728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Take charge of your home with the Ortho Home Defense Max Kill & Contain mouse trap. This innovative mouse trap transforms the way you kill mice. It s easy to bait - then you just push down the lever and it does the rest. It s safe to use around kids and pets because it won t snap fingers or paws. It s perfect for tight spaces where mice like to hide, and it s great to use in kitchens and pantries. Use it next to your refrigerator and stove, in between your washer and dryer, or in your cupboards. The indicator shows when the mouse is caught, and the grab tab means you don t have to touch the mouse. Nothing to see, nothing to touch. Your drama-free way to deal with mice.
Overall rating:
3.245 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(159 reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product87 of 148reviews
Rating Breakdown 159 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(72)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(11)
1
(55)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product87 of 148reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
diynovice

I heard the mouse moving around in there :(

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this trap to catch a mouse running around my apartment. I wanted something that would contain the mouse so I wouldn't have to see it once caught. Made a peanut butter and cookie crumb mixture to use as bait. The trap kept going off every time I tried to set it. I thought, this seems like a good trap if it goes off so easily. The first night, the mouse ran around it and knocked into it. I figured it would take a bit for the mouse to get comfortable with this new addition to the kitchen floor. Tonight, the mouse finally went into the trap. I could hear it moving around in there. The trap never went off! The mouse was able to eat the bait and escape! So now I have a happy, little fat mouse and a worthlesss trap.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
rathunter

Worked Well

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this instead of the classic mouse traps and was surprised to catch the rat in the first couple hours. It was a little tricky getting the trap to stay open while initially setting it, but after a few gentle tries it stayed open. I placed some dog food coated in peanut butter in the bait door and caught the rat within 4 hours. I placed next to trash can in kitchen and also scattered some dinner scraps near the trap to lure him in. Trap was a little small for the rat given his hind end and tail stuck well out of the trap but it held him. Just stuck him in plastic bag and tossed outside in trash. Decent product.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
markroll
from Chantilly, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

so far so good

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It seems to run good and wash and dry dishes. That's what I bought it for and seems to do.
Pros: Good Shape
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
getridofamouse

Not worth a penny

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got these traps because I kept having mice come in and tear up the bags of food in my pantry despite putting away food in canisters, setting other traps, having exterminator come treat my home, and using an electronic mouse deterrent. I was hoping these would work better than the other traps I had gotten (they would work, but were difficult to set and would take a lot of patience to get the latch to catch in place)...I have had these out for weeks now and have caught NOTHING!!! I have even checked the traps to see that the bait was taken! I tested all of the traps for their sensitivity and noticed that a mouse would have to be inside jumping around like he was on a trampoline to even get the trap to activate! So disappointed in these! Save your money and try another type/brand.....
Cons: don't work, only good for feeding mice, haven't caught a mouse yet with this trap, pressure plate isn't sensitive enough to make trap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
crkillam
from Westerly, Rhode Island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as they used to be

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the past, i never had one of these fail. Recently, however, I have had one that had mouse droppings inside it and it never tripped
Pros: Durable
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
latemodel88
from Rossford Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works but not that well

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to set. It will catch some mice but not as efficient as the tried and true wooden trap with the metal bait catch. Not the ones with the plastic wanna be cheese. They are useless. Save your money and use the old wood trap with peanut butter although the Max Kill does hide your kill for less dramatic disposal.
Pros: less dramatic
Cons: not as effective as the old wooden trap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
KingsFan788211
from brea
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use, set and no mess to clean up

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trap works well. This was the second time that I have used this trap. The only reason that I am giving it a 4 instead of a 5 was that it took a few times to catch this mouse. It was a much smaller mouse this time so it actually ate all the peanut butter and did not trigger the trap. If you have same issue the TRY THIS. Try putting the peanut butter in the bait trap but also spread some near the inside top of the trap so the mouse has to go all the way inside and it may set off trap easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
leeard

works like a charm

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought two of these for my chicken coup so my chicken's couldn't get the bait. They are VERY expensive for one or two mice but I have no problem getting the mouse out and re-using so that was my plan when I purchased them. 4 days later I have caught 7 mice with my traps. No more getting my chicken feed you punks! :)
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Rocky
from long island, ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked in two hours!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I seldom write online reviews, but was so pleased that this caught my mouse in two hours! I set the trap with Reese's peanut butter cup mashed into the bait area, went out to dinner, and when I came back could not believe the "mouse caught" indicator was on. Also, the D con traps In was using unsucessfully did not catch the mouse at all even after they were out for a while. I recommend these traps highly, and the use of Reese's as bait. Happy hunting!
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Viking615
from Avon CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Mouse Trap ever

