728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

The LG Electronics 22.1 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator offers versatile fresh-food storage with its 2 split shelves and single full shelf. Pour a favorite beverage from a large container in the refrigerator's adjustable gallon-size door baskets, or grab a tasty snack from its convenient snack bin. Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings, this efficient refrigerator features digital sensors that monitor the refrigerator and freezer temperatures to help ensure consistent temperatures.
Overall rating:
3.726 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product66 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(47)
4
(24)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(18)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product66 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Review 1 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Yuma, AZ

Good price with standard ice maker.

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Usable space is larger than side by side or french doors of larger capacity.
Compressor noise: Compared to my 15 year old Kenmore 18 cu/ft top freezer, the compressor is quiet. Old unit I could hear at other end of house, new one maybe 1/3 the distance. Being a smaller compressor unit may be the reason, good thing too, it runs more. Sound is purr like most of the time but will move up to a louder whine occasionally.
Shelving interior: 1 full width movable shelf, 1 full width non movable shelf over vegetable/fruit bins. 1 half width movable, 1 half width movable attached to the deli bin.
Shelving on door: Needs more slots for the movable shelves. You will be limited to where you can store 2 liter beverage bottles on the door. The beverage can holder (horizontal stacking) is located at the top of the door and can not be moved to another location, only removed, the other movable door shelf units have different mounting tabs and will not fit. If you do not use the beverage can tray this is lost usable space on the door. My older 18 cu/ft top freezer had more door placement selections.
Interior lighting: Angling of light bulb projects the light toward the front door and the back interior is noticeably darker.
Cooling: food was transferred from old unit to ice chests while waiting for new fridge. New fridge delivered about 6pm and food transferred into it about 8pm, by next morning fridge temps (set at factory settings) were about 38 in lower and 0 degrees F in freezer.
Ice maker: Able to choose between 3 ice cube sizes, and a rocker style on/off switch. Cubes are pulled from top of bin as there is no access to cubes on the bottom of bin, last in first out for the cubes unless you dig down. Ice making cycle is long, the freezer was easily freezing three manual ice cube tray "cycles" to the ice makers two cycles.
Good value and happy with it so far.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Lake Jackson, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LG Service extremely poor buyers beware

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fridge broke down after 60 days. LG service extremely poor, not sensitive to a family living without a refrigerator. It took them a week just to approve the repair, another week to schedule someone to come and look at the refrigerator. Then another week to order parts. I finally took it back for a refund lucky for me it was within 90 days. I will never purchase anything LG ever again.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Bethlehem, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product poorly engineered mechanically

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Quiet,spacious. Freezer vents in rear bottom, where food needs to go, so vents get covered. Freezer temp wouldn't reach 0-5 degrees on regular setting like our electric company and our appliance mechanic said it should reach in order for bacteria to be killed for food to stay fresher longer. We adj. setting, then the fridge food froze telling me that insulation between freezer and fridge are insufficient. They don't make them like they used to. We were told that fridgerators are only made to last but 10-12 years anymore. What a pitty. Our last fridge lasted 20 years. Fridge temp adjusting area in the way of loading top shelve, it hangs down to far. No light in freezer. Huge nice veggie drawers though. If you circulate freezer food often meaning eat it up soon then this fridge will be perfect for you. If your real short then the fridge area will fit you also. Beuitiful fridge. We exchanged it for a different brand.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Died in 2 months

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 month old fridge fizzled for a few days, then died. Room temp fridge overnight. Called LG, who sent a repairman 4 days later. Fridge was repaired, but the lost food wasn't.
I called LG. They shrugged it off and wouldn't help cover the cost of lost groceries.
Home Depot did offer to help, which I was impressed by. I will not purchase another LG product again.
Have a great day!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Bushkill, Pa.

Excellent Value

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for two weeks now and I am very pleased with the size of the freezer and quietness of the refrigerator overall. In the store the freezer didn't appear to be as roomy as it is. If I could change one thing it would be to make a model minus the ice maker.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Johnstown, CO

Poor storage available

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this fridge two or three months ago and the only thing I like about it is it has no handles, so food items fall into the hole and it needs cleaning often. The top shelf in the freezer is already bending, not strong enough. Items in the freezer need to be pushed back or the door will not close, because the freezer door goes to far into the freezer. It is too small for even two adults, tried to find our real size and could not, but this is the price we paid. Make sure the doors are closed securely because sometimes closing the refridgerator door causes the freezer door to open, especially if the freezer items are not pushed back. I wish I could return it, but it is too late for me. But. I am very happy w/the service provided by Home Depot. Wish we would have spent more and got a better fridge.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Massachusetts
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is good-looking, quiet, and the fridge door has only refused to open for me one time. I had to pause and then try again.

