728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6,000/7,000-Watt Portable Generator can power common household appliances and power tools. It is equipped with four 120-Volt outlets, a 12-Volt DC outlet for battery charging, and a 120/240-Volt outlet. Use this generator immediately with the recoil start or install a motorcycle battery (not included) to activate the electric start feature. A generator of this size is ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages. This generator is a real workhorse with great features like a 13HP 4-Stroke OHV engine, Automatic Low Oil Shutdown and an Automatic-Voltage Regulator for an affordable price. It boasts an engine run time of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20Lb (gas grill type) cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). A 5 foot propane fuel hose with a regulator is included for your added convenience. The engine is surprisingly quiet; it runs at less than 80 Db. This is a great generator for anyone who needs affordable power. Propane has several distinct advantages over gasoline generators. Propane burns cleaner than gas engines. Carbon monoxide emissions run up to 40% lower. Propane will not degrade, so you can keep several propane tanks on hand for emergencies and store them for an unlimited amount of time. Since this generator runs on propane you never have to worry about the fuel going bad or having the carburetor getting fouled due to degenerated gasoline - a common problem with gasoline powered small engines.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(215 reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product176 of 196reviews
Rating Breakdown 215 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(123)
4
(63)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product176 of 196reviews
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+107points
126out of 145found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
30out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from conyers, ga

great Value- very pleased

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very Happy with my purchase. Starts very easy and runs like a watch. No noxious fumes, is very quiet for how large tis unit is and gas won't ever go bad like in my last gasoline powered unit which was very powerful and well constructed but the carb got fouled due to gas degrading. Love this unit, perfect for my job constructions sites. nice move home depot.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Large, affordable LPG Generators

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally- Large and Affordable LPG Generators. Been waiting for this as LPG is very affordable, easy to get and does not degrade like gasoline. This Sportsman is very well contructed unit also, with good owners manual. Started on third pull.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from VA

7000 gen

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Due to storage problems ethyl gasoline I went with the propane unit. Have not been tested under load conditions.
Run OK Starts OK by hand. Will be making a permanent connection to a twin 100 lbs bottle setup. The is engine is disposable as no information as to brand ,parts list, or engine overhaul is available. Not in the manual that came with generator.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Tyler,TX

7000w Propane generator

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator to be the primary power source for when our power goes out due to weather. It has exceeded my expectations, especially given the price. Reliable. Starts well. Burns little oil. Efficient. Runs multiple loads, some high amperage, like well pump. No problems! It may not have some bells and whistles, but for the price, a very nice tight economical propane unit. No major weaknesses.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Gig Harbor WA

Excellent product, mediocre manual

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The generator was delivered when promised and was easy to set up. I was disappointed that the battery was not included for the price. The manual was of no help at all in determining the proper battery to get. The battery store (Sears) called the manufacturer to find out what battery to use. Once I installed the battery, it started right up and functions well. It is rather loud but easy to move around with the wheel kit.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rockville, MD

What Bonus?

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ordered two on 2/2/2011 due to frequent power outages at our and daughters homes. Freight company called when they were on the way, no 24 hr. notice. Bonus offer not available when purchased. This reflects more on vendor than generator.
The manual is fairly useless. Manual contradicted start-up instructions on unit. Poor maintenance/service instructions. Agree that battery should have been included for the price. Should have natural gas conversion kit available.
However, without battery, new unit easily started on third pull. Fairly quiet for generator this size. Propane is great choice over gasoline. No funky fumes or storage issues. Haven't tested under load. Like a snow thrower, you hope you never need it, but....
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Seymour CT

Good generator Propane better choice than gas

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit to backup power in my house, which fails too often. And my house is in trouble w/o power. No well, heat, hot water, etc
Propane is MUCH better than gas. It does not gum up!
Unit arrived as promised. Was pretty easy to set up. Did not add the battery but made a jumper and use my car's battery. One less thing to care for.
We just had Hurricane Irene pass though in the last 24hrs, so the generator is getting a good workout and doing just great.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Texas

