728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ranges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque

5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.305 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product88 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(30)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product88 of 102reviews
Customer questions and answers:
41 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
Review 21 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
emom
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good, reliable product and a good value!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had GE electric ranges for 30+ years. They are reliable, have some style to them, and provide years of use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
hollyjp
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this stove!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel
I have only had it for a couple of weeks, but so far it is awesome. The two burner size is amazing, my pans now cook evenly. The delivery guys were really good and set everything up for me. If I ever move and need appliances again, I will buy from The Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
amanda
from Warrenton, VA

Just What I Needed

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel
Clean lines, simple user interface, just the right features. This range had everything I was looking for and nothing I didn't. GE has eliminated many of the creases and crevices that make an appliance hard to clean. The glass and stainless wipe down nicely and the lower oven heating element is placed beneath the enamel oven floor making it easy to clean as well. There aren't a myriad of touch pads or knobs. Just enough, plainly marked, to make your cooking tasks simple.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
Today
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Very happy with my new stove!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Black
I researched a lot before choosing this stove and I am not disappointed. It is great for baking! I love the easy clean-up in the oven bottom and on the smooth top! I did find the left front burner did not bring a large pan of corn on the cob to a hard boil. I switched to the right front burner and it worked great. I have used the left front burner for frying and smaller pans just fine. I guess it takes time to know the best burner to use for the job. There is only one thing that could be better and that is having a small burner in front. Both small burners are in the back, but it isn't a big issue for me.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
NAnnM
from Manchester, CT

GE 30" range with smooth top - GREAT!!!

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel
I've been using my new stove for a couple of days and am thrilled with it! Besides being a good looking range, it is very well built. Burners and oven heat up very fast and I love the burner that can be turned on for either larger or smaller pan sizes. Delivery guys were polite and very helpful. I ordered another range for my tenants as well because I am so pleased with this range.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
c221
from Middletown, MD 21769, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Clean logic switch will need to be replaced after buying your range

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel
I read the consumer complaints too late after buying my GE Profile Self Cleaning Electric Range. The replacement of the clean logic switch is $400 after only using the self cleaning program 2 times. No it was not covered by warranty.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
RGMC
from Huntington Beach, CA

Great value

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel
nice looking, works great, I was happy with the speed the burners heat up.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
BarbaraC
from Arlington,Tx

GE Electric Self Cleaning Range

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel
This procuct cooks and cleans up easy! Awesomeee!
I have not had any problems with this range, oven has a lifght inside, big easy see thru, bottom has a storage rack,
I think this range even makes the food taste better. Has a hot indicator light, closck and timer!
This is the best range that I have ever owned!
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
pastrychef

Excellent value

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Black
I am a pastry chef/kitchen manager by profession so I wanted a quality stove/oven for my home use. I bought this range in Nov. 2010. I was hesitant to buy a glass ceramic top range for fear of breakage or young children touching the top while hot. But so far I have been thrilled to own this appliance!
Heats pans evenly and is very temp. sensitive so I have to be careful of turning dials up TOO high, but I can't complain. The top does get some "staining" if you just use a sponge and soap to clean it. I'm not so worried about it looking prestine and I can't see spending the $ to use the special cleaner for the rangetop everyday. So I only do that deep cleaning about once a month. The oven takes awhile to preheat, but once it's at temp I have had no problems with hotspots or long cook times when baking or roasting items.
Overall this is the best range/oven I have ever owned short of spending the money to convert to a gas/propane unit.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
kendallphillips
from Wilmington Ma.

cheap construction

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel
Unable to find a clean steel range on display at any Home Depot store, I purchased this model on line believing it to be constructed similarly to the stainless steel model. ( All my other appliances are G.E. clean steel. ) However it seems they loosely attach a thin veneer over a base metal leaving the outer edges exposed where they could catch on clothing or be otherwise pulled away from the oven door and bend.
I believe this to be a design flaw and have since checked every other oven door in the store and have not seen another oven door with the same construction , including the G.E. stainless model which has sides that wrap around the door and butt up tightly to a moulding.
I'm awaiting a visit from a service tech and I'm hoping that he can replace the door with one that at least has a tighter fitting veneer.
Other than this, the range seems to work just fine.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
abinva
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44

