728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

The DynaGlo-PRO 60,000 BTU Portable Forced-Air Propane Heater features electrical ignition and 3 heat settings with a convenient dial control. It is portable and offers a 60,000 BTU maximum capacity, sufficient to heat an area up to 1,350 sq. ft. It is designed with automatic overheat shutoff and tip-over protection and is CSA listed.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product67 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(16)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product67 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Review 1 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Mesa, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Get's The Job Done

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this heater to keep me warm while working on job sites outside in mornings here in AZ in Dec & Jan when temps are in 40's and 50's. I put it about 8 feet from where I am working and it throws out enough heat to keep my warm enough to work comfortably. I use it on lowest setting and have to turn it off when temps start rising as it does get warm. I am sure if used in an enclosed space, this heater would raise temps extremely quickly as even outside in open it works great. Due to the forced air fan it is loud and does require electricity, but small price to pay. It's very lightweight and easy to move.
The one quality issue is the use of plastic for the nipple that the propane hose threads on to. I guarantee if you are not mindful with that area, the nipple will break off. It's a poor cheap choice and the one thing that stands out as a warning area.
I believe it's rated for 12-14 hrs on a 20lb cylinder on low.
Great value that could have been excellent if the manufacturer just changed to a metal hose nipple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, lightweight., throws out good amount of heat., Economical
Cons: plastic propane hose nipple.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from NYC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this thing works

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 10 x 20 carport which i'm using to keep my project car . last night it was 37 degree and the wind made it feel like 29 or so ...when in there to work on the car for a while using a kerosene heater and i was still feeling the cold after a hour . my next door neighbor came by with his forced air propane heater and after 15 minutes i had to remove my coat . .you could feel the difference between the 2 heaters . my kerosene heater didn't do the job and it was $140 this thing (which i just picked one up) is only $99 and it works 200% better . I would recommend this to anyone .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, very good for the price
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Syracuse, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price, great performance.

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater 3 weeks ago to heat my garage. After looking online and comparing other brands and models, I decided to purchase this heater because it was in stock at my local Home Depot. The price was comparable or less than what I found online.
Don't let the size of this heater fool you. It puts out some serious heat. About 15 minutes on the lowest setting brought my large, 2 car garage up to about 65 degrees with the outside temperature around 35. When working in my garage for extended periods of time, I would have to turn the heater off because it made it too hot.
This is a utilitarian heater. This isn't a quaint gas fireplace where you can sit around, and tell stories.....It's loud (as are all heaters of this type).
If you want a great heater at a great price, this is the one for you.
My only complaint, and it's a small one, is that I wish the heater had a lower setting. Once my garage is up to room temperature, it just gets too hot.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Quantico, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the manual...it works as intended, and well at that!!!

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a way to take the chill out of my 2 car garage in the winter. This heater did exactly that and then some. Some users complain about the constant clicking sound the ignition makes, but you only hear the clicking while the unit is not lit. Once lit, you won't hear the clicking sound b/c it's drowned out by the roar of the fire, which is expected for any forced air heater. Further, if the ignition source didn't keep sparking the way it does the blower fan would just blow the flame out. The design is simple, a plus for those who are accident prone. I would recommend this product to anyone who needed a decent workspace heater for a 2-3 car garage and needed a high "bang" vs "buck" ratio. Again, read the manual; a tool that is not fully understood is only half of its value.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Powerful, Nice Design
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Parma, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This heater is a must have

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several different heaters over the years and this one is top notch,it does everything it is supposed to do.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Performs Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice unit

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 3-1/2 car garage, and this unit heated up from 27'F to mid 60's in less than an hour.
Pilot switch is easy, on the same knob as the temperature control.
Fan is a little noisy, but moves the air well.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Great Value, Well Built

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just ordered this and a great heater for the price. Lowes carries same heater just a different color for $150.00 when I paid just $99.00 for this one. Unboxed, hooked up gas and was up and running in less than 10 minutes. Small unit which means it takes up less space and does put out the heat. It is loud but its a forced air heater. The electrical coming out of heater is only about a foot long and could have been longer or just put a plug on the heater to hook up your extension cord to.My friend has a propane and a kersosene heater and he says he uses the propane because its cleaner burning and less expensive. The company is located in the US but the heater is from China. Seems put together well and some thought went into the design. Would recommend reading the manual and remember things will last longer if they are taken care of and used properly.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

The best portable heater

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great investment. Now I can work in my garage all year around. I love to build and work on projects in my garage. My alone time. This thing on high heats up my 1 1/2 car garage in no time. It gets to the point I start to sweat. And it doesn't burn through fuel that fast either
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from huntington beach ca

JUNK!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this back to my shop. Used it for a few hours and it was great, until I tried to use it again, then the ignitor was out. Took it back and got another one. Same problem, 1 use and ignitor was out, 3rd try and same thing. I upgraded to the 85,000 BTU model and it has a separate ignitor. much better results.
But... Home Depot was great. Gladly accepted the returns and after the 4th visit, without asking, the department manager gave me 25% discount for all the wasted time.
Great customer service at Home Depot, just a bad product design.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 25, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 25, 2014
Hey Tom,

