728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Take charge of your home with the Ortho Home Defense Max Kill & Contain mouse trap. This innovative mouse trap transforms the way you kill mice. It s easy to bait - then you just push down the lever and it does the rest. It s safe to use around kids and pets because it won t snap fingers or paws. It s perfect for tight spaces where mice like to hide, and it s great to use in kitchens and pantries. Use it next to your refrigerator and stove, in between your washer and dryer, or in your cupboards. The indicator shows when the mouse is caught, and the grab tab means you don t have to touch the mouse. Nothing to see, nothing to touch. Your drama-free way to deal with mice.
Overall rating:
3.51 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(255 reviews) 255
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product159 of 241reviews
Rating Breakdown 255 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(133)
4
(25)
3
(9)
2
(15)
1
(73)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product159 of 241reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

be smarter than the mouse

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i checked out reviews once i'd set the traps and the mouse managed to make off with the bait. i had already been contemplaiting how to get the food arranged in such a way that the mouse has to step further in. Another reviewer indicated that with the smaller mice, smearing peanutbutter somewhere on the top inside of the trap gets the smaller mice to put more weight further down the trap platform. I broke down some granola bar (the previous reviewer used peanut butter) and shook and shuffled the trap sideways and which-ways to get the pieces up in the slats.. worked like a charm. Caught 3 mice within 6 hours of setting the traps.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Worked Well

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this instead of the classic mouse traps and was surprised to catch the rat in the first couple hours. It was a little tricky getting the trap to stay open while initially setting it, but after a few gentle tries it stayed open. I placed some dog food coated in peanut butter in the bait door and caught the rat within 4 hours. I placed next to trash can in kitchen and also scattered some dinner scraps near the trap to lure him in. Trap was a little small for the rat given his hind end and tail stuck well out of the trap but it held him. Just stuck him in plastic bag and tossed outside in trash. Decent product.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Bosque Farms, nm

I LOVE this trap!

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used these, and been back to the store for more many times. It says it kills them, but it doesnt (unless you leave it for days without checking it) so I use it as a live trap. I have never had a problem with them at all, even when I reuse it multiple times. Peanut butter is the best bait, and only once have I seen feces in the trap and there be no mouse, but I think it was a tiny one that was simply too light to set off the spring. I have caught mice, taken them outside and opened the door then shook them out into the grass and seen them run off. Then I reset the trap and put it back where it was. I would highly recommend this device!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from brea
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use, set and no mess to clean up

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap works well. This was the second time that I have used this trap. The only reason that I am giving it a 4 instead of a 5 was that it took a few times to catch this mouse. It was a much smaller mouse this time so it actually ate all the peanut butter and did not trigger the trap. If you have same issue the TRY THIS. Try putting the peanut butter in the bait trap but also spread some near the inside top of the trap so the mouse has to go all the way inside and it may set off trap easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from South Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Mouse Trap

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This mouse trap works - period. It kills about half of the mice it traps, instantly. The other half die a slow, probably agonizing, death. If you're squeemish about this, buy the old fashioned Victor traps that breaks the mouse's neck. On occasion, the mouse will eat all the peanut butter without triggering the trap; this happens rarely. I'm told that if you place a small nut inside the peanut butter, the mouse has to work harder to get the bait and that this method is more likely to improve your "catch" rate.. I just refilled the bait door and reset the trap. My second effort has always been successful. If you wish, you can shake the dead or live mouse out of the trap and reuse the trap. I don't.
Pros: Functionality, it catches mice.
Cons: some of the caught mice die slowly.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

always working

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product always captures mouse without endangering pets or using poisons. Have caught 8 mice in two days. Easy to dispose of them. Contains mouse so no worry that it will crawl off and die in walls and subflooring. Well worth the price to have the peace of mine that the rodent is really gone. peter Pan peanut butter works great as a bait filler! Bought these last year, this year and will buy again next year!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Simply didn't work

