728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator easily powers common household appliances and power tools. Ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages, this generator boasts an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine is surprisingly quiet, running at less than 80 dB. It also burns cleaner than gas engines, with carbon monoxide emissions up to 40% lower, and propane will not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
Overall rating:
4.298 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(238 reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product198 of 219reviews
Rating Breakdown 238 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(135)
4
(73)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(15)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product198 of 219reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+127points
148out of 169found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Large, affordable LPG Generators

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally- Large and Affordable LPG Generators. Been waiting for this as LPG is very affordable, easy to get and does not degrade like gasoline. This Sportsman is very well contructed unit also, with good owners manual. Started on third pull.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Tyler,TX

7000w Propane generator

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this generator to be the primary power source for when our power goes out due to weather. It has exceeded my expectations, especially given the price. Reliable. Starts well. Burns little oil. Efficient. Runs multiple loads, some high amperage, like well pump. No problems! It may not have some bells and whistles, but for the price, a very nice tight economical propane unit. No major weaknesses.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Gig Harbor WA

Excellent product, mediocre manual

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The generator was delivered when promised and was easy to set up. I was disappointed that the battery was not included for the price. The manual was of no help at all in determining the proper battery to get. The battery store (Sears) called the manufacturer to find out what battery to use. Once I installed the battery, it started right up and functions well. It is rather loud but easy to move around with the wheel kit.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from The Land of Norumbegia

This is a GOOD stand-by generator

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Readers;
This reviewer just purchased this Generator, so I have not yet used it when the 'lights go out''--but I found it easy to set up; all the controls are right were you can find them(be sure to READ the handbook; the machine came without engine oil, and will NOT start without it!! The Propane model is an easy starter, by hand, we do not have the battery yet-- and when we tested the rig connected to the house electric service, we found it more than adaquate for the appx. 1/2 the house & all the horse barn electrick usages.We are next going to buy the 45lb tank to replace the 15lb one. A handy tip, buy the Propane Gas meter that screws into the line/tank fittings, to know the gas levels at a glance. The generator is more quiet than the old gas modelnd not as heavy to lift/roll. 1st time Generator Buyers?-go with the Propane-less fuel hassels, no carb. to go 'poof-in-the-night', & no frozen fuel lines in Winter Yes- I have recommend this to others, it is a good way to keep Civilization going, when the power goes out. As to price, it was competetive: and the Free Shipping is a Large Savings to the buyer. Be sure to have the time/manpower etc. when it arrives to you. Our was offloaded into a neighbors truck, for the trip up our 1/4 mile driveway, that would not accomadate an 18 wheeler! It seems the best to unpack, assemble the unit, then move it into place, or into a storage shed. Use the wooden frame it is packed on as a base to keep it off the wet ground. The wooden frame also raises it about 10 inches, and makes it easier to work with the Generator. If you are thinking of getting a Generator, BUY THIS ONE!
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Jamestown, OH

The best generator I have ever used!

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical when I first read up on this generator, but the low price for a propane unit won out. Iit got here in two days from time of order! It was everything I had hoped for, easy to assemble, (remember it is shipped without oil), and looks great. We bought a little farm the old farm house had burned down on it. We are currently living in a 31 foot Montana travel trailer until we can build our house. We are completely off grid, this generator was t'd off the 100 gallon propane tank we had installed for the trailer. It starts every time with just one or two pulls of the cord. We have had the A/C, microwave and a coffee pot going at the same time with no problems. We run the generator about 40 minutes a day, that charges up my trailers house batteries, and gives us plenty of power for our other needs like running the well pump to top off our fresh water tank and 55 gal outdoor solar water barrel.
This thing is just sipping propane, I estimate a 100 gallon tank filled at just 80 gallons will last approximately 3 months, at $220 dollars a fill, that translates into less than $75 a month, and that includes the propane refrigerator freezer, hot water heater, and gas stove! No doubt this will go up when we have to turn on the gas furnace this winter. This generator is perfect for those not wanting to worry about gasoline going bad and fouling your plug or diesel geling in cold weather.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Warrenville, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More than I needed.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This generator is larger than I needed, but to get the electric start on a propane-fueled generator, It seems I had to decide on this size unit. It runs great (maybe a bit noisy... but bearable) it starts "right now", and it sure does produce the power I need. I would say it needs a full length wheel axel, stronger front support legs. and a re-designed battery tray to take various sizes of commercially available batteries. I would recommend this generator (and this manufacturer) to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Deltona, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Generator

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Generator arrived in 10 days undamaged. After unpacking and checking for damage I filled with oil, connected a battery, hooked up the LP and followed starting directions. The generator started in about 3 seconds. Note that you always have to choke it when starting even when it is at operating temperature already. I assume this is because of it being propane. Runs great and is easy to set up. Directions on what kind of battery to buy are vague. It says not to get one larger than a certain size, but if you don't get one real close to the maximum dimentions it will be too loose in the battery holder, so go for the largest motorcycle battery that will fit. Also the battery posts should have the positive post on the right if possible as the negative wire is much shorter than the positive one. Everything else is great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Excellent quality and performance for the money.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered the GEN7000LP to power essentials in my condo during a power outage. I ordered the generator in addition to a transfer switch and the associate ancillary equipment (LP cylinder, transfer switch install bracket, 10AWG wire, etc). The generator started with two pulls after filling with the requisite amount of oil. It idled smoothly even when "cold". The generator is louder than I anticipated, but that is not the fault of anything other than it being an internal combustion engine in an open frame. Everything is well-built and thoughfully laid out. I was able to get the correct battery at WalMart and got the electric start feature to work -- starts in seconds at the push of a button. Overall, this is an excellent value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Somers, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

propane is the way to go

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to set up, pleased with the delivery service and it started on the first try. electrician is coming this week to hook up the house connection he infromed me that the genorator has more then enough power to run the things I need
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Iowa, USA

