728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6,000/7,000-Watt Portable Generator can power common household appliances and power tools. It is equipped with four 120-Volt outlets, a 12-Volt DC outlet for battery charging, and a 120/240-Volt outlet. Use this generator immediately with the recoil start or install a motorcycle battery (not included) to activate the electric start feature. A generator of this size is ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages. This generator is a real workhorse with great features like a 13HP 4-Stroke OHV engine, Automatic Low Oil Shutdown and an Automatic-Voltage Regulator for an affordable price. It boasts an engine run time of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20Lb (gas grill type) cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). A 5 foot propane fuel hose with a regulator is included for your added convenience. The engine is surprisingly quiet; it runs at less than 80 Db. This is a great generator for anyone who needs affordable power. Propane has several distinct advantages over gasoline generators. Propane burns cleaner than gas engines. Carbon monoxide emissions run up to 40% lower. Propane will not degrade, so you can keep several propane tanks on hand for emergencies and store them for an unlimited amount of time. Since this generator runs on propane you never have to worry about the fuel going bad or having the carburetor getting fouled due to degenerated gasoline - a common problem with gasoline powered small engines.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(215 reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product176 of 196reviews
Rating Breakdown 215 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(123)
4
(63)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product176 of 196reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
29out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fine portable generator for occasional use

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought to replace a smaller gasoline unit. It took a little expermenting to assemble, the writer of the uinstructions clearly uses english as a second language. It takes a strong pull to start with the manual start but it kicked right over. Had no trouble hooking it up t a propane tank, will probably getr it connected to the hous propane syhstem.Used an old auto battery to get an electric start, worked fineThis machine is far more suitable for my wife to be able to use for power outages. For the money it is very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+106points
125out of 144found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from St. Augustine, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great unit

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator will meet the emergency needs for my house. While the unit will not power the entire house it does power the basics i.e. range, refrigerator, freezer. All on a rotating basis of course.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Really like the propane generators - got extended warranty

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was between this and the Generac propane - I thought the Generac might be a bit better made but the Sportsmans output is greater and the Sportman seems to run longer - many of you don't know and Home Depot really doesn't advertise that they have a three year protection plan for around $130 - that clinched it for me - I bought the Sportsman & the service plan - you go to your local Home Depot with your online purchase receipt as soon as you can and they will sell you the protection plan - they did not offer this plan on line and many don't even know it's an option - generator arrived on time and in good condition
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Coventry, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sportsman Propane Generator

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this generator in November of 2011 and did not have any need to use it to any extent. I thought it would be a good purchase because of several good reviews that I read. I took the generator out a couple of times to start it and make sure it ran and then in August or September of 2013 I took it out once again to test it. It ran 10 minutes and died. I sent it to Home Depot to be repaired and after waiting a couple of months was told that it could not be repaired because parts were not available for it. This generator was in brand new condition, did not work and now it has cost me over $1000.00. Do not purchase this product
Pros: no pros
Cons: Not Durable, junk
+15points
23out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from SW Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hurricane preparedness

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for hurricane preparedness in SW Florida. Took advantage of the tax refund available at the start of the season and a $100 promotional discount.
I decided to go for the propane version because I didn't want gallons of gasoline stored around the house. Propane lasts a long time without decay and is safer storage, gasoline needs preservative for long term storage and is also affected by supply and distribution problems during storms and flooding. I'm told that the propane version of the generator has slightly less power than the equivalent gasoline version but during my testing the loads were maintained correctly so I would accept this trade-off.
I purchased an 8000 watt, 10 circuit transfer switch to use with this generator as a convenience and to avoid running cables directily from the generator and through the house (reviewed seperately).
The generator needs a little assembly with a few nuts and bolts provided. The instructions are clear and simple. Once assembled you need to add oil and propane (not supplied).
I liked the selection of outputs and the ability to charge a 12-volt battery from the generator i.e. it's own electric starter battery which has to be purchased seperately.
The generator is slightly more noisy than my Crafstman gas mower and for safety and sanity(!) has to be located outside and away from windows and doors. It has a collapsible handle to allow it to be rolled around on its two pneumatic wheels making storage and deployment relatively easy.
I ran it under test for an hour at about 80% load and it performed flawlessly.
It's not possible to check the load on the generator without additional equipment and as the load changed you can hear the generator tone alter. Any overloads will trip the generator trip switches.
Because I used a transfer switch with power meters to connect to the house wiring I was able to monitor the load and adjust the circuits for optimum and a balanced power drain.
Replacing light bulbs for energy efficient types and checking each appliance load on the generator as it is switched on allowed me to move some of our appliances to different circuits and allowed me to run all the lamps, fans, TV's, PC's, router and radios necessary. In the end I was able to even get the kettle, microwave and coffe maker working too within spec.
Note the refrigerator and microwave have their own circuits in the house and when using a transfer switch allows easy balancing and cutover without additional cables running throughout the house.
Works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Ellijay , GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just okay

