728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cabinet & Furniture Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Matchbox Catch

Matchbox Catch

The Martha Stewart Living Matchbox Catch is finished in Bedford nickel for a classic look. The catch uses friction for efficient operation and is made from metal for lasting durability. Limited lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
2.83 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product17 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(11)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product17 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for Matchbox Catch
Review 1 for Matchbox Catch
from Danbury Conecticut.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautiful and easy to install

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to replace same match box hardware. It is better built than what I had on my bathroom cabinet.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Matchbox Catch

Poor Functionality

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I, like JanetAnn, replaced original hardware in my 1904 kitchen with these, and had the very same problem of inner mechanism not catching, thereby rendering the latch useless and needing repair. First latch failed after a year's use, second latched just failed after 2 year's use. I think I'll go back to the original hardware which lasted 100 years. Shame on me!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Matchbox Catch
from San Antonio, TX

Matchbox Catch

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am very disappointed in this hardware. I remodeled an early 1900 kitchen and wanted to keep it in character with the era. These catches look great but are either not well made or not designed correctly. The knob will come loose and spin making it impossible to disengage the latch. The catch then needs to be taken off (four screws), have an interior set screw tightened, and then reinstalled. Also during this malfunction you are unable to open your cabinet door. Someone needs to tell Martha Stewart about this.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Matchbox Catch
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice looking but no real latching ability

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we purchased this product to keep a storage closet door closed but the latching mechanism is so small that it can not withstand any kind of resistance. I am going to return it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, only decorative
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Matchbox Catch
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product broke after a month in service

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit broke after a month in very light service. It has a good finish but doesn't hold up!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Matchbox Catch
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE it

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The latch was well made and durable. Its and old 1926 house and it is perfect fit.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Matchbox Catch

Terrible hardware

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 7 latches to fix up a 1920's house. One latch broke within days. Six months later, four out of seven latches are no longer working.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Matchbox Catch
from Independence, Mo.

poor quality

PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lach broke the first week. It is a normal application on a medicine cabinet door. It was very disappointing. I did not want to order and pay for a new one. Too fragile a product.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Matchbox Catch
from New England

Match Box Clasp

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful replica of an antique Match Box Clasp which are difficult to find. It is a heavy duty construction and well work the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Matchbox Catch

adequate

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i thought i found a reasonable match for an older version of a catch removed from an old bathrrom closet door. when installing i noticed that the spring loaded catch didn't project as far as i would like. as for the materials used to make this piece seemed thin and a little light. looks are decieving as this item can only be purchased on line and not in stores.
Cons: materials too thin
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Matchbox Catch
from San Jose, California

Not as shiny as the picture!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The picture of the product has a shiny finish but it is really dull. Now it does not match the rest of the hardware I have in the bathroom. It seems to be working fine after I installed it about 1 week ago. I would recommend it to my friends but with caution.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Matchbox Catch
from Mass

Not so sturdy

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to replace the catch on my medicine cabinet. After many years, the old catch broke and I couldn't fix it. Put it on, and within 2 weeks the catch broke and when I removed it and checked inside, it was clear that the design was poor and this would continue to happen without some locktite or placing a small fixed washer within the mechanism. So I've fixed the new one and keeping my fingers crossed. The downside is that this is the only catch that would replace the old one. Guess I'm stuck with it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Matchbox Catch

This product looks great but doesn't work.

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced the catch on my Medicine Cabinet when I remodeled the bathroom June 2011. It looked exactly like the catch that was on the cabinet for 25 years. Even the screw holes matched. My house is 85 years old and I wanted to keep the vintage look. Unfortunately, the new catch does not keep the medicine cabinet door closed. It appears that the part that projects out making the catch hold is slightly shorter and doesn't make a tight fit. I am very disappointed because it looks great but doesn't work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Matchbox Catch
from New Orleans, La
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Matchbx Catch

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you need a Matchbox Catch, this is the one to get. Don't buy the ones they have in stock at Home depot or Lowes they just fall apart. This item is well made and will last longer. If it was made in US would have given it a 5
Pros: Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Matchbox Catch
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great latches! Look beautiful and same price as utility latches.

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the look of these latches. They make our cabinets look great!
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: only available online.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Matchbox Catch
from Brewton, AL 36426, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product performed as advertised

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to install and looks great. The finish is performing well. In the past we have had a problem with pitting or rust but so far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Matchbox Catch
from California

Not what I thought...

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item is pretty but it's not a normal lock. You cannot lock and unlock it. You actually have to twist the latch to unlock it; once you stop twisting it pops back into place and is unable to open... I thought it would be good for a non-secured door lock for my bathroom door but since it constantly stays locked, it's not good for that at all. You'd think the description would have told you that online...
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Matchbox Catch

Poorly made and cheap

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this latch fell apart within a month. If you have any space at all between the two pieces this latch will not work at all. Threw it away and won't buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Matchbox Catch
from california

Beautiful with Poor construction.

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The turning knob on this product would not work properly.. I removed it and tightenened the set screw inside, but it would not hold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Matchbox Catch
from South Jordan, UT

water valve shut off cover

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this to use on a water shut off valve cover. It looks very nice and opens easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>