728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6,000/7,000-Watt Portable Generator can power common household appliances and power tools. It is equipped with four 120-Volt outlets, a 12-Volt DC outlet for battery charging, and a 120/240-Volt outlet. Use this generator immediately with the recoil start or install a motorcycle battery (not included) to activate the electric start feature. A generator of this size is ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages. This generator is a real workhorse with great features like a 13HP 4-Stroke OHV engine, Automatic Low Oil Shutdown and an Automatic-Voltage Regulator for an affordable price. It boasts an engine run time of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20Lb (gas grill type) cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). A 5 foot propane fuel hose with a regulator is included for your added convenience. The engine is surprisingly quiet; it runs at less than 80 Db. This is a great generator for anyone who needs affordable power. Propane has several distinct advantages over gasoline generators. Propane burns cleaner than gas engines. Carbon monoxide emissions run up to 40% lower. Propane will not degrade, so you can keep several propane tanks on hand for emergencies and store them for an unlimited amount of time. Since this generator runs on propane you never have to worry about the fuel going bad or having the carburetor getting fouled due to degenerated gasoline - a common problem with gasoline powered small engines.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(213 reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product175 of 194reviews
Rating Breakdown 213 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(123)
4
(63)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product175 of 194reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
26out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+98points
117out of 136found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Gig Harbor WA

Excellent product, mediocre manual

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The generator was delivered when promised and was easy to set up. I was disappointed that the battery was not included for the price. The manual was of no help at all in determining the proper battery to get. The battery store (Sears) called the manufacturer to find out what battery to use. Once I installed the battery, it started right up and functions well. It is rather loud but easy to move around with the wheel kit.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from S Bronx

awesome value

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So glad to see a large LPG generator which is affordable! Have another Sportsman generator and this one is just as good. Started right up and fast shipping- perfect. And the price is the best in the Internet.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Orlando, Florida

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have not used the product yet but did turn it on for a test and it was easy to start. Somewhat loud. The instruction manual is not very well written but manageable. A battery should have been included as well as more actual information regarding the need for a grounding rod. I've had to research the grounding of the generator and seem to be getting mixed opinions.
The generator did arrive promptly. A 3 month warranty is not nearly adequate and 1 year should be standard.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great for the price.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered and recieved within a week . Not much to assemable . Was easy. One week later power went out during thunderstorm, set up generator started on 3rd pull, worked great!!!
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

This was easy to work with.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This LPG Generator is well built,no trouble putting battery in place and the rubber strap was a good idea. Have'nt had to use it yet... thank God for that, but I feel more prepared now than I did without it. No complaints, I feel i got my money's worth. Fred
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Seymour CT

Good generator Propane better choice than gas

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit to backup power in my house, which fails too often. And my house is in trouble w/o power. No well, heat, hot water, etc
Propane is MUCH better than gas. It does not gum up!
Unit arrived as promised. Was pretty easy to set up. Did not add the battery but made a jumper and use my car's battery. One less thing to care for.
We just had Hurricane Irene pass though in the last 24hrs, so the generator is getting a good workout and doing just great.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from MA

Works fine, instructions less than perfect

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this generator for back-up purposes and chose it because I didn't want to worry about gas going bad or clogging up the carburetor.
It is drop-shipped and arrived on a pallet and the driver wouldn't help past the end of the driveway. Since the weather was good, I unboxed it and assembled it there. I never got the call I was supposed to about the delivery window. From the driver's comments, that's probably a local issue.
The packing was fine and all pieces arrived in good shape. The assembly instructions are very brief, very poorly illustrated, and in some instances not terribly complete. For example, there are no suitable model numbers or even Amp hour capacity given for the battery you need for electric start, just maximum physical dimensions.
That being said, I got it put together in a couple hours with just a bit of help installing the wheels. It does not come with oil in the sump so be sure to have a couple of quarts on hand (capacity is 1.2 quarts). I hooked up a grill sized propane cylinder, followed the instructions on the unit, and it started right up. I set up my manual transfer switch & breaker panel, connected it to the house, and was running critical circuits just fine.
We'll see how it holds up, but so far so good.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The generator works just Fine.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I gave it some oil ',hooked up the LP gas and gave it a couple pulls and it started right up. Of course it was easier when I hooked up a battery.
It could be a little quieter.
Happy I got it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Somers, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

propane is the way to go

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to set up, pleased with the delivery service and it started on the first try. electrician is coming this week to hook up the house connection he infromed me that the genorator has more then enough power to run the things I need
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Works great for my house here in Rural Nevada

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The dedicated Generators with builtin transfer switch are all about $2000 and up. I purchased this for $850 with tax delivered. We had a T-adapter/quick connect LPG adapter hooked up outside our house for the LPG. I bought a 200Amp manual transfer switch at another place on sale for $269. Then I had an electrician wire it up with two different cables located outside the house near the propane hookup. One cable is for powering the house which it does with no problem (Just don't use things like microwave/electric range, dryer). It powers the house just fine so now we are safe for power outages including in the winter. The second cable outside is for hooking to the generator if our water tanks become exhausted for prolonged outages. (Only one 220v cable hooked to the generator at a time due to the startup load of the well pump). Just shut off the generator and plug the well pump power cable in and replenish the water tanks then swap back the house power cable. This will allow us to run on generator for prolonged outages (days). Our propane tank which provides gas to our heat and stove and water heater and now the generator is 500Gallons so we are good should we have a major power outage that takes days to restore rather than having to go to a motel and having everything in the refrigerator and freezer go bad. The only expensive thing in this whole setup was the ELECTRICIAN but not much one can do here about that with limited qualified personnel. Did the whole thing for under $3000 and more than half of the price was the electrician. Nice to know we're good for the coming winter months.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product overall

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery hold-down leaves much to be desired and the muffler is loud enough to annoy my neigbors and my myself as well. One would think that a better quality muffler could be provided given today's technology and the fact that Honda's generators are whisper quiet. Those are the only negatives I have. My next one will definitely be one that provides a quieter muffler.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Mid Michigan, Midland, MI 48640, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A "Perfect Solution" for my Needs,.....

