728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator easily powers common household appliances and power tools. Ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages, this generator boasts an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine is surprisingly quiet, running at less than 80 dB. It also burns cleaner than gas engines, with carbon monoxide emissions up to 40% lower, and propane will not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
Overall rating:
4.289 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(239 reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product198 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 239 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(135)
4
(73)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product198 of 220reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
39out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+136points
157out of 178found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Large, affordable LPG Generators

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally- Large and Affordable LPG Generators. Been waiting for this as LPG is very affordable, easy to get and does not degrade like gasoline. This Sportsman is very well contructed unit also, with good owners manual. Started on third pull.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from The Land of Norumbegia

This is a GOOD stand-by generator

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Readers;
This reviewer just purchased this Generator, so I have not yet used it when the 'lights go out''--but I found it easy to set up; all the controls are right were you can find them(be sure to READ the handbook; the machine came without engine oil, and will NOT start without it!! The Propane model is an easy starter, by hand, we do not have the battery yet-- and when we tested the rig connected to the house electric service, we found it more than adaquate for the appx. 1/2 the house & all the horse barn electrick usages.We are next going to buy the 45lb tank to replace the 15lb one. A handy tip, buy the Propane Gas meter that screws into the line/tank fittings, to know the gas levels at a glance. The generator is more quiet than the old gas modelnd not as heavy to lift/roll. 1st time Generator Buyers?-go with the Propane-less fuel hassels, no carb. to go 'poof-in-the-night', & no frozen fuel lines in Winter Yes- I have recommend this to others, it is a good way to keep Civilization going, when the power goes out. As to price, it was competetive: and the Free Shipping is a Large Savings to the buyer. Be sure to have the time/manpower etc. when it arrives to you. Our was offloaded into a neighbors truck, for the trip up our 1/4 mile driveway, that would not accomadate an 18 wheeler! It seems the best to unpack, assemble the unit, then move it into place, or into a storage shed. Use the wooden frame it is packed on as a base to keep it off the wet ground. The wooden frame also raises it about 10 inches, and makes it easier to work with the Generator. If you are thinking of getting a Generator, BUY THIS ONE!
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Not totally satisfied with product.

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is an electric start generator and they did not say that the battery was not included when you bought the unit.
-16points
0out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from conyers, ga

great Value- very pleased

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very Happy with my purchase. Starts very easy and runs like a watch. No noxious fumes, is very quiet for how large tis unit is and gas won't ever go bad like in my last gasoline powered unit which was very powerful and well constructed but the carb got fouled due to gas degrading. Love this unit, perfect for my job constructions sites. nice move home depot.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recommend getting a battery for it, it's a beast to try and pull start. I was fooled by the size of the emergency radio. Its about 1/100th of the size of the picture. Lay 3 Iphones flat on top of each other and you have the approximate size and thickness.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Gig Harbor WA

Excellent product, mediocre manual

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The generator was delivered when promised and was easy to set up. I was disappointed that the battery was not included for the price. The manual was of no help at all in determining the proper battery to get. The battery store (Sears) called the manufacturer to find out what battery to use. Once I installed the battery, it started right up and functions well. It is rather loud but easy to move around with the wheel kit.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rockville, MD

What Bonus?

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ordered two on 2/2/2011 due to frequent power outages at our and daughters homes. Freight company called when they were on the way, no 24 hr. notice. Bonus offer not available when purchased. This reflects more on vendor than generator.
The manual is fairly useless. Manual contradicted start-up instructions on unit. Poor maintenance/service instructions. Agree that battery should have been included for the price. Should have natural gas conversion kit available.
However, without battery, new unit easily started on third pull. Fairly quiet for generator this size. Propane is great choice over gasoline. No funky fumes or storage issues. Haven't tested under load. Like a snow thrower, you hope you never need it, but....
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Dutchess, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

haven't had to use it yet but it is there when we need it!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
when the electric went out in Oct. we borrowed a generator (gas) had to go out to buy gas, not many pumps working, wait on line and limited amount available. So we had to go out again and again. now we have the propane hooked it up to the larger house supply and we are good to go for days...more than exceeds our home needs in practice. only bad thing is it has access points on all sides...can't enclose it and open two sides to use needs to be opened on all sides power/exhaust/plugs/gas...we'll figure something out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Windsor NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product works as advertised

