728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start

7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start

The Sportsman Propane 6,000/7,000-Watt Portable Generator can power common household appliances and power tools. It is equipped with four 120-Volt outlets, a 12-Volt DC outlet for battery charging, and a 120/240-Volt outlet. Use this generator immediately with the recoil start or install a motorcycle battery (not included) to activate the electric start feature. A generator of this size is ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages. This generator is a real workhorse with great features like a 13HP 4-Stroke OHV engine, Automatic Low Oil Shutdown and an Automatic-Voltage Regulator for an affordable price. It boasts an engine run time of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20Lb (gas grill type) cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). A 5 foot propane fuel hose with a regulator is included for your added convenience. The engine is surprisingly quiet; it runs at less than 80 Db. This is a great generator for anyone who needs affordable power. Propane has several distinct advantages over gasoline generators. Propane burns cleaner than gas engines. Carbon monoxide emissions run up to 40% lower. Propane will not degrade, so you can keep several propane tanks on hand for emergencies and store them for an unlimited amount of time. Since this generator runs on propane you never have to worry about the fuel going bad or having the carburetor getting fouled due to degenerated gasoline - a common problem with gasoline powered small engines.
Overall rating:
4.298 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(205 reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product167 of 186reviews
Rating Breakdown 205 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(120)
4
(58)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product167 of 186reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
yankee0313
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
rawnie
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Jack
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+85points
103out of 121found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Dorchester
from conyers, ga

great Value- very pleased

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very Happy with my purchase. Starts very easy and runs like a watch. No noxious fumes, is very quiet for how large tis unit is and gas won't ever go bad like in my last gasoline powered unit which was very powerful and well constructed but the carb got fouled due to gas degrading. Love this unit, perfect for my job constructions sites. nice move home depot.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
vasquez1
from Houston

Large, affordable LPG Generators

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally- Large and Affordable LPG Generators. Been waiting for this as LPG is very affordable, easy to get and does not degrade like gasoline. This Sportsman is very well contructed unit also, with good owners manual. Started on third pull.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
MikeGH
from Gig Harbor WA

Excellent product, mediocre manual

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The generator was delivered when promised and was easy to set up. I was disappointed that the battery was not included for the price. The manual was of no help at all in determining the proper battery to get. The battery store (Sears) called the manufacturer to find out what battery to use. Once I installed the battery, it started right up and functions well. It is rather loud but easy to move around with the wheel kit.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
WWGD
from Rockville, MD

What Bonus?

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ordered two on 2/2/2011 due to frequent power outages at our and daughters homes. Freight company called when they were on the way, no 24 hr. notice. Bonus offer not available when purchased. This reflects more on vendor than generator.
The manual is fairly useless. Manual contradicted start-up instructions on unit. Poor maintenance/service instructions. Agree that battery should have been included for the price. Should have natural gas conversion kit available.
However, without battery, new unit easily started on third pull. Fairly quiet for generator this size. Propane is great choice over gasoline. No funky fumes or storage issues. Haven't tested under load. Like a snow thrower, you hope you never need it, but....
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
fitz2112
from S Bronx

awesome value

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So glad to see a large LPG generator which is affordable! Have another Sportsman generator and this one is just as good. Started right up and fast shipping- perfect. And the price is the best in the Internet.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
JM2122
from Orlando, Florida

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have not used the product yet but did turn it on for a test and it was easy to start. Somewhat loud. The instruction manual is not very well written but manageable. A battery should have been included as well as more actual information regarding the need for a grounding rod. I've had to research the grounding of the generator and seem to be getting mixed opinions.
The generator did arrive promptly. A 3 month warranty is not nearly adequate and 1 year should be standard.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
robbe

good home emergency generator

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived as promised, so-so instructions, but works well and has plenty of power under load. Propane rules over gas for my use -- as a home emergency backup generator. No need to deal with gasoline -- just always make sure to have an extra filled propane BBQ tank around (and resist the temptation to use it for your BBQ) and you are good to go.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
vwo3
from Key West, Florida

Nice !

PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice generator. Processing and delivery took 10 days from the date of online purchase to my doorstep in Key West Fl. I bought this as a backup generator to run essentials in my house in case of a prolonged power outage, (IE: Hurricane). I have a T-valve off my home propane tank (which fuels my stove/oven), and have a connection to which this generator will receive its fuel supply. I also had my electrician run a power cord from the breaker box to plug into the generator. I bought a battery (I suggest you do too) and it took several attempts to get it going, since it's new I guess, but runs strong and steady. No problems so far. Looks nice and relatively simple to assemble and use. It's exactly what I was looking for and I highly recommend. Propane is definitely the way to go, especially if you can connect to a large home tank like I did. Hopefully I will never have to use it !
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Duke
from Arlington TX

This product works well

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recieved the generator as promised. Installed the wheel kit and handle. The only problem encountered was find the correct size motor cycle battery to fit the the battery bracket. After finding the battery and connecting the LP Gas the generator started with no problems and the voltage output is as good as expected.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
bonfire
from Minnesota

Great product, performs & features are as advertised

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator works fine for powering my RV at less than half the cost of "RV generators." Setup was relatively easy and instructions for operation are clear and easy to understand. Battery start-up works with the touch of a finger and it sounds like a big tiger purring in the background--that is to say, not too noisy! Its size and weight (and attachable wheels) make it easily transportable. It's been working superbly for providing all the 110v power I need for the couple of weeks I've had it.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Fred

This was easy to work with.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This LPG Generator is well built,no trouble putting battery in place and the rubber strap was a good idea. Have'nt had to use it yet... thank God for that, but I feel more prepared now than I did without it. No complaints, I feel i got my money's worth. Fred
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
wlhclh
from Texas

A good buy

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have not yet had to use this generator for it's intended purpose (hurricane outages), but we have started it up and run a couple small items off of it just to test it out. So far we are very happy with it. We assembled the tires and handle, put oil in it and hooked it up to propane, hit the start and it fired right up. I am also very impressed with Home Depots delivery service. I am happy with the purchase all the way around.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Keith
from Jamestown, OH

The best generator I have ever used!

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical when I first read up on this generator, but the low price for a propane unit won out. Iit got here in two days from time of order! It was everything I had hoped for, easy to assemble, (remember it is shipped without oil), and looks great. We bought a little farm the old farm house had burned down on it. We are currently living in a 31 foot Montana travel trailer until we can build our house. We are completely off grid, this generator was t'd off the 100 gallon propane tank we had installed for the trailer. It starts every time with just one or two pulls of the cord. We have had the A/C, microwave and a coffee pot going at the same time with no problems. We run the generator about 40 minutes a day, that charges up my trailers house batteries, and gives us plenty of power for our other needs like running the well pump to top off our fresh water tank and 55 gal outdoor solar water barrel.
This thing is just sipping propane, I estimate a 100 gallon tank filled at just 80 gallons will last approximately 3 months, at $220 dollars a fill, that translates into less than $75 a month, and that includes the propane refrigerator freezer, hot water heater, and gas stove! No doubt this will go up when we have to turn on the gas furnace this winter. This generator is perfect for those not wanting to worry about gasoline going bad and fouling your plug or diesel geling in cold weather.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
dlbrum
from Alachua, Florida

Generator works well, as advertised

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
3rd pull start, as others have posted. Runs 6 house circuits thru a Reliance transfer switch. Let it storm..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Okie52
from Duncan Ok.

Propane Generator

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this Generator because it ran on propane. Propane stores much easier and doesn't deteriorate like gas.I unboxed and put together, took about 20 minutes,
added oil , hooked up to propane tank. Started on third pull. Called my wife out and she restarted it on first pull.
Quieter than the gas generators I have used. Would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
Carl

Great features for the money

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator was EZ to put togather, the picture in the manual were not as good as they need to be, too dark. The battery was hard to find. For the money, you can not find a better generatorthen this one. If you need a generator buy this one.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Portable Propane Generator with Electric Start
BMJR

A Great Back Up Generator

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having just used this generator for 5 days straight, following Hurricane Irene, I can say for sure that I am very happy with it.
It starts easy, runs smooth and changing propane tanks is sooo much easier that filling a gas tank.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>