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new Sportsman 7000W Propane Generator was delivered right to my front door. Installing it was a hassle free breeze and I did it by myself. I'm a 77 year old man living in a modern mobile home and I need heat and some other necessities when we lose Utility Power due to storms etc. Now I have it all, guaranteed. I am using two (2) 30# Propane Tanks which gives me 24 hours of uninterupted electric service. Just hook up my power cord, press the electric start button and I'm safe and comfy and my needs are met. Instant start, and no problems whatsoever. Am extremely pleased with the generator, service, cost and ease of operation. Thank You, Ole' Ron in Michigan
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Ludlow, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Purchase - So glad I bought this.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this in June of 2011 after a tornado ripped through a nearby area and made me aware that I should have something for back up power.
This past week was actually the first time I ran the generator - I ran it 24/7 from Sunday morning until Thursday night. It consistantly went 8 to 8-1/4 hours on a 20lb propane tank.
I have this wired directly into my electric panel. Obviously you can not run a electric stove or electric water heater, but everything else including our furnace ran great.
With the power out to a lareg area, people were having trouble finding gasoline for their generators, I had no problem finding propane at all. I highly recommend this to anyone that needs a generator for emergencies.
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sportsman 7000 LP Gas Generator

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As always a new machine requires more than what is published in the manual. You need very good eyesight to read it.
1. Fill the engine with 38 .oz of oil. I chose Quaker State Ultimate Durability 5W-30W.
2. Attach the ground wire so you don't get zapped.
3. Keep the machine on a level surface or the low oil cut off will stop it from working.
4. Attach your LP gas line and make sure they are fully secured.
5. Battery: Not included
Purchase your own battery with these specifications: 7 1/8" L x 6" H x 3" W, 130 Min CCA (Cold Cranking Amps). Comparable brands/models are: Yuasa: YB9A-A, YB9-B or YB9L-B, Delco: CB9A-A, NAPA: 740-1872, 740-1858, 740-1837, Sears: 44043, 44356, 44045 I used my portable 12 volt portable battery backup and it worked fine. Just connect the clamps to the red and black wires.
6. Turn on the on/off switch on the top of the machine.
7. The unit I got would not start on the first try so I was advised by Buffalo Tools tech to take off the air filter. Open the choke. Spray a small amount of starter fluid into the carburetor. Close the choke and hold my finger over the opening in the choke plate while using the electric start. Started right up. I guess it needed to be primed.
8. Since you only get a 90 day warrantee I would check to make sure all the outlets are o.k.
9. Loud? I guess it is but I will be using outside in a shed that will keep it dry.
10. The shipping company was great and they delivered the generator right up to my garage door with a hydraulic jack to move it. I am in rural Vermont on a mountain so they provided a smaller lift gate truck with a power tail gate rather than an 18 wheeler.Other companies charge $50.00 extra for that service.
11. I bought one 50 foot and one 100 foot 12/3 extra heavy illumined ended extension cords until I put a transfer switch in the main electric panel in the future.
12.Never before have I spent so much money on a machine in hopes that I will not have to use it.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Peru, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best value

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose this product for several reasons. I chose the LPG version even though they are typical at least $100 more than equivalent gas versions, and more expensive to operate. The reason I chose the LPG is because they do operate when you need them. Many people do not maintain the gas versions and when they need to use them, they don't run properly. LPG doesn't have any of those issues.
The only problem I have had with this unit is that I was unable to start it with the pull start. Not sure if I could do it now after it has been running, oil circulated, etc. but it was too stiff when I first bought it to even get it to fire once. Hooked up a battery and it started easily.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Scranton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it would not start i had to send it back

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had to send it back it did not run what do you mean short i can not tell you any more
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Harrisburg, PA

Good Value Backup Generator

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Sportman 7000LP is a lower end, higher wattage, portable propane generator. I recommend it for people who want a portable propane generator for emergency backup to moderate use. I would not recommend this generator for routine or heavy usage as manufacture cost cutting can be seen in the lack of oil filter, no included battery, and non-brand name engine.
The generator lasted just over seven hours on one 20lb propane tank at exactly 50 percent load (3000 watts) in my test run. I attribute the 12 percent loss in efficiency, compared to the published eight hour run time, to less than ideal winter conditions in which I was constantly battling propane tank freeze up.
The engine itself had some remnants of metal filings from manufacturing. I highly recommend flushing the oil once or twice before initial use, upgrading the two oil drain plugs to magnetic oil drain plugs, and changing the oil after your first test run to best manage any leftover metal filing. I also recommend upgrading the spark plug to an iridium plug to maximize efficiency as iridium resists heat and corrosion better than standard plugs. (Propane burns hotter and is more corrosive than gasoline)
• Oil Drain Plug: 12mm x 1.5
• Iridium NGK Spark Plug: BPR6EIX (NGK 6637)
+132points
136out of 140found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>