728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater

18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater

The DynaGlo-PRO 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater offers powerful radiant heating for areas up to 450 sq. ft., such as patios, decks, workshops and campsites. Enjoy up to 64 hours of operation on a 20 lb. propane tank (not included) on the low setting, and use the variable heat controls to adjust the output to your desired temperature.
Overall rating:
4.057 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product39 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product39 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
Review 1 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product is excellent

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its really good .easy to use,u can move it easy..great item
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great source for supplemental heating

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little heater for the price, it also packs a substantial amount of heat. Although the pilot light is a bit sensitive once figured out it is a cinch to operate. It's a safety feature in the system designed to shut down if tipped over are bumped even the slightest system shuts down. I also had a problem with connectivity of a rely once diagnosed I removed and reconnect the wires to the rely it resolved my pilot light issues. Overall I think this is a great unit for supplemental heating. I rated it 4 stars the difficulty of the pilot light was annoying.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Source For Supplemental Heat

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wrote a review for DyanaGlo-PRO last December 15, 2011. Update NOV 2, 2012 .This is a great little heater for the price, it also packs a substantial amount of heat. Although the pilot light is a bit sensitive once figured out it is a cinch to operate. It's a safety feature in the system designed to shut down if tipped over are bumped even the slightest system shuts down. I also had a problem with connectivity of a rely once diagnosed I removed and reconnect the wires to the rely it resolved my pilot light issues. Overall I think this is a great unit for supplemental heating. I rated it 4 stars the difficulty of the pilot light was annoying.(UPDATE) Enclosed is a photo make sure all connections are snug. I still had issues with the pilot staying ignited. I tightened all of the connections. Now I have no problems with the pilot staying ignited. (Check photo make sure all connections are snug).I learned this through trial and era. If there is the slightest leak pilot will not ignite. Hope this information is useful.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

perfect for the first year

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a remote hunting cabin and until i install a wood stove this will be my heater of choice. Have used it for just over a year now to heat 200 sf of poorly insulated space. An hour on high and i turn it down to low and it maintains about 60 degrees on a 20 degree night. I have found that you must hold down the polit for about 30-45 secounds for it to stay lit when it is cold but it works every time. Shut it off when i leave and back on at return and i can get 4 to 5 days from a tank of propane. o by the way i have a small tent fan that i run evry now and than to move the air around and that helps a lot. This is a very good unit.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Hummelstown, PA 17036, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this heater for a enclosed outdoor area. The directions were easy to follow and assembly was a sinch. Two nuts for the unit were missing which was not a big deal. My local Home Depot store provided me both nuts without having to return the unit. The heat works great and starts without a hitch. A 20lb propane bottle last quite a while on the low setting. I've read the reviews on this product and most were positive. Read the directions and you shouldn't have any issues. It's a good idea to purhase a cabon monoxide detector to place in the area of usage.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: would be nice if it had a blower.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Arlington, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little heater with good heat output

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Loved the heater but the first two units purchased at Home Dept worked for approx. a week. The pilot light wouldn't stay lit. Really wanted it to work because when it was working, it was great. So called the manufacturer and received a 3rd one very quickly. The pilot is now very easy to light and stays lit. Don't know what the difference is between the first two heaters purchased from Home Depot or the working one from the manufacturer but we're happy. Manufacturer honored our purchase from Home Depot. We paid no additional costs (unit or shipping). Highly recommend this unit. We use it in our sunroom which enables us to enjoy the room when the weather is chilly or even freezing.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Milton, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this heater to replace kerosene space heater that I have been using for several years. Bulk kerosene is almost impossible to find here. This heater has a lower BTU rating than the kerosene, but heats faster, smells better, and seems to be better on fuel economy.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this heater (supplemental) in my home all winter last year. Before this I used kerosene heaters. I used it in the basement instead of electric heater. The reason is because of power outages during severe winter weather. This heater is awesome, I like the ability to to have three settings and last a relatively long time when needed. The pilot worked just fine for me. Also propane is much easier than kerosene. Keep two tanks and one on the BBQ pit. You have heat when desperate. No smell, like kerosene either. Everyone who lives north should own one. I suggest you have more than one heat source, so I also use kerosene.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the price!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not experience the pilot light issues that others have mentioned. I think those that do, are not experienced with pilot lights. You MUST keep the pilot light pushed down after it lights, for the 30 or so seconds that are mentioned in the instructions. If the pilot goes out after you release it, just light it again, and hold it down a little bit longer than you did the first time. We use this heater on our deck, and as a back up in case of power outages. Take the time to read the instructions, and follow them. For $129, you won't be disappointed.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Rome, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the cabinet style.

