728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator easily powers common household appliances and power tools. Ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages, this generator boasts an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine is surprisingly quiet, running at less than 80 dB. It also burns cleaner than gas engines, with carbon monoxide emissions up to 40% lower, and propane will not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(237 reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product197 of 218reviews
Rating Breakdown 237 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(134)
4
(73)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(15)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product197 of 218reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+126points
147out of 168found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Ellsworth, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

7kw Propane generator

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haven't had to use it for a storm yet, but i have test fired it and used it to run a 220 air compressor a few times. Right out of the box, put the wheels, handle and oil in it and it ran without issues. I look forward to it being ready to run when I need it. Propane is a much better choice for devices like this due to it requiring no special storage because of the fuel going bad. Great price for a great tool.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Oneonta, ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pleased with this generator

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hooked up this Generator to the propane, hit the electric starter and it started immediately.
It put out a good steady 120/240 volts and made much less noise than the gas
generator it replaced. What more can you ask of a generator?
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Really like the propane generators - got extended warranty

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was between this and the Generac propane - I thought the Generac might be a bit better made but the Sportsmans output is greater and the Sportman seems to run longer - many of you don't know and Home Depot really doesn't advertise that they have a three year protection plan for around $130 - that clinched it for me - I bought the Sportsman & the service plan - you go to your local Home Depot with your online purchase receipt as soon as you can and they will sell you the protection plan - they did not offer this plan on line and many don't even know it's an option - generator arrived on time and in good condition
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great! Quieter than expected!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this with the intention to make it easier for my wife in case she needed it and I were out of town. Night before Thanksgiving power went out in a snow storm, lots of damaged tree and downed lines. The generator was easy to hook up and keep fueled ( Propane ) without the danger of spilling gas on a hot generator. It ran for 4 days/nights .Its even quieter than we expected.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fine portable generator for occasional use

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought to replace a smaller gasoline unit. It took a little expermenting to assemble, the writer of the uinstructions clearly uses english as a second language. It takes a strong pull to start with the manual start but it kicked right over. Had no trouble hooking it up t a propane tank, will probably getr it connected to the hous propane syhstem.Used an old auto battery to get an electric start, worked fineThis machine is far more suitable for my wife to be able to use for power outages. For the money it is very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from St. Augustine, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great unit

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This generator will meet the emergency needs for my house. While the unit will not power the entire house it does power the basics i.e. range, refrigerator, freezer. All on a rotating basis of course.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Ellijay , GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just okay

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After serious research on a portable propane generator and ready some very good reviews, I decided on this generator.
I have had it approximately one year. the assembly was pretty straightforward and easy. A couple ?? about the battery hookup but a phone call took care of that.
I live in the North Georgia mountains and unfortunately the mountains and overhead power really don't get along to well. Consequently, we have frequent power losses. I have had multiple problems with the generator. It seems not to pick up on throttle on a load, causing brown lights and sometimes failure with well pump. Now the on/off rocker switch appears to be faulty and now is sticking in the on position. If it is not manually pushed off, the battery will run down and did. Not very happy with this purchase.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Gennylove

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since we're solely on solar power, we rely on our generator for gray days and for heavy duty power. This propane generator starts easily and reliably; provides plenty of power economically; and is less noisy than previous generators. A good buy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good with a little bad

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The bracket that holds the battery is larger than the dimensions of the battery required so the battery does not seat firmly. The rubber strap holds the battery in place, barely. There are no instructions to hook the generator up to a large household propane tank, only the 20lb tank. I contacted their customer service and spoke with a woman that had to call the tech for each and every question I had. She repeated the tech's answers but not exactly so it became confusing. I asked to speak directly to the tech, but she said it was not possible. I have a good understanding of how propane works and could not understand why she kept telling me I had to use the enclosed regulator when my tank already had a regulator for my home appliances. Well, I didn't. It was only to be used with the 20lb tank. Once the generator was hooked to the propane and the battery was attached, it started instantly. I can run the fridge, lights, small microwave, and well pump with no problem. I ran it for an hour initially and 6 hours after a recent storm with no problems. I did find my battery ran dead after two weeks of sitting. It was brand new and I was able to recharge it, but then it went dead after two days while hooked to the generator. I again, to my dismay, had to call customer service. There is a diode in the wire loom going to the starter that was installed backward at the factory so it drains the battery. Seemed to be a problem with many generators but I never received a recall or notification. I had to cut the diode out of the wire loom, turn it around and solder it back in place. After all the baloney, I'm still happy with the generator as it starts easily, runs quieter than my gas generators, and runs everything I need during an outage.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from SW Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hurricane preparedness