Works okay but leaks heat

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Black
I used another low-end GE smooth-top before this one, and I have to say the burners work better on this model, though the back ones still take longer to heat up than the front ones. The extra-large burner is a great idea but it doesn't work as well when you have just the middle part turned on. The oven usually has to be turned down 5 degrees for large or slow-cooking items, but it has good space inside. However, it leaks heat, even to the point where your hand can be scalded if you hold it near the top of the door while the oven is on (and the burners are all cold). The top of the stove gets warm while the oven functions even when the burners have not been turned on. I can't imagine it's power-efficient given this situation, but what I hate most is the fact that the kitchen gets so hot when I have to bake anything, not to mention the temperature at the top edge of the oven door. This is a brand-new oven put into a newly-built house that we were the first to move into, so I don't think the oven is "broken," though I can't be sure. The handle also will "catch" your hand towel when you go to pull it off, which is annoying and bad design. It also takes a really long time to pre-heat. I have stainless steel on the front of this oven but it's low-quality and gets smudged very easily (which our Bosch dishwasher does not, though it is also stainless on the front). I am completely unimpressed with the quality of GE ranges from the two that I've used so far, and I hope to replace this one in the next few years.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
GEtheGstandsforgarbage
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel
I had purchased this range a couple of years ago. Within the first year the oven heating element burned out. The element has burned out every year since I bought it. We use the oven regularly but this should not happen. I am very dissatisfied with this piece of garbage. At a cost of $80.00 per element (we have now purchased 3) and the time of ordering and installing, you are looking at over $100.00 for each element this is almost half the purchase price in PARTS!!! I will NEVER buy another GE product EVER!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
CNewc27

Great Value and Quality

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in White
The value for our stove has been unbeatable, especially with regard to the quality of the product. It is easy to clean and quickly warms and cools. I have also seen a small savings in electric in using this applicance and would recommend to anyone. The stove also has a self cleaning system that actually cleans the applicance without much hassle. It seems well constructed and should last my wife and I a long time.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
Ravenwood13
from Provo, Utah

GE JB640DRBB Range

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Black
This has been like an early Christmas for me. I can't stop cooking on this stove! The price was great, and the delivery service was excellent. I finally have a stove where I don't have to keep cleaning out from under the coils. The stove works wonderfully. The TruTemp makes cooking a delight. Even temperatures, without the fluctuations. The controls are a breeze to set, and it is so easy to clean, and looks marvelous! I've cooked everything from hearth bread and biscuits, to meat pies and broiled halibut, to sauces and puddings, and even a batch of mint jelly, already. I've only had the stove for about three weeks, but love it!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
JTB1
from New Jersey

Very even heating!

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Black
I love my new GE range. It heats up quickly and the position of the light displays easily let me know that my cooktop is still hot even after I shut it off. The oven settings seem accurate and again demonstrates very even heating. Setting the timers takes reading the directions a few times but the directions are written clearly and are easy to understand. Overall I would recommend this unit to anyone. Even my regular appliance repair man says he would buy a GE because they rarely have problems and are the most reliable brand for ovens and microwaves.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
Kathy
from Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very satisfied customer

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in White
I just love this stove! It was to replace my very old range from the 80's and it works just great. My condo kitchen is small and both it and my new GE fridge fit and look great.
I really the flat surface, and despite comments from family it cooks just as well as a standard electric range. The only drawback is that you have to wipe up surface drips/spills or food immediately so nothing 'cooks' on. I spent about 15 minutes buffing off a spill that had hardened on a burner surface. Now that I know, I just wipe off the surface every time I cook. That sure beats cleaning coils and trays, etc.!
I've used the oven as well, and it works beautifully. Love the hidden coil, and again despite what I've read about the preheat taking longer, I found no difference.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: surface spill clean up
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
Addysue
from Harrisburg Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The range is made by a trusted long time name iin appliances

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in White
I really researched the features on the range and bought one with exactly the features I knew I would use. It will be so easy to keep clean. I am an older woman who still does a lot of cooking and baking for my family. So far it is every thing I expected in a new stove.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
drfgb
from Spokane, WA

good basic range

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in White
nice functions, good looking, highly recommended.
bakes and heat quickly, keeps warm for long time after use showing how heat efficient it is
no complaints at all!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
NewHmOwner
from Exton, PA

Love it!

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Black
I love this new stove! The burners heat up extremely fast and it amazing compared to our old one!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Bisque
spfd
from Oregon

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in White
The oven temperature varies, sometimes too hot & things burn, but mostly too cool and things take twice as long to cook. I need to raise the temp 25-50 degrees more than the recipes or instructions call for.
Also, the right side heats hotter than the left, so food will be cooked on the right but not have an adequate temp on the left when checked with a meat thermometer.
The oven and the timer turn off on their own, making things even worse.
The stovetop burners do not heat evenly, either. The ones in front are slower than in back.
Also, the touch screen buttons are getting harder and harder to push.
The repairman has not been able to fix any of these problems.
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>