728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer

Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer

There has never been a home timer like the AutoChron Programmable Wall Switch Timer. That's because the AutoChron allows you to control the lights or other devices, such as ceiling fans in your home that don't plug into the wall but are controlled by a toggle wall switch. The AutoChron wireless wall switch timer offers 7-Day, 9 On/9 Off programming for convenient operation of your home's lighting and appliances controlled by a toggle switch. The timer fits over any existing toggle switch without removing the wall plate cover! Use it to control indoor lamps and lighting, ceiling fans, porch lights, landscape lighting, and any outlets controlled by a wall switch. Because you can set the device to operate a various times of the day, you can avoid a predictable, timer-controlled look that may tell would-be intruders that your home is unattended. Illuminated buttons make it easy to find AutoChron in the dark! AutoChron saves you energy and money and provides peace of mind. And, the AutoChron is not affected by power failures so it will come on when it has been scheduled to come and off.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product111 of 119reviews
Rating Breakdown 126 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(26)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product111 of 119reviews
Customer reviews for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
Review 1 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Cedar Rapids, IA

Be cautious when using this with older wall switches

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this timer to control an older outdoor fixture that was impractical to replace with a photocell-controlled lamp. It works perfectly for automatically turning the light on and off at night, and is so ridiculously simple to install, and easy to program. Because of how the timer works, you can use it with any light fixture containing any type of light bulb, be it incandescent, CFL or even LED. If the light fixture is run by a standard toggle wall switch, then this timer can run it.
One thing that would improve this timer is if it had the ability to automatically adjust the on and off times for local sunset and sunrise, to better suit the desire of those (Like me) who wish to use it as a dawn-to-dusk light control. But, since this timer is already a niche item, it is unlikely that such an advanced feature will ever be added to it. But, for what it does, it definitely works well.
However, be careful when using this timer with older wall switches, the kind that are stiff and "click" loudly when you flip them. The switch I have this timer attached to is an older switch of this type (From the 1950s), and although this timer is able to operate the switch, it struggles hard when trying to flip the switch. To avoid damaging the timer, I plan on replacing the switch with a new "non-clicky" toggle that is much easier to flip. This isn't a problem with the timer itself, rather a side effect of this particular type of older wall switch.
Overall, a very awesome timer that does exactly what it advertises!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Galloway, OH 43119, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased two of these in "2011" from a TV shopping channel. They control my front and back porch lights. When I go out in late afternoon, the lights are on when I return in the evening, and I am not coming home to a dark house.
After seeing mine flip the switch in front of him, my nephew decided it would be a good item for he and his wife to have. They have to walk from their front door down a sloped yard to their cars on the street in the dark to go to work. He searched for one in the retail stores and let me know he could not locate one.
I began a online search and that brought me to Home Depot online. I ordered one sent to my store location. This was my third AutoChron purchase, and my nephew says it works great, and helps to light the way in the dark morning hours, and turns itself off when they are safely in their cars.
I have recently put a new ceiling light in my third bedroom where I have my birds, and am getting ready to order my fourth AutoChron to control the lighting in that room.
I am a 66 year old senior and this product takes care of turning the lights on and off for me. One less thing I have to worry about. Thank you to AutoChron for making the product, and Thank You to Home Depot for carrying it in your product line. Sincerely, S. L. Turner
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Silver Spring, MD

Not your usual boring timer

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you want to install a timer without having to deal with wiring in the wall, this might be what you want. It's easily installed over a toggle switch. No disconnecting and reconnecting any wires. I've used it for about a month now, and it has worked perfectly. -- Setting it was easy because I need an outside light to go on and off the sames times every day. -- It's possible to pre-set different times for every day, but mine is not the kind of house where a would-be burglar would stake out the house and say "Aha! Same time every day! It's on a timer! I will rob the house." Also, I have a bunch of nosy neighbors. -- Battery life? I don't know yet. You'll play with the timer a lot at first. And you'll show it off to your friends. -- I should explain: the timer has a small motor that physically causes the toggle to move either up or down. -- Why do I say it's not boring? I gave a demonstration to a retired astrophysicist who has investigated things like cosmic rays and antimatter. When he saw the toggle being moved he roared with laughter. -- When the technology of today isn't enough, combine it with the technology of a century ago. -- Finally, ordering online from Home Depot gave me the best price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of a kind.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of those great gadgets that you never knew existed but which is absolutely essential for a particular job. If you get tired of remembering every day to turn the porch (or other) lights on and off (or if you set light timers when you’re away ) wall switches are a problem. If the light is controlled by a toggle switch you had to get a special device and have an electrician install it. This DOES THE JOB with no effort. You don’t even have to remove the face plate; you simply attach it to the face plate with one screw (which replaces the bottom screw in the plate) and that’s it! In my case there were two toggles in the same faceplate; the AutoChron fit neatly on one side without disturbing the other. It’s attractive enough that you can leave it there permanently. Once you attach it you simply install two AA batteries, program a time to go on and off, and forget it; it simply pushes the switch up or down at the appropriate times. Works perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from MD

