That was my fault wor getting to close the landscape on the edge on my driway. Overall I am quite impressed with the power of this machine's 208cc (9.5 Ft pounds of torque) engine and the 24" clearing width. Without any doubt I would highly recommend this blower to anyone.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from beaver falls, PA

works like a champ

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
brought it home from the store, put gas and oil in, and it fired right up. so glad i spent the extra 100 bucks on this model. the electric start alone is worth it, and the different speeds are quite the bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from South Hadley, Massachusetts

Best machine in it's class! :~)

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just picked up my new Ariens Sno-Tek machine last night and put it together today. 4 nuts, 2 bolts and 1 spring pin and I was done in 10 minutes tops! Filled the tank checked the oil level (it even came filled with oil) and it fired right up! I first used the electric start as I have a bad back, so bad that my spinal cord was almost severed and I could still pull it too start it as it is that easy to start! The handling of this machine seems fantastic and for the first time since I was in school (some 40 years ago) I am wishing for snow and here in Massachusetts we get plenty of it! The 208 cc LCT motor seems to have plenty of power and it is the largest in it's price class plus with me being a hot rodder I love the hot rod black finish and the fact that it's got duel exhaust is way too cool!!!! (I said I was a fool!)
Buy this machine, you won't be disappointed!
I liked it so much I'm going back tomorrow to buy another one for my 79 year old dad as it is that easy to operate!
LETS GO SNOW! :-)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Excellent Value; Service and Delivery

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Impressed by the on-line price; the assembly process and the service to my door; it started on second pull as brand new, in August. Put it in shed with Stabil additive and look forward to using it at first snowfall here in Northeast New Jersey.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

THIS PRODUCT AS FAR AS I CAN SEE LOOKS GREAT

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THE SERVICE ON THIS PRODUCT THAT I RECEIVED FROM THE HOMEDEPOT CUSTOME SERVICE WAS TERRIFIC, THE REPS FROM ARIENS WERE GREAT WITH EXPLAINING HOW TO OPERATE THIS SNOW BLOWER, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO EVERYONE
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Plymouth MN

Great

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered online. Free delivery and personal instructions in its use was wonderful.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hutchinson, MN

Great right out of the box

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well Well...Living in Minnesota I finally broke down and purchased a snow blower....online. I shopped extensivly and did my research both on features , reliability and price and this was the BEST deal by far. First, it was delivered in just a matter of ja couple of days right to my garage a Big plus. Communication with HD was excellent. Partial assembly of this item was quick with just a couple of household tools. The components and finish of the Sno Tek 24 are just Great The controls are simple and laid out in a logical manner, and easy to understand. The chute control is especially nice and really easy to use. Big features on an economical machine. Dont' be afraid of the LCT (China) engine Vs a US made one it will perform just as well. Filled with gas and oil and started on the second pull right out of the box. Controls functioned flawlessly and with little effort. Drive engaged for both the auger and drive without effort....now undersand it is mid July and 100 degrees here in Minneapolis so not to much snow but I am confident that it would perform well. Large intake, serrated auger larger tires and snow clearing tool make this a Great buy along with the free shipping and resonable price make this a GREAT deal...even in July. Buy early this model won't last long once the snow flies.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Happy with product and features

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery was great. Have not used snow thrower yet but if it works as good as it looks and runs I will be very happy
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Missouri

NO MORE SHOVELING SNOW

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to get a snow blower early this year before the FIRST snow. I have been doing research on various makes and models of snow blowers from other companies. I was thinking about purchasing a different snow blower from another company with about the same specs as this one comes with. When I came across this one from Home Depot, I decided to purchase it. Other companies wanted to charge (around an extra $100.00) for shipping to my house, but Home Depot offered FREE SHIPPING to my house. I jumped on this deal and called and ordered it. I also received the extra 10% discount, since I am retired from the military (which made it even a BETTER DEAL). Even though I have not been able to use this blower yet, with being 24" in width, I know it will cut down a lot on the time and the back breaking from using the shovel. The electric start is a PLUS. It started on the FIRST try. The controls are very easy to use and you DO NOT have to manually adjust the chute (as on other models from other manufactures). You just have to turn the lever which is accessible from the control panel area. If you purchase a snow blower from another company, you could be paying TOO MUCH.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the Ariens Sno-Tek in September and gassed it up at that time to test it. Started in 1 pull! I got a chance to really put it to the test in the recent autumn snow storm. I wasn't expecting much because we got 6-8" of really heavy, wet snow. I was very surprised and pleased that the machine had no trouble easily throwing the snow a good 20-25'.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Great machine

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am extremely satisfied with the new Sno-tek snow blower.I t is a very well made product. Easy to use.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Better than the Sears product I almost Purchased

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent ordering system. Unit was delivered assembled, including a tank of gas. I was shown how to use unit.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from MINEOLA, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PRODUCT PROMISES TO MEET MY EXPECTATIONS

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
DELIVERY THROUGH LIFFCO, MINEOLA WAS OUTSTANDING. MACHINE WAS ASSEMBLED PRIOR TO DELIVERY. DELIVERY INCLUDED HANDS ON INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO USE AND MAINTAIN THE PRODUCT. APPEARS TO BE A QUALITY UNIT. I MUST AWAIT SNOW TO RATE PERFORMANCE FURTHER.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

So far so good

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The snow blower was delivered to my house, fully assembled, by the local Ariens dealer who went over the entire machine with me, explaining the controls, typical preventive maintenance, etc. When we get some snow I will report back.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>