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was using the touchless bait poison traps for a while - the problem is that it takes a while to kill the mice with those poisons...they don't work instantly and the mice simply leave a bunch of blue stuff around for a while.
Bottom line: This trap didn't work for me. Either my mice are super light or super smart...either way, they licked the peanut butter out of the bait section and moved on.
The "problem" with the design on this trap is that the mouse HAS TO TOUCH a tiny little part of the ramp in order to get the ramp to close and kill the mouse. The part it has to touch is pretty far from the bait and it's very small...look, I'm no mousetrap designer, but it's clearly not designed to work 100% of the time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceFebruary 7, 2012
Dear ColumbiaMD,

Thank you for taking the time to review this product. THD Customer Service went ahead and contacted the vendor on your behalf about your issues and this is their response to you .

“We are sorry to hear of your recent results with the Ortho Kill and Contain mouse traps. It sounds as though the trap that was purchased may have not been working correctly. When the trap is working correctly and the mouse enters and touches any part of the front ramp the spring mechanism should be triggered. We do have a product satisfaction guarantee, at your earliest convenience please contact us at 1-877-465-5160 to see what we can do to assist you further”

Thank you for choosing The Home Depot,

THD Customer Service
Review 8 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Success in 2 days

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To catch a vole that got into my house as I was bringing in groceries, I bought two kinds of traps: Home Defense and another type that contained poison bait. I set only one Home Defense (baited with blue cheese) and four of the other one. Within 2 days, the spring indicator showed that Home Defense had caught the vole. I was glad not to have to see or touch the dead animal, which was hidden inside the trap.
Pros: easy to set and read and dispose of, Effective
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

This trap worked for me, but is a bit large

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this trap and another trap when I found I had a mouse in my house. I used this trap for places where there was more room to maneuver. I found it slightly more difficult than the other trap I bought to set, and slightly easier to set off while putting it in place. However, it did the job. I used this one outside under the cover of my grill to catch mice two nights in a row. I liked the fact that I didn't have to touch the dead animal and could just throw the whole trap away. I used peanut butter as the bait and was very successful catching the mice.
Pros: Functionality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Purcellville, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mouse traps!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used these traps for a few years in three different homes and we won't use anything else. Because we live out in the country, we get our fair share of field mice. We even have an exterminator who sets professional traps/bait come once a quarter. Yet, at the end of the day, these traps are the ones that work. We put either a dab of peanut butter or honey and they work every time. I can't stand mice and my husband feels sorry for them, so it is great that we don't have to see them when they are trapped! Highly recommend these.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

I heard the mouse moving around in there :(

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this trap to catch a mouse running around my apartment. I wanted something that would contain the mouse so I wouldn't have to see it once caught. Made a peanut butter and cookie crumb mixture to use as bait. The trap kept going off every time I tried to set it. I thought, this seems like a good trap if it goes off so easily. The first night, the mouse ran around it and knocked into it. I figured it would take a bit for the mouse to get comfortable with this new addition to the kitchen floor. Tonight, the mouse finally went into the trap. I could hear it moving around in there. The trap never went off! The mouse was able to eat the bait and escape! So now I have a happy, little fat mouse and a worthlesss trap.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Not worth a penny

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got these traps because I kept having mice come in and tear up the bags of food in my pantry despite putting away food in canisters, setting other traps, having exterminator come treat my home, and using an electronic mouse deterrent. I was hoping these would work better than the other traps I had gotten (they would work, but were difficult to set and would take a lot of patience to get the latch to catch in place)...I have had these out for weeks now and have caught NOTHING!!! I have even checked the traps to see that the bait was taken! I tested all of the traps for their sensitivity and noticed that a mouse would have to be inside jumping around like he was on a trampoline to even get the trap to activate! So disappointed in these! Save your money and try another type/brand.....
Cons: don't work, only good for feeding mice, haven't caught a mouse yet with this trap, pressure plate isn't sensitive enough to make trap
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Product simply is not effective.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had traps set for two weeks without catching a mouse. Returned to traditional mouse trap, and that worked.
Cons: did not work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Abilene, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safe Fool proof Worth every penny!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fast Easy Accurate No rodent contact. I have small dog and worried after hearing a noise what to do. Put the trap with peanut butter by the door and the mouse was caught in a few hours. No germs no poison no more mouse. Fits exactly where mice run. Complete instructions. And by design only says "mouse caught" if it really is! It is impossible to snap fingers or paws.Totally safe and you don't have a squashed mouse to deal with that a pet or child could touch if they accidentally found it before you did. It is totally contained. I recommend it for all with children and pets for sure. Best product for mice ever!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Westerly, Rhode Island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as they used to be