Great product

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a way to turn several lights on and off everyday without rewiring the outlets. This does just that. I had three of them installed in less than 15 minutes. All you do is take the top screw out of your switchplate and put this over the top of the plate and insert the longer screw in the hole. Insert the batteries and program your on and off times and days. Its really flexible with the programming and I found that there were more features than I actually needed with this. My only complaint is that it is a bit loud when the system is in the process of turning your light switch on or off. I have one in my bedroom and the first time I heard it go off it made me jump and my dogs started barking. They don't do it any more and I am now used to the noise as well. Bottom line is I would purchase these again and I would recommend them for anyone wanting a simple way of turning your lights on and off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very simple and effective

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We recently attended a wedding in another state. As we have security lights around our house that we normally turn on/off manually every day, we were at odds as how to make this happen while out of town. We didn't want to rely on someone who might miss a day or two and end up with a theft. Most options were to buy the switch itself, and wire it into the gangbox. The switch I have for my lights is a 4 way switch (meaning the lights can be turned on from 3 different switchs around the house). But even with 20+ years of construction experience I would probably mess up wiring in a 3 way switch in a 4 gang box (a bank of 4 switch's). This Wireless switch solved my problem without hiring an electrician. My 75 yr old mother in law, whom I dearly love, could install and program this. This is an excellent fix and can be used on any switch in the house.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Tucson, AZ

Fantastic Device!

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product solved my problem and that was that I have been buying outdoor timers for 5 years to control an outdoor fountain in the front yard. Rain or moisture was destroying the timers at the rate of 1 per year and sometimes 2. I needed a timer that was out of the weather and this product does the trick. There's no need to re-wire anything and it's so simple that anybody could install it in less than a minute! I've had it for over a month now and through one rainstorm and I didn't have to worry if it was going to work or not. Well worth the money! Cons: Only one. It's noisy when operating. I wish it were quieter but then, when you hear it going on or off, you know it's working! I wish I found out about this product years ago; it would have saved me over $60 in timers that have gone bad. BUY IT! You won't be dissatisfied, I promise!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer

:( Problem After 1 day

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These looked like a good idea. I bought the timers and installed one in the dining room and one in the bathroom.. the dining room so far is working ok... I installed on 5/11/12 afternoon... both of them... the bathroom...today 5/12/12 no longer working like it should...when it turned off the light tonight in the bathroom... it turned it right back on..then off..then on...then off... about 5 times of on and off... it stopped with ERR displayed on the display... I did a reset... it started running again..on, off, on, off, on, off and after 5 times displayed the ERR again. I took out the batteries... tried again...same problem... NOT WORKING RIGHT. !!! SAID... FOR THIS PRICE, IT LASTED ONLY ONE DAY. :( :( :(
I need a new one to replace this defective one and hope that it will work. Am not happy with the product if it won't work right
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer

Lights are on now when coming home late!

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Turns on switch-plate switch to have overhead lights on when I come home after dark. Great for on/off of overhead lights for vacation time. Installation easy - but took a minute to figure out one more inside part has to slide sideways to catch the toggle (in addition to the up/down slide motion). Programming takes patience, but I wrote it all out and then stood there and programmed various days of week and several times of day. Purchased two for two different rooms - really delighted with this product. Takes two AA batteries that they say last 6 months - even that does not deter me as it does what I needed to give the place the lived-in look.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from San Antonio, TX

Fantastic product

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Autochron wireless wall switch timer is a great product. This new version is even better than the old one - which I still own and use. It works on the 'toggle' type of wall switch only - not the newer 'rocker' type. It really makes your house looked lived in - day or night. And with the new version , you can vary the times and days you want the switch to be working. I found it easy to use. You can still operate the switches with the convenient on/off buttons - so it never really has to be removed from the wall if you don't mind the look of it. You just need to change the batteries every now and then. I highly recommend it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from New Jersey, USA

simple

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So easy to set up, it just mounts on top of your existing switch plate with one screw. No wiring involved. Programming is very easy and straightforward. The timer physically moves the switch on and off, and runs on 2 AA batteries. It makes a slight "whirring" sound for a second as it's flicking the switch. If I had to list a con, it would be the size of the unit. Being that it sits on top of the switch plate, it's very noticeable versus the type that installs behind the plate into the wall, but to me the ease and simplicity of it outweighs the visual. They really should sell these in their stores rather than just online.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Houston, TX

Excellent Invention!!!