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like my new LG fridge very much. It is a handsome looking appliance and the recessed handles allowed me to fit a larger fridge in the same space as before. It has been operating well the first two weeks. There was a little glitch with the ice maker buzzing loudly sporadically. It is not hooked up, and the on/off button was in the on position. Once I switched it to off, no more buzzing.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Love it!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great refrigerator!
The unit is spacious for its size and well-thought out, with see-through adjustable shelves. The frost-free freezer freezes solid without destroying more delicate ice-creams and sorbets as others do. The compressor is quiet and efficient, and the unit has a solid feel to it. This is the first LG appliance I've had occasion to use, and it's also the best refrigerator I've ever had.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quiet

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fridge is very quiet. You have to almost try to hear if it is running. The ice maker is excellent, producing nearly a while tub of ice in 24 hours. The door shelves hold a lot of items, but there are not very many ways they can be set up. The door shelves could hold 4 gallons of milk or juice but we can only fit 2 in the door because of the configuration limits on the shelf spacing. This is why it gets 4 stars.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Chapel Hill, NC

Quiet Basic refrigerator

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this as a second refrigerator in our home. The first brand that we bought had such a loud compressor, that we sent it back. After some on-line research we found that most users found this LG quiet. We agree. This LG refrigerator sits in a kitchenette area right next to our TV room, and it is VERY quiet. The in freezer ice maker is also a nice touch.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 service calls within first month

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As far as the size, this refrigerator is decent for our needs, just 2 adults in the household. I wouldn't suggest it if you have kids because it doesn't hold loads of food. However, less than a month of owning this refrigerator, we noticed ice build up around the door of the freezer. I called the LG 1-800 number and got an appt for a technician to come out. That part was easy and someone came out within 4 days of the call. He replaced the door seal. It was done quickly and he seemed competent. However, a week later there is still ice build up around the door. A second service call is set up. I'm SO disappointed! I cannot recommend buying this refrigerator. Something as simple as this should not have to be an issue within the first month. I'm not so sure I'll be buying an appliance from Home Depot ever again. Not a happy customer.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with purchase!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a top-freezer fridge with lots of fridge space, since we have a full size deep freezer. What we kept finding were units w/large freezer space, which took away from the fridge area. This model has a nice large capacity fridge and still had a decent size freezer on top. The only change I would make is to move the on/off switch for the icemaker because it is easy to bump and turn off by accident. Other than that (which isn't really a complaint) we are very happy with our purchase! Had a big 4th of July cookout and had plenty of room for all of the food and drinks with room to spare!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Good Use of Space, Nice Design, Useful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Kentwood, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like many of the features of this refrigerator. The build-in handles in the doors and the shelving is easy to adjusts. Also comes with ice maker and runs very quite. Over all I would recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

good refrigerator for your money

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
love the contour look. i'm still trying to get use to the inside set up...seems abit smaller then my old one, but is still a nice frige. only had it about a month and so far so good, Delivery was prompt & efficient.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

freezer keeps opening

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this is April. Most times when you close the refrigerator door, the air pressure forces the freezer door to open. If you're not paying attention it stays open, therefore everything in the freezer begins to melt. I called service, they sent someone out and he said this is normal for all of the new refrigerators because of the seal???!!! That we just have to be aware. Well we have kids and we're busy and it's the one time that we don't pay attention and have lost food because of this. Very disappointing, would not recommend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Palm Beaches, florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

All my home needs in one place

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is excellent quality. Customer Service was a delight. The deliveryman and installer were well skilled. Overall could not be more pleased
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Bellevue, WA, USA

So Far So Good

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Frig seems to be working fine, although we have not connected the water line (and don't plan to). It is very quiet except when first stating when there is an audible "click." We did opt for the extended service plan as there are not many options for LG appliance repair in our area, greater Seattle.
Frig seems like what I would expect for a value oriented fridge. Everything is decent, and it is quieter than our $3000 GE Profile fridge (I would NOT buy another GE appliance...). Shelves are okay. Wish there was a light in the freezer.
I would buy this again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from SC

Great Product

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This frigde is great. No issues with the freeze door opening when you open the fridge - if anything you have to pull too hard to open the doors. The only thing I would change is that the door shelves are not all deep enough for a gallon of milk, so if you have more than 2 gal of milk or juice, it doesn't all fit in the door.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
Cons: depth of door shelves.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Doors Open by Self, Frost in Fridge, & No Light in Freezer

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When you close the freezer & fridge door, they close just fine (& seem totally closed), BUT, they open by themselves later. Make sure nothing at all is even close to making the door re-open later, or you'll find the door open by itself later.
There is NO light in the freezer, very annoying!
There are so many openings in the back of the freezer, that you can't cover, so you can't put much in the freezer, & always have to beware you don't push stuff back.
Freezer is prone to getting frost on everything!
The doors swings wide open, which is nice, but not nice that you can't adjust a little, otherwise, every time you open the door & don't hold the door, it will SLAM right into your cabinetry!
If they would fix these items, it would be a nice fridge. We do appreciate that there are "no handles", nice grooves instead so can easily open freezer & fridge door.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22.1 cu. ft. 33 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Bay Area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great experience for an on-line purchase.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The refrigerator has lots of space, is quiet, and has a built-in ice maker, which I don't remember reading in the description. The delivery was timely and the service excellent. I opted to haul away the old unit, which they took off my hands, no questions asked. I have purchased applicances from other vendors and wasn't as pleased with the delivery service. No negatives, I just don't use the ice maker, so I cannot comment on the quality.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>