728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Take charge of your home with the Ortho Home Defense Max Kill & Contain mouse trap. This innovative mouse trap transforms the way you kill mice. It s easy to bait - then you just push down the lever and it does the rest. It s safe to use around kids and pets because it won t snap fingers or paws. It s perfect for tight spaces where mice like to hide, and it s great to use in kitchens and pantries. Use it next to your refrigerator and stove, in between your washer and dryer, or in your cupboards. The indicator shows when the mouse is caught, and the grab tab means you don t have to touch the mouse. Nothing to see, nothing to touch. Your drama-free way to deal with mice.
Overall rating:
3.286 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product100 of 167reviews
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(11)
1
(61)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product100 of 167reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

be smarter than the mouse

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i checked out reviews once i'd set the traps and the mouse managed to make off with the bait. i had already been contemplaiting how to get the food arranged in such a way that the mouse has to step further in. Another reviewer indicated that with the smaller mice, smearing peanutbutter somewhere on the top inside of the trap gets the smaller mice to put more weight further down the trap platform. I broke down some granola bar (the previous reviewer used peanut butter) and shook and shuffled the trap sideways and which-ways to get the pieces up in the slats.. worked like a charm. Caught 3 mice within 6 hours of setting the traps.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from South Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Mouse Trap

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This mouse trap works - period. It kills about half of the mice it traps, instantly. The other half die a slow, probably agonizing, death. If you're squeemish about this, buy the old fashioned Victor traps that breaks the mouse's neck. On occasion, the mouse will eat all the peanut butter without triggering the trap; this happens rarely. I'm told that if you place a small nut inside the peanut butter, the mouse has to work harder to get the bait and that this method is more likely to improve your "catch" rate.. I just refilled the bait door and reset the trap. My second effort has always been successful. If you wish, you can shake the dead or live mouse out of the trap and reuse the trap. I don't.
Pros: Functionality, it catches mice.
Cons: some of the caught mice die slowly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Troy, Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great-worth it

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best trap ever, so clean, you don't have see what is inside, if located right, you are mouse free...
used over 4 of them on the course of 2 years...never fails
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Mouse Killing Machine

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set and bait. Perfect for not having to see the dead mouse. The alert to let you know if it has been set off means that you do not even have to bend over to look at it.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Good Shape, fast kill
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Minneapolis
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After our cat found a few mice recently I decided to pick up a few of these traps. I filled the bait slot with some peanut butter and set it out behind the fridge. It caught a mouse overnight. Disposal was simple, and I decided to discard the entire unit, but could have simply reused it as well given the way it trapped the mouse. Either way, a great product that is far better than the old snap traps (especially when you have pets and children around!). I definitely recommend this product!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Purcellville, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mouse traps!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used these traps for a few years in three different homes and we won't use anything else. Because we live out in the country, we get our fair share of field mice. We even have an exterminator who sets professional traps/bait come once a quarter. Yet, at the end of the day, these traps are the ones that work. We put either a dab of peanut butter or honey and they work every time. I can't stand mice and my husband feels sorry for them, so it is great that we don't have to see them when they are trapped! Highly recommend these.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Not worth a penny

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got these traps because I kept having mice come in and tear up the bags of food in my pantry despite putting away food in canisters, setting other traps, having exterminator come treat my home, and using an electronic mouse deterrent. I was hoping these would work better than the other traps I had gotten (they would work, but were difficult to set and would take a lot of patience to get the latch to catch in place)...I have had these out for weeks now and have caught NOTHING!!! I have even checked the traps to see that the bait was taken! I tested all of the traps for their sensitivity and noticed that a mouse would have to be inside jumping around like he was on a trampoline to even get the trap to activate! So disappointed in these! Save your money and try another type/brand.....
Cons: don't work, only good for feeding mice, haven't caught a mouse yet with this trap, pressure plate isn't sensitive enough to make trap
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Gender:Female

Absolutely Worthless

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are total waste of money. I thought they would be better than the old fashioned wooden snap traps, but the only positive thing I can say is that they are easy to load the bait. Other than that, it's like a fast food take-out window for mice. It kept getting licked clean without even tripping the trap. It seems that if a mouse is small enough to enter it, it doesn't weigh enough to trip the switch.
Cons: doesn't trap mice, doesn't trap anything
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Worked Well

