728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator easily powers common household appliances and power tools. Ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages, this generator boasts an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine is surprisingly quiet, running at less than 80 dB. It also burns cleaner than gas engines, with carbon monoxide emissions up to 40% lower, and propane will not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(234 reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product195 of 215reviews
Rating Breakdown 234 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(134)
4
(71)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product195 of 215reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
35out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+120points
141out of 162found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from conyers, ga

great Value- very pleased

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very Happy with my purchase. Starts very easy and runs like a watch. No noxious fumes, is very quiet for how large tis unit is and gas won't ever go bad like in my last gasoline powered unit which was very powerful and well constructed but the carb got fouled due to gas degrading. Love this unit, perfect for my job constructions sites. nice move home depot.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Gig Harbor WA

Excellent product, mediocre manual

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The generator was delivered when promised and was easy to set up. I was disappointed that the battery was not included for the price. The manual was of no help at all in determining the proper battery to get. The battery store (Sears) called the manufacturer to find out what battery to use. Once I installed the battery, it started right up and functions well. It is rather loud but easy to move around with the wheel kit.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rockville, MD

What Bonus?

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ordered two on 2/2/2011 due to frequent power outages at our and daughters homes. Freight company called when they were on the way, no 24 hr. notice. Bonus offer not available when purchased. This reflects more on vendor than generator.
The manual is fairly useless. Manual contradicted start-up instructions on unit. Poor maintenance/service instructions. Agree that battery should have been included for the price. Should have natural gas conversion kit available.
However, without battery, new unit easily started on third pull. Fairly quiet for generator this size. Propane is great choice over gasoline. No funky fumes or storage issues. Haven't tested under load. Like a snow thrower, you hope you never need it, but....
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Tyler,TX

7000w Propane generator

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this generator to be the primary power source for when our power goes out due to weather. It has exceeded my expectations, especially given the price. Reliable. Starts well. Burns little oil. Efficient. Runs multiple loads, some high amperage, like well pump. No problems! It may not have some bells and whistles, but for the price, a very nice tight economical propane unit. No major weaknesses.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Orlando, Florida

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have not used the product yet but did turn it on for a test and it was easy to start. Somewhat loud. The instruction manual is not very well written but manageable. A battery should have been included as well as more actual information regarding the need for a grounding rod. I've had to research the grounding of the generator and seem to be getting mixed opinions.
The generator did arrive promptly. A 3 month warranty is not nearly adequate and 1 year should be standard.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from The Land of Norumbegia

This is a GOOD stand-by generator

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Readers;
This reviewer just purchased this Generator, so I have not yet used it when the 'lights go out''--but I found it easy to set up; all the controls are right were you can find them(be sure to READ the handbook; the machine came without engine oil, and will NOT start without it!! The Propane model is an easy starter, by hand, we do not have the battery yet-- and when we tested the rig connected to the house electric service, we found it more than adaquate for the appx. 1/2 the house & all the horse barn electrick usages.We are next going to buy the 45lb tank to replace the 15lb one. A handy tip, buy the Propane Gas meter that screws into the line/tank fittings, to know the gas levels at a glance. The generator is more quiet than the old gas modelnd not as heavy to lift/roll. 1st time Generator Buyers?-go with the Propane-less fuel hassels, no carb. to go 'poof-in-the-night', & no frozen fuel lines in Winter Yes- I have recommend this to others, it is a good way to keep Civilization going, when the power goes out. As to price, it was competetive: and the Free Shipping is a Large Savings to the buyer. Be sure to have the time/manpower etc. when it arrives to you. Our was offloaded into a neighbors truck, for the trip up our 1/4 mile driveway, that would not accomadate an 18 wheeler! It seems the best to unpack, assemble the unit, then move it into place, or into a storage shed. Use the wooden frame it is packed on as a base to keep it off the wet ground. The wooden frame also raises it about 10 inches, and makes it easier to work with the Generator. If you are thinking of getting a Generator, BUY THIS ONE!
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from VA

7000 gen

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Due to storage problems ethyl gasoline I went with the propane unit. Have not been tested under load conditions.
Run OK Starts OK by hand. Will be making a permanent connection to a twin 100 lbs bottle setup. The is engine is disposable as no information as to brand ,parts list, or engine overhaul is available. Not in the manual that came with generator.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Excellent quality and performance for the money.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered the GEN7000LP to power essentials in my condo during a power outage. I ordered the generator in addition to a transfer switch and the associate ancillary equipment (LP cylinder, transfer switch install bracket, 10AWG wire, etc). The generator started with two pulls after filling with the requisite amount of oil. It idled smoothly even when "cold". The generator is louder than I anticipated, but that is not the fault of anything other than it being an internal combustion engine in an open frame. Everything is well-built and thoughfully laid out. I was able to get the correct battery at WalMart and got the electric start feature to work -- starts in seconds at the push of a button. Overall, this is an excellent value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Peace of mind

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As many before me had indicated, the instructions for the generator assembly were not that clear but forewarned is forearmed. Up and running on 2nd try so hopefully it will give me peace of mind should we encounter power outages from hurricanes, tropical storms etc.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Overall, a good piece of equipment

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this generator to keep the essentials going. . .sump pumps, pellet stove, and fridge. The instructions for set-up were fair. However, I managed to put it together. I intended to buy a battery for starting, but the pull start worked on the third pull for both my wife and I. I am not sure if I will even get the battery. The propane hook up was simple and overall I really like the product. I only gave it 4 stars because I haven't used it yet, just practice. I purchased a 100 pound tank at the local Home Depot for $135 and think it may get us by for ~ 40-48 hours. Simple to use, plenty of outlets, and easy to start!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

love this product, great.....

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
building a house and needed electric to run tools..
this unit is great... would highly recommend..
has electrc start and also a pull start...will use as a back up for house after built...
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great features for the money

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The generator was EZ to put togather, the picture in the manual were not as good as they need to be, too dark. The battery was hard to find. For the money, you can not find a better generatorthen this one. If you need a generator buy this one.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Duncan Ok.

Propane Generator

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this Generator because it ran on propane. Propane stores much easier and doesn't deteriorate like gas.I unboxed and put together, took about 20 minutes,
added oil , hooked up to propane tank. Started on third pull. Called my wife out and she restarted it on first pull.
Quieter than the gas generators I have used. Would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Lincoln, Ne
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I havn't had oppurtunity to use generator yet

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I didn't see what I was buying other than what I saw onthe internet. I am satisfyed with what I received, looks like a qulity built machine
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Tennessee, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to put together. Manual needs a few english updates.
Called customer service with help getting the battery type and spark plug information. Very hard to pull start but the battery fired it up as soon as i figured out how to set the choke lever. I would recommend this generator to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from East Jabipp

No more gasoline issues

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have not really tested this unit. Assembly was a no-brainer. Hooked up my gas grill tank and jumper battery and it fired and ran well. Not really happy with ANY COMPANY using "SURGE WATTAGE" to rate it's generator. Maybe it's the way overseas companies do business, but do not expect 7,000 watts out of this unit for extended times. Buyer be aware & informed when looking at wattage.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Peru, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best value

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I chose this product for several reasons. I chose the LPG version even though they are typical at least $100 more than equivalent gas versions, and more expensive to operate. The reason I chose the LPG is because they do operate when you need them. Many people do not maintain the gas versions and when they need to use them, they don't run properly. LPG doesn't have any of those issues.
The only problem I have had with this unit is that I was unable to start it with the pull start. Not sure if I could do it now after it has been running, oil circulated, etc. but it was too stiff when I first bought it to even get it to fire once. Hooked up a battery and it started easily.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>