728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

The Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator easily powers common household appliances and power tools. Ideal for camping and running essential household appliances during power outages, this generator boasts an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a common 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine is surprisingly quiet, running at less than 80 dB. It also burns cleaner than gas engines, with carbon monoxide emissions up to 40% lower, and propane will not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
Overall rating:
4.304 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(247 reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product206 of 229reviews
Rating Breakdown 247 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(141)
4
(75)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product206 of 229reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Barkhamsted, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Delivery

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.
Very satisfied with the whole purchase procedure
Pros: All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product great price!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad bought this generator for me as a house warming gift in case of power outages caused by hurricanes and winter storms (living in East Pennsylvania) Havent used it too much, but got the optional battery with it and it fires up every time! right away! I recommend getting a trickle charger for the battery. We went to Home Depot and got the Ridgid 25 foot 30 amp cord, the adapter to 20 amp and a 25 foot 20 amp cord with regular 15 amps coming off it as well as 12 guage standard cords (cost over $200) but will be ready for the next storm!!!!!!! next im going to get a 100 lb propane tank insted of using the smaller 20 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
41out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+142points
163out of 184found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from conyers, ga

great Value- very pleased

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very Happy with my purchase. Starts very easy and runs like a watch. No noxious fumes, is very quiet for how large tis unit is and gas won't ever go bad like in my last gasoline powered unit which was very powerful and well constructed but the carb got fouled due to gas degrading. Love this unit, perfect for my job constructions sites. nice move home depot.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Rockville, MD

What Bonus?

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ordered two on 2/2/2011 due to frequent power outages at our and daughters homes. Freight company called when they were on the way, no 24 hr. notice. Bonus offer not available when purchased. This reflects more on vendor than generator.
The manual is fairly useless. Manual contradicted start-up instructions on unit. Poor maintenance/service instructions. Agree that battery should have been included for the price. Should have natural gas conversion kit available.
However, without battery, new unit easily started on third pull. Fairly quiet for generator this size. Propane is great choice over gasoline. No funky fumes or storage issues. Haven't tested under load. Like a snow thrower, you hope you never need it, but....
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Houston

Peace of mind

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As many before me had indicated, the instructions for the generator assembly were not that clear but forewarned is forearmed. Up and running on 2nd try so hopefully it will give me peace of mind should we encounter power outages from hurricanes, tropical storms etc.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

love this product, great.....

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
building a house and needed electric to run tools..
this unit is great... would highly recommend..
has electrc start and also a pull start...will use as a back up for house after built...
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Key West, Florida

Nice !

PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice generator. Processing and delivery took 10 days from the date of online purchase to my doorstep in Key West Fl. I bought this as a backup generator to run essentials in my house in case of a prolonged power outage, (IE: Hurricane). I have a T-valve off my home propane tank (which fuels my stove/oven), and have a connection to which this generator will receive its fuel supply. I also had my electrician run a power cord from the breaker box to plug into the generator. I bought a battery (I suggest you do too) and it took several attempts to get it going, since it's new I guess, but runs strong and steady. No problems so far. Looks nice and relatively simple to assemble and use. It's exactly what I was looking for and I highly recommend. Propane is definitely the way to go, especially if you can connect to a large home tank like I did. Hopefully I will never have to use it !
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
like this product because of the ease of use, and convenience of use with the propane tank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Atlanta, GA

not a good idea

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
finally, a good size propane generator, I am a little worry about this unit and want to see how long this engine can last. after reading the review, i decide to give it a try.
the generator arrive in less than a week, but it just wont star, no matter what. after i bought a battery and it still wouldnt start. now i am waiting for them to call me back on where to take the unit to. I guess it is cheap for a reason.
-9points
10out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Windsor NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product works as advertised

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With power outages seemingly on the increase I finally
decided to buy a portable generator. With all the problems with ethanol gasoline I decided to go LPG.
Product arrived quickly. Trucking company called to
schedule CURBSIDE delivery. You will need to be there
when he arrives. He was on-time and I just transfered the
unit to my pickup truck for the final destination to my barn.
Some minor assembly was required for the wheel system.
I modified the battery cables (as mentioned in a previous
review)so that I could use a car battery. I filled it with oil,
hooked up the LP tank,followed the start up procedure and it fired right up. Ran it for some time and tested it with
the pull rope as well. Just a note that even after it has been running for some time it still wants the choke on for the restart. In summary the unit seems well constructed,It had all the power requirements I desired and it worked right out of the box which is always a bonus now a days.I bought 2@ 40lb LPG tanks that will be dedicated to the
generator. Its hard to give this a 5 star rating since it was not tested during an outage event but I have a warm fuzzy feeling that will will handle it well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Arnold, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Generator itself appears to be OK but makes a lot of noise