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this instead of the classic mouse traps and was surprised to catch the rat in the first couple hours. It was a little tricky getting the trap to stay open while initially setting it, but after a few gentle tries it stayed open. I placed some dog food coated in peanut butter in the bait door and caught the rat within 4 hours. I placed next to trash can in kitchen and also scattered some dinner scraps near the trap to lure him in. Trap was a little small for the rat given his hind end and tail stuck well out of the trap but it held him. Just stuck him in plastic bag and tossed outside in trash. Decent product.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

I heard the mouse moving around in there :(

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this trap to catch a mouse running around my apartment. I wanted something that would contain the mouse so I wouldn't have to see it once caught. Made a peanut butter and cookie crumb mixture to use as bait. The trap kept going off every time I tried to set it. I thought, this seems like a good trap if it goes off so easily. The first night, the mouse ran around it and knocked into it. I figured it would take a bit for the mouse to get comfortable with this new addition to the kitchen floor. Tonight, the mouse finally went into the trap. I could hear it moving around in there. The trap never went off! The mouse was able to eat the bait and escape! So now I have a happy, little fat mouse and a worthlesss trap.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Feeds Mice but Does Not Trap

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We set two traps four days ago, and today I checked the bait tray and found them empty. I looked at the reviews and found out others had the same problem where the traps do not spring. Ortho is providing a refund.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from brea
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use, set and no mess to clean up

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trap works well. This was the second time that I have used this trap. The only reason that I am giving it a 4 instead of a 5 was that it took a few times to catch this mouse. It was a much smaller mouse this time so it actually ate all the peanut butter and did not trigger the trap. If you have same issue the TRY THIS. Try putting the peanut butter in the bait trap but also spread some near the inside top of the trap so the mouse has to go all the way inside and it may set off trap easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from toledo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAFE AND EASY

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
VERY EASY TO OPERATE AND DISPOSAL.LOVE THIS PRODUCT FOR SAFETY AS THESE OR IN MY RENTAL.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: found none yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Bosque Farms, nm

I LOVE this trap!

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these, and been back to the store for more many times. It says it kills them, but it doesnt (unless you leave it for days without checking it) so I use it as a live trap. I have never had a problem with them at all, even when I reuse it multiple times. Peanut butter is the best bait, and only once have I seen feces in the trap and there be no mouse, but I think it was a tiny one that was simply too light to set off the spring. I have caught mice, taken them outside and opened the door then shook them out into the grass and seen them run off. Then I reset the trap and put it back where it was. I would highly recommend this device!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Westerly, Rhode Island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as they used to be

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the past, i never had one of these fail. Recently, however, I have had one that had mouse droppings inside it and it never tripped
Pros: Durable
Cons: didn't work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

always working

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product always captures mouse without endangering pets or using poisons. Have caught 8 mice in two days. Easy to dispose of them. Contains mouse so no worry that it will crawl off and die in walls and subflooring. Well worth the price to have the peace of mine that the rodent is really gone. peter Pan peanut butter works great as a bait filler! Bought these last year, this year and will buy again next year!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from long island, ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked in two hours!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I seldom write online reviews, but was so pleased that this caught my mouse in two hours! I set the trap with Reese's peanut butter cup mashed into the bait area, went out to dinner, and when I came back could not believe the "mouse caught" indicator was on. Also, the D con traps In was using unsucessfully did not catch the mouse at all even after they were out for a while. I recommend these traps highly, and the use of Reese's as bait. Happy hunting!
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

works like a charm

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought two of these for my chicken coup so my chicken's couldn't get the bait. They are VERY expensive for one or two mice but I have no problem getting the mouse out and re-using so that was my plan when I purchased them. 4 days later I have caught 7 mice with my traps. No more getting my chicken feed you punks! :)
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Avon CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Mouse Trap ever

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last winter 2012-2013 we had an infestation of mice -- the last straw was when mice opened up and contaminated many pantry supplies then the cat brought 2 baby mice upstairs as "playmates" THEN I found these traps. I caught 12 mice in 2 wks and have since had no mice at all. Of course, this winter 2013-2014 we have record cold and snow so perhaps they are lost under all that weather. But these traps worked very well here in Connecticut
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Taunton MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worthwhile purchase

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had good luck with catching mice in the basement and garage. Occasionally have had to work with it make it "set", but have always been able to make them work. I like that it can just be discarded and I don't have see the dead rodent.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>