728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator easily powers common household appliances and power tools. Ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages, this generator boasts an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine is surprisingly quiet, running at less than 80 dB. It also burns cleaner than gas engines, with carbon monoxide emissions up to 40% lower, and propane will not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(237 reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product197 of 218reviews
Rating Breakdown 237 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(134)
4
(73)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(15)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product197 of 218reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+126points
147out of 168found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Large, affordable LPG Generators

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally- Large and Affordable LPG Generators. Been waiting for this as LPG is very affordable, easy to get and does not degrade like gasoline. This Sportsman is very well contructed unit also, with good owners manual. Started on third pull.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Quick, easy and fairly quiet.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Set up was very easy and so far the generator has given me no trouble. Use has been limited and we will se after a couple of months but it seems like exactly what I was looking for in a portable unit.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Shelton, Ct

Sportsman 7000 Watt Portable Propane Generator

PostedApril 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My order arrived as promised by 18 wheeler during an ice storm in January - GOOD JOB!!!.
I had difficulty reading the poorly photocopied low resolution instructions.
I needed clarification identifying "tightening brackets" to be removed before operating the unit. -- I'm still waiting for the company answering machine to call me back. So I took my best guess (so far so good!) Fortunately setup isn't brain surgery!
CUSTOMER SERVICE???
Due to weeks of snow fall I was unable to unpack,install safety components and operate the unit until April. The unit started manually after 2 or 3 pulls - Note: the choke directions didn't match the actual choke switch on the unit
The unit ran smoothly and continuously for about 1/2 hour as I trimmed 200 ft. of hedges. Again - so far so good!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

This was easy to work with.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This LPG Generator is well built,no trouble putting battery in place and the rubber strap was a good idea. Have'nt had to use it yet... thank God for that, but I feel more prepared now than I did without it. No complaints, I feel i got my money's worth. Fred
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rockville, MD

What Bonus?

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ordered two on 2/2/2011 due to frequent power outages at our and daughters homes. Freight company called when they were on the way, no 24 hr. notice. Bonus offer not available when purchased. This reflects more on vendor than generator.
The manual is fairly useless. Manual contradicted start-up instructions on unit. Poor maintenance/service instructions. Agree that battery should have been included for the price. Should have natural gas conversion kit available.
However, without battery, new unit easily started on third pull. Fairly quiet for generator this size. Propane is great choice over gasoline. No funky fumes or storage issues. Haven't tested under load. Like a snow thrower, you hope you never need it, but....
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Texas

A good buy

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have not yet had to use this generator for it's intended purpose (hurricane outages), but we have started it up and run a couple small items off of it just to test it out. So far we are very happy with it. We assembled the tires and handle, put oil in it and hooked it up to propane, hit the start and it fired right up. I am also very impressed with Home Depots delivery service. I am happy with the purchase all the way around.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Works well, But!!!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I finally got the chance to assemble my new generator yesterday. Added the oil, hooked up the Gas and on the first pull..... The pull handle came loose from the pull cord!!!! The unit is well designed however and it only took ten minutes to fix. I do advise the use of a starting battery. That 16 hp motor takes a bit of work to start by hand. It is much noisier than I expected, I hope to find a better muffler for it. I have only run it for a few minutes for testing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rural Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What is the correct replacement SPARK PLUG?

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I already wrote a review. The generator is excellent. However the apparent importer BUFFALO TOOLS is lousy for customer support. If you call the 866 number on the generator all you get is Bufffalo Tools saying they're on the other line and they'll call back (They didn't in my case)...
I would like to buy a couple of correct spare spark plugs to have on hand. Does someone know the correct replacement sparkplug? Champion, Bosch, NGK it doesn't matter as long as it is the correct replacement I can then cross-reference it. The spark plug that came in my generator simply says LPG GREEN POWER...Not very helpful...I didn't see the correct spark plug listed anywhere in the manual for the generator either...The manual says to contact customer support (The one that doesn't answer their phone). Hoping someone here might know. Hopefully Home Depot won't kill this.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Mid Michigan, Midland, MI 48640, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A "Perfect Solution" for my Needs,.....

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My new Sportsman 7000W Propane Generator was delivered right to my front door. Installing it was a hassle free breeze and I did it by myself. I'm a 77 year old man living in a modern mobile home and I need heat and some other necessities when we lose Utility Power due to storms etc. Now I have it all, guaranteed. I am using two (2) 30# Propane Tanks which gives me 24 hours of uninterupted electric service. Just hook up my power cord, press the electric start button and I'm safe and comfy and my needs are met. Instant start, and no problems whatsoever. Am extremely pleased with the generator, service, cost and ease of operation. Thank You, Ole' Ron in Michigan
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Minnesota

Great product, performs & features are as advertised

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This generator works fine for powering my RV at less than half the cost of "RV generators." Setup was relatively easy and instructions for operation are clear and easy to understand. Battery start-up works with the touch of a finger and it sounds like a big tiger purring in the background--that is to say, not too noisy! Its size and weight (and attachable wheels) make it easily transportable. It's been working superbly for providing all the 110v power I need for the couple of weeks I've had it.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from conyers, ga

great Value- very pleased

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very Happy with my purchase. Starts very easy and runs like a watch. No noxious fumes, is very quiet for how large tis unit is and gas won't ever go bad like in my last gasoline powered unit which was very powerful and well constructed but the carb got fouled due to gas degrading. Love this unit, perfect for my job constructions sites. nice move home depot.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Had to return it.

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Waited 4 months to get this generator, and was devastated when it failed to run properly. We had to talk to tech support 3 times the first day. It cost us $200 in labor and parts to try to get it running right, and in the end, we had to return it.
The company finally offered to send us a new carburetor and regulator, but by then we had decided to give up.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great features for the money

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The generator was EZ to put togather, the picture in the manual were not as good as they need to be, too dark. The battery was hard to find. For the money, you can not find a better generatorthen this one. If you need a generator buy this one.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Tyler,TX

7000w Propane generator

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this generator to be the primary power source for when our power goes out due to weather. It has exceeded my expectations, especially given the price. Reliable. Starts well. Burns little oil. Efficient. Runs multiple loads, some high amperage, like well pump. No problems! It may not have some bells and whistles, but for the price, a very nice tight economical propane unit. No major weaknesses.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Duncan Ok.

Propane Generator

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this Generator because it ran on propane. Propane stores much easier and doesn't deteriorate like gas.I unboxed and put together, took about 20 minutes,
added oil , hooked up to propane tank. Started on third pull. Called my wife out and she restarted it on first pull.
Quieter than the gas generators I have used. Would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from S Bronx

awesome value

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So glad to see a large LPG generator which is affordable! Have another Sportsman generator and this one is just as good. Started right up and fast shipping- perfect. And the price is the best in the Internet.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Atlanta, GA

not a good idea

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
finally, a good size propane generator, I am a little worry about this unit and want to see how long this engine can last. after reading the review, i decide to give it a try.
the generator arrive in less than a week, but it just wont star, no matter what. after i bought a battery and it still wouldnt start. now i am waiting for them to call me back on where to take the unit to. I guess it is cheap for a reason.
-9points
10out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>