728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Sno-Tek by Ariens Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Overall rating:
4.494 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1306 reviews) 1306
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product1,171 of 1,259reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,306 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(903)
4
(278)
3
(43)
2
(31)
1
(51)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product1,171 of 1,259reviews
Customer questions and answers:
106 Questions | 432 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Waconia, MN

Great right out of the box!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the brand when I bought it from Home Depot. However, I have had good luck with most products purchased from HD, so after talking with the sales rep, I went ahead and purchased this blower.
It only took me a half hour to assemble, and I could tell just putting this thing together that it was high quality.
We ended up getting 16 inches of snow the following day, so I was excited to give this machine a workout.
I used the plug in option to fire it up, and it started immediately. It ran extremely smooth. It almost seems over powered for the size. But that is a good thing. It cut through the snow nicely.
I ended up cleaning 3 of my neighbors drive ways after I finished mine. It saved me alot of time and my back, and I am extremely pleased I purchased this machine.
My only gripe would be that the tires don't grip as good as I would have liked. I had an icy base coat under my snow, so it may not be fair to judge the blower on this,but I think I will invest in some chains in the near future.
All in all I highly recommend this snow blower. It does everything I expected it to do and more, and appears to be extremely reliable. I would definitely go with this model over the step down. The bigger engine and more power is well worth it. It never got jammed, or showed any sign of slowing down.
Hope this helps anyone who may be on the fence about this product. It is a great deal, and a very quality blower.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Vienna Virginia

Bring on the Snow!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleased when the Home Depot guy delivered the Snow Tek all assembled with gas & oil. He walked me through the process and it started on the 1st pull.
Today, we had 3 inches of snow and I added some more oil and gas. I used the pull start instead of the electric start - it fired on the 1st pull!
While 3 inches is not a big test, it did the job just fine. Suggest locking both wheels for big snow falls or get chains if you have a steep driveway. You also need the gas additive for any stale gas in your fill can.
Only issue is that the intake housing has small openings on the left and right sides of the lower scraper that leaves two narrow bands of snow on the driveway. I think a small piece of Duct Tape will fix this.
I am glad I bought the 208 cc engine and 2-stage. Weighs only 170 lbs and is easy to move around. At $630 Home Depot easily beats the competition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hedgesville,Wv

Awesome!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
M this product last month &y husband & I purchased & are thrilled. We were so impressed with everything from easy ordering & the delivery people called to set a date for delevery around our schedule. They delivered the product as the said time & reviewed the product w/my husband. They started it & explained the controls. The gaswas full & it was tested befre delivery.We read the owners manual which is so easy to understand. We just got snow 2 days ago & this snow blower is Awesome! It's so easy to operate & works fantastic. The write up on the blower is very accurate. We are totally satisfied with the product & recommend it to everyone. Thank you Home Depot for a wonderful product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Excellent Value; Service and Delivery

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Impressed by the on-line price; the assembly process and the service to my door; it started on second pull as brand new, in August. Put it in shed with Stabil additive and look forward to using it at first snowfall here in Northeast New Jersey.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

So far, so good

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this snow blower based on reviews and the fact it had the 208cc engine (larger than others), a steel chute and in person it seemed rugged in comparison to others.
Home depot arranged for free delivery from an Ariens dealer who delivered it assembled and filled with gas and oil. I had a complete walk through of starting operation and all the features of the blower; all included at no extra charge. Started first shot for the delivery guy and also when I tried it. I think it is perfect for my relaitively small driveway and the heavy snow which we get. My worst problem is "day later" street plowing that often leaves knee-high banks of heavy icey snow that requires something substantial.
Hoping for some good snow to try it out.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Great machine

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am extremely satisfied with the new Sno-tek snow blower.I t is a very well made product. Easy to use.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy so far!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought snowblower and rec'd in Sept. No snow yet. White Glove delivery was great. Gassed up and ready to go. Started on one pull (after checking oil....it was correct level). Machine seems sturdy and well made. I expect great things come winter snows.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from RI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

single stage vs two stage ? NO question two stage not much more

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just bought it today 12-23 didn't have time to start it yet but what i see and the great reviews and it's a Airens i feel i made the right decision. Started out wanting a single stage but after comparing what Airens had in the same price range and watching a video on u tube testing the Snow Tek 24 against what i wanted. It was a easy decision to make.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the money

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I did meticulous comparison shopping for this machine to be used for a 40 ft driveway and walks, as well as clearing access to a rural mailbox. I even called the manufacturer with technical questions and they were very helpful. This beats the competition (particularly Sears) in all respects for this class of blower.( If you have a much larger area, get a larger, more expensive machine).This has all metal construction compared to plastic parts, a gearbox that has some bulk to it and not the pencil thin gearboxes of others, a 208 engine rather than the 179,etc. Nowhere else could I find these features for anything near this price. It seems to have all of the quality and many of the features of the premium Ariens 24" blower at a much lower price. It was easy to assemble, although basic mechanical knowledge/experience is helpful in figuring out some of the details not specifically referenced in the manual. It started up and ran very smoothly. Now for the real test: SNOW. Due to warm weather on the east coast I have not put it to the full test, but based upon what I have seen of it so far, I expect it to out perform the competition. I have read many reviews of many blowers and it appears that some people don't know how to treat these machines. Meticulous attention is needed both in set up and maintenance to the fluid/lubrication requirements, correct use of choke,etc. The "issue" with the oil drainage being above the wheel is resolved by either the correct size tubing or use of a piece of flashing or other sheet metal slightly bent to allow the dirty oil to flow down to a pan.If you don't know this stuff, get basic training from the dealer or someone who knows small engines.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from McCall, Idah0