Please contact us about your experience, and we may be able to come to a solution for you. Maintenance is vital for these units, and we would love to help you with any questions or inquiries that you. Please contact our heating expert, at 847-447-3350. His name is Jacob and will be able to assist you in all that you need. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we hope to hear from you soon.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 10 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heats small spaces extremely well!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater and ended up using it under a tarped-off awning while I pulled, resealed and reinstalled an engine on my van in February. Temperatures ranged from 0F to 30F. There was lots of wind and snow. Over the course of a week I used two 20-pound bottles of propane. I was comfortable the entire time, and I was able to direct the air flow to anywhere I was working, whether it was under the hood or under the van. I set the heater about eight feet away and my whole body fit easily into the airstream. Without this heater, it would have been a miserable experience. For a little over a hundred dollars, it's one of the best tool buys I've ever made.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Cincinnati, OH, USA

This little rig is awesome!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish I had purchased this years ago. I joked with my son the first time we used it in the garage that I had to step inside the house to cool off.
I chose this unit because it is indoor/outdoor use. It burns cleaner then kerosene. Because I'm paranoid I also purchased a battery operated CO2 monitor to have nearby since I use this heater with the garage door closed.
Its not as efficient as kerosene meaning that hour for hour it will cost more to burn propane, but its safer and cleaner. However, its very loud when running, so you'll have to really crank your radio up to hear it.
I have a 2 car attached garage and this unit heats it up in only 10 minutes. I'm very happy with this and definitely would recommend it.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, Blower Speeds
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

traded in for a new one

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
OK, so it heats great. We have a 4000 sq ft warehouse that it definately takes the chill off quickly. We had trouble with the start up. It took too long; way longer than the 30 seconds that the manual stated. Let's see if the new on is better. Based on the previous comments it sounds like maybe the 1st one I bought had a bad thermal-couple.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: Noisy
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from St Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AAA, I am happy!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made. Shipped swiftly and packed well.
It only takes a few minutes to unwrap, tighten hose connections, read directions and have heat.
It started very quickly, like 5 seconds after turning the gas on I had a steady flame and was able to release the thermocouple bypass. The electric ignition works instantly, and stays on continuously - but does not make any noise that is audible above the whir of the fan and whosh of the flame. The flame adjust very easily, and with 60,000 BTUs brings my 3-car garage up to temp in about 15 minutes. Of course, I expect it to take a little longer in the dead of winter, but haven't experienced the bitter cold yet.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from laveen az
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not supper but makes heat.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Likes:
it's small and lightweight. propane line has a hand nut so no need for tools(which is excellent!) not too smelly
Complaints:
cord is only 8" long, propane line is like 10' long so why isn't the cords 10' long ???
mine overheat real soon and the thermal cut off switch shuts the gas off. definitely not heavy duty or even extended duty with such low cycle times.
No cord/p-line management or wrapping option.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, tool-less conections
Cons: overheats/shuts off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 10, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 10, 2014
Hey Brian,

We apologize for any difficulties you are having with your heater, please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can certainly assist you with any issues you may be having. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we hope to hear from you soon.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 10, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 10, 2014
Hey Brian,

We apologize for any difficulties you are having with your heater, please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can certainly assist you with any issues you may be having. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we hope to hear from you soon.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 15 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price; could have two added features for little more

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a garage approx. 12x22. It warms it up in about 30 minutes to the mid 60's when it is approx. 35* out. It's nice to be able to use the grill propane tank and not have to buy another one just for it. The auto Ignitor is great except that it continues to spark the entire time that it is being used. It could use an auto shut off for that. The fan is adjustable from 30,000 to 60,000 BTU's, it also could use an auto shut off when the valve is shut off. All in all, it is a great unit for temporary heat when needing to use the garage for repair work etc. and I would recommend it for anyone needing short time heat in your garage etc.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

good for the money

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a test run (October) and it raised the temp of my 20x25 garage from 60.0F to 67.8F in 5 minutes. Not bad. Have to wait for winter to see how it handles really cold weather, but so far am very satisfied for the money.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from West Valley City, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked as stated in the description.

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to heat 400 sq. ft. shop. Unpacked the heater, attached the propane bottle, and the heater fired up 1st. time. It took about 15 mins. to heat the shop and I then had to turn the heater down to maintain the temperature. It is noisey, but it did say this in the product review. Not noisey enough to be a distraction. Have used it a few times and it fires up 1st try each time. I think I would purchase another one if I needed to.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hot & Fast!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this item for my uninsulated 2-car garage converted into a fitness studio. This heater heats up the room fast!! It roars with hot air immediately upon ignition and after 5mins I'm already turning the heater to the lowest setting. It takes longer to heat up the room overall but if you need quick hot air to keep you warm until you've adjusted to the temps, this is your best product!! The other review pictures are exactly what is expected. Can't beat the price for the amount of warmth it provides so quickly. Only downside is it is a bit noisy so you have to turn music up louder but you can still carry on conversations without yelling. No fumes noticed and I don't see any soot residue on the ceiling as described from other product reviews on propane heaters.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Really heats a 2 car garage quick!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater works great for a two car garage. I keep mine on lowest setting and it will raise temperature from 45 F to 70 F in about 30 - 45 minutes. The only thing that I don't like is it seems to use propane quickly , even on lowest setting.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Heater works well

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this heater on two jobs now. No problems. I like the variable heat control. Allows a low of about 1/2 heat output to full output. There is no on/off switch the off position just blows cold air, to turn off it must be unplugged. It can be a little finicky turning back on before thermocouple shut off allows it to run w/o assistance, just a good fail-safe feature. All forced air heaters I've used are noisy, if you want a quiet heater need to go electric.
Pros: Performs Well, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>