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last winter 2012-2013 we had an infestation of mice -- the last straw was when mice opened up and contaminated many pantry supplies then the cat brought 2 baby mice upstairs as "playmates" THEN I found these traps. I caught 12 mice in 2 wks and have since had no mice at all. Of course, this winter 2013-2014 we have record cold and snow so perhaps they are lost under all that weather. But these traps worked very well here in Connecticut
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
leek1011
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

These things WORK!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These traps work better than any other. They were easy to use and easy to dispose of
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
mousehater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

always working

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product always captures mouse without endangering pets or using poisons. Have caught 8 mice in two days. Easy to dispose of them. Contains mouse so no worry that it will crawl off and die in walls and subflooring. Well worth the price to have the peace of mine that the rodent is really gone. peter Pan peanut butter works great as a bait filler! Bought these last year, this year and will buy again next year!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Mega
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy to use

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mice just licked the peanut butter off of the snap traps I bought. I put four of these out and the next morning they were all full!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
54strat
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well and is reusable.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the two-pack of this item. I've only used one so far. We've caught 5 mice with the single trap. I understand that people can be wary about handling mice, but once killed they're not that difficult. Granted, I've worked with live mice before. When it comes to emptying these traps, just push the lever back down and shake/pull out the mouse out the opening and into a bag for disposal. Either wear gloves or turn the bag inside out as you handle the trap and mouse. The design is good and it IS reusable. Add more bait if necessary, push the lever down to reset and hopefully you'll catch more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Melanie917
from Bosque Farms, nm

I LOVE this trap!

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these, and been back to the store for more many times. It says it kills them, but it doesnt (unless you leave it for days without checking it) so I use it as a live trap. I have never had a problem with them at all, even when I reuse it multiple times. Peanut butter is the best bait, and only once have I seen feces in the trap and there be no mouse, but I think it was a tiny one that was simply too light to set off the spring. I have caught mice, taken them outside and opened the door then shook them out into the grass and seen them run off. Then I reset the trap and put it back where it was. I would highly recommend this device!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
SanT
from Orlando
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clean and neat, easy to use

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not catch a mouse with this trip due to it turned out we had a large rat, so this trap was too small. But I did set it and put it out and it was very easy to use, and disposes easily. great concept.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Fred
from Glenview, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

about 50% of the traps do not trigger

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 packs of 2 traps and only 4 traps did work,
the others did not trigger and mice ate the bait and got out no problem.
the design is good and it s a clever product when it works.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
Cons: not reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Ellen
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Success in 2 days

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To catch a vole that got into my house as I was bringing in groceries, I bought two kinds of traps: Home Defense and another type that contained poison bait. I set only one Home Defense (baited with blue cheese) and four of the other one. Within 2 days, the spring indicator showed that Home Defense had caught the vole. I was glad not to have to see or touch the dead animal, which was hidden inside the trap.
Pros: easy to set and read and dispose of, Effective
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
dkgunte
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hit or miss with this one for me

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Had a field mouse get inside, and I found out where it was traveling. Placed this trap along it's path. Put some bait (peanut butter) in the back of the trap, and also smeared some very lightly leading inside. I checked the following morning, and on 2 different occasions the peanut butter was gone, but the trap was still "set". The 3rd time I took a couple of actual peanuts and pressed them into the peanut butter. The following morning the trap had sprung, and there was a mouse inside. Took the trap out the trash, which is a ways from our house, and threw it in. Went back less than 2 hours later to take some real trash out, and I noticed the trap was empty. With that, I guess the trap is only temporary if the mouse can get out after a short period. Have not had any mice since then, but I still have one trap left and a few of the Victor snap traps.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: trap does not seem sensitive enough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
donk
from Sutton, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and very effective. Just bait and wait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>