Really great snow blower

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Living in idaho, I have already used this forceful snow blower. It really does throw the snow 40 feet. I have a long driveway of a couple hundred yards to clear and this blower worked fine uphill and downhill. I am glad I read the booklets as the keys are red plastic and wrapped on the assembly. They don't exactly look like keys, but do fit all the way into the ignition or key hole. I was looking for real keys, but, duh, finally figured that one out. I had to laugh at myself. I needed two wrenches to get the bolts on. The two bolts left over are extra shear bolts.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Northen Utah

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as advertised and one of the best values for the price I could find. Initial start up was easy with the 1st pull and the electric start is a nice feature I don't think I will be using much since it pull starts so easy. Cut right through the thick wet snow I had in the street and tossed it very well to my surprise. The controls are easy to operate and the 9.5HP kicks in when needed. Used this product in 3 storms now and it worked excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Canton,OH

Bring on the Snow

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This snow blower fired right up using the manual method on one pull. I'll try the electric start next time. On the floor this model was sold out. But Home Depot employees double checked and found that one was still in the system. Luckily, they had one left. They also helped load it up.
The LCT engine that's on the Sno-Tek performed great so far. It's designed and engineered in America, This made me feel better since I knew LCT was mfg. in China. I read it's as close to a honda motor as you can get. Honda signed off on the engineering of it..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Springfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed as advertised

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shortly after delivery, we got a few inches of snow. Worked really well. Easy to handle and operate. The company who delivered it had it all put together, gas and oil full and gave me a step by step on how to use it safely. This is the first snow blower ever for me. Should ensure mild winters for years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit delivered on time, setup instructions very good but since it hasn't snowed I can't give it a rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Works Great

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this in late May, planning to use it next winter. It shipped mostly assembled, but I had to finish the job. I disliked not knowing if a step in the assembly was done or not - it took me a bit longer - but overall it was fairly easy to finish putting together.
I got about 9" of snow this last weekend, and it did great. My driveway is extremely steep (up to a full 35 degrees in some places), and I managed to get it up and down with minimal problems. It takes a bit of effort to turn it around.
Overall, I am very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Pasco, WA

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little hesitant buying it sight unseen, but man am I glad I did. We don't get a lot of snow, but I'm getting old and lazy and wanted to get something durable and capable for the occasional snowpocalypse, but not super expensive - or with a lot of bells/whistles/gadgets to break. This machine delivers exceptional performance and value.
We had between 3/4" and 4" of wet, packed snow/ice all around the house and this machine chewed it up and spit it out like it wasn't there. I even went after the snow that was right along the curb and it kept chugging along.
I did a lot of research on the LCT engine and based on my initial impression can recommend it without hesitation. It starts easy and runs smooth. The plastic and metal parts have a very good fit and finish and quality to them. I read that the engine has a very long EPA emissions compliance rating, which is a good indicator of its durability (some are as low as 50 hours!).
The rest of the unit is made of heavy gauge steel and uses high quality hardware throughout. The chute is very thick plastic and has a very thick metal cap. The handles, levers, etc. are all sturdy and will hold up very well.
You can run it with one hand once you get it rolling. The chute rotation is conveniently located and very quick. I really like having six speeds to help match the feed rate to the conditions. It rolls easily with the clutch disengaged and being able to disengage either or both tires is a nice feature. In an hour, I was able to clear several hundred feet of sidewalk, two small patios, and two large driveways. It's big enough to do real work but not so heavy or awkward to make it tough to move around.
Setup and assembly was very quick and easy - requiring only a couple of wrenches and 15 minutes or so. Anyone can do it with ease and the instructions are easy to understand.
This is a great snow blower for the money and should last a long time. If you are in the market for a real snowblower and don't want to spend $1000 - this is the unit for you. Ariens really hit a home run with this one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL

Ariens Snow Blower

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you live in the midwest, you need a 2- stage snow blower. Went back and forth between this model and a singe stage unit. I am glad I spent a few extra dollars and got this model. It just snowed 5 inches of wet snow, plus the city plow left 2 feet of slush at the end my driveway. The Ariens snow blower made quick work of the snow and slush. The second auger provides great lift when throwing the snow. I was shooting slush 20 feet across the street.
Most fun I had shoveling the driveway since I was a kid!
This is a great machine. Does a super job clearing "heart attack" snow.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New|England

SnoTek

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recently purchased one of the SnoTek snow blowers. Excellent value for the look and structure of this item. The use of different speeds and safety devices are good things on this product. Hope to get many years of use from this product. Can't wait for our first heavy snow storm sure this snow blower will make the job much easier.
Going to be the envy of our neighbors.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Throws snow far!

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I only got to use this thing twice this year but both times I was not disappointed. The company that assembled my snowblower however, gave me a bit of in confidence when I asked about the product. They said "for about the same price we could have sold you a better unit", I realized they deal only in used products. For the money, this is the best NEW product on the market. No regrets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Good deal for the price but a few problems noted below

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The machine is first rate. I had to re do 2 of the cables as they were set up wrong by Home Depot. (I bought a floor model). The model is very highly ratted and was a good buy otherwise. We had to lie it on the side in my car and I was told that there was no oil in it. However it leaked oil all over my car which was a problem.
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>