728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

The DynaGlo-PRO 60,000 BTU Portable Forced-Air Propane Heater features electrical ignition and 3 heat settings with a convenient dial control. It is portable and offers a 60,000 BTU maximum capacity, sufficient to heat an area up to 1,350 sq. ft. It is designed with automatic overheat shutoff and tip-over protection and is CSA listed.
Overall rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product73 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(16)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product73 of 84reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Review 1 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Mesa, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Get's The Job Done

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this heater to keep me warm while working on job sites outside in mornings here in AZ in Dec & Jan when temps are in 40's and 50's. I put it about 8 feet from where I am working and it throws out enough heat to keep my warm enough to work comfortably. I use it on lowest setting and have to turn it off when temps start rising as it does get warm. I am sure if used in an enclosed space, this heater would raise temps extremely quickly as even outside in open it works great. Due to the forced air fan it is loud and does require electricity, but small price to pay. It's very lightweight and easy to move.
The one quality issue is the use of plastic for the nipple that the propane hose threads on to. I guarantee if you are not mindful with that area, the nipple will break off. It's a poor cheap choice and the one thing that stands out as a warning area.
I believe it's rated for 12-14 hrs on a 20lb cylinder on low.
Great value that could have been excellent if the manufacturer just changed to a metal hose nipple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, lightweight., throws out good amount of heat., Economical
Cons: plastic propane hose nipple.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Otis, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable Quality- But Home Depot Came Through

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved it when I got it and it stopped working in under a year with minimal use.. The heat control didn't work. At first, Home Depot said tough luck, but then a manager agreed to a swap. Maybe it will last the second time around.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportOctober 29, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportOctober 29, 2014
Hey Red,

If you need assistance and part for your heater, you can give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 3 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from NYC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this thing works

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 10 x 20 carport which i'm using to keep my project car . last night it was 37 degree and the wind made it feel like 29 or so ...when in there to work on the car for a while using a kerosene heater and i was still feeling the cold after a hour . my next door neighbor came by with his forced air propane heater and after 15 minutes i had to remove my coat . .you could feel the difference between the 2 heaters . my kerosene heater didn't do the job and it was $140 this thing (which i just picked one up) is only $99 and it works 200% better . I would recommend this to anyone .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, very good for the price
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from huntington beach ca

JUNK!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this back to my shop. Used it for a few hours and it was great, until I tried to use it again, then the ignitor was out. Took it back and got another one. Same problem, 1 use and ignitor was out, 3rd try and same thing. I upgraded to the 85,000 BTU model and it has a separate ignitor. much better results.
But... Home Depot was great. Gladly accepted the returns and after the 4th visit, without asking, the department manager gave me 25% discount for all the wasted time.
Great customer service at Home Depot, just a bad product design.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 25, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 25, 2014
Hey Tom,

Please contact us about your experience, and we may be able to come to a solution for you. Maintenance is vital for these units, and we would love to help you with any questions or inquiries that you. Please contact our heating expert, at 847-447-3350. His name is Jacob and will be able to assist you in all that you need. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we hope to hear from you soon.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 5 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Belleville, New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Dont buy it for frequent usage.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to heat my 650sqft outdoor personal training studio. Sounds like a helicopter landing on the roof while running, even on low, and the igniter went bad after 3 days. It's an effective heater and it'd get the space warm after only 10min, but it's not even remotely reliable. Maybe for casual use it's ok, but don't expect a daily heat source. Gas smell was a little annoying, also. Returned it this afternoon and probably won't buy a propane heater again.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: too loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportNovember 24, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportNovember 24, 2014
Hey there,

We are sorry you had a negative experience with your heater. If you have any questions or need any assistance, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 6 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect For Heating A Garage

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second propane heaters by Dyna-Glo that I have had. The last one I had lasted for 3 years and was used almost everyday during the colder months in the mid-west. I used this propane heater to heat a 36'x18' detached building/garage that I own. I probably get anywhere from 12 to 16 hours out of a 20 lb. propane tank depending on how cold it is out and if I turn it up on high. The only con I would have is that ignitor stays clicking when the heater is running.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: ignitor stays on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Parma, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This heater is a must have

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several different heaters over the years and this one is top notch,it does everything it is supposed to do.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Performs Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Syracuse, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price, great performance.

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater 3 weeks ago to heat my garage. After looking online and comparing other brands and models, I decided to purchase this heater because it was in stock at my local Home Depot. The price was comparable or less than what I found online.
Don't let the size of this heater fool you. It puts out some serious heat. About 15 minutes on the lowest setting brought my large, 2 car garage up to about 65 degrees with the outside temperature around 35. When working in my garage for extended periods of time, I would have to turn the heater off because it made it too hot.
This is a utilitarian heater. This isn't a quaint gas fireplace where you can sit around, and tell stories.....It's loud (as are all heaters of this type).
If you want a great heater at a great price, this is the one for you.
My only complaint, and it's a small one, is that I wish the heater had a lower setting. Once my garage is up to room temperature, it just gets too hot.
Pros: Easy to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Quantico, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the manual...it works as intended, and well at that!!!

