728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6,000/7,000-Watt Portable Generator can power common household appliances and power tools. It is equipped with four 120-Volt outlets, a 12-Volt DC outlet for battery charging, and a 120/240-Volt outlet. Use this generator immediately with the recoil start or install a motorcycle battery (not included) to activate the electric start feature. A generator of this size is ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages. This generator is a real workhorse with great features like a 13HP 4-Stroke OHV engine, Automatic Low Oil Shutdown and an Automatic-Voltage Regulator for an affordable price. It boasts an engine run time of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20Lb (gas grill type) cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). A 5 foot propane fuel hose with a regulator is included for your added convenience. The engine is surprisingly quiet; it runs at less than 80 Db. This is a great generator for anyone who needs affordable power. Propane has several distinct advantages over gasoline generators. Propane burns cleaner than gas engines. Carbon monoxide emissions run up to 40% lower. Propane will not degrade, so you can keep several propane tanks on hand for emergencies and store them for an unlimited amount of time. Since this generator runs on propane you never have to worry about the fuel going bad or having the carburetor getting fouled due to degenerated gasoline - a common problem with gasoline powered small engines.
Overall rating:
4.305 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(210 reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product172 of 191reviews
Rating Breakdown 210 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(123)
4
(60)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product172 of 191reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
24out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+96points
115out of 134found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Key West, Florida

Nice !

PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice generator. Processing and delivery took 10 days from the date of online purchase to my doorstep in Key West Fl. I bought this as a backup generator to run essentials in my house in case of a prolonged power outage, (IE: Hurricane). I have a T-valve off my home propane tank (which fuels my stove/oven), and have a connection to which this generator will receive its fuel supply. I also had my electrician run a power cord from the breaker box to plug into the generator. I bought a battery (I suggest you do too) and it took several attempts to get it going, since it's new I guess, but runs strong and steady. No problems so far. Looks nice and relatively simple to assemble and use. It's exactly what I was looking for and I highly recommend. Propane is definitely the way to go, especially if you can connect to a large home tank like I did. Hopefully I will never have to use it !
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Minnesota

Great product, performs & features are as advertised

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator works fine for powering my RV at less than half the cost of "RV generators." Setup was relatively easy and instructions for operation are clear and easy to understand. Battery start-up works with the touch of a finger and it sounds like a big tiger purring in the background--that is to say, not too noisy! Its size and weight (and attachable wheels) make it easily transportable. It's been working superbly for providing all the 110v power I need for the couple of weeks I've had it.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great features for the money

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator was EZ to put togather, the picture in the manual were not as good as they need to be, too dark. The battery was hard to find. For the money, you can not find a better generatorthen this one. If you need a generator buy this one.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great generator

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to put together, very little to do. Started on the third pull. Has electric start but having trouble finding the right battery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great generator at a good price

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator was easy to assemble and started on the third pull. Still haven't got around to trying it powering the house.
As mentioned by others the manual is pretty poor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great Product, have reccommended the Generator to my friends

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to read instructions. Simple to assemble. Started right up with no problems. Runs alot quieter than a normal gas generator.I do not have a need for it right now but I am now prepared for the next storm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from bear creek pa.

a real heavy duty machine

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
started right up seems to work great. i haven"t had reason to use it yet.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Excellent quality and performance for the money.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered the GEN7000LP to power essentials in my condo during a power outage. I ordered the generator in addition to a transfer switch and the associate ancillary equipment (LP cylinder, transfer switch install bracket, 10AWG wire, etc). The generator started with two pulls after filling with the requisite amount of oil. It idled smoothly even when "cold". The generator is louder than I anticipated, but that is not the fault of anything other than it being an internal combustion engine in an open frame. Everything is well-built and thoughfully laid out. I was able to get the correct battery at WalMart and got the electric start feature to work -- starts in seconds at the push of a button. Overall, this is an excellent value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Westerly, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

met my needs and HD online was in stock. delivery was fast.

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
seems to be instock and proced right for my home improvement needs (both the Westerly RI and yout online operation.)
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Works well, But!!!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally got the chance to assemble my new generator yesterday. Added the oil, hooked up the Gas and on the first pull..... The pull handle came loose from the pull cord!!!! The unit is well designed however and it only took ten minutes to fix. I do advise the use of a starting battery. That 16 hp motor takes a bit of work to start by hand. It is much noisier than I expected, I hope to find a better muffler for it. I have only run it for a few minutes for testing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rural Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What is the correct replacement SPARK PLUG?

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already wrote a review. The generator is excellent. However the apparent importer BUFFALO TOOLS is lousy for customer support. If you call the 866 number on the generator all you get is Bufffalo Tools saying they're on the other line and they'll call back (They didn't in my case)...
I would like to buy a couple of correct spare spark plugs to have on hand. Does someone know the correct replacement sparkplug? Champion, Bosch, NGK it doesn't matter as long as it is the correct replacement I can then cross-reference it. The spark plug that came in my generator simply says LPG GREEN POWER...Not very helpful...I didn't see the correct spark plug listed anywhere in the manual for the generator either...The manual says to contact customer support (The one that doesn't answer their phone). Hoping someone here might know. Hopefully Home Depot won't kill this.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only tested the generator for about an hour or so and it started easily and did the job as expected. When it arrived it had one of the decorative top panels dented, although the box was undamaged.The company replaced it with no problem. My only real complaint is that there is no information regarding which battery to buy for the electric start. I ended up with a bettery that does not fit in the rack properly, but it works OK. I have the unit hooked up to a 100 gal propane tank and housed in a plastic storage shed and wired directly into the electric panel. Final review when I loose power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Peru, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best value

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose this product for several reasons. I chose the LPG version even though they are typical at least $100 more than equivalent gas versions, and more expensive to operate. The reason I chose the LPG is because they do operate when you need them. Many people do not maintain the gas versions and when they need to use them, they don't run properly. LPG doesn't have any of those issues.
The only problem I have had with this unit is that I was unable to start it with the pull start. Not sure if I could do it now after it has been running, oil circulated, etc. but it was too stiff when I first bought it to even get it to fire once. Hooked up a battery and it started easily.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Bowie, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything I wanted

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is everything I wned in an emergency generater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

worked as advertised

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I managed to run my central air for the upstairs part of my house for several days using this generator (while also running my frig and freezer) It was tough, you had to make sure everything wasn't going on at same time and I would recommend a larger one if you plan on using AC, but it worked in a pinch. Get yourself the next size up propan container (pretty cheap) cost about thirty bucks to fill, but ran all night (usually 12 hours) with AC running. The generator never missed a beat and started up WAY easier than your weedeater or chainsaw (one pull usually). I never even hooked up electric starter, but I'm sure it would have worked fine. I attached a piece of exterior plywood (cut to fit) on top so if it rained outside it would bother generator.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

as advertised

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After some simple assembly, and adding oil, it started right up.Not bad quality for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Maine

Shipping Issues

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Haven't had a chance to use yet. Easy enough to put together. We plan on getting a 100 gallon tank based on our gas company's suggestion.
We live in Maine and we do not want to get stuck without electricity with a well pump. We've lost power for one week in Kentucky with a freak storm and with Hurricane Irene - 1 full week.
The well pump tips the scale for us. We have gas to stove and to heating and a wood stove, but doing without water is more than I could take.
Just note the shipping concerns about where they will deliver and when they will require you to come with a truck to pick it up. We do not live on a difficult dead end and they said insurance regs would not allow them to come to our home. We had some serious shifting to do
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, haven't used yet - can only be so positive so far
Cons: shipping can be a problem. check carefully
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>