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes this little heater is hard to light. We took the first two back and decided to try one more time. It did the same thing, we could not get it to light. My husband decided to call the number on the owners manual and the person told him what to do. The heater has a leveling device on it and if the heater gets knocked around it gets the device out of level and it will not light. It is a safety precaution. Lights everytime now!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater

This Cabinet Heater is Great

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater about three weeks ago. I am using it now. I do not have any problems at all. I think that it is desgned just right, Is very easy to use and has great safety features.. I love it.. I am going to buy another one. I really love that you can use a 20lbs bottle and it fits in the rear. It gives off great heat.. I think that this is a great product.. I have not had any problems at all.. Two thumbs up??
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from north central texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Propane heater

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to heat my 16x23 one room tiny house.
Works absolutely fantastic!!! I hooked it directly to my bulk tank with an approved propane hose. Uses 3/8 flare connectors!
I used the 5 gallon tank first week while getting hoses,connectors etc. together for bulk tank use.
And it lasted an entire week using it on low.
Operating this unit full time on low uses apr. 20 gallons of propane a month.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Macungie Pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dayglo cabinet heater

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little heater is great once you get it lit. I may have a faulty unit, not sure, but it takes a while to get the pilot light to stay lit with a full of partial tank. No matter how long I hold the pilot switch in, when I release it the pilot light goes out. Eventually it will stay lit but it is agrivating. Once lit, it is great and lasts as long as they claim it does, approx. 60 hrs on low. We were hit with a suprise snow storm on Halloween! Trees were taken down as they still had leaves on them and there was about 14 inches of snow with power outages widespread. This little heater heated our ranch home! I kept it in the garage and left the door open to the kitchen. Excellent! I hope to find out if anyone else is having these difficulties keeping the pilot light lit to start it. In spite of the lighting problem which I believe has to be unique to THIS one unit, I would say GET ONE! I used the DH2304 Kero heater for six years and replaced it with this. VERY CLEAN!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Graham, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy to use, puts out the heat as needed

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm glad I found this product, as winter was over, and this being a propane heater, they had one in stock at a local Home Depot. Works great, I saw one in a resturant in New Zealand, it was heating the eating area.. I really like it.. DC
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love Love Love

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got 2 of these heaters and we love them. They put off great heat and warms the whole house. We dont have a problem with the pilot light or anything. The tank will shut off if we move it too much but thats a GREAT feature. I Love this heater.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Break in burn needed but works very well

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep our garage warm during a freeze warning. Smoked quite a bit on the first tank so i would not use this indoors without adequate ventilation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Brentwood, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's excellent when you receive one that works.

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love the product, but had a lot of problems with them.
I purchased 3 of them, and had to send 2 back. When I received a so called new one, they sent me one of the ones I sent back. I have 2 of them now that are working very well, but the last one I received goes out on me, every now and then.
They need to do more checking out before they send them out.
They do, do the job, when they work. I would recommend it to a friend and let them know they may have to send it back a few times before they get one that works right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from Damascus, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Well worth the money

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this item as our furnace broke down and we needed heat as it was January. We ordered on line and collected from the store within the hour. It was easy to put together. I had read previous reviews saying it was hard to light the pilot light and not stable, the manufacturer must have listened as this is not the case. I have moved my heater around my house up and downstairs and it lights first time always. I would highly recomend this product which is why I gave it five stars across the board. Thank you from warm and toasty in Maryland
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, moves around house well with no problems
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater
from California Valley
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good heater/ exposed pilot

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I connected mine to a 100# tank. Lit on first push of ignitor since I purged the air out of the line. The pilot light is exposed on the front of the burners so I can see it blowing out easily- the unit states "Not for windy conditions." Lots of bang for the buck & it's easily moved where needed- without a tank in the cabinet the unit's very easy to move around.
Pros: Performs Well
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18,000 BTU Propane Gas Portable Cabinet Heater

An excellent product for supplemental/temporary heat

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent design both for estheitics and function. The three different heat settings alllows good user control of heat output to meet need.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>