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been trying to figure out how I could put a timer on the light on my garage. I searched the internet and this is one of the best inventions ever. It fits perfectly over the existing light switch. One screw to hold it up and two AA batteries. Read the book and 10 minutes later I was in business. The best thing about it is you can program the light to come on and go off at different times every day. That way when you go on vacation, no one will ever know no one is home. If they are watching, it doesn't matter because the light is not coming on and going off at the same time. Awesome. Easy to program and use!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer

Great security item for any home, outside or inside lites.

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been looking for just this type item to put on our wall switch which controls the outside flood lights so we would have them turn on and off just like when we are home and are letting our dogs in and out. One of the best advangages is we can share this item with our friends next door and our cost to buy is half making it comparable to a good timer for wall outlets inside the house.
I have one at this time but will be purchasing at least two more. The cost of this item is peanuts compared to having our house broke into and loose everything of value.
Home Depot: Thanks for carrying this item.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from New Jersey
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best timer - PERIOD.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every single timer I purchased before I found the autochron wireless timer was dreadful. My complaints were: the buttons ere too small and the directions were pathetic. In my opinion one needs to be a rocket scientist to figure out how to program timers. The autochron is Easy. you put in the batteries, use one screw to secure to the switch plate, foloow super easy and plain English directions and it is ready to use. I will NEVER buy anything but the autochron wireless timer again. My oudoor lights go on and off wirelessly. If I couldngive this product 10 stars, I would.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Texas

Wall Switch Timer is GREAT!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted my front porch lights to go on and off at a set time each day...the lights are controlled from the inside with a toggle switch...how do you attach a timer to that switch (if you're not interested in rewiring)???? EASY with the AutoChron Wireless Timer. This timer fits OVER the faceplate; you unscew the bottom screw on the faceplate; fit the timer over the switch you wish to put on a timer; use the screw they provide to attach; set the timer. DONE. I'm now looking for other things I want on a timer! I totally recommend this product. Requires 2 batteries.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Valrico, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs task assigned but is noisy and bulky

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The timer is programmable separatly for each day of the week or for the entire week. I had to set up the program 3 times before I got it right so be careful to follow the instructions exactly. It also has ON/OFF buttons for use other than by the programmed use.
The timer has a motor that moves the original switch on-off. The motor sounds a bit like a wireless phone set to vibrate and placed on a wooden table. Also, it is a bit bulky, see my picture. I think it would not appear so out of place on a single wall switch but I needed it on a double wall switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: no screen back light, bulky, Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Sugar Land, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For non-electricians, this is an excellent alternative. Digital information is great including temperature.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a little difficulty with the settings directions, but eventually got it down.I like the lighted keys and the display board. This is definitely a great alternative to hard wiring since many wiring situations are different. Another plus is that it can be moved around with only a simple single screw removal. I have had this unit for about a month now and it is working just great. The product was shipped on time at a good price. I only wish that it was more of a compact size so that more than one could fit on a multiple switch panel.
Pros: Stylish, Easy Replacement, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer

Don't know what I did without it!

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these timers to use while I was on vacation. I am so impressed with their performance, I have left them installed permanently. It's wonderful knowing I never have to come home to a dark house again. Easy to program and because they are battery operated, they keep time even during a power outage so they don't need to be reset like electric timers do.
I only experienced one malfunction when the screw had come loose. Re-tightening fixed the problem and it has not recurred.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Garland, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Product + simple to use...

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these items, for use on two separate light switches (one interior light + one exterior light) - item was utilized during a family vacation, they were very easy to program and they performed perfectly. Installs with one simple screw on top of the switch plate - how much easier can it get. I would definitely recommend this item to anyone with "automated lighting needs"... especially for those of us that don't even own a plug-in lamp (which other products require).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Programmable Wall Switch Timer
from Western Mass.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy, easy, easy!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE my wall switch timers. Many times I would forget to turn my front porch light off in the morning and it would be on all day, or I would come home later than expected and walk to my door in the dark. No more. Front and back are lit automatically and go on and off at different times each day so no one knows that there is a timer involved. Setting it up was a breeze, and if you know how to use a screwdriver you can install this timer (absolutely no electrical work involved!).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>