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the past, i never had one of these fail. Recently, however, I have had one that had mouse droppings inside it and it never tripped
Pros: Durable
Cons: didn't work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Purchase the D-Con black hockey puck trap instead.

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the other dissatisfied users of this Ortho mouse trap, I found that the mouse had entered the trap, eaten the peanut butter bait therein, and then left the trap. I returned this Ortho mouse trap to the Home Depot and received a full and prompt refund.
Purchase the D-Con mouse trap instead. It's the mouse trap that looks like a black hockey puck. The D-Con mouse trap requires some bait (I used peanut butter) and traps the mouse inside sight unseen. An indication atop the mouse trap signals that the mouse trap has caught a mouse. I bought it at my local Home Depot.
I put the D-Con mouse trap down at 11 PM and it had caught the mouse by 5 AM. Not only did the indication on top of the mouse trap say so, but the mouse's tail was sticking out of the trap. Creepy.
The D-con mouse trap that looks like a black hockey puck did the job quickly and cleanly. I bought it at my local Home Depot.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Williamsburg, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great trap.

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far I'm up to 3 mice on this trap. Peanut butter is the best thing. I had a little trouble catching mice at first but then I started putting a big glob of peanut butter on the back with the handly little food hatch and then a little glob at the entrance. I just caught 2 mice in the last 24 hours. It does kill the mice and is really easy to clean up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Pleasant Valley, ny
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These Things Work Great!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was skeptical of this product at first but the glue traps and traditional spring traps weren't working so figured I'd give these a try. They are a bit pricey but that I thought I would be able to reuse them by removing the mouse thereby bringing down the cost.
Baiting with peanut butter was very easy using the back bait panel. Setting was a bit more finicky but simple and sure once you get the hang of it.
So did they work? You bet they did! These things are great. And forget about reusing them. The mouse gets in front first but pulling it out backwards is a bit of an ordeal. I now just pitch them and buy new traps.
Another tool in my arsenal against rodents and I like these best.
Definitely recommend these.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, works!
Cons: pricey
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Marietta, GA, USA

I caught him!

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was finding evidence of a little critter in our kitchen. One day I accidentally left the butter dish uncovered, and the little mouse went to town leaving marks in the butter AND a trail of presents behind him. Instead of letting the cholesterol and fat slowly kill the mouse, I bought this trap.
I didn't want to have to touch the mouse or even SEE the darn thing. I set it up one night and about 15 minutes later, I heard it go off. Sure enough, it was clicked to "Mouse Caught". I wasn't even sure if it was in there, until I saw its little tail hanging out. I was originally hoping to not kill the mouse and instead just catch it and set it free. But after seeing that tail hang out of there, I'm glad I got rid of him because it made me shiver knowing he was living it up in my house. This trap worked right away and is great if you don't want to touch a dead mouse or look at a dead mouse.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Los Angeles to Boston

Did not work for us

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought four of these. The first night the mouse actually got in and took the peanut butter. This trap had gone off but I guess the mouse was quicker. So I guess the mouse learned to stay away from these traps. It was going around them leaving feces right next to them. So we bought the typical kill traps and live traps where it could not get the bait. It again completely avoided the traps. I knew the mouse was walking around them because I laid down a fine layer of baby powder to see where it was going and coming from. We determined it was coming from the kitchen. So one night with a baby video monitor, a broom, and a carving knife we got it. Three blind mice style. After it pooped on my daughters stuff animals and other toys, it had it coming.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>