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a way to take the chill out of my 2 car garage in the winter. This heater did exactly that and then some. Some users complain about the constant clicking sound the ignition makes, but you only hear the clicking while the unit is not lit. Once lit, you won't hear the clicking sound b/c it's drowned out by the roar of the fire, which is expected for any forced air heater. Further, if the ignition source didn't keep sparking the way it does the blower fan would just blow the flame out. The design is simple, a plus for those who are accident prone. I would recommend this product to anyone who needed a decent workspace heater for a 2-3 car garage and needed a high "bang" vs "buck" ratio. Again, read the manual; a tool that is not fully understood is only half of its value.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Powerful, Nice Design
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Nebraska
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband said this was the best thing I ever bought him. Started right out of the box. No problems with purchase or delivery. Heated his workplace in the quonset in no time flat. Good forced air movement not skimpy in either air movement or heat output. Priced these at my local farm and ranch store and they wanted the same amout of money for a much inferior product. Glad I shopped Home Depot online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heats small spaces extremely well!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater and ended up using it under a tarped-off awning while I pulled, resealed and reinstalled an engine on my van in February. Temperatures ranged from 0F to 30F. There was lots of wind and snow. Over the course of a week I used two 20-pound bottles of propane. I was comfortable the entire time, and I was able to direct the air flow to anywhere I was working, whether it was under the hood or under the van. I set the heater about eight feet away and my whole body fit easily into the airstream. Without this heater, it would have been a miserable experience. For a little over a hundred dollars, it's one of the best tool buys I've ever made.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Throw heat but fumes and constant ignitor clicking (by design?)

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the unit over the weekend and found
Pros:
- Threw good heat
- compact
Cons:
- Constant ignitor clicking
- fan turns on and ignitor begins clicking once plugged in and doesn't stop until unplugged
- fumes (too rich in burning)
- Noisy (fan is LOUD)
I wonder how long an ignitor can last if it is constantly clicking even when running
3 clicks/second*60 minutes*60 seconds/min = over 10,000 clicks per hour
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

awesome heater

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered and took around 4 days to arrive. Carried it straight outside and can feel the heat from around 10 feet away... Kinda loud but not terrible. Just try not to hang out right next to it... came out of the box ready to hook into a grill style propane tank... threads to the inside of the tank fitting. ***important*** the fitting is reverse threaded.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Morgantown, WV
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my needs!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater is the perfect product for my needs. I use it to heat a 10x20 tent that I enclose in the winter and use to tailgate. Prior to this, I had an 85,000 BTU convection heater. It also worked pretty well, but the forced air just keeps the hot air circulating better. Not to mention, this is fewer BTUs, so it uses considerably less propane! I am running a generator for the satellite TV anyway, so the 75 watts or so required from the blower isn't too much extra draw on the electricity.
I could see this being loud in an indoor environment where the acoustics would bounce around the sound of the blower, but it isn't too loud for my outdoor application.
The main con of this is that you do have to have access to electricity as well as propane. It's not really a downside for me, though, because everywhere I want to use it I will have access to electricity (whether fixed or generated). People were taking off jackets and outer layers inside the tent it was so warm! In fact, even on low (on about a 37 degree day), people were alternating between inside and outside the tent because the heater kept it so warm and cozy! I can't recommend this thing enough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Morganton, N.C.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great !

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this item last week. It is Great. Temp was in the 30's outside and inside my drafty building, I had to cut it off a few times, Heated Great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, simple to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Great Value, Well Built

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just ordered this and a great heater for the price. Lowes carries same heater just a different color for $150.00 when I paid just $99.00 for this one. Unboxed, hooked up gas and was up and running in less than 10 minutes. Small unit which means it takes up less space and does put out the heat. It is loud but its a forced air heater. The electrical coming out of heater is only about a foot long and could have been longer or just put a plug on the heater to hook up your extension cord to.My friend has a propane and a kersosene heater and he says he uses the propane because its cleaner burning and less expensive. The company is located in the US but the heater is from China. Seems put together well and some thought went into the design. Would recommend reading the manual and remember things will last longer if they are taken care of and used properly.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice unit

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 3-1/2 car garage, and this unit heated up from 27'F to mid 60's in less than an hour.
Pilot switch is easy, on the same knob as the temperature control.
Fan is a little noisy, but moves the air well.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Cincinnati, OH, USA

This little rig is awesome!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish I had purchased this years ago. I joked with my son the first time we used it in the garage that I had to step inside the house to cool off.
I chose this unit because it is indoor/outdoor use. It burns cleaner then kerosene. Because I'm paranoid I also purchased a battery operated CO2 monitor to have nearby since I use this heater with the garage door closed.
Its not as efficient as kerosene meaning that hour for hour it will cost more to burn propane, but its safer and cleaner. However, its very loud when running, so you'll have to really crank your radio up to hear it.
I have a 2 car attached garage and this unit heats it up in only 10 minutes. I'm very happy with this and definitely would recommend it.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, Blower Speeds
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

The best portable heater

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great investment. Now I can work in my garage all year around. I love to build and work on projects in my garage. My alone time. This thing on high heats up my 1 1/2 car garage in no time. It gets to the point I start to sweat. And it doesn't burn through fuel that fast either
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

traded in for a new one

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
OK, so it heats great. We have a 4000 sq ft warehouse that it definately takes the chill off quickly. We had trouble with the start up. It took too long; way longer than the 30 seconds that the manual stated. Let's see if the new on is better. Based on the previous comments it sounds like maybe the 1st one I bought had a bad thermal-couple.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: Noisy
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>