728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

The DynaGlo-PRO 60,000 BTU Portable Forced-Air Propane Heater features electrical ignition and 3 heat settings with a convenient dial control. It is portable and offers a 60,000 BTU maximum capacity, sufficient to heat an area up to 1,350 sq. ft. It is designed with automatic overheat shutoff and tip-over protection and is CSA listed.
Overall rating:
4.254 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product114 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 134 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(88)
4
(25)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product114 of 131reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Review 1 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Catskill NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very nice heater

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very nice heater. I also purchased the FA60DGD. Almost identical. I do have one suggestion for everyone. If you are using a 20 lb propane tank DO NOT take it to a place that exchanges tanks. They only fill up to 16 lbs of propane which will limit the hours of operation per tank Take your tanks to a service station or filling station that will actually fill the tank with 20lbs of propane. It is the same price so why not get the most heating hours for your money'
Pros: High Quality
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WELL WORTH IT!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS TO HEAT A 380 SQ FT GARAGE THROUGH A CHICAGO WINTER. HEATS THE AREA UP IN ABOUT 10 MINS, AND IN 20 MINS YOU CAN WORK WITHOUT A COAT ON. ITS A LITTLE LOUD, BUT ITS A SHOP SO I DONT CARE AS LONG AS I AM WARM. BASICALLY FOR $100.00 YOU CANT GO WRONG.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect For Heating A Garage

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the second propane heaters by Dyna-Glo that I have had. The last one I had lasted for 3 years and was used almost everyday during the colder months in the mid-west. I used this propane heater to heat a 36'x18' detached building/garage that I own. I probably get anywhere from 12 to 16 hours out of a 20 lb. propane tank depending on how cold it is out and if I turn it up on high. The only con I would have is that ignitor stays clicking when the heater is running.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: ignitor stays on
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Mesa, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Get's The Job Done

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased this heater to keep me warm while working on job sites outside in mornings here in AZ in Dec & Jan when temps are in 40's and 50's. I put it about 8 feet from where I am working and it throws out enough heat to keep my warm enough to work comfortably. I use it on lowest setting and have to turn it off when temps start rising as it does get warm. I am sure if used in an enclosed space, this heater would raise temps extremely quickly as even outside in open it works great. Due to the forced air fan it is loud and does require electricity, but small price to pay. It's very lightweight and easy to move.
The one quality issue is the use of plastic for the nipple that the propane hose threads on to. I guarantee if you are not mindful with that area, the nipple will break off. It's a poor cheap choice and the one thing that stands out as a warning area.
I believe it's rated for 12-14 hrs on a 20lb cylinder on low.
Great value that could have been excellent if the manufacturer just changed to a metal hose nipple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, lightweight., throws out good amount of heat., Economical
Cons: plastic propane hose nipple.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Las Vegas,Nv.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

don't buy these heaters

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I Bought 5 of these heaters to help heat my work area on 11/17/2014 and by 12/24/2014 2 of them no longer work. they will not stay on. They light ok but as soon as you let go of the knob they go out, I would not recommend these heaters to anyone, I cannot even exchange them at Home Depot because they do not have them in stock and the only repair center for my area does not answer the phone and it clear on the other side of the city. Not happy at all with this purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 5, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 5, 2015
Hey Randy,

We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your heaters. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can assist you. Thanks.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 5, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 5, 2015
Hey Randy,

We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your heaters. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can assist you. Thanks.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 6 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from delaware
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

ok

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
the heater is ok..........here is why............notice how they hide the elec plug on the box.........well because most buyers think (or hope) that its a simple plug and play heater and its really not......you gotta run an extension cord to it......and that's an additional pain................not a big deal ..just clearly advertise that on the box , so its obvious
next , I think the fan needs to be variable speed along with the selected heat output......because on lower settings you can feel the cold air blowing along with the heat....which makes it feel not as hot....so you have to run it on full blast to get the most out of the "feeling of heat" and on high it runs threw propane like crazy
maybe this cant be done for 100 bucks but I think the fan needs to be dialed back a bit.....would be nice if it could run without e-cord but maybe not possible or practical for 100dollar price point
it is a decent tool , its just not as good as I hoped..............you cant take it back to store if you don't like it.....just if it doesn't work
Pros: High Quality
Cons: design advertising need to be tweeked
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Medina, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice heater... the one time it actually started

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first time I've ever given a product a one-star rating but I don't feel like there's any option and I definitely want to warn anyone who is considering buying one of these.
I purchased this heater at Home Depot last month so I could heat my barn while I was installing new electric lines and lights. The first day I used it, it started pretty much as I expected and did a good job of quickly warming the work area. That was the last time it started at all.
Since then I've wasted God-only-knows how many hours trying to get this heater to start. I follow the instructions to the letter but it never starts. There is definitely a spark - as others have noted it fires the igniter constantly - and there is definitely propane in the tank. Eventually, after 15 or 20 minutes of trying to start this thing, I can even smell propane in the barn. It just doesn't start.
So far today I've had it plugged in with the propane on and have been trying to start it for 45 minutes in 10 degree weather with no luck. I hate this heater! I would have returned it long ago but, unfortunately for me, my wife tossed the packaging out with the trash a few days after I bought it. So now I'm stuck with the darn thing; I suppose I'll end up putting it out on the curb, taking my loss, and buying a real heater that actually works somewhere.
Cons: won't start
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 13, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 13, 2015
Hello,

We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your unit. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can assist you. Thanks.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 13, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 13, 2015
Hello,

We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your unit. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can assist you. Thanks.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 8 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Throw heat but fumes and constant ignitor clicking (by design?)

