728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Sno-Tek by Ariens Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.501 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1268 reviews) 1268
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product1,140 of 1,221reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,268 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(874)
4
(276)
3
(43)
2
(29)
1
(46)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product1,140 of 1,221reviews
Customer questions and answers:
97 Questions | 403 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Montana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got a Lemon

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read great reviews on this product and must of had a lemon. Only received 30 minutes of use before the two-stage thrower broke. The wheels were also not large enough to push a 24 inch blower
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Lancaster, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Buy

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Snow Blower worked great. However, I purchased the Snow Blower on line and Home Depot failed to inform me as to whether they had filled the machine with oil and made all the necessary adjustments (which they did) when they shipped the machine to me.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: no info on oil etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Awesome machine

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I always get a kick out of reading the reviews. I am convinced that some folks should be banned from owning power tools. I have used this blower in my small business for 2 years now. If you take care of it, it will perform flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

just awesome

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got it as a gift for christmas. Boy does do a good job. Easy to handle. You can speed it without any effort. Will recomended to any one. A bit intimidating for the first time user but once got handle of controls you will feel like riding a caddy. Just great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from West MI, lake effect central

ariens by any other name....

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well, read all the reviews, had to have an Ariens, then I go to HD to look and the Snow-Teks are the same, minus a little bigger tires, plastic chute that actually seems better then steel, doesn't freeze as easily. This unit literally say ariens all over it! The true test, just had 18 inches of lake effect snow on my 1400 foot driveway, my unimog plow is down, who you gonna call? The snow-tek starts too easy to use the electric start, we've heard good things about these little motors! Took 3 down and back passes to clear the drive, that's right, walked behind it for nearly a mile of continuous blowing. She grunted a little if fed too fast but otherwise, NO PROBLEM! If the unit comes assembled, take the time to check it over and torque the bolts / nuts, not all assemblers really know what they are doing, otherwise, this machine should be more than enough to handle your basic needs! Thanks Home Depot for offering the ground beef along with steak, we can't all afford the "best" but it's often just a nutritious!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, good price point
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from batavia ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

snow thrower

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to start and adjust direction while operating. Ample power. Electric start great for very cold days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Great machine

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first snow blower I have ever bought and I would recommend this unit to anyone that wants a reliable machine. We had 5 inches of snow and It went through it with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from cleveland, oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't start after less than one season

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this snow blower in the fall of 2013. I used it perhaps 5 or 6 times and, by the end of the winter, it would no longer start, so I'm paying $150 to have it picked up (way too big to fit in my car) and serviced. It does a great job when it works, but I would have thought that it would have gone a lot longer before needing service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Works great

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was my first snow blower purchase and I'm glad I picked this one. Easy to put together, all the controls work as expected and it's light enough that my wife can use it when I'm out of town. I've used it in as little as an inch and a half of snow and as much as 6 inches. Haven't had the chance to try more than 6" yet though. For the price I'd be surprised if you could find a better machine. I wish it had a headlight, but hey, it was relatively inexpensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Portage, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sno Tek snow blower

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased in November of 2014. We had 18 inches of snow and this blower worked great!
Only thing I would change are the glides. They are made out of steel and the paint was removed after the first use leaving rust on the garage floor under the glides. They should include the plastic ones that you can purchase separately.
Overall a good value for the price.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

AWSUM

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
got the machine on new years day. Used it once so far and it was great. It powered threw a nee high drift with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Trumbull, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blizzard of 2013 surviver

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this 24" unit last year and only used it one time before spring. This year we had a blizzard here in New England which dropped 30"+ of snow. The engine started right up. (Because of the 6 month shelf life of ethanol, use fresh gas only in any snow blower!) I find the choke is hardly necessary unless it is very cold. Mine started in 1 or 2 pulls with 1/2 choke @ 24 degrees. I did 5 driveways without a hitch. It throws the snow very well and very far. It handled 24" deep with ease and I was able to remove the heavy snow drifts left by the street plows. Drift cutters would be nice to have for snow over 25". It served me very well with this 100 year storm so I am not worried about the typical winters ahead. I am very pleased and recommend this for anyone looking for a 24" unit.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Great blower

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just got mine today 11/26/14 we have a really wet snow and this thing did very well looking forward to more snow now
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice machine,reasonable price

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Reasonably priced snowblower. Having moved up from a 15 year old machine I was impressed with some of the standard features. It handles wet sloppy snow MOST of the time without clogging. The only thing I am not keen on is the inability to adjust the engine speed. It would be nice to tone it down a bit when I'm out there at 4 am out of courtesy to my neighbors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Cons: no variable engine speed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Nice machine!

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I received this snowblower within 5 days of placing the order. It was shipped to a local Arien Dealer then assembled and delivered to my home. The representaive from the local dealer went over all the controls. While it is still summer, I am very confident that this snowblower will perform admirably when the winter snowstorms arrive. It is well built and has many features that other machines don't have. The price was very good to for a machine of this quality.
-37points
18out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Peoria, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well, devil to assemble

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Difficult to assemble, in particular the handle did not fit well. Once assembled and fueled, it started on 3rd pull. we cleared 4 in powdery snow in short order.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Kimber

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product made by Ariens. Plenty of power for wet or light snow. Has everything I needed, without paying for stuff I didn't need.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Product I Have Ever Purchased

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this a few years ago and this has caused me nothing but frustration. I should have known when the delivery person from the local store (who was also responsible for showing me how it works) had trouble starting this brand new machine. Eventually he got it work and during the first winter, I only had to use it once and it did start (not easily) and work fine once it was going. Next winter, would not start at all through either method and we couldn't get it fixed until the winter was over. Over the next summer, we paid another $200+ to fix it. It worked for the following winter season like a charm. I filled with ethanol-free gas and even ran it a few times over the summer and fall and it started up fine. Now its winter and it will not start. 1 Foot of snow coming this week and the least dependable product I have ever purchased of course will not start once again. Overall, I have paid over $800 for this machine and probably used it successfully about 8 times, so over $100/use. I can't stress how disappointed and frustrated I am with this machine.
Pros: if you can get it running it works great
Cons: Not Durable, won't start
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Westford, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just dug out of the biggest snowfall of my life!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 20 year old Ariens died and I replaced it last November with this Sno-Tek. Today I just dug out of 30+ inches with no problem. I had my son knocking down the drifts because I was just going under the snow pack but it was much easier to control than my old machine and threw the snow much farther. This is only the third time I've had to use it but its started on the first pull each time. The other storms had heavy slushy snow and it did clog a couple times but my old Ariens used to clog too so not a big deal for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Rhode Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Blower for a Good Price

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent the day (1-28-15) clearing my driveway, walks and my mothers drive way. This is my second winter with this machine and it performs very well. No problem with light snow, heavy snow and clearing the end of the driveway after the plows pass.
My only complaint is the very slow reverse gear, I find myself using it only when in deep snow.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled
Cons: reverse
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>