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The Generator appears to work well. It started easily, and based on just a quick test to verify that I'd hooked everything up correctly (i.e. separate Power Transfer Switch), seems to be OK. I should note that I didn't operate it for any length of time (about 15-minutes), nor did I connect it to a significant load - probably less than 500-Watts. I like the way the Control Panel is laid out, and the Mobility Kit makes it easy to move around. The overall layout (space envelope) of the Motor-Generator and the Frame into which it is mounted, is very nice.
It is however, very loud. This is not to say that the noise from the exhaust is objectionable, since that was difficult to hear over the noise coming from what is in my opinion an extensive and unnecessary use of sheet metal combined with an ineffective isolation mounting scheme.
The sheet metal includes the Heat Shield around the Muffler, the Muffler, the two large top Side Panels running from end to end, the Center Panel, the Cooling Air Duct for the Generator, and even the thin-walled tubular frame itself. There are four 'Flexible' mounts between the Motor-Generator and the Frame (one at each foot), however they are totally ineffective since the Mounts themselves are relatively stiff compared to the light Frame to which they are connected. Keeping the Motor-Generator and Frame assembly mounted on the Mobility Kit exacerbates the problem.
My approach to dealing with what I consider a significant design flaw will be to use a number of sandbags to damp the vibrations.
Would I recommend this product...yes or no? I'd like to say 'yes' since and I just spent $850 on the unit and I can improve the acoustic performance (although I don't think I should have to), but I haven't verified that it will perform well over time, nor do I have any experience with other portable Generator units. And based on the manufacturer's obvious disregard for the acoustic performance of the unit my confidence that the Motor-Generator itself is going to be satisfactory is now tainted. So I guess the answer is: "yes, but..."
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Dutchess, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

haven't had to use it yet but it is there when we need it!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
when the electric went out in Oct. we borrowed a generator (gas) had to go out to buy gas, not many pumps working, wait on line and limited amount available. So we had to go out again and again. now we have the propane hooked it up to the larger house supply and we are good to go for days...more than exceeds our home needs in practice. only bad thing is it has access points on all sides...can't enclose it and open two sides to use needs to be opened on all sides power/exhaust/plugs/gas...we'll figure something out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

So far so goodTerr

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Arrived without any damage, good packaging. Anyone with a wrench and screwdriver can install the wheels & handle, very simple. If you don't like the wheel mounts, a 1/2" steel rod can be used to go thru both mounts, a small hole with a cotterpin on each end of the rod will hold the wheels on. Put oil in the engine, hooked up the LP, pulled it 1/2 dozen times (I'm an amputee so I couldn't pull as hard as some) and it started right up (didn't use choke). Ran it tor a few minutes, checked the output, right on. Only gave it 4 stars because I haven't really tested it in a real situation yet. Will update if I find any problems. So far really satisfied. Would recommed it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Catskill Mountains New York
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instruction manual is pityful. You have to figure out how to put it together with your own resources.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It does everything I expected of it. Unlike some generator reviews I have seen, this machines functions are all 100%. Every output is wired properly and works well. They should offer a selection of batteries to purchase for it. I had to do a lot of hunting to find one that fit the bracket. The first attempt to start it, 5 seconds, nothing! Put on FULL CHOKE and another 5 second crank and it sputtered. The third time it kicked on and runs great. As others have said, it is VERY LOUD! Maybe there is room for a better muffler? Since this is only going to be used in an emergency, loudness is not a factor over survival.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Nevada, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
worked well. started right up. got it out of the box, put in the oil and new spark plug (which was recommended in a review I read). put the wheels on and took it to my cabin. ran well. powered all power tools needed and then powered the entire cabin. the 240 twist lock outlet enabled me to run 240 to the cabin, power a seperate 240 well line as well as the 110 circuits for the entire cabin. will see how it last but for now, I'm happy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

good home emergency generator

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Arrived as promised, so-so instructions, but works well and has plenty of power under load. Propane rules over gas for my use -- as a home emergency backup generator. No need to deal with gasoline -- just always make sure to have an extra filled propane BBQ tank around (and resist the temptation to use it for your BBQ) and you are good to go.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Great features for the money

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The generator was EZ to put togather, the picture in the manual were not as good as they need to be, too dark. The battery was hard to find. For the money, you can not find a better generatorthen this one. If you need a generator buy this one.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product overall

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery hold-down leaves much to be desired and the muffler is loud enough to annoy my neigbors and my myself as well. One would think that a better quality muffler could be provided given today's technology and the fact that Honda's generators are whisper quiet. Those are the only negatives I have. My next one will definitely be one that provides a quieter muffler.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7,000-Watt Propane Gas Electric Start Portable Generator

Quick, easy and fairly quiet.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Set up was very easy and so far the generator has given me no trouble. Use has been limited and we will se after a couple of months but it seems like exactly what I was looking for in a portable unit.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>