728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

The BSS611Z is engineered for a range of cutting tasks, and is perfect for roofing, carpentry, remodeling, woodworking, and for any pro contractor who requires a best-in-class engineered cordless circular saw. The BSS611Z is just another example of Makita’s commitment to innovative technology and best-in-class engineering. Battery and charger not included.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product26 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product26 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

Best tool

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Monster tool wood cokiee monster low price high value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

Makita 18v Circular Saw

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really enjoy my Makita Saw. It is portable yet strong enough to cut through 2x stock. I can make many cuts before reverting to another battery. Which only takes about 1/2 hour per recharge. I know there are other quality cordless tools out there, but I like the feel, quality, and production from my Makita tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from California

Great Tool and Light weight

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already had the makita Li-Ion drill and wanted the circular saw for a long time. I was excited to see they sold the tool only online. I used it for the first time a few days ago and couldn't be happier. It ships with a blade, is easy to adjust, is light weight and is just a joy to use.
One thing to note, it does not allow the use of the "compact" 1.5Ah batteries like the drill kit comes with. You MUST use the 3.0Ah battery. The 3 amp battery can also be used on your makita drill however.
These tools Rock. The batteries are MUCH lighter and the tools in general are much lighter than other brands. The batteries can go a very long time without really discharging, they charge SUPER fast (15 min/30min depending on battery size) so I have never been in a situation where I couldn't work because I was waiting for batteries to charge. I use my tools all day long so these features where important to me. Absolutely worth the money.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Pinole, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used a lot of Circular saws over the year, but this one is by far the best. It is very easy to control and super smooth. I used it last weekend to cut beadboard panels and all the cuts were perfect.
For 3/4" Marine Plywood, use the 16T blade that comes with it... But for everything else, get a 24T or 40T blade. I like the Diablo blades myself.
You will not be disappointed with this saw!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

Purchased circular saw to have an easy to use , more light weight, no cord tool and it is absolutely fabulous.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased circular saw to have an easy to use , more light weight, no cord tool and it is absolutely fabulous. LOVE IT! However.....due to marketing you have to purchase another battery for this particular tool for an additional 100.00. The battery that comes with the drill and other tools is not interchangeable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: battery not interchangeable with other makita prod
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Columbia, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but be warned!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit does not easily accept the 1.5 ah batteries, only the 3.0 ah batteries. This should have been addressed in the description. You can easily modify the saw to accept these batteries however they should make that more clear. I don't know why they would require the 3.0's unless they want to sell more batteries or are afraid you would be dissapointed with the battery life of a 1.5 ah on this saw. Otherwise, the saw is exactly what I expected from Makita (quality).
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Norton, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

seems pretty sturdy

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
light weight,and easy to use. i never operated a saw with the blade on the left side but it works out well. you can see the line without having to do the look around over the saw. it seems to use the batteries a little fast but on the bright side the charge fast
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

Good product, will need to buy a battery though

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a great value for the price, works well. But if you already have the drill and driver, those bateries do not work on the saw. Though the bigger battery you need to purchase will work on the drill and driver. Would have given it 5 stars if the battery info was available somewhere.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this saw is a great addition to my tools

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good light tool perfect stright lines fast user friendly cant wait fo the new batteries
Pros: Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great circle saw.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First I bougth a R**** cordless circle saw. It cuts okay in pine but stops whenever I hit a knot and cutting depth is only 1-9/16". It cuts thru a 2x4 but very slowly and stops a lot. A disappionting saw.
Then I purchased the Makita. What a difference. This saw cuts thru everything I want it to including 2x4 and faster than the R****. The depth of cut is 2¼". I have three (3) other Makita drills/hole shooters so I can use the same batteries. The Makita is like a BMW and the "other" is like a KIA. I highly recommend this saw.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

Be aware your old 1815 batteries won't work for it

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product uses 1830 batteries, which are close. But your old 1815 batteries won't work! Kind of frustrating after we got it home.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

1.5 AMP batteries work, but barely

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Before buying this saw I read the reviews and discovered that it would only take my 1.5 amp batteries if I chiseled out the batteries' plastic slot. Knowing that the 1.5 amp batteries wouldn't last as long, I went ahead, bought the saw, and modified my 1.5amp batteries to fit thinking that I'd be able get around the shorter battery life by alternating batteries. I was ripping 16' spruce boards that were 1 3/8" thick, and would only manage to get through less than 2 cuts before my battery was dead. This is with the included blade. Since the 2 cuts only took about 5 minutes, and the 1.5 amp batteries take about 15 minutes to recharge, I spent 10 out of every 15 minutes hanging around waiting for a battery to recharge, thus giving me ample time to write this review.
If you're going to use this saw for any big projects, I would highly recommend having two 3.0 amp batteries at your disposal. The 1.5 amp batteries will work for little crosscuts and things, but not for lots of saw time, and definitely not for continuous battery leap-frogging.
Cons: battery life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw at a great price.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I wanted. Compliments my other Makita cordless tools and best of all got it at a great price.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good tool

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good saw for every thing I do ,handly to use in over head cuts. battery holds up very good because saw doesn't use that much power to run at full RPMs
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like saw, seems to work fine I'm not use to having blade on the left side but I'm sure it's just what you get use to.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It seems pretty accurate and easy to use, and easy to handle not to heavy the blade that comes with cut fine now but it will need to be upgraded before long, time will tell.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: left hand saw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Union City, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw!!

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, powerful and quite. Great saw, works to perfection. Highly recommended. You will want to have two batteries, if doing a lot of cuts. The battery lasted over 30 minutes and recharged in 20 minutes, so it was good I had 2 batteries and could keep right on working.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)

Cuts like butter

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw because I already had Makita LXT Lithium-Ion 18-Volt Cordless 2-Tool Combo Kit Model # LXT218 and was able to use the same battery that came with the drills. I will say that this saw cuts like butter. It has a more that enough power to cut what I need. The blade out of the box is very sharp. The only thing that I wish it had was a bag or case, other than that, 5 stars!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The was cut wonderfully like cutting through butter.

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to operate and light weight. Good price. The saw cut smooth and effortlessly. Very happy with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent saw

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw has no buttons and whistles just plain old fashioned quality ___ built well and does the job
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2 in. Cordless Circular Saw (Tool-Only)
from Alton Bay, Alton, NH 03810, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to my 18v ion tools

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Has the power needed to do a variety of cutting jobs with ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>