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After serious research on a portable propane generator and ready some very good reviews, I decided on this generator.
I have had it approximately one year. the assembly was pretty straightforward and easy. A couple ?? about the battery hookup but a phone call took care of that.
I live in the North Georgia mountains and unfortunately the mountains and overhead power really don't get along to well. Consequently, we have frequent power losses. I have had multiple problems with the generator. It seems not to pick up on throttle on a load, causing brown lights and sometimes failure with well pump. Now the on/off rocker switch appears to be faulty and now is sticking in the on position. If it is not manually pushed off, the battery will run down and did. Not very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea to go with LP vs gas

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Generator arrived in less than 1 week from time order was placed. Trucker (R&L) called the day before delivery and on delivery put it in my garage. Packing was great and easy to undo. Attachment of wheels was easy. Pull start is difficult. Got a Gel battery and it's a snap to start with the electric start! I bought a 25' 240 to 120 cord so that after a storm hits I'll only have to run one wire into the house instead of 3 or 4. It seems to be much quieter than my old gas generator. The only unusual thing that I noticed is that the choke has to be closed each time you start it. This applies even if the generator was just used. Once started, move the choke to open and you are ready to go!
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Ludlow, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Purchase - So glad I bought this.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this in June of 2011 after a tornado ripped through a nearby area and made me aware that I should have something for back up power.
This past week was actually the first time I ran the generator - I ran it 24/7 from Sunday morning until Thursday night. It consistantly went 8 to 8-1/4 hours on a 20lb propane tank.
I have this wired directly into my electric panel. Obviously you can not run a electric stove or electric water heater, but everything else including our furnace ran great.
With the power out to a lareg area, people were having trouble finding gasoline for their generators, I had no problem finding propane at all. I highly recommend this to anyone that needs a generator for emergencies.
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from New York
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best buy for LP generators

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived in 1st rate shape. Started with no problem. It should be noted that all nuts and bolts are metric. There is no key lock for the generator. It is important to note that the bracket that holds the battery is exactly 3 inches wide. Very few batteries fit in this bracket. You must use a battery with at least 130 cranking amps. After much searching I found one made by SHORAI LFX09A2-BS12.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no key lock
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent generator for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Delivered directly to house, took out of box, attached the wheels and it started right up. Great generator for the price, love the propane fuel and mobility. During the last power outage, I saw lines of people at the one gas station that still had power, lining up to get fuel for gasoline powered generators. I have prepositioned two propane gas canisters that can sit for years without worry. I'll be ready for the next outage!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Harrisburg, PA

Good Value Backup Generator

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Sportman 7000LP is a lower end, higher wattage, portable propane generator. I recommend it for people who want a portable propane generator for emergency backup to moderate use. I would not recommend this generator for routine or heavy usage as manufacture cost cutting can be seen in the lack of oil filter, no included battery, and non-brand name engine.
The generator lasted just over seven hours on one 20lb propane tank at exactly 50 percent load (3000 watts) in my test run. I attribute the 12 percent loss in efficiency, compared to the published eight hour run time, to less than ideal winter conditions in which I was constantly battling propane tank freeze up.
The engine itself had some remnants of metal filings from manufacturing. I highly recommend flushing the oil once or twice before initial use, upgrading the two oil drain plugs to magnetic oil drain plugs, and changing the oil after your first test run to best manage any leftover metal filing. I also recommend upgrading the spark plug to an iridium plug to maximize efficiency as iridium resists heat and corrosion better than standard plugs. (Propane burns hotter and is more corrosive than gasoline)
• Oil Drain Plug: 12mm x 1.5
• Iridium NGK Spark Plug: BPR6EIX (NGK 6637)
+134points
138out of 142found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked perfectly until brushes melted

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The delivery of the generator was quick and painless. I hooked it up and it started quickly and ran smoothly. After adding battery, it is even more pleasant to start and run. I had an electrician install a switch in my electric panel to run generator during power outage. All worked perfectly and it actually generated enough power for most of my electric needs. During a recent power outage (3 days) it was a lifesaver since i have 2 freezers and 2 refrigerators. We were even able to watch satellite TV.
After about 30 hours of operation, it stopped generating. The repairman found that the brushes had melted and ordered new parts. Beware, it only has a 90 day warranty from manufacturer. Since I bought it 5 months ago, all repairs are on me even though it was only working 2 days. Worked great while it was working. However, a 90 day warranty on a device that you may not start using for a few months (until the next storm) is very poor. I won't know until the next power outage whether it will stop working after a few hours.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lot's to do on the front end, but

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has taken me almost two months to get everything together and run this generator for the first time. It will not take you that long. Initially, I wanted to set it up with a switch that would put the generator on line for the whole whose. The estimate was just too much for a need that may or may not arise so I stuck with the extension cords. But, before starting I wanted the battery, not included, and I had to drive a grounding rod. And fill with oil and this and that. Today I fired it up for the first time and it didn't hesitate and ran like a champ. A great value for the price - my knowledge of electricity is limited so I really like the four AC plugs.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Fort Ann, NY 12827, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do NOT buy Sportsman!