A good buy

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have not yet had to use this generator for it's intended purpose (hurricane outages), but we have started it up and run a couple small items off of it just to test it out. So far we are very happy with it. We assembled the tires and handle, put oil in it and hooked it up to propane, hit the start and it fired right up. I am also very impressed with Home Depots delivery service. I am happy with the purchase all the way around.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Missing Weld

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
There was a weld missing on the frame which holds the wheel axle. I had to pay my neighbor $20 to weld it. Otherwise the generator runs and works fine.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

propane generator

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i was pleased with the unit !!! i have a stroke and was easy for me. the electric start make the differece.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Generator Performance

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was delivered on schedule. After reviewing the instruction manual guidelines I hooked up the propane tank and even though the unit had the electric start feature I wanted to see how easy it would start by the pull rope. On the third pull it fired right up and I let it run for half an hour under a small load. I was surprised about the high level of noise output though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Duncan Ok.

Propane Generator

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this Generator because it ran on propane. Propane stores much easier and doesn't deteriorate like gas.I unboxed and put together, took about 20 minutes,
added oil , hooked up to propane tank. Started on third pull. Called my wife out and she restarted it on first pull.
Quieter than the gas generators I have used. Would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Jamestown, OH

The best generator I have ever used!

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical when I first read up on this generator, but the low price for a propane unit won out. Iit got here in two days from time of order! It was everything I had hoped for, easy to assemble, (remember it is shipped without oil), and looks great. We bought a little farm the old farm house had burned down on it. We are currently living in a 31 foot Montana travel trailer until we can build our house. We are completely off grid, this generator was t'd off the 100 gallon propane tank we had installed for the trailer. It starts every time with just one or two pulls of the cord. We have had the A/C, microwave and a coffee pot going at the same time with no problems. We run the generator about 40 minutes a day, that charges up my trailers house batteries, and gives us plenty of power for our other needs like running the well pump to top off our fresh water tank and 55 gal outdoor solar water barrel.
This thing is just sipping propane, I estimate a 100 gallon tank filled at just 80 gallons will last approximately 3 months, at $220 dollars a fill, that translates into less than $75 a month, and that includes the propane refrigerator freezer, hot water heater, and gas stove! No doubt this will go up when we have to turn on the gas furnace this winter. This generator is perfect for those not wanting to worry about gasoline going bad and fouling your plug or diesel geling in cold weather.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Westerly, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

met my needs and HD online was in stock. delivery was fast.

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
seems to be instock and proced right for my home improvement needs (both the Westerly RI and yout online operation.)
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

good home emergency generator

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived as promised, so-so instructions, but works well and has plenty of power under load. Propane rules over gas for my use -- as a home emergency backup generator. No need to deal with gasoline -- just always make sure to have an extra filled propane BBQ tank around (and resist the temptation to use it for your BBQ) and you are good to go.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Warrenville, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More than I needed.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This generator is larger than I needed, but to get the electric start on a propane-fueled generator, It seems I had to decide on this size unit. It runs great (maybe a bit noisy... but bearable) it starts "right now", and it sure does produce the power I need. I would say it needs a full length wheel axel, stronger front support legs. and a re-designed battery tray to take various sizes of commercially available batteries. I would recommend this generator (and this manufacturer) to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Deltona, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Generator

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Generator arrived in 10 days undamaged. After unpacking and checking for damage I filled with oil, connected a battery, hooked up the LP and followed starting directions. The generator started in about 3 seconds. Note that you always have to choke it when starting even when it is at operating temperature already. I assume this is because of it being propane. Runs great and is easy to set up. Directions on what kind of battery to buy are vague. It says not to get one larger than a certain size, but if you don't get one real close to the maximum dimentions it will be too loose in the battery holder, so go for the largest motorcycle battery that will fit. Also the battery posts should have the positive post on the right if possible as the negative wire is much shorter than the positive one. Everything else is great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>