728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Take charge of your home with the Ortho Home Defense Max Kill & Contain mouse trap. This innovative mouse trap transforms the way you kill mice. It s easy to bait - then you just push down the lever and it does the rest. It s safe to use around kids and pets because it won t snap fingers or paws. It s perfect for tight spaces where mice like to hide, and it s great to use in kitchens and pantries. Use it next to your refrigerator and stove, in between your washer and dryer, or in your cupboards. The indicator shows when the mouse is caught, and the grab tab means you don t have to touch the mouse. Nothing to see, nothing to touch. Your drama-free way to deal with mice.
Overall rating:
3.379 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(203 reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product119 of 191reviews
Rating Breakdown 203 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(100)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(13)
1
(64)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product119 of 191reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

be smarter than the mouse

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i checked out reviews once i'd set the traps and the mouse managed to make off with the bait. i had already been contemplaiting how to get the food arranged in such a way that the mouse has to step further in. Another reviewer indicated that with the smaller mice, smearing peanutbutter somewhere on the top inside of the trap gets the smaller mice to put more weight further down the trap platform. I broke down some granola bar (the previous reviewer used peanut butter) and shook and shuffled the trap sideways and which-ways to get the pieces up in the slats.. worked like a charm. Caught 3 mice within 6 hours of setting the traps.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from South Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Mouse Trap

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This mouse trap works - period. It kills about half of the mice it traps, instantly. The other half die a slow, probably agonizing, death. If you're squeemish about this, buy the old fashioned Victor traps that breaks the mouse's neck. On occasion, the mouse will eat all the peanut butter without triggering the trap; this happens rarely. I'm told that if you place a small nut inside the peanut butter, the mouse has to work harder to get the bait and that this method is more likely to improve your "catch" rate.. I just refilled the bait door and reset the trap. My second effort has always been successful. If you wish, you can shake the dead or live mouse out of the trap and reuse the trap. I don't.
Pros: Functionality, it catches mice.
Cons: some of the caught mice die slowly.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Purcellville, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mouse traps!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used these traps for a few years in three different homes and we won't use anything else. Because we live out in the country, we get our fair share of field mice. We even have an exterminator who sets professional traps/bait come once a quarter. Yet, at the end of the day, these traps are the ones that work. We put either a dab of peanut butter or honey and they work every time. I can't stand mice and my husband feels sorry for them, so it is great that we don't have to see them when they are trapped! Highly recommend these.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Worked Well

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this instead of the classic mouse traps and was surprised to catch the rat in the first couple hours. It was a little tricky getting the trap to stay open while initially setting it, but after a few gentle tries it stayed open. I placed some dog food coated in peanut butter in the bait door and caught the rat within 4 hours. I placed next to trash can in kitchen and also scattered some dinner scraps near the trap to lure him in. Trap was a little small for the rat given his hind end and tail stuck well out of the trap but it held him. Just stuck him in plastic bag and tossed outside in trash. Decent product.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from brea
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use, set and no mess to clean up

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trap works well. This was the second time that I have used this trap. The only reason that I am giving it a 4 instead of a 5 was that it took a few times to catch this mouse. It was a much smaller mouse this time so it actually ate all the peanut butter and did not trigger the trap. If you have same issue the TRY THIS. Try putting the peanut butter in the bait trap but also spread some near the inside top of the trap so the mouse has to go all the way inside and it may set off trap easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Bosque Farms, nm

I LOVE this trap!

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these, and been back to the store for more many times. It says it kills them, but it doesnt (unless you leave it for days without checking it) so I use it as a live trap. I have never had a problem with them at all, even when I reuse it multiple times. Peanut butter is the best bait, and only once have I seen feces in the trap and there be no mouse, but I think it was a tiny one that was simply too light to set off the spring. I have caught mice, taken them outside and opened the door then shook them out into the grass and seen them run off. Then I reset the trap and put it back where it was. I would highly recommend this device!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The better mousetrap

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These traps are great. It is easy to tell when the mouse is caught, and only once, was there a little mess. Also, the mice do not chew through the plastic like some other traps we have tried. They are a bit pricey, but when something works consistently, it's worth it.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

I heard the mouse moving around in there :(

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this trap to catch a mouse running around my apartment. I wanted something that would contain the mouse so I wouldn't have to see it once caught. Made a peanut butter and cookie crumb mixture to use as bait. The trap kept going off every time I tried to set it. I thought, this seems like a good trap if it goes off so easily. The first night, the mouse ran around it and knocked into it. I figured it would take a bit for the mouse to get comfortable with this new addition to the kitchen floor. Tonight, the mouse finally went into the trap. I could hear it moving around in there. The trap never went off! The mouse was able to eat the bait and escape! So now I have a happy, little fat mouse and a worthlesss trap.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Buffalo. NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Home Defense max kill and contain mouse trap