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for hurricane preparedness in SW Florida. Took advantage of the tax refund available at the start of the season and a $100 promotional discount.
I decided to go for the propane version because I didn't want gallons of gasoline stored around the house. Propane lasts a long time without decay and is safer storage, gasoline needs preservative for long term storage and is also affected by supply and distribution problems during storms and flooding. I'm told that the propane version of the generator has slightly less power than the equivalent gasoline version but during my testing the loads were maintained correctly so I would accept this trade-off.
I purchased an 8000 watt, 10 circuit transfer switch to use with this generator as a convenience and to avoid running cables directily from the generator and through the house (reviewed seperately).
The generator needs a little assembly with a few nuts and bolts provided. The instructions are clear and simple. Once assembled you need to add oil and propane (not supplied).
I liked the selection of outputs and the ability to charge a 12-volt battery from the generator i.e. it's own electric starter battery which has to be purchased seperately.
The generator is slightly more noisy than my Crafstman gas mower and for safety and sanity(!) has to be located outside and away from windows and doors. It has a collapsible handle to allow it to be rolled around on its two pneumatic wheels making storage and deployment relatively easy.
I ran it under test for an hour at about 80% load and it performed flawlessly.
It's not possible to check the load on the generator without additional equipment and as the load changed you can hear the generator tone alter. Any overloads will trip the generator trip switches.
Because I used a transfer switch with power meters to connect to the house wiring I was able to monitor the load and adjust the circuits for optimum and a balanced power drain.
Replacing light bulbs for energy efficient types and checking each appliance load on the generator as it is switched on allowed me to move some of our appliances to different circuits and allowed me to run all the lamps, fans, TV's, PC's, router and radios necessary. In the end I was able to even get the kettle, microwave and coffe maker working too within spec.
Note the refrigerator and microwave have their own circuits in the house and when using a transfer switch allows easy balancing and cutover without additional cables running throughout the house.
Works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from southaven ms.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best thing i did.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
arrived on time,intact,undamaged. a little work to assemble,but not abig deal.bought a new propane tank.after hooking up, manually started by directions. did not get a battery yet as will be stored hopefully over the winter. the engine even with its size was not difficult to start. follow the directions to pull starter rope slowly,not jerk rapidly, plugged in furnace fan to test,did not even slow down generator.ihave great expections for this generator. so far I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good sale

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Our power will probably never go off again now that I am excited with this propane generator. Husband never could start gas one. Big reason is the gas of today goes bad so fast.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea to go with LP vs gas

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Generator arrived in less than 1 week from time order was placed. Trucker (R&L) called the day before delivery and on delivery put it in my garage. Packing was great and easy to undo. Attachment of wheels was easy. Pull start is difficult. Got a Gel battery and it's a snap to start with the electric start! I bought a 25' 240 to 120 cord so that after a storm hits I'll only have to run one wire into the house instead of 3 or 4. It seems to be much quieter than my old gas generator. The only unusual thing that I noticed is that the choke has to be closed each time you start it. This applies even if the generator was just used. Once started, move the choke to open and you are ready to go!
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent generator for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Delivered directly to house, took out of box, attached the wheels and it started right up. Great generator for the price, love the propane fuel and mobility. During the last power outage, I saw lines of people at the one gas station that still had power, lining up to get fuel for gasoline powered generators. I have prepositioned two propane gas canisters that can sit for years without worry. I'll be ready for the next outage!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Ludlow, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Purchase - So glad I bought this.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this in June of 2011 after a tornado ripped through a nearby area and made me aware that I should have something for back up power.
This past week was actually the first time I ran the generator - I ran it 24/7 from Sunday morning until Thursday night. It consistantly went 8 to 8-1/4 hours on a 20lb propane tank.
I have this wired directly into my electric panel. Obviously you can not run a electric stove or electric water heater, but everything else including our furnace ran great.
With the power out to a lareg area, people were having trouble finding gasoline for their generators, I had no problem finding propane at all. I highly recommend this to anyone that needs a generator for emergencies.
+38points
40out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Palmetto Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

needed electric start due to sickness

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
setup was very easy you might need help getting the transport wheels on since it is very heavy, installed oil connected propane hose it cranked the first time and ran very smooth. the battery was the most difficult part of the setup
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from west virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not happy

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought online and was delivered on time filled with oil and started up ran fine the next month power went out started generator ran four hours and shut down low oil refilled ran five hours motor locked up threw oil everywhere took back to store they would only give me store credit and had no generators so we sat in the dark for four days with no heat or water this generator is junk
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Harrisburg, PA

Good Value Backup Generator

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Sportman 7000LP is a lower end, higher wattage, portable propane generator. I recommend it for people who want a portable propane generator for emergency backup to moderate use. I would not recommend this generator for routine or heavy usage as manufacture cost cutting can be seen in the lack of oil filter, no included battery, and non-brand name engine.
The generator lasted just over seven hours on one 20lb propane tank at exactly 50 percent load (3000 watts) in my test run. I attribute the 12 percent loss in efficiency, compared to the published eight hour run time, to less than ideal winter conditions in which I was constantly battling propane tank freeze up.
The engine itself had some remnants of metal filings from manufacturing. I highly recommend flushing the oil once or twice before initial use, upgrading the two oil drain plugs to magnetic oil drain plugs, and changing the oil after your first test run to best manage any leftover metal filing. I also recommend upgrading the spark plug to an iridium plug to maximize efficiency as iridium resists heat and corrosion better than standard plugs. (Propane burns hotter and is more corrosive than gasoline)
• Oil Drain Plug: 12mm x 1.5
• Iridium NGK Spark Plug: BPR6EIX (NGK 6637)
+140points
145out of 150found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>