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I didn't have any immediate need to use the generator and waited about 2 weeks before taking it out of the box. At the time my concern was to make sure it actually worked, and to return or repair before I put it away in storage.
After opening the box I saw that some of the metal parts on top were dented. It was only cosmetic and I was able to take out the dent. As far as the product itself, I hooked up the Propane tank, connected a grounding wire and followed the instructions concerning oil and how to start the engine.
It started very easily, and was quieter than I expected. Except for the dents, it met and exceeded my expectations.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Lincoln, Ne
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I havn't had oppurtunity to use generator yet

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I didn't see what I was buying other than what I saw onthe internet. I am satisfyed with what I received, looks like a qulity built machine
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sportsman 7000 LP Gas Generator

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As always a new machine requires more than what is published in the manual. You need very good eyesight to read it.
1. Fill the engine with 38 .oz of oil. I chose Quaker State Ultimate Durability 5W-30W.
2. Attach the ground wire so you don't get zapped.
3. Keep the machine on a level surface or the low oil cut off will stop it from working.
4. Attach your LP gas line and make sure they are fully secured.
5. Battery: Not included
Purchase your own battery with these specifications: 7 1/8" L x 6" H x 3" W, 130 Min CCA (Cold Cranking Amps). Comparable brands/models are: Yuasa: YB9A-A, YB9-B or YB9L-B, Delco: CB9A-A, NAPA: 740-1872, 740-1858, 740-1837, Sears: 44043, 44356, 44045 I used my portable 12 volt portable battery backup and it worked fine. Just connect the clamps to the red and black wires.
6. Turn on the on/off switch on the top of the machine.
7. The unit I got would not start on the first try so I was advised by Buffalo Tools tech to take off the air filter. Open the choke. Spray a small amount of starter fluid into the carburetor. Close the choke and hold my finger over the opening in the choke plate while using the electric start. Started right up. I guess it needed to be primed.
8. Since you only get a 90 day warrantee I would check to make sure all the outlets are o.k.
9. Loud? I guess it is but I will be using outside in a shed that will keep it dry.
10. The shipping company was great and they delivered the generator right up to my garage door with a hydraulic jack to move it. I am in rural Vermont on a mountain so they provided a smaller lift gate truck with a power tail gate rather than an 18 wheeler.Other companies charge $50.00 extra for that service.
11. I bought one 50 foot and one 100 foot 12/3 extra heavy illumined ended extension cords until I put a transfer switch in the main electric panel in the future.
12.Never before have I spent so much money on a machine in hopes that I will not have to use it.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recommend getting a battery for it, it's a beast to try and pull start. I was fooled by the size of the emergency radio. Its about 1/100th of the size of the picture. Lay 3 Iphones flat on top of each other and you have the approximate size and thickness.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Peru, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best value

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I chose this product for several reasons. I chose the LPG version even though they are typical at least $100 more than equivalent gas versions, and more expensive to operate. The reason I chose the LPG is because they do operate when you need them. Many people do not maintain the gas versions and when they need to use them, they don't run properly. LPG doesn't have any of those issues.
The only problem I have had with this unit is that I was unable to start it with the pull start. Not sure if I could do it now after it has been running, oil circulated, etc. but it was too stiff when I first bought it to even get it to fire once. Hooked up a battery and it started easily.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Scranton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it would not start i had to send it back

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had to send it back it did not run what do you mean short i can not tell you any more
-9points
3out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Windsor NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product works as advertised

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With power outages seemingly on the increase I finally
decided to buy a portable generator. With all the problems with ethanol gasoline I decided to go LPG.
Product arrived quickly. Trucking company called to
schedule CURBSIDE delivery. You will need to be there
when he arrives. He was on-time and I just transfered the
unit to my pickup truck for the final destination to my barn.
Some minor assembly was required for the wheel system.
I modified the battery cables (as mentioned in a previous
review)so that I could use a car battery. I filled it with oil,
hooked up the LP tank,followed the start up procedure and it fired right up. Ran it for some time and tested it with
the pull rope as well. Just a note that even after it has been running for some time it still wants the choke on for the restart. In summary the unit seems well constructed,It had all the power requirements I desired and it worked right out of the box which is always a bonus now a days.I bought 2@ 40lb LPG tanks that will be dedicated to the
generator. Its hard to give this a 5 star rating since it was not tested during an outage event but I have a warm fuzzy feeling that will will handle it well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Massachusetts, USA

Overall great purchase

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great product, easy to use and worth the price. Had the whole thing up and running within 30 minutes of taking it out of the box. Start-up was simple and fast. Handle pull makes moving quick and easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>