728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator easily powers common household appliances and power tools. Ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages, this generator boasts an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine is surprisingly quiet, running at less than 80 dB. It also burns cleaner than gas engines, with carbon monoxide emissions up to 40% lower, and propane will not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
Overall rating:
4.297 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(222 reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product183 of 203reviews
Rating Breakdown 222 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(127)
4
(66)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product183 of 203reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+118points
138out of 158found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
35out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from conyers, ga

great Value- very pleased

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very Happy with my purchase. Starts very easy and runs like a watch. No noxious fumes, is very quiet for how large tis unit is and gas won't ever go bad like in my last gasoline powered unit which was very powerful and well constructed but the carb got fouled due to gas degrading. Love this unit, perfect for my job constructions sites. nice move home depot.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Large, affordable LPG Generators

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally- Large and Affordable LPG Generators. Been waiting for this as LPG is very affordable, easy to get and does not degrade like gasoline. This Sportsman is very well contructed unit also, with good owners manual. Started on third pull.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Tyler,TX

7000w Propane generator

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator to be the primary power source for when our power goes out due to weather. It has exceeded my expectations, especially given the price. Reliable. Starts well. Burns little oil. Efficient. Runs multiple loads, some high amperage, like well pump. No problems! It may not have some bells and whistles, but for the price, a very nice tight economical propane unit. No major weaknesses.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Gig Harbor WA

Excellent product, mediocre manual

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The generator was delivered when promised and was easy to set up. I was disappointed that the battery was not included for the price. The manual was of no help at all in determining the proper battery to get. The battery store (Sears) called the manufacturer to find out what battery to use. Once I installed the battery, it started right up and functions well. It is rather loud but easy to move around with the wheel kit.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from VA

7000 gen

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Due to storage problems ethyl gasoline I went with the propane unit. Have not been tested under load conditions.
Run OK Starts OK by hand. Will be making a permanent connection to a twin 100 lbs bottle setup. The is engine is disposable as no information as to brand ,parts list, or engine overhaul is available. Not in the manual that came with generator.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Atlanta, GA

not a good idea

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
finally, a good size propane generator, I am a little worry about this unit and want to see how long this engine can last. after reading the review, i decide to give it a try.
the generator arrive in less than a week, but it just wont star, no matter what. after i bought a battery and it still wouldnt start. now i am waiting for them to call me back on where to take the unit to. I guess it is cheap for a reason.
-9points
10out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rockville, MD

What Bonus?

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ordered two on 2/2/2011 due to frequent power outages at our and daughters homes. Freight company called when they were on the way, no 24 hr. notice. Bonus offer not available when purchased. This reflects more on vendor than generator.
The manual is fairly useless. Manual contradicted start-up instructions on unit. Poor maintenance/service instructions. Agree that battery should have been included for the price. Should have natural gas conversion kit available.
However, without battery, new unit easily started on third pull. Fairly quiet for generator this size. Propane is great choice over gasoline. No funky fumes or storage issues. Haven't tested under load. Like a snow thrower, you hope you never need it, but....
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from S Bronx

awesome value

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So glad to see a large LPG generator which is affordable! Have another Sportsman generator and this one is just as good. Started right up and fast shipping- perfect. And the price is the best in the Internet.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Shelton, Ct

Sportsman 7000 Watt Portable Propane Generator

PostedApril 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My order arrived as promised by 18 wheeler during an ice storm in January - GOOD JOB!!!.
I had difficulty reading the poorly photocopied low resolution instructions.
I needed clarification identifying "tightening brackets" to be removed before operating the unit. -- I'm still waiting for the company answering machine to call me back. So I took my best guess (so far so good!) Fortunately setup isn't brain surgery!
CUSTOMER SERVICE???
Due to weeks of snow fall I was unable to unpack,install safety components and operate the unit until April. The unit started manually after 2 or 3 pulls - Note: the choke directions didn't match the actual choke switch on the unit
The unit ran smoothly and continuously for about 1/2 hour as I trimmed 200 ft. of hedges. Again - so far so good!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Orlando, Florida

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have not used the product yet but did turn it on for a test and it was easy to start. Somewhat loud. The instruction manual is not very well written but manageable. A battery should have been included as well as more actual information regarding the need for a grounding rod. I've had to research the grounding of the generator and seem to be getting mixed opinions.
The generator did arrive promptly. A 3 month warranty is not nearly adequate and 1 year should be standard.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

good home emergency generator

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived as promised, so-so instructions, but works well and has plenty of power under load. Propane rules over gas for my use -- as a home emergency backup generator. No need to deal with gasoline -- just always make sure to have an extra filled propane BBQ tank around (and resist the temptation to use it for your BBQ) and you are good to go.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Quick, easy and fairly quiet.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Set up was very easy and so far the generator has given me no trouble. Use has been limited and we will se after a couple of months but it seems like exactly what I was looking for in a portable unit.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Key West, Florida

Nice !

PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice generator. Processing and delivery took 10 days from the date of online purchase to my doorstep in Key West Fl. I bought this as a backup generator to run essentials in my house in case of a prolonged power outage, (IE: Hurricane). I have a T-valve off my home propane tank (which fuels my stove/oven), and have a connection to which this generator will receive its fuel supply. I also had my electrician run a power cord from the breaker box to plug into the generator. I bought a battery (I suggest you do too) and it took several attempts to get it going, since it's new I guess, but runs strong and steady. No problems so far. Looks nice and relatively simple to assemble and use. It's exactly what I was looking for and I highly recommend. Propane is definitely the way to go, especially if you can connect to a large home tank like I did. Hopefully I will never have to use it !
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great for the price.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered and recieved within a week . Not much to assemable . Was easy. One week later power went out during thunderstorm, set up generator started on 3rd pull, worked great!!!
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Arlington TX

This product works well

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recieved the generator as promised. Installed the wheel kit and handle. The only problem encountered was find the correct size motor cycle battery to fit the the battery bracket. After finding the battery and connecting the LP Gas the generator started with no problems and the voltage output is as good as expected.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Minnesota

Great product, performs & features are as advertised

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator works fine for powering my RV at less than half the cost of "RV generators." Setup was relatively easy and instructions for operation are clear and easy to understand. Battery start-up works with the touch of a finger and it sounds like a big tiger purring in the background--that is to say, not too noisy! Its size and weight (and attachable wheels) make it easily transportable. It's been working superbly for providing all the 110v power I need for the couple of weeks I've had it.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Peace of mind

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As many before me had indicated, the instructions for the generator assembly were not that clear but forewarned is forearmed. Up and running on 2nd try so hopefully it will give me peace of mind should we encounter power outages from hurricanes, tropical storms etc.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>