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the unit over the weekend and found
Pros:
- Threw good heat
- compact
Cons:
- Constant ignitor clicking
- fan turns on and ignitor begins clicking once plugged in and doesn't stop until unplugged
- fumes (too rich in burning)
- Noisy (fan is LOUD)
I wonder how long an ignitor can last if it is constantly clicking even when running
3 clicks/second*60 minutes*60 seconds/min = over 10,000 clicks per hour
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportDecember 1, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportDecember 1, 2014
Hey there,

The ignition on this unit is a continuous spark ignition to prevent fuel from pooling and then combusting. We provide troubleshooting and parts for all of our products. If you ever need assistance, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 9 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from oceanside ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worked for a few weeks .now its garbage

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i used the heater a few different times in my garage . on the coldest day i turned it on and it would not stay lit . i changed the tank to a warm tank and same issue . ive called the company and no response. ive went to an authorized repair shop and they have 3 units sitting on the side that are doing the same thing . they have not received a call back either . i spent 108. with tax to still freeze my but off because no one can return a call . i would return but home depot will not swap it out with out a receipt . it is 28 degrees out and snowing out here in ny and i guess i should just not work in my garage untill summer . dyna glo if you read this check your voice mails since ive left many .
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 29, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 29, 2015
Hey Brian,

We are sorry to hear about your experience. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can assist you in resolving this issue. Thanks.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
Review 10 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

heater purchase

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice little heater..perfect for heating garage..doesn't burn you eyes from fumes like other knipco heaters I've tried..would recommend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor quality

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 36 hours of use, in a three week span, since purchased the unit suddenly stopped working. And when trying to restart this heater will no longer stay lit. And after reading other recent reviews there is definitely something wrong with the manufacturing of this unit. I am planning on returning the unit to Home Depot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 20, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 20, 2015
Hey Ron,

We can assist you with any issues you may be having. Please give us a call at 877-477-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
Review 12 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from huntington beach ca

JUNK!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this back to my shop. Used it for a few hours and it was great, until I tried to use it again, then the ignitor was out. Took it back and got another one. Same problem, 1 use and ignitor was out, 3rd try and same thing. I upgraded to the 85,000 BTU model and it has a separate ignitor. much better results.
But... Home Depot was great. Gladly accepted the returns and after the 4th visit, without asking, the department manager gave me 25% discount for all the wasted time.
Great customer service at Home Depot, just a bad product design.
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 25, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportJuly 25, 2014
Hey Tom,

Please contact us about your experience, and we may be able to come to a solution for you. Maintenance is vital for these units, and we would love to help you with any questions or inquiries that you. Please contact our heating expert, at 847-447-3350. His name is Jacob and will be able to assist you in all that you need. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we hope to hear from you soon.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 13 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from lexington, il
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not too happy

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i got this heater for christmas. i use it to heat my garage and it worked fine until the other day. i can turn it on but when i go to adjust the knob it just shuts off. it will only work in the "startup" position.
so for about two months it worked....not happy and my homedepot is out of stock of course.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportFebruary 24, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportFebruary 24, 2015
Hey Frank,

We can definitely assist you with the issues you are experiencing. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
Review 14 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Otis, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable Quality- But Home Depot Came Through

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved it when I got it and it stopped working in under a year with minimal use.. The heat control didn't work. At first, Home Depot said tough luck, but then a manager agreed to a swap. Maybe it will last the second time around.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportOctober 29, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportOctober 29, 2014
Hey Red,

If you need assistance and part for your heater, you can give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 15 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from VA

Now I can get projects done when it is cold outside!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater rocks! I like to get out in the garage and tinker with stuff but I really don't enjoy it out there when it is cold. Pulled it out of the box and it was ready to go. Just attach the hose to the heater and your propane tank, plug it in to 110 VAC and your off to the races. It is a bit on the loud side, kinda like a mini jet engine. I use it in my garage with the door cracked open. I also like the temperature adjustment feature that this model offered. Now I can get out of the house year round and mess around in the garage, it makes my winters much more tolerable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from NYC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this thing works

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 10 x 20 carport which i'm using to keep my project car . last night it was 37 degree and the wind made it feel like 29 or so ...when in there to work on the car for a while using a kerosene heater and i was still feeling the cold after a hour . my next door neighbor came by with his forced air propane heater and after 15 minutes i had to remove my coat . .you could feel the difference between the 2 heaters . my kerosene heater didn't do the job and it was $140 this thing (which i just picked one up) is only $99 and it works 200% better . I would recommend this to anyone .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, very good for the price
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value for a good heater

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read many review before I bought. I went with propane because it burns cleaner and will not leave a yeloow film on the ceiling like kersone does. THe cord that connects to the propane tank is like 6 foot long which makes it easy. I have warmed my 2 car garage up 4 times for a toal of 8 hours and still have propane left. THis thing works fast. As far as thie constant ticking noise... It does exist but i really dont notice it. Most of the time i have some low music on and dont even notice it. For $100 you cant complain!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater
from Danbury Ct.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great mobile heat source.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Heater works great and allows directional location of the heat. With the weather being well below freezing for the past month, the heater has paid for itself many times over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Works for Me

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 2 car garage I use it in. Takes about 5min to heat up in 35* weather. Yeah it's loud but no louder than any other heater like this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Heats up fast

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it one time, worked fast. It heated up my 24x30 shop in 10 min.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>