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bad generator.
Small oil capacity at 3/4 qt.
Small muffler. Decible level is high.
Engine / Generator not balanced properly. My muffler cracked around all mounting bolts and vibrated loose.
Ball bearing at generator end fell apart...bad vibrations!
Hard to pull start. So I bought the recommended battery.
Recommended battery does not fit properly in the tray provided. Battery strap dry rotted and broke in 3 months.
The manufacturer / importer (Buffalo Tools) is not quick to fix or replace my generator. I have been waiting over 3 months with no generator. I live in a rural area. I have lost power numerous times. I have a sense of urgency. Buffalo Tool Customer service has shown NO sense of urgency.
I am NOT happy with the Sportsman propane generator.
Cons: Not Durable, not reliable, not well designed, not well built
+21points
30out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product & clean technology

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator started right up as soon as I connected a battery to it (not included). Somewhat loud but no foul smelling exhaust fumes. Compact, and although heavy it is easy to move on wheels & it comes with a wagon-type handle. Have not had an opportunity to need it so far. Delivery was no problem & only assembly was connecting the wheels & handle.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Park Ridge, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Idea, poorly made product, blows through propane

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this generator to use at my cabin to supply power and run a 11000BTU AC unit. the good - it started up right away, and its not too heavy. The Bad - right out of the box when I was putting it together I started to notice the sub-par construction of this thing. you can tell its made in China. the Battery holder screws didn't even fit the pre drilled holes. I decide to get a 100lbs propane tank to run this all weekend, instead of switching out a bunch of 20 pound tanks. The specs say that this will run for 8 hours @ 50% load off of a 20 lbs tank. well this thing went though the whole 100lbs tank in less than 24hrs, and there is no way I even had 50% load on it. On top of it all, it started to leak oil out of the valve cover gasket within the first 15 mins (the gasket is rubber by the way, I don't know how they expect that to last with extensive heat exposure, and its only held on with one bolt!) The rest of this unit has cheap plastic parts on it, the choke lever feels like it will break off if you push it a little too much, the 240 plug they supplied is about as cheap as it gets. My suggestion? buy a Generac. a little less power, but they are far superior in quality. Luckily I had my old 5000 Generac unit from the 80's on standby to pick up the slack from this foreign made garbage. Picked the unit on Thursday, and returned it on Monday. Home Depot was great about the return, had no troubles there.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, low quality construction
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Happy with the services Home Depot provided

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have not had a chance to use this generator, so I cannot review it honestly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poorly written instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

A few problems, works great now.

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wrote a review earlier and noted my unit was difficult to start. The problem got worse. Buffalo Tools service was difficult to consistently communicate with. They suggested I get a battery, which I did. It is most frugally searched for by its generic designation UB12180. Eventually I found I could only start it by closing the choke, removing the air cleaner and covering the little hole in the choke. Once started, it ran fine. This led me, and Buffalo Tools, to believe the flow regulator (the one that looks like a carburetor) was defective. Buffalo Tools did not have a nearby warranty service center, so I contacted a local LPG generator repair shop. The service tech was kind enough to talk with me for a while. He thought that the problem had to be fuel supply. He suggested I keep my 20 lb tanks warm. This apparently is often a problem in cold weather (it was dead winter, NH. -10 to 20 F). When changing and moving parts around, I realized the fuel flow varied depending on the position I put the pressure regulator (the one that is round and near the tank) in. It turned out the pressure regulator was defective. Buffalo Tools sent me a new one. The generator now starts better than it ever did. Lessons learned: Be aware that the Home Depot warranty on generators (despite the 90 day warranty banner on the order page) is only 30 days. I am sure ultimately in a bad situation Home Depot will come through for its customers; I was so assured on day 45 by a Home depot phone representative. If you are experiencing a problem and the warranty period is nearing expiration; sent a return receipt letter (about $3) to Buffalo Tools with your receipt (print out of the on line document is fine), a copy of the trucking slip and a statement that your problem is un-resolved. I did this on day 80 (the Buffalo Tools warranty is 90 days) and a few days latter got very good Buffalo Tools response including an offer to pick up my generator, no cost to me, and ship it to a warranty repair station. All stakeholders know Buffalo Tools profit margin on an $800 generator does not support a pick up and repair. When I did identify my defective component. Buffalo Tools replaced it immediately. I have tested the generator and it runs my hot water heater and well pump at the same time; this about 5000 watts. I do share an earlier post statement that it is a good idea to change the oil at least once after a few hours and install a magnetic drain plug (search for Magnetic Oil Drain Plug. Size M12x1.5 12mmx1.5 12mm-1.5. About $10, free ship). Actually you could install two; I just put one on the side nearest the oil pump. As said before: 90 days is a short warranty. If you are having problems and the deadline is approaching, I suggest you send a return receipt letter to BT with a declaration of your problem and a copy of your receipts. I did this. They worked with me after my warranty, strictly speaking, had run out.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>