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best product on the market. I even caugh 2 mice in the same trap together!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

always working

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product always captures mouse without endangering pets or using poisons. Have caught 8 mice in two days. Easy to dispose of them. Contains mouse so no worry that it will crawl off and die in walls and subflooring. Well worth the price to have the peace of mine that the rodent is really gone. peter Pan peanut butter works great as a bait filler! Bought these last year, this year and will buy again next year!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good for the smaller mouse

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a mouse in our garage, we purchased a few of these Ortho Home Defense modules as well as another competitors as we wanted to catch this guy fast. However after a few days we found that we were only feeding this mouse. We figured he must have been a small guy. I tried to put the peanut butter higher inside the system but he still go to it and ate it with no capture. I had to do it the old fashion way, find his home and use a broom to catch him and dispose. The system is easy to load and easy to use, but if it can't catch a smaller mouse then it does not work. I am assuming there has to be a min weight limit for this trap (as well as the other one I used, it too did not work) in order for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, easy to load food
Cons: not good for small mice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Not worth a penny

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got these traps because I kept having mice come in and tear up the bags of food in my pantry despite putting away food in canisters, setting other traps, having exterminator come treat my home, and using an electronic mouse deterrent. I was hoping these would work better than the other traps I had gotten (they would work, but were difficult to set and would take a lot of patience to get the latch to catch in place)...I have had these out for weeks now and have caught NOTHING!!! I have even checked the traps to see that the bait was taken! I tested all of the traps for their sensitivity and noticed that a mouse would have to be inside jumping around like he was on a trampoline to even get the trap to activate! So disappointed in these! Save your money and try another type/brand.....
Cons: don't work, only good for feeding mice, haven't caught a mouse yet with this trap, pressure plate isn't sensitive enough to make trap
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Kingston, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HOME DEFENSE MAX KILL AND CONTAIN MOUSE TRAP

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this product before. They catch them everytime!!!!
Pros: Functionality
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

it works

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product in my attic and it captured 2 little mice in less than 24 hour. it's very convenient to use and once rat or mice is captured, very easy to discard. all you need is just put peanut butter to attract them and it does the rest.
I highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

Simply didn't work

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was using the touchless bait poison traps for a while - the problem is that it takes a while to kill the mice with those poisons...they don't work instantly and the mice simply leave a bunch of blue stuff around for a while.
Bottom line: This trap didn't work for me. Either my mice are super light or super smart...either way, they licked the peanut butter out of the bait section and moved on.
The "problem" with the design on this trap is that the mouse HAS TO TOUCH a tiny little part of the ramp in order to get the ramp to close and kill the mouse. The part it has to touch is pretty far from the bait and it's very small...look, I'm no mousetrap designer, but it's clearly not designed to work 100% of the time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceFebruary 7, 2012
Dear ColumbiaMD,

Thank you for taking the time to review this product. THD Customer Service went ahead and contacted the vendor on your behalf about your issues and this is their response to you .

“We are sorry to hear of your recent results with the Ortho Kill and Contain mouse traps. It sounds as though the trap that was purchased may have not been working correctly. When the trap is working correctly and the mouse enters and touches any part of the front ramp the spring mechanism should be triggered. We do have a product satisfaction guarantee, at your earliest convenience please contact us at 1-877-465-5160 to see what we can do to assist you further”

Thank you for choosing The Home Depot,

THD Customer Service
Review 16 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

worked but watch where you set it up

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took about a week to catch the little guy but it did work. However do NOT set it up on carpet. I put it on my hardwood & thankfully I did because the blood from the mouse ran out of the trap & on to the floor... would have stained the carpet will blood!
Easy to set up
Easy to see when it was caught
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap

worked like a charm.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put peanut butter in the food tray then placed the trap in a dark corner 5 nights later I heard the trap spring. Finally I was free of the mouse that had been terrorized my home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Lockport, New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I caught the little sucker the first try!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was clean and easy to use. I was not afraid to touch or throw the product away after catching the little sucker!
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Ogden Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the recommended bait and all it attracted was ants.
Pros: none
Cons: didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense Max Kill and Contain Mouse Trap
from Troy, Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great-worth it

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best trap ever, so clean, you don't have see what is inside, if located right, you are mouse free...
used over 4 of them on the course of 2 years...never fails
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>