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With power outages seemingly on the increase I finally
decided to buy a portable generator. With all the problems with ethanol gasoline I decided to go LPG.
Product arrived quickly. Trucking company called to
schedule CURBSIDE delivery. You will need to be there
when he arrives. He was on-time and I just transfered the
unit to my pickup truck for the final destination to my barn.
Some minor assembly was required for the wheel system.
I modified the battery cables (as mentioned in a previous
review)so that I could use a car battery. I filled it with oil,
hooked up the LP tank,followed the start up procedure and it fired right up. Ran it for some time and tested it with
the pull rope as well. Just a note that even after it has been running for some time it still wants the choke on for the restart. In summary the unit seems well constructed,It had all the power requirements I desired and it worked right out of the box which is always a bonus now a days.I bought 2@ 40lb LPG tanks that will be dedicated to the
generator. Its hard to give this a 5 star rating since it was not tested during an outage event but I have a warm fuzzy feeling that will will handle it well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Jamestown, OH

The best generator I have ever used!

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical when I first read up on this generator, but the low price for a propane unit won out. Iit got here in two days from time of order! It was everything I had hoped for, easy to assemble, (remember it is shipped without oil), and looks great. We bought a little farm the old farm house had burned down on it. We are currently living in a 31 foot Montana travel trailer until we can build our house. We are completely off grid, this generator was t'd off the 100 gallon propane tank we had installed for the trailer. It starts every time with just one or two pulls of the cord. We have had the A/C, microwave and a coffee pot going at the same time with no problems. We run the generator about 40 minutes a day, that charges up my trailers house batteries, and gives us plenty of power for our other needs like running the well pump to top off our fresh water tank and 55 gal outdoor solar water barrel.
This thing is just sipping propane, I estimate a 100 gallon tank filled at just 80 gallons will last approximately 3 months, at $220 dollars a fill, that translates into less than $75 a month, and that includes the propane refrigerator freezer, hot water heater, and gas stove! No doubt this will go up when we have to turn on the gas furnace this winter. This generator is perfect for those not wanting to worry about gasoline going bad and fouling your plug or diesel geling in cold weather.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

This was easy to work with.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This LPG Generator is well built,no trouble putting battery in place and the rubber strap was a good idea. Have'nt had to use it yet... thank God for that, but I feel more prepared now than I did without it. No complaints, I feel i got my money's worth. Fred
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Somers, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

propane is the way to go

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to set up, pleased with the delivery service and it started on the first try. electrician is coming this week to hook up the house connection he infromed me that the genorator has more then enough power to run the things I need
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

good home emergency generator

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Arrived as promised, so-so instructions, but works well and has plenty of power under load. Propane rules over gas for my use -- as a home emergency backup generator. No need to deal with gasoline -- just always make sure to have an extra filled propane BBQ tank around (and resist the temptation to use it for your BBQ) and you are good to go.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Peace of mind

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As many before me had indicated, the instructions for the generator assembly were not that clear but forewarned is forearmed. Up and running on 2nd try so hopefully it will give me peace of mind should we encounter power outages from hurricanes, tropical storms etc.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Florida, USA

product works as listed

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works great, do not need the battery, pull start is easy, choke handle broke off on first pull,but can be manually changed
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, much smaller than it looks online
Cons: Too Heavy, fragile choke handle
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Camano Island, WA

A good product

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not easy to start using pull method. Works well once running. Good control panel placed well. Lift and pull handle function effectively. I have used the generator to power a 5K log splitter, and the generator does not sag under maximum load. Propane is a much better fuel source for generators than gasoline. Storage is easier, and the fuel doesn't deterioriate and clog the system. I would like to have a volt meter and an hour meter included. Thus far I am pleased with the product.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

love this product, great.....

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
building a house and needed electric to run tools..
this unit is great... would highly recommend..
has electrc start and also a pull start